Parliament’s Portfolio

Adam Bandt

Adam Bandt

ALPMember for MelbourneVICparliaments 44–47
  • 44th–47th · Member for Melbourne · Party not recorded

Portrait: Wikimedia Commons — Matt Hrkac from Geelong / Melbourne, Australia (CC BY 2.0). Not a Parliament of Australia image.

This page covers the 44th, 45th and 48th Parliaments in full. We have read only part of the 46th and 47th Parliaments — this member’s own document may be among those still unread. An empty section below means we have no recorded entry — not that the member declared nothing.

49
entries currently declared
1
ASX-listed companies named
3
real-estate declarations
3
liabilities entries
22
gifts and sponsored travel
25 Mar 2024
register last updated

Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.

About these counts

The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.

What is declared, at a glance

Declared categories
49current entries
  • Gift12
  • Sponsored travel10
  • Accounts6
  • Other assets5
  • Other income5
  • Other (5)11
Declared categories
CategoryCount
Gift12
Sponsored travel10
Accounts6
Other assets5
Other income5
Shareholdings3
Real estate3
Liability3
Directorship1
Office held1
Total49
Who each entry is declared for
49current entries
  • Self23
  • Spouse/partner19
  • Dependent child2
  • Holder not stated5
Who each entry is declared for
CategoryCount
Self23
Spouse/partner19
Dependent child2
Holder not stated5
Total49

Entries declared over time

Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.

035202120222023202420252026
Monthly declaration counts
MonthCount
2021-092
2021-102
2021-112
2021-122
2022-012
2022-022
2022-032
2022-042
2022-052
2022-062
2022-072
2022-083
2022-093
2022-103
2022-114
2022-124
2023-014
2023-024
2023-034
2023-044
2023-054
2023-064
2023-074
2023-084
2023-094
2023-104
2023-114
2023-124
2024-014
2024-024
2024-035
2024-045
2024-055
2024-065
2024-075
2024-085
2024-095
2024-105
2024-115
2024-125
2025-015
2025-025
2025-035
2025-045
2025-055
2025-065
2025-075
2025-085
2025-095
2025-105
2025-115
2025-125
2026-015
2026-025
2026-035
2026-045
2026-055
2026-065
2026-075
2026-085

44 entries without a stated date are not plotted.

Declared companies by industry
Distinct ASX-listed companies declared by this member, grouped by industry. A count of companies, not an amount.
IndustryDistinct companies
Financial Services
1

Declared interests

Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.

Declared for

Showing 49 of 49 entries.

Declared entries from the Registers of Members’ and Senators’ Interests, in the register’s own words. No column is a quantity or a value; the registers record none.
Source

Shareholdings (3)

AMP · Amp
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
AMP shares — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
obtained when AMP demutualised. — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Real estate (3)

Flemington VICRESIDENCE (co-owned with spouse)
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
in FlemingtonResidence (jointly owned with spouse)
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
in FlemingtonResidence (jointly owned with me)
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Directorship (1)

Period Pty Ltd
Private company
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Liability (3)

MORTGAGEBANK OF MELBOURNE (joint with spouse)
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Mortgage over houseBank of Melbourne
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Mortgage over houseBank of Melbourne
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Accounts (6)

SAVINGS (inc joint w. spouse)BANK OF MELBOURNE
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
SUPERANNUATIONBT
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Savings accountBank of Melbourne
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Savings accountBank of Melbourne
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Savings accountBankWest
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Savings account Investment accountBank Australia Australian Ethical - Emerging Companies Fund
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Other assets (5)

Superannuation & Life Insurance Policy - HESTA EcoPool. Superannuation - FutureSuper
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Superannuation & Life Insurance Policy - HESTA Superannuation - Future Super
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Superannuation & Life Insurance Policy: HESTA EcoPool. Superannuation: FutureSuper.
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Superannuation - PSSAP
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Superannuation: PSSAP
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Other income (5)

INCOME FROM EMPLOYMENT
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Parental leave payments.
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Wages from employment
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Wages from employment.
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Wages from employment; parental leave payments.
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Gift (12)

4 tickets to Taylor Swift at MCG from Frontier Touring.
Holder not stated
Declared since 25 Mar 202447P ↗
Electorate office provided with complementary television subscription.
Holder not stated
Declared since 25 Aug 202247P ↗
Spouse - Qantas flight upgrade on personal flight
Holder not stated
Declared since 18 Oct 201946P ↗
Electorate office provided with complementary television subscription by ASTRA.
Holder not stated
Declared since 5 Sept 201946P ↗
Qantas Chairman's Lounge MembershipVirgin Club Membership
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Qantas Chairman's Lounge MembershipVirgin Club Membership
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Qantas Chairman's Lounge Membership Virgin Club Membership Ocassional upgrades from economy to business class on Virgin and Qantas
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Qantas Chairman's Lounge Membership Virgin Club Membership Ocassional upgrades from economy to business class on Virgin and Qantas Other gifts as per previous declarations in prior parliaments.
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Qantas Chairman's Lounge Membership Virgin Club Membership Ocassional upgrades from economy to business class on Virgin and Qantas Other gifts as per previous declarations in prior parliaments. Pay TV subscription in electorate office
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Qantas Chairman's Lounge Membership Virgin Club Membership Occasional upgrades from economy to business class on Virgin and Qantas
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Subscription to Foxtel in electorate office
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
children from family members or personal friends in a purely personal capacity need not be
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Sponsored travel (10)

Qantas Platinum One membership
Holder not stated
Declared since 27 Nov 202247P ↗
Attendance & lunch at Australian Open on 23 January 2017. Provided by Tennis Australia & Australian Open.
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Qantas Chairman's Lounge MembershipVirgin Club Membership
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Qantas Chairman's Lounge MembershipVirgin Club Membership
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Qantas Lounge Membership.Virgin Lounge Membership.
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Qantas Lounge Membership.Virgin Lounge Membership.
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
See memberships & gifts in Q11 above.
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
See memberships & gifts in Q11 above.
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
See memberships in Q11 above.
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
See memberships in Q11 above.
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Office held (1)

Member of 3RRR community radio station.
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Funding returns lodged with the AEC

Only returns that name this parliamentarian are shown. Money declared as given to a party, a branch or an associated entity is not shown here and is not attributable to any individual.

Election returns linked to this member

Returns this member is linked to, newest first. Linking is per return and exact — an election that does not appear here has not been shown to lack one.

  • 2022 Federal electionCandidateMelbourne, VIC · Australian Greens VictoriaLodged as “BANDT, Adam PaulLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2019 Federal electionCandidateMelbourne, VIC · Australian Greens VictoriaLodged as “BANDT, Adam PaulLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2016 Federal electionCandidateMelbourne, VIC · Australian GreensLodged as “BANDT, Adam PaulLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2013 Federal electionCandidateMelbourne, VIC · Australian GreensLodged as “BANDT, Adam PaulLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗

Annual member and senator returns are lodged by a small number of parliamentarians: the whole corpus holds 52 of them. Returns lodged by senators are linked to their profiles where the name on the lodged return matches the name we hold for them; where it does not, the return stays here unlinked rather than being attached to a guess. The Registers of Senators' Interests have not been read into this site yet, so a senator can appear here with a funding return and no declared interests beside it, which is a gap in our coverage rather than a record of what they declared. A parliamentarian with no return has not been shown to have received nothing — most never lodge one.

Amounts below the disclosure threshold in force for a given year are not published by the AEC and are absent from these figures. A low total means little was disclosed, not that little was received.

Source: AEC Transparency Register, reused under CC BY 4.0. © Commonwealth of Australia. The AEC does not endorse this site or its analysis.

Suburbs represented

Suburbs in Melbourne. Representing a suburb has nothing to do with owning anything in it.

14 suburbs

Burnley · Carlton (Vic.) · Collingwood (Vic.) · Cremorne (Vic.) · Docklands · East Melbourne · Fitzroy (Vic.) · Melbourne · North Melbourne · Parkville (Vic.) · Prahran · Richmond (Vic.) · South Yarra · West Melbourne

Register of Members’ Interests / Register of Senators’ Interests, Parliament of Australia — as at 25 March 2024. Report an error

Method & caveats

Australian federal parliamentarians must declare certain interests in the Register of Members’ Interests (House of Representatives) and the Register of Senators’ Interests. For holdings — shares, real estate, trusts, liabilities, assets — the registers record what is held and do not record quantity, value, purchase price or income. Nothing on this page states or implies the size of any holding, any gain or loss, or any trading activity.

Two items are different, because the form itself asks for a value: gifts and sponsored travel. Where a member stated an amount there, it appears as they wrote it. That figure is the declared value of a gift or a trip — never the size of a holding, and never a total.

Dates are the dates a declaration appeared in, or was removed from, the register — not transaction dates. A removal can mean an asset was disposed of, a declaration was corrected, or the member left parliament.

Company names are free text as written by the member. We link a declaration to an ASX listing only on an exact normalised match, a ticker the member stated, or a human-verified alias, so many declarations appear as text only. Real-estate declarations are suburb- or area-level; the registers contain no street addresses, and some declared locations do not map to a single ABS suburb.

Rows are declared as held by the member (“Self”), their spouse or partner, or a dependent child, exactly as the register records them. Members’ seats, parties and chambers change between parliaments.

Extracted from primary PDFs published by the Parliament of Australia; parliamentary material, © Commonwealth of Australia. Corrections are annotated, not silently applied. Not financial advice.