Parliament’s Portfolio

Anne Aly

Anne Aly

ALPMember for CowanWAparliaments 45–48
  • 45th–47th · Member for Cowan · Party not recorded
  • 48th · Member for Cowan · Labor

Portrait: Wikimedia Commons — Auspic / DFAT (CC BY 4.0). Not a Parliament of Australia image.

This page covers the 44th, 45th and 48th Parliaments in full. We have read only part of the 46th and 47th Parliaments — this member’s own document may be among those still unread. An empty section below means we have no recorded entry — not that the member declared nothing.

57
entries currently declared
0
ASX-listed companies named
5
real-estate declarations
7
liabilities entries
22
gifts and sponsored travel
24 Sept 2021
register last updated

Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.

About these counts

The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.

What is declared, at a glance

Declared categories
57current entries
  • Gift12
  • Sponsored travel10
  • Other income8
  • Liability7
  • Real estate5
  • Other (7)15
Declared categories
CategoryCount
Gift12
Sponsored travel10
Other income8
Liability7
Real estate5
Directorship4
Accounts3
Shareholdings2
Other assets2
Other interest2
Trusts1
Office held1
Total57
Who each entry is declared for
57current entries
  • Self23
  • Spouse/partner18
  • Dependent child2
  • Holder not stated14
Who each entry is declared for
CategoryCount
Self23
Spouse/partner18
Dependent child2
Holder not stated14
Total57

Entries declared over time

Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.

059202120222023202420252026
Monthly declaration counts
MonthCount
2021-099
2021-109
2021-119
2021-129
2022-019
2022-028
2022-038
2022-048
2022-058
2022-068
2022-078
2022-088
2022-098
2022-108
2022-118
2022-128
2023-018
2023-028
2023-038
2023-048
2023-058
2023-068
2023-078
2023-088
2023-098
2023-108
2023-118
2023-128
2024-018
2024-028
2024-038
2024-048
2024-058
2024-068
2024-078
2024-088
2024-098
2024-108
2024-118
2024-128
2025-018
2025-028
2025-038
2025-048
2025-058
2025-068
2025-078
2025-088
2025-098
2025-108
2025-118
2025-128
2026-018
2026-028
2026-038
2026-048
2026-058
2026-068
2026-078
2026-088

49 entries without a stated date are not plotted.

Declared interests

Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.

Declared for

Showing 58 of 58 entries.

Declared entries from the Registers of Members’ and Senators’ Interests, in the register’s own words. No column is a quantity or a value; the registers record none.
Source

Shareholdings (3)

Spouse / Partner: Hyperpower Pty Ltd
Private company
Holder not stated
Declared since 24 Sept 202146P ↗
Hyperpower Pty Ltd
Private company
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Self: Hyperpower Pty Ltd
Private company
Holder not stated
24 Sept 2021 – 24 Feb 202246P ↗

Trusts (1)

children), indicating the name of the trust, the nature of its operation and the beneficiary of the trust
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Real estate (5)

AT
Holder not stated
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Belmont (WA) WAINVESTMENT
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Belmont (WA) WAINVESTMENT
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Madeley WA
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Madeley WA
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Directorship (4)

SHARAKA T PTY LTD CONSULTING
Private company
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
SHARAKA T PTY LTD CONSULTING
Private company
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Sharakat Pty Ltd
Private company
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Sharakat Pty Ltd
Private company
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Liability (7)

BANK BEfNG FOR AT MADELY WA, AT WILSON WA AND BELMONT WA- OWN AND
Holder not stated
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
MORTGAGES ING PERSONAL LOAN ANZ
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
MORTGAGES rNG PERSONAL LOAN ESSANDA- MACQUARIE CREDIT CARD BANK.WESTBANK
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Mortgage on investment properties Mortgage on investment propertyWestpac ING
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Mortgage on investment properties Mortgage on investment property personal loan carWestpac ING Toyota Finance
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Mortgage on investment properties; Mortgage on investment propertyWestpac; ING
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Mortgage on investment properties; Mortgage on investment property; Personal loan for carWestpac; ING; Toyota Finance
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Accounts (3)

INVESTMENT ACCOUNTS ACCOUNT- OWN AND SPOUSE
Holder not stated
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
SA VrNGS- DEBIT CARD BANK.WEST MORTGAGE OFFSET ACCOUNT ING SAVINGS rNG
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
SAVINGS- DEBIT CARD BANK.WEST MORTGAGE OFFSET ACCOUNT ING
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Other assets (2)

Superannuation fund
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Superannuation fund
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Other income (8)

Income from investment properties; Payment for authored works; Lending rights for books previously authored
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Income from investment properties; Salary for employment
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Lending rights from books previously authored
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
RENT AL INCOME
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
RENT AL INCOME
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Salary for employment
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
income from investment properties Salary from employment
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
income from investment properties payment for authored works lening rights for books previously authored
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Gift (12)

Complimentary subscription to Foxtel television at my electorate office as provided by ASTRA Subscription Media Australia. Value at $1600.
Holder not stated
Declared since 6 Sept 201946P ↗
2 × complimentary passes to 2023 Perth SuperSprint Saturday session
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
2 × complimentary tickets to Capel Vale Conquer Cystic Fibrosis Grand Ball offered by Conquer Cystic Fibrosis & received 20 May 2023 - total value $500; Additional details relating to prior declarations:; - 2 × tickets to Perth première of "Moulin Rouge! The Musical" offered by Global Creatures Pty Ltd & received 23 February 2023 - estimated total value $598; - 2 × complimentary passes to 2023 Perth SuperSprint Saturday session offered by W.A. Sporting Car Club Inc. & received 28 April 2023 - estimated total value $200
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
2 × tickets to Perth première of "Moulin Rouge! The Musical" offered by Global Creatures Pty Ltd
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Qantas Chairman's Lounge membership Virgin Club membership
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Qantas Chairman's Lounge membership Virgin Club membership
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Qantas Chairman's Lounge membership; Virgin Club membership
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Qantas Chairman's Lounge membership; Virgin Club membership; Complimentary subscription to Foxtel supplied to electorate office by Australian Subscription Television and Radio Association (ASTRA)
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Qantas Chairman’s Lounge membership Virgin Club membership
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Qantas Chairman’s Lounge membership Virgin Club membership
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
SCREEN AUSTRALIA
Holder not stated
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
children from family members or personal friends in a purely personal capacity need not be
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Sponsored travel (10)

Participation in a parliamentary learning tour to Bangladesh and Cox's Bazar Refugee Camp between 18 and 23 January 2020 as part of the Austrailan Regional Leadership Initiative delivered by Save the Children. The tour aimed to provide an overview of Australia’s development assistance to Bangladesh and humanitarian assistance in response to the Rohingya refugee crisis. All costs inclurred by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation. Total cost of $4500 inclusive of flights, accommodation, meals, transfers and other tour related costs. Cost of
Holder not stated
Declared since 5 Feb 202046P ↗
Funding of return flights between Canberra and Sydney and one night accommodation in November 2019 to speak at an event arranged and funded by the NSW Society of Labor Lawyers. Value of flights $943.97 Value of accommodation $387.00
Holder not stated
Declared since 20 Dec 201946P ↗
On 25 September I travelled from Perth to Sydney to speak at the 2019 Annual Deans of Arts, Social Sciences and Humanities (DASSH) Conference hosted by DASSH. Cost of return economy airfares - $688.48. One night accommodation - $180. Transfers as required.
Holder not stated
Declared since 2 Oct 201946P ↗
Between 16 and 23 September 2019 I travelled from Perth to New Zealand via Sydney to speak at the 2019 Australian and New Zealand Bar Associations Joint Conference in Queenstown. Cost of return business class airfares – NZD 4143.95 and three nights’ accommodation: NZD 1185.00 and transfers as required were funded by the Australian and New Zealand Bar Associations. During this time I visited Wellington to meet with the New Zealand Office of Film and Literature Classification (OFAL). Cost of return economy class airfares between Queenstown and Wellington – NZD 278 and transfers as required were funded by the OFAL.
Holder not stated
Declared since 6 Sept 201946P ↗
Ticket to West Coast Fever and Collingwood Magpies game on 12 August 2019 at RAC Arena as the guest of Wanneroo Districts Netball Assocation.
Holder not stated
Declared since 6 Sept 201946P ↗
Two tickets provided by Olympic Kingsway Football Club to the Club's Award Presentation Night at Crown Perth on 4 October 2019. Value at $175.00.
Holder not stated
Declared since 6 Sept 201946P ↗
1 x SriLankan Airlines return business-class airfare from Melbourne to Colombo, 1 night's accommodation at Galadari Hotel, Colombo, and incidental transport, provided by Women in Management to attend Women Top 50 Global Economic Forum and Awards
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
CANBERRA AND TlO IN MELBOURNE TO CAST AN CENTRE
Holder not stated
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Complimentary full registration for Australian Council of State Schools Organisations 2022 National Conference - valued at $370 ex GST
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
PERTH FOR A PHOTO SHOOT FOR HARPER'S BAZAAR MAGAZINE. FLIGHTS AND ACCOMODATION BOOKED BY STAGE AND SCREEN 6 OCTOBER 2016
Holder not stated
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Office held (1)

FOUNDING CHAIR- PEOPLE AGAINST VIOLENT EXTREMISM ASS INC
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Other interest (2)

Employed at the WA Corruption and Crime Commission
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
WA AMBASSADOR- BALI PEACE PARK ASSOCIATION INC ADJUNCT PROFESSOR- EDITH COW AN UNIVERSITY ADJUNCT ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR- CURTIN UNIVERSITY
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Funding returns lodged with the AEC

Only returns that name this parliamentarian are shown. Money declared as given to a party, a branch or an associated entity is not shown here and is not attributable to any individual.

Annual returns lodged by this member

  • 2020-21 Member of House of Representatives ReturnLodged as “Hon Dr Anne Aly MP$12,48210 donorsAEC return ↗

The total each return declares receiving in that financial year, and the number of donors it names.

Election returns linked to this member

Returns this member is linked to, newest first. Linking is per return and exact — an election that does not appear here has not been shown to lack one.

  • 2025 Federal ElectionCandidateCowan, WA · Australian Labor Party (Western Australian Branch)Lodged as “ALY, Anne AzzaLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2022 Federal electionCandidateCowan, WA · Australian Labor Party (Western Australian Branch)Lodged as “ALY, AnneLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2019 Federal electionCandidateCowan, WA · Australian Labor Party (Western Australian Branch)Lodged as “ALY, AnneLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2016 Federal electionCandidateCowan, WA · Australian Labor Party (Western Australian Branch)Lodged as “ALY, AnneLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗

Annual member and senator returns are lodged by a small number of parliamentarians: the whole corpus holds 52 of them. Returns lodged by senators are linked to their profiles where the name on the lodged return matches the name we hold for them; where it does not, the return stays here unlinked rather than being attached to a guess. The Registers of Senators' Interests have not been read into this site yet, so a senator can appear here with a funding return and no declared interests beside it, which is a gap in our coverage rather than a record of what they declared. A parliamentarian with no return has not been shown to have received nothing — most never lodge one.

Amounts below the disclosure threshold in force for a given year are not published by the AEC and are absent from these figures. A low total means little was disclosed, not that little was received.

Source: AEC Transparency Register, reused under CC BY 4.0. © Commonwealth of Australia. The AEC does not endorse this site or its analysis.

Suburbs represented

Suburbs in Cowan. Representing a suburb has nothing to do with owning anything in it.

21 suburbs

Alexander Heights · Balcatta · Balga · Ballajura · Cullacabardee · Darch · Dianella · Girrawheen · Greenwood (WA) · Hamersley · Koondoola · Landsdale · Madeley · Malaga · Marangaroo · Mirrabooka (WA) · Nollamara · Stirling (WA) · Wangara · Warwick (WA) · Westminster

Register of Members’ Interests / Register of Senators’ Interests, Parliament of Australia — as at 24 September 2021. Report an error

Method & caveats

Australian federal parliamentarians must declare certain interests in the Register of Members’ Interests (House of Representatives) and the Register of Senators’ Interests. For holdings — shares, real estate, trusts, liabilities, assets — the registers record what is held and do not record quantity, value, purchase price or income. Nothing on this page states or implies the size of any holding, any gain or loss, or any trading activity.

Two items are different, because the form itself asks for a value: gifts and sponsored travel. Where a member stated an amount there, it appears as they wrote it. That figure is the declared value of a gift or a trip — never the size of a holding, and never a total.

Dates are the dates a declaration appeared in, or was removed from, the register — not transaction dates. A removal can mean an asset was disposed of, a declaration was corrected, or the member left parliament.

Company names are free text as written by the member. We link a declaration to an ASX listing only on an exact normalised match, a ticker the member stated, or a human-verified alias, so many declarations appear as text only. Real-estate declarations are suburb- or area-level; the registers contain no street addresses, and some declared locations do not map to a single ABS suburb.

Rows are declared as held by the member (“Self”), their spouse or partner, or a dependent child, exactly as the register records them. Members’ seats, parties and chambers change between parliaments.

Extracted from primary PDFs published by the Parliament of Australia; parliamentary material, © Commonwealth of Australia. Corrections are annotated, not silently applied. Not financial advice.