Parliament’s Portfolio

Andrew Southcott

Andrew Southcott

ALPMember for BoothbySAparliaments 44
  • 44th · Member for Boothby · Party not recorded

Portrait: Wikimedia Commons — Parliament @ Work (CC BY 3.0 au). Not a Parliament of Australia image.

This page covers the 44th, 45th and 48th Parliaments in full. We have read only part of the 46th and 47th Parliaments — this member’s own document may be among those still unread. An empty section below means we have no recorded entry — not that the member declared nothing.

58
entries currently declared
5
ASX-listed companies named
3
real-estate declarations
2
liabilities entries
6
gifts and sponsored travel

Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.

About these counts

The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.

What is declared, at a glance

Declared categories
58current entries
  • Shareholdings18
  • Office held18
  • Real estate3
  • Directorship3
  • Accounts3
  • Other (7)13
Declared categories
CategoryCount
Shareholdings18
Office held18
Real estate3
Directorship3
Accounts3
Gift3
Sponsored travel3
Liability2
Other assets2
Trusts1
Partnership1
Other income1
Total58
Who each entry is declared for
58current entries
  • Self46
  • Spouse/partner8
  • Dependent child4
Who each entry is declared for
CategoryCount
Self46
Spouse/partner8
Dependent child4
Total58

Entries declared over time

Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.

0202120222023202420252026
Monthly declaration counts
MonthCount
2021-090
2021-100
2021-110
2021-120
2022-010
2022-020
2022-030
2022-040
2022-050
2022-060
2022-070
2022-080
2022-090
2022-100
2022-110
2022-120
2023-010
2023-020
2023-030
2023-040
2023-050
2023-060
2023-070
2023-080
2023-090
2023-100
2023-110
2023-120
2024-010
2024-020
2024-030
2024-040
2024-050
2024-060
2024-070
2024-080
2024-090
2024-100
2024-110
2024-120
2025-010
2025-020
2025-030
2025-040
2025-050
2025-060
2025-070
2025-080
2025-090
2025-100
2025-110
2025-120
2026-010
2026-020
2026-030
2026-040
2026-050
2026-060
2026-070
2026-080

58 entries without a stated date are not plotted.

Declared companies by industry
Distinct ASX-listed companies declared by this member, grouped by industry. A count of companies, not an amount.
IndustryDistinct companies
Equity Real Estate Investment Trusts (REITs)
2
Banks
1
Consumer Staples Distribution & Retail
1

Declared interests

Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.

Declared for

Showing 58 of 58 entries.

Declared entries from the Registers of Members’ and Senators’ Interests, in the register’s own words. No column is a quantity or a value; the registers record none.
Source

Shareholdings (18)

AMP Capital Core Infrastructure Fund - Class A Units — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
ANZ Banking Group — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
AUSBIL Investment Trust - Australian Active Equity Portfolio — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Advance Properties Securities Multi-Blend Fund - Wholesale Units — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Eley Griffiths Group Small Co Fund — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Flights to — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Magellan Flagship Fund Limited — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Maple-Brown Abbott Australian Share Fund - Wholesale Units — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Platinum International Brands Fund — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Schroder Credit Securities Fund WS Class — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Tuberculosis and Malaria (1-4 July) — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Vanguard W'sale Australian Property Securities Index Fund — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Westpac Bank Convertible Preferences Shares — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
WBC · Westpac Banking
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
WPL · Woodside Petroleum
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
WOW · Woolworths Group
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
accommodation in — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
and travel within Vietnam provided by the Global Fund to fight AIDS — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Trusts (1)

Shares in Australian Foundation Investment Company, ANZ, Computershare, iShare S&P/ASX Dividend Opportunities ETF, Mirrabooka Investments Limited, Seek Limited, Woolworths, Woodside Petroleum.
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Real estate (3)

Holdings in Global Value Fund Limited Magellan Flagship Fund Limited Platinum Capital Limited.
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
in HawthornResidence
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
in HawthornResidence
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Directorship (3)

GMG · Goodman Group
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Property units: Dexus Property Group — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
SGP · Stockland
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Partnership (1)

Domestic fixed interest bonds with - AGL Energy, AMP, APT Pipelines, Commonwealth Bank, Colonial Holding, Goodman Plus Trust, NAB, Origin Energy, Russell Australian Semi-Government Bond, Westpac, Woolworths.
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Liability (2)

MortgageBank SA
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Mortgage Investment LoanBank SA Bank SA
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Accounts (3)

Cheque and Savings AccountBank SA
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Savings AccountBank SA
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Savings AccountWestpac
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Other assets (2)

Asgard Superannuation Account
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Asgard Superannuation Account
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Other income (1)

Policy and Legal Officer, Real Estate Institute of South Australia
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Gift (3)

As above
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
As above
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Chairman's Lounge, Qantas; Tickets to One Direction concert for family from Adelaide Entertainment Centre;Tickets for ANZ Grand Final for family from Netball Australia; Tickets to Australia versus New Zealand Netball International from Netball Australia for family
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Sponsored travel (3)

As above
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
As above
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Tickets to One Direction concert for family from Adelaide Entertainment Centre; Tickets to ANZ Grand Final for family from Netball Australia; Tickets to Australia versus New Zealand Netball International from Netball Australia for family
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Office held (18)

Adelaide University Boat Club- Vice President
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Blackwood Business Network
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Blackwood Community Recreation Centre
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Friends of Brighton Secondary School – Life Member
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Hills Choral Society – Patron
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Lions International – Brighton branch
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Marion RSL
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Member Highgate School Fundraising Committee, Member Junior School Friends of SaintsLaw Society of South Australia, Scotch College Old Collegians Association, Member Flinders Medical Centre Foundation Fundraising Committee, Member Pink Yellow blue Ball Committee; South Australian Cricket Assoc.
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
National Press Club of Australia
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Please see attached list
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Plympton Flyers Little Athletics Club - Patron
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Rotary Club of Blackwood – Honorary Member
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Royal Australian College of General Practitioners – Associate Member
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Schuss Ski Club- Member
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Somerton Surf Life Saving Club – Vice Patron
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Son - Sturt Football Club; Unley Jets Football club; Adelaide Sailing Club; South Australian Cricket AssociationDaughter - Sturt Softball Club, Wildcats Netball club; Mitcham Dance Studio
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
South Australian Cricket Association
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Swimming SA – Vice Patron
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Funding returns lodged with the AEC

Only returns that name this parliamentarian are shown. Money declared as given to a party, a branch or an associated entity is not shown here and is not attributable to any individual.

Election returns linked to this member

Returns this member is linked to, newest first. Linking is per return and exact — an election that does not appear here has not been shown to lack one.

  • 2013 Federal electionCandidateBoothby, SA · Liberal Party of Australia (S.A. Division)Lodged as “SOUTHCOTT, Andrew JohnLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗

Annual member and senator returns are lodged by a small number of parliamentarians: the whole corpus holds 52 of them. Returns lodged by senators are linked to their profiles where the name on the lodged return matches the name we hold for them; where it does not, the return stays here unlinked rather than being attached to a guess. The Registers of Senators' Interests have not been read into this site yet, so a senator can appear here with a funding return and no declared interests beside it, which is a gap in our coverage rather than a record of what they declared. A parliamentarian with no return has not been shown to have received nothing — most never lodge one.

Amounts below the disclosure threshold in force for a given year are not published by the AEC and are absent from these figures. A low total means little was disclosed, not that little was received.

Source: AEC Transparency Register, reused under CC BY 4.0. © Commonwealth of Australia. The AEC does not endorse this site or its analysis.

Suburbs represented

Suburbs in Boothby. Representing a suburb has nothing to do with owning anything in it.

63 suburbs

Ascot Park · Bedford Park · Belair · Bellevue Heights · Black Forest · Blackwood (SA) · Brighton (SA) · Brown Hill Creek · Clapham · Clarence Gardens · Clarence Park · Clovelly Park · Colonel Light Gardens · Cumberland Park · Darlington (SA) · Daw Park · Dover Gardens · Eden Hills · Edwardstown · Glandore · Glenalta · Glenelg (SA) · Glenelg East · Glenelg North · Glenelg South · Glengowrie · Hawthorn (SA) · Hove · Kings Park (SA) · Kingston Park · Kingswood (SA) · Leawood Gardens · Lower Mitcham · Lynton · Marino · Marion · Melrose Park (SA) · Mitcham (SA) · Mitchell Park (SA) · Morphettville · Netherby (SA) · North Brighton · Oaklands Park · Panorama · Park Holme · Pasadena · Plympton Park · Seacliff · Seacliff Park · Seacombe Gardens · Seacombe Heights · Seaview Downs · Somerton Park · South Brighton · South Plympton · Springfield (SA) · St Marys (SA) · Sturt (SA) · Tonsley · Torrens Park · Urrbrae · Warradale · Westbourne Park

Register of Members’ Interests / Register of Senators’ Interests, Parliament of Australia. Original PDF · Report an error

Method & caveats

Australian federal parliamentarians must declare certain interests in the Register of Members’ Interests (House of Representatives) and the Register of Senators’ Interests. For holdings — shares, real estate, trusts, liabilities, assets — the registers record what is held and do not record quantity, value, purchase price or income. Nothing on this page states or implies the size of any holding, any gain or loss, or any trading activity.

Two items are different, because the form itself asks for a value: gifts and sponsored travel. Where a member stated an amount there, it appears as they wrote it. That figure is the declared value of a gift or a trip — never the size of a holding, and never a total.

Dates are the dates a declaration appeared in, or was removed from, the register — not transaction dates. A removal can mean an asset was disposed of, a declaration was corrected, or the member left parliament.

Company names are free text as written by the member. We link a declaration to an ASX listing only on an exact normalised match, a ticker the member stated, or a human-verified alias, so many declarations appear as text only. Real-estate declarations are suburb- or area-level; the registers contain no street addresses, and some declared locations do not map to a single ABS suburb.

Rows are declared as held by the member (“Self”), their spouse or partner, or a dependent child, exactly as the register records them. Members’ seats, parties and chambers change between parliaments.

Extracted from primary PDFs published by the Parliament of Australia; parliamentary material, © Commonwealth of Australia. Corrections are annotated, not silently applied. Not financial advice.