Parliament’s Portfolio

Anthony Burke

Anthony Burke

ALPMember for WatsonNSWparliaments 46–47
  • 46th–47th · Member for Watson · Party not recorded

Portrait: Wikimedia Commons — UK Home Office (CC BY 4.0). Not a Parliament of Australia image.

This page covers the 44th, 45th and 48th Parliaments in full. We have read only part of the 46th and 47th Parliaments — this member’s own document may be among those still unread. An empty section below means we have no recorded entry — not that the member declared nothing.

48
entries currently declared
1
ASX-listed companies named
7
real-estate declarations
7
liabilities entries
18
gifts and sponsored travel
31 Jan 2022
register last updated

Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.

About these counts

The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.

What is declared, at a glance

Declared categories
48current entries
  • Sponsored travel12
  • Real estate7
  • Liability7
  • Other income6
  • Gift6
  • Other (5)10
Declared categories
CategoryCount
Sponsored travel12
Real estate7
Liability7
Other income6
Gift6
Accounts4
Office held3
Shareholdings1
Trusts1
Bonds1
Total48
Who each entry is declared for
48current entries
  • Self23
  • Spouse/partner13
  • Dependent child3
  • Holder not stated9
Who each entry is declared for
CategoryCount
Self23
Spouse/partner13
Dependent child3
Holder not stated9
Total48

Entries declared over time

Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.

059202120222023202420252026
Monthly declaration counts
MonthCount
2021-095
2021-105
2021-115
2021-125
2022-019
2022-029
2022-039
2022-049
2022-059
2022-069
2022-079
2022-089
2022-099
2022-109
2022-119
2022-129
2023-019
2023-029
2023-039
2023-049
2023-059
2023-069
2023-079
2023-089
2023-099
2023-109
2023-119
2023-129
2024-019
2024-029
2024-039
2024-049
2024-059
2024-069
2024-079
2024-089
2024-099
2024-109
2024-119
2024-129
2025-019
2025-029
2025-039
2025-049
2025-059
2025-069
2025-079
2025-089
2025-099
2025-109
2025-119
2025-129
2026-019
2026-029
2026-039
2026-049
2026-059
2026-069
2026-079
2026-089

39 entries without a stated date are not plotted.

Declared companies by industry
Distinct ASX-listed companies declared by this member, grouped by industry. A count of companies, not an amount.
IndustryDistinct companies
Utilities
1

Declared interests

Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.

Declared for

Showing 48 of 48 entries.

Declared entries from the Registers of Members’ and Senators’ Interests, in the register’s own words. No column is a quantity or a value; the registers record none.
Source

Shareholdings (1)

AGL · Agl Energy Limited.
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Trusts (1)

Estate still not settled, my father Kevin Michael Burke
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Real estate (7)

Investment Property * - Huon Valley Council
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Jan 202246P ↗
purchase of land Huon Valley mortgage CBA
Holder not stated
Declared since 18 Aug 202146P ↗
Canberra -Investment
Holder not stated
Declared since 14 Nov 201946P ↗
Belconnen ACT
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Belconnen ACT
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Punchbowl
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Punchbowl
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Liability (7)

Mortgage property - City of Port Phillip - CBA
Holder not stated
Declared since 31 Jan 202246P ↗
CBA Mortgage for land Huon Valley
Holder not stated
Declared since 18 Aug 202146P ↗
Mortage Canberra investment property - Creditor Commonwealth Bank
Holder not stated
Declared since 14 Nov 201946P ↗
Mortgages on properties listedCBA
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Mortgages on properties listedCBA
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Mortgages on properties listed aboveCBA
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Mortgages on properties listed aboveCBA
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Bonds (1)

Income from property - City of Port Phillip
Holder not stated
Declared since 31 Jan 202246P ↗

Accounts (4)

Savings AccountCBA
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Savings Account Savings AccountCBA ME
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Savings account; Savings accountCBA; ME
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Savings account; Savings accountCBA; ME
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Other income (6)

Beneficiary - Estate Late Kevin Burke
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Jan 202246P ↗
Rental income Canberra investment property until 30 Nov 2019
Holder not stated
Declared since 14 Nov 201946P ↗
Income from Meander Valley property
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Income from West Tamar property Dept of Finance
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Income from properties: Meander Valley TAS & Port Phillip VIC;
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Income from properties: Sorell TAS
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Gift (6)

Foxtel services to my Electorate Office Punchbowl, Qantas and Virgin Membership lounges
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Foxtel services to my Electorate Office, Qantas and Virgin airport lounges
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Gifts Custom tambourine for the 'Left Right Out', gifted by the Pharmacy Guild of Australia following performance at Guild's 2024 Annual Parliamentary Dinner, received 6 January 2025, Priceless
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Qantas and Virgin Membership lounges
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Qantas and Virgin airport lounges
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
children from family members or personal friends in a purely personal capacity need not be
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Sponsored travel (12)

Accommodation at Woodford QLD for 2022-2023 provided by Woodford Folk Festival.
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
As Above
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Foundation Theatres: Opening night Jesus Christ Superstar Capitol Theatre
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Hospitality and tickets to The Australian Ballet Friday 3 May 2024
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Selected Rugby League games - Canterbury Bulldogs, Selected performances - Opera Australia, Sydney Theatre Company, Belvoir Theatre Company, Griffin Theatre, a number of concerts, performances, festivals and exhibitions in my capacity as Shadow Minister for the Arts.
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Selected Rugby Leagues games Canterbury Bulldogs; Selected performances, festival and exhibitions in my capacity as Minister for the Arts
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Selected performances, festivals and exhibitions
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Selected performances,festivals and concerts
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Tickets @ Juliet provided by Michael Cassell Group; Tickets WOMAdelaide provided by WOMAdelaide; Tickets Wicked provided by Foundation Theatres; Tickets Handa Opera provided by Opera Australia
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Tickets to Bluesfest provided by Bluesfest
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Tickets to Melbourne Symphony Orchestra Thursday 23 May 2024
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Tickets to Paul McCartney concert in a Corporate Suite on Saturday 28 October 2023. Tickets and official hospitality provided by Frontier Touring.; Tickets to Foo Fighters concert in a Corporate Suite on Saturday 9 December 2023. Tickets and official hospitality provided by Sony Music.; Accommodation at Woodford QLD on Wednesday 27th and Thursday 28th December 2023 provided by Woodforde Folk Festival.
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Office held (3)

ALP, Shop Distributive and Allied Employees Association, Lakemba Bowling Club Benevolent Society and Local Registered Clubs
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
ALP, Shop, Distributive and Allied Employess Association, Lakemba Bowing Club Benevolent Society, Local Registered Clubs
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
ALP, United Services Union
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Funding returns lodged with the AEC

Only returns that name this parliamentarian are shown. Money declared as given to a party, a branch or an associated entity is not shown here and is not attributable to any individual.

Election returns linked to this member

Returns this member is linked to, newest first. Linking is per return and exact — an election that does not appear here has not been shown to lack one.

  • 2022 Federal electionCandidateWatson, NSW · Australian Labor Party (N.S.W. Branch)Lodged as “BURKE, Anthony StephenLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2019 Federal electionCandidateWatson, NSW · Australian Labor Party (N.S.W. Branch)Lodged as “BURKE, Anthony StephenLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗

Annual member and senator returns are lodged by a small number of parliamentarians: the whole corpus holds 52 of them. Returns lodged by senators are linked to their profiles where the name on the lodged return matches the name we hold for them; where it does not, the return stays here unlinked rather than being attached to a guess. The Registers of Senators' Interests have not been read into this site yet, so a senator can appear here with a funding return and no declared interests beside it, which is a gap in our coverage rather than a record of what they declared. A parliamentarian with no return has not been shown to have received nothing — most never lodge one.

Amounts below the disclosure threshold in force for a given year are not published by the AEC and are absent from these figures. A low total means little was disclosed, not that little was received.

Source: AEC Transparency Register, reused under CC BY 4.0. © Commonwealth of Australia. The AEC does not endorse this site or its analysis.

Suburbs represented

Suburbs in Watson. Representing a suburb has nothing to do with owning anything in it.

17 suburbs

Bankstown · Bankstown Aerodrome · Belfield · Belmore · Campsie · Canterbury (NSW) · Chullora · Condell Park · Georges Hall · Greenacre · Lakemba · Lansdowne (Canterbury-Bankstown - NSW) · Mount Lewis · Punchbowl (Canterbury-Bankstown - NSW) · Strathfield South · Wiley Park · Yagoona

Register of Members’ Interests / Register of Senators’ Interests, Parliament of Australia — as at 31 January 2022. Report an error

Method & caveats

Australian federal parliamentarians must declare certain interests in the Register of Members’ Interests (House of Representatives) and the Register of Senators’ Interests. For holdings — shares, real estate, trusts, liabilities, assets — the registers record what is held and do not record quantity, value, purchase price or income. Nothing on this page states or implies the size of any holding, any gain or loss, or any trading activity.

Two items are different, because the form itself asks for a value: gifts and sponsored travel. Where a member stated an amount there, it appears as they wrote it. That figure is the declared value of a gift or a trip — never the size of a holding, and never a total.

Dates are the dates a declaration appeared in, or was removed from, the register — not transaction dates. A removal can mean an asset was disposed of, a declaration was corrected, or the member left parliament.

Company names are free text as written by the member. We link a declaration to an ASX listing only on an exact normalised match, a ticker the member stated, or a human-verified alias, so many declarations appear as text only. Real-estate declarations are suburb- or area-level; the registers contain no street addresses, and some declared locations do not map to a single ABS suburb.

Rows are declared as held by the member (“Self”), their spouse or partner, or a dependent child, exactly as the register records them. Members’ seats, parties and chambers change between parliaments.

Extracted from primary PDFs published by the Parliament of Australia; parliamentary material, © Commonwealth of Australia. Corrections are annotated, not silently applied. Not financial advice.