Parliament’s Portfolio

Anthony Byrne

Anthony Byrne

ALPMember for HoltVICparliaments 44–46
  • 44th–46th · Member for Holt · Party not recorded

Portrait: Wikimedia Commons — ZeHabesha TV (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCaVGIhg-xzGrIg-7ZEZ--ew) (CC BY 3.0). Not a Parliament of Australia image.

This page covers the 44th, 45th and 48th Parliaments in full. We have read only part of the 46th and 47th Parliaments — this member’s own document may be among those still unread. An empty section below means we have no recorded entry — not that the member declared nothing.

31
entries currently declared
0
ASX-listed companies named
2
real-estate declarations
9
liabilities entries
4
gifts and sponsored travel
31 Oct 2019
register last updated

Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.

About these counts

The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.

What is declared, at a glance

Declared categories
31current entries
  • Liability9
  • Accounts7
  • Gift4
  • Office held4
  • Real estate2
  • Other (4)5
Declared categories
CategoryCount
Liability9
Accounts7
Gift4
Office held4
Real estate2
Directorship2
Trusts1
Other assets1
Other income1
Total31
Who each entry is declared for
31current entries
  • Self15
  • Spouse/partner12
  • Dependent child3
  • Holder not stated1
Who each entry is declared for
CategoryCount
Self15
Spouse/partner12
Dependent child3
Holder not stated1
Total31

Entries declared over time

Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.

01202120222023202420252026
Monthly declaration counts
MonthCount
2021-091
2021-101
2021-111
2021-121
2022-011
2022-021
2022-031
2022-041
2022-051
2022-061
2022-071
2022-081
2022-091
2022-101
2022-111
2022-121
2023-011
2023-021
2023-031
2023-041
2023-051
2023-061
2023-071
2023-081
2023-091
2023-101
2023-111
2023-121
2024-011
2024-021
2024-031
2024-041
2024-051
2024-061
2024-071
2024-081
2024-091
2024-101
2024-111
2024-121
2025-011
2025-021
2025-031
2025-041
2025-051
2025-061
2025-071
2025-081
2025-091
2025-101
2025-111
2025-121
2026-011
2026-021
2026-031
2026-041
2026-051
2026-061
2026-071
2026-081

30 entries without a stated date are not plotted.

Declared interests

Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.

Declared for

Showing 31 of 31 entries.

Declared entries from the Registers of Members’ and Senators’ Interests, in the register’s own words. No column is a quantity or a value; the registers record none.
Source

Trusts (1)

AFL Match at the MCG 28/7/18Guests of Ladbrokes
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Real estate (2)

Berwick VICRESIDENCE
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Endeavour Hills VICRESIDENCE
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Directorship (2)

DR DINA MCMILLAN — not matched to an ASX listing
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
McMillan Consulting Group — not matched to an ASX listing
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Liability (9)

MAQUARIE LEASINGCAR LOAN
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
MORTGAGEST GEORGE BANK
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
MORTGAGE & PERSONAL LOANANZ BANK
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Mortgage - ANZ Bank
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Mortgage Personal Loan Personal LoanANZ ANZ BankWest
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
PERSONAL LOANST GEORGE BANK
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
PERSONAL LOANANZ BANK
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Personal Loan - Newell Lock & Co
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Personal Loan - Newell Lock and Co.
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Accounts (7)

SAVINGSI.N.G BANK
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
SAVINGSCOMMONWEALTH BANK
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
SAVINGS & CHEQUE ACCOUNTANZ BANK
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
SAVINGS ACCOUNTNATIONAL AUSTRALIA BANK
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
SAVINGS/ CHEQUE ACCOUNTANZ BANK
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
SAVINGS/ CHEQUE ACCOUNTNATIONAL AUSTRALIA BANK
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Savings ChequeANZ ANZ
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Other assets (1)

HESTA SUPERANNUATION
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Other income (1)

CONSULTANCY FEES
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Gift (4)

2 X Complimentary tickets to the AFL Preliminary Final (21/9/19) from the Melbourne Cricket Club
Holder not stated
Declared since 31 Oct 201946P ↗
Complimentary Electorate Office Pay TV subscription supplied by ASTRA
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Complimentary Pay TV Subscription for Electorate Office - from ASTRA Complimentary Qantas Chairman's Lounge Membership Complimentary Virgin Australia Club Membership
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
children from family members or personal friends in a purely personal capacity need not be
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Office held (4)

AUSTRALIAN LABOR PARTYAUSTRALIAN SERVICES UNION
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
AUSTRALIAN LABOR PARTY
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Australian Labor Party Transport Workers Union
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
MEDIA ENTERTAINMENT ALLIANCE
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Funding returns lodged with the AEC

Only returns that name this parliamentarian are shown. Money declared as given to a party, a branch or an associated entity is not shown here and is not attributable to any individual.

Election returns linked to this member

Returns this member is linked to, newest first. Linking is per return and exact — an election that does not appear here has not been shown to lack one.

  • 2019 Federal electionCandidateHolt, VIC · Australian Labor Party (Victorian Branch)Lodged as “BYRNE, Anthony MichaelLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2016 Federal electionCandidateHolt, VIC · Australian Labor Party (Victorian Branch)Lodged as “BYRNE, Anthony MichaelLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2013 Federal electionCandidateHolt, VIC · Australian Labor Party (Victorian Branch)Lodged as “BYRNE, Anthony MichaelLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗

Annual member and senator returns are lodged by a small number of parliamentarians: the whole corpus holds 52 of them. Returns lodged by senators are linked to their profiles where the name on the lodged return matches the name we hold for them; where it does not, the return stays here unlinked rather than being attached to a guess. The Registers of Senators' Interests have not been read into this site yet, so a senator can appear here with a funding return and no declared interests beside it, which is a gap in our coverage rather than a record of what they declared. A parliamentarian with no return has not been shown to have received nothing — most never lodge one.

Amounts below the disclosure threshold in force for a given year are not published by the AEC and are absent from these figures. A low total means little was disclosed, not that little was received.

Source: AEC Transparency Register, reused under CC BY 4.0. © Commonwealth of Australia. The AEC does not endorse this site or its analysis.

Suburbs represented

Suburbs in Holt. Representing a suburb has nothing to do with owning anything in it.

15 suburbs

Blind Bight · Botanic Ridge · Cannons Creek · Clyde (Vic.) · Cranbourne · Cranbourne East · Cranbourne South · Cranbourne West · Devon Meadows · Hampton Park · Junction Village · Lynbrook · Pearcedale · Tooradin · Warneet

Register of Members’ Interests / Register of Senators’ Interests, Parliament of Australia — as at 31 October 2019. Report an error

Method & caveats

Australian federal parliamentarians must declare certain interests in the Register of Members’ Interests (House of Representatives) and the Register of Senators’ Interests. For holdings — shares, real estate, trusts, liabilities, assets — the registers record what is held and do not record quantity, value, purchase price or income. Nothing on this page states or implies the size of any holding, any gain or loss, or any trading activity.

Two items are different, because the form itself asks for a value: gifts and sponsored travel. Where a member stated an amount there, it appears as they wrote it. That figure is the declared value of a gift or a trip — never the size of a holding, and never a total.

Dates are the dates a declaration appeared in, or was removed from, the register — not transaction dates. A removal can mean an asset was disposed of, a declaration was corrected, or the member left parliament.

Company names are free text as written by the member. We link a declaration to an ASX listing only on an exact normalised match, a ticker the member stated, or a human-verified alias, so many declarations appear as text only. Real-estate declarations are suburb- or area-level; the registers contain no street addresses, and some declared locations do not map to a single ABS suburb.

Rows are declared as held by the member (“Self”), their spouse or partner, or a dependent child, exactly as the register records them. Members’ seats, parties and chambers change between parliaments.

Extracted from primary PDFs published by the Parliament of Australia; parliamentary material, © Commonwealth of Australia. Corrections are annotated, not silently applied. Not financial advice.