Parliament’s Portfolio

Andrew Giles

Andrew Giles

ALPMember for ScullinVICparliaments 44–48
  • 44th–47th · Member for Scullin · Party not recorded
  • 48th · Member for Scullin · Labor

Portrait: Wikimedia Commons — Mattdawson4 (CC BY-SA 4.0). Not a Parliament of Australia image.

This page covers the 44th, 45th and 48th Parliaments in full. We have read only part of the 46th and 47th Parliaments — this member’s own document may be among those still unread. An empty section below means we have no recorded entry — not that the member declared nothing.

67
entries currently declared
3
ASX-listed companies named
2
real-estate declarations
4
liabilities entries
23
gifts and sponsored travel
19 Feb 2026
register last updated

Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.

About these counts

The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.

What is declared, at a glance

Declared categories
67current entries
  • Gift14
  • Sponsored travel9
  • Shareholdings8
  • Accounts8
  • Office held7
  • Other (7)21
Declared categories
CategoryCount
Gift14
Sponsored travel9
Shareholdings8
Accounts8
Office held7
Other assets5
Liability4
Other income3
Other interest3
Trusts2
Real estate2
Directorship2
Total67
Who each entry is declared for
67current entries
  • Self37
  • Spouse/partner27
  • Dependent child1
  • Holder not stated2
Who each entry is declared for
CategoryCount
Self37
Spouse/partner27
Dependent child1
Holder not stated2
Total67

Entries declared over time

Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.

0510202120222023202420252026
Monthly declaration counts
MonthCount
2021-092
2021-102
2021-112
2021-122
2022-012
2022-022
2022-032
2022-042
2022-052
2022-062
2022-072
2022-082
2022-092
2022-102
2022-112
2022-122
2023-012
2023-022
2023-032
2023-042
2023-052
2023-062
2023-072
2023-082
2023-092
2023-102
2023-112
2023-122
2024-012
2024-022
2024-032
2024-042
2024-052
2024-062
2024-072
2024-082
2024-092
2024-102
2024-112
2024-122
2025-012
2025-022
2025-032
2025-042
2025-052
2025-062
2025-072
2025-089
2025-099
2025-109
2025-119
2025-129
2026-019
2026-0210
2026-0310
2026-0410
2026-0510
2026-0610
2026-0710
2026-0810

57 entries without a stated date are not plotted.

Declared companies by industry
Distinct ASX-listed companies declared by this member, grouped by industry. A count of companies, not an amount.
IndustryDistinct companies
Consumer Discretionary Distribution & Retail
1
Pharmaceuticals, Biotechnology & Life Sciences
1
Telecommunication Services
1

Declared interests

Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.

Declared for

Showing 67 of 67 entries.

Declared entries from the Registers of Members’ and Senators’ Interests, in the register’s own words. No column is a quantity or a value; the registers record none.
Source

Shareholdings (8)

LABOUR SERVICES + HOLDINGS PTY LTD
Private company
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
PURCHASE OF REAL ESTATE (CLIFTON HILL) — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
SPL · Starpharma Holdings
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
SUBJECT TO MORTGAGE WITH WESTPAC BANK - 8/3/2017 — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
TLS · Telstra Group
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
TO BE RESIDENCE — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
WES · Wesfarmers
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Wesframers — not matched to an ASX listing
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Trusts (2)

CECCON PTY LTDFAMILY SUPERANNUATION TRUST
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
LABOUR SERVICES & HOLDINGS P/L - CEASED DIRECTORSHIP AS AT 26/6/2014. - CEASED SHAREHOLDING AS AT 26/6/2014
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Real estate (2)

Clifton Hill VICRESIDENCE
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Clifton Hill VICRESIDENCE
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Directorship (2)

CECCON PTY LTD
Private company
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
LABOUR SERVICES + HOLDINGS PTY LTD
Private company
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Liability (4)

AS ABOVEAS ABOVE
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
MORTGAGE ON RESIDENTIAL PROPERTYWESTPAC
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
MORTGAGE ON RESIDENTIAL PROPERTYWESTPAC BANK
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Mortgage on residentialWestpac
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗

Accounts (8)

AS ABOVE, PLUS: SAVINGS ACCOUNTCOMMONWEALTH BANK
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
SAVINGS ACCOUNTWESTPAC BANK
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
SAVINGS ACCOUNTWESTPAC BANK
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
SAVINGS ACCOUNTSWESTPAC BANK.
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
SavingsWestpac
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
SavingsWestpac
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Savings SavingsWestpac Commonwealth Bank
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Savings account Savings accountWestpac Bank Commonwealth Bank
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Other assets (5)

SUPERANNUATION
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
SUPERANNUATION
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
SUPERANNUATION ACCRUED DURING FORMER EMPLOYMENT
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
SUPERANNUATION ACCRUED THROUGH EMPLOYMENT
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Supannuation
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Other income (3)

SALARY - UNIVERSITY OF MELBOURNE
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
SALARY PAID BY THE UNIVERSITY OF MELBOURNE
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Salary from the University of Melbourne
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗

Gift (14)

26 December 2025. Gift of two tickets to the Boxing Day Test. Gifted by Cricket Australia.
Self
Declared since 19 Feb 202648P ↗
7 July 2025: unrequested upgrade from economy to business class. QF1274
Self
Declared since 15 Aug 202548P ↗
Monday 28 June 2025. Black Forest Cake gifted by SEEK 4 August 2025: Two boxes of mangoes gifted by a Pakistani parliamentary delegation. 13 August 2025. Unrequested upgrade from economy to business. QF1274.
Self
Declared since 15 Aug 202548P ↗
Thursday 19 June 2025: AmCham
Self
Declared since 15 Aug 202548P ↗
Thursday 26 June 2025:
Self
Declared since 15 Aug 202548P ↗
Wednesday 11 June 2025: Honorary WorldSkills 'Skillaroo' Medals. Gifted by WorldSkills
Self
Declared since 15 Aug 202548P ↗
luncheon. Gifted by BHP.
Self
Declared since 15 Aug 202548P ↗
unrequested upgrade from economy to business class. QF1277
Self
Declared since 15 Aug 202548P ↗
Qantas Chairman's Lounge membershipVirgin Club membership
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Qantas Chairman's Lounge membershipVirgin Club membership
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Qantas Chairman's lounge membership Virgin Club membership
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Qantas Chairman's lounge membership Virgin Club membership
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Small woven rug from the Gold Coast Afghan Community Inc valued at $500
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
children from family members or personal friends in a purely personal capacity need not be
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Sponsored travel (9)

- Upgrade to air travel from economy to business (Sydney – Cairns, Qantas Flight QF 927 – 21 Aug 19)
Holder not stated
Declared since 13 Dec 201946P ↗
A.P.E.C. DELEGATION TO JAPAN, APRIL 2013
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
STUDY TOUR TO CAMBODIA WITH CARE, NOVEMBER 2014
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Unrequested Flight Upgrade from Economy to Business on VA259 MEL - CBR (24/07/23)
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Unrequested Qantas upgrade to Business Class on flight QF1548.
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Unrequested flight upgrade at airport from Economy to Business on Qantas flight Melbourne to Canberra on 26/11/23
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Unrequested flight upgrade from economy to business on Qantas flight (CBR - MEL) 17/11/2023.
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Unrequested upgrade at check-in from Economy to Business on Qantas Flight Melbourne to Canberra (12/11/23)
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Unrequested upgrade from Economy to Business Class on a Virgin Australia flight from Perth to Melbourne
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Office held (7)

AUSTRALIAN SERVICES UNIONAUSTRALIAN LABOR PARTY
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Australian Services Union Australian Labor Party
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
COMMUNITY + PUBLIC SECTOR UNION
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
QANTAS CHAIRMAN'S LOUNGE, VIRGIN CLUB MEMBERSHIP, CPSU
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
QANTAS CHAIRMAN'S LOUNGE, VIRGINCLUB MEMBERSHIP, AUSTRALIAN SERVICES UNION
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Qantas Chairman's Lounge Virgin Club membership Australian Services Union
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Qantas Chairman's Lounge Virgin Club membership CPSU
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Other interest (3)

- Support for independent not-for-profit organisation – the Asylum Seeker Resource Centre.
Holder not stated
Declared since 13 Dec 201946P ↗
Employed at University of Melbourne
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Employment by University of Melbourne
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Funding returns lodged with the AEC

Only returns that name this parliamentarian are shown. Money declared as given to a party, a branch or an associated entity is not shown here and is not attributable to any individual.

Election returns linked to this member

Returns this member is linked to, newest first. Linking is per return and exact — an election that does not appear here has not been shown to lack one.

  • 2025 Federal ElectionCandidateScullin, VIC · Australian Labor Party (Victorian Branch)Lodged as “GILES, Andrew JamesLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2022 Federal electionCandidateScullin, VIC · Australian Labor Party (Victorian Branch)Lodged as “GILES, Andrew JamesLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2019 Federal electionCandidateScullin, VIC · Australian Labor Party (Victorian Branch)Lodged as “GILES, Andrew JamesLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2016 Federal electionCandidateScullin, VIC · Australian Labor Party (Victorian Branch)Lodged as “GILES, Andrew JamesLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2013 Federal electionCandidateScullin, VIC · Australian Labor Party (Victorian Branch)Lodged as “GILES, Andrew JamesLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗

Annual member and senator returns are lodged by a small number of parliamentarians: the whole corpus holds 52 of them. Returns lodged by senators are linked to their profiles where the name on the lodged return matches the name we hold for them; where it does not, the return stays here unlinked rather than being attached to a guess. The Registers of Senators' Interests have not been read into this site yet, so a senator can appear here with a funding return and no declared interests beside it, which is a gap in our coverage rather than a record of what they declared. A parliamentarian with no return has not been shown to have received nothing — most never lodge one.

Amounts below the disclosure threshold in force for a given year are not published by the AEC and are absent from these figures. A low total means little was disclosed, not that little was received.

Source: AEC Transparency Register, reused under CC BY 4.0. © Commonwealth of Australia. The AEC does not endorse this site or its analysis.

Suburbs represented

Suburbs in Scullin. Representing a suburb has nothing to do with owning anything in it.

8 suburbs

Campbellfield · Epping (Vic.) · Lalor · Mill Park · Somerton (Vic.) · South Morang · Thomastown · Wollert

Register of Members’ Interests / Register of Senators’ Interests, Parliament of Australia — as at 19 February 2026. Report an error

Method & caveats

Australian federal parliamentarians must declare certain interests in the Register of Members’ Interests (House of Representatives) and the Register of Senators’ Interests. For holdings — shares, real estate, trusts, liabilities, assets — the registers record what is held and do not record quantity, value, purchase price or income. Nothing on this page states or implies the size of any holding, any gain or loss, or any trading activity.

Two items are different, because the form itself asks for a value: gifts and sponsored travel. Where a member stated an amount there, it appears as they wrote it. That figure is the declared value of a gift or a trip — never the size of a holding, and never a total.

Dates are the dates a declaration appeared in, or was removed from, the register — not transaction dates. A removal can mean an asset was disposed of, a declaration was corrected, or the member left parliament.

Company names are free text as written by the member. We link a declaration to an ASX listing only on an exact normalised match, a ticker the member stated, or a human-verified alias, so many declarations appear as text only. Real-estate declarations are suburb- or area-level; the registers contain no street addresses, and some declared locations do not map to a single ABS suburb.

Rows are declared as held by the member (“Self”), their spouse or partner, or a dependent child, exactly as the register records them. Members’ seats, parties and chambers change between parliaments.

Extracted from primary PDFs published by the Parliament of Australia; parliamentary material, © Commonwealth of Australia. Corrections are annotated, not silently applied. Not financial advice.