Parliament’s Portfolio

Ben Morton

Ben Morton

ALPMember for TangneyWAparliaments 45–46
  • 45th–46th · Member for Tangney · Party not recorded

Portrait: Wikimedia Commons — Commonwealth of Australia (CC BY 4.0). Not a Parliament of Australia image.

This page covers the 44th, 45th and 48th Parliaments in full. We have read only part of the 46th and 47th Parliaments — this member’s own document may be among those still unread. An empty section below means we have no recorded entry — not that the member declared nothing.

72
entries currently declared
1
ASX-listed companies named
8
real-estate declarations
6
liabilities entries
37
gifts and sponsored travel
11 Oct 2021
register last updated

Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.

About these counts

The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.

What is declared, at a glance

Declared categories
72current entries
  • Sponsored travel23
  • Gift14
  • Real estate8
  • Other income7
  • Liability6
  • Other (5)14
Declared categories
CategoryCount
Sponsored travel23
Gift14
Real estate8
Other income7
Liability6
Other assets6
Accounts3
Office held3
Shareholdings1
Partnership1
Total72
Who each entry is declared for
72current entries
  • Self39
  • Spouse/partner19
  • Dependent child2
  • Holder not stated12
Who each entry is declared for
CategoryCount
Self39
Spouse/partner19
Dependent child2
Holder not stated12
Total72

Entries declared over time

Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.

0612202120222023202420252026
Monthly declaration counts
MonthCount
2021-0910
2021-1012
2021-1112
2021-1212
2022-0112
2022-0212
2022-0312
2022-0412
2022-0512
2022-0612
2022-0712
2022-0812
2022-0912
2022-1012
2022-1112
2022-1212
2023-0112
2023-0212
2023-0312
2023-0412
2023-0512
2023-0612
2023-0712
2023-0812
2023-0912
2023-1012
2023-1112
2023-1212
2024-0112
2024-0212
2024-0312
2024-0412
2024-0512
2024-0612
2024-0712
2024-0812
2024-0912
2024-1012
2024-1112
2024-1212
2025-0112
2025-0212
2025-0312
2025-0412
2025-0512
2025-0612
2025-0712
2025-0812
2025-0912
2025-1012
2025-1112
2025-1212
2026-0112
2026-0212
2026-0312
2026-0412
2026-0512
2026-0612
2026-0712
2026-0812

60 entries without a stated date are not plotted.

Declared companies by industry
Distinct ASX-listed companies declared by this member, grouped by industry. A count of companies, not an amount.
IndustryDistinct companies
Insurance
1

Declared interests

Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.

Declared for

Showing 73 of 73 entries.

Declared entries from the Registers of Members’ and Senators’ Interests, in the register’s own words. No column is a quantity or a value; the registers record none.
Source

Shareholdings (1)

NHF · Nib Holdings
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Real estate (8)

Griffith ACT - Canberra Accommodation
Holder not stated
Declared since 13 Oct 202046P ↗
APPLECROSS, WA (Jointly with Spouse)HOME
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Applecross WAHome (50% Share)
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Applecross WAHome (50% Share) Canberra Accomodation (50% Share)
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Griffith (ACT) ACTCANBERRA ACCOMODATION
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Investment Property- Scullion
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
SCULLIONINVESTMENT PROPERTY
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Time share-Holiday
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Partnership (1)

AZIF PARTNERSHIP (1/5 Share)SHARES, TOTAL PARTNERSHIP VALUE LESS THAN $250. NON-ACTIVE – FAMILY AND FRIENDS SHARE TRADING CLUB – HOLDING ONLY RESIDUAL SHARES PENDING CLOSURE.
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Liability (6)

CREDIT CARDWESTPAC
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
CREDIT CARDSWESTPAC/ AMEX
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Credit Cards / Flexi Loan MortgagesWestpac / Amex Westpac
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
MORTGAGESWESTPAC/ COMMONWEALTH BANK
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
MORTGAGESWESTPAC
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Mortgage (Joint with spouse) Credit CardWestpac Westpac
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Accounts (3)

SAVINGS ACCOUNTSWESTPAC
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
SAVINGS AND TRANSACTION ACCOUNTSWESTPAC
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
SAVINGS AND TRANSACTION ACCOUNTSWESTPAC
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Other assets (6)

FUNDS HELD IN TRUST BY GLOMESH INTERNATIONAL PTY LTD, PENDING THE ISSUE OF NEW SHARES IN GLOMESH INTERNATIONAL PTY LTD. ( Jointly with Spouse)
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
FUNDS HELD IN TRUST BY GLOMESH INTERNATIONAL PTY LTD, PENDING THE ISSUE OF NEW SHARES IN GLOMESH INTERNATIONAL PTY LTD. (JOINTLY WITH SPOUSE) SUPERANNUATION – AUSTRALIAN SUPER / GESB TIME SHARE – HOLIDAY CLUB – USA (JOINTLY WITH SPOUSE)
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
FUNDS HELD IN TRUST BY GLOMESH INTERNATIONAL PTY LTD, PENDING THE ISSUE OF NEW SHARES IN GLOMESH INTERNATIONAL PTY LTD. (JOINTLY WITH SPOUSE) SUPERANNUATION- AUSTRALIAN SUPER/ PSS MOTOR VEHICLE TIME SHARE – HOLIDAY CLUB – USA (JOINTLY WITH SPOUSE)
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
MOTOR VEHICLE
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
SUPERANNUATION - AUSTRALIAN SUPER/ GESB
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
SUPERANNUATION - AUSTRALIAN SUPER/ PSS
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Other income (8)

Spouse - Salary - Part Time - Project Coordinator - Digital Technologies - CME WA
Holder not stated
Declared since 21 Sept 202146P ↗
Salary, Commonwealth Employee
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Salary, Liberal Party of Australia (WA Division)
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Salary, Skilling Australia Foundation
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Salary, WA Department of Education
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Salary, WA Government
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Salary, WA Government / Skilling Australia Foundation
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Spouse - Salary - Skilling Australia Foundation
Holder not stated
30 July 2019 – 21 Sept 202146P ↗

Gift (14)

AIRLINE LOUNGE MEMBERSHIP- QANTAS AND VIRGIN - INCLUDES UPGRADES THROUGHOUT THE YEAR
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
AIRLINE LOUNGE MEMBERSHIPS - QANTAS AND VIRGIN
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
AIRLINE LOUNGE MEMBERSHIPS - QANTAS AND VIRGIN
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
AMP- Wallabies vs Scotland match
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
FOXTEL IN ELECTORATE OFFICE
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
FOXTEL IN ELECTORATE OFFICE AIRLINE LOUNGE MEMBERSHIP- QANTAS AND VIRGIN - INCLUDES UPGRADES THROUGHOUT THE YEAR LIMITED PRO BONO ADVICE – STEVEN PENGLIS SC
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Flights and accommodation, Australian News Channel
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
LIMITED PRO BONO LEGAL ADVICE - MR STEVEN PENGLIS & MR RICHARD GRAHAM
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
NRL WA -Ticket to the 2017 NRL Grand Final and related hospitality.
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Qantas- upgrade
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Qantas- upgrades
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Virgin- upgrade
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Virgin- upgrades
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
children from family members or personal friends in a purely personal capacity need not be
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Sponsored travel (23)

Two Weeks Quarantine Accommodation - Perth - E Nutbeen 3 Tickets - Perth Royal Show - RAS WA 6 Kids amusement rides (Including bouncing castle) - B&S Pavier Sideshow games resulting in 4 soft toys. B&S Pavier
Holder not stated
Declared since 11 Oct 202146P ↗
AFL Grand Final - Tickets - AFL
Holder not stated
Declared since 4 Oct 202146P ↗
I travelled on a one way flight at the invitation of Mr Nev Power from Canberra to Perth on Thursday 9th April 2020. I travelled on a one way flight at the invitation of Mr Nev Power from Canberra to Perth on Friday 23rd October 2020
Holder not stated
Declared since 27 Oct 202046P ↗
I travelled on a one way flight at the invitation of Mr Nev Power from Canberra to Perth on Friday 11th September 2020.
Holder not stated
Declared since 8 Oct 202046P ↗
I traveled on a return flight at the invitation of Mr Nev Power from Canberra to Perth on Thursday 9th April 2020.
Holder not stated
Declared since 21 Apr 202046P ↗
Tickets - Fleetwood Mac - AGI (Perth) Tickets - Bledisloe Cup Perth - AGI (Perth) Ken Allen Medal Dinner - NRL WA Tickets - NRL Grandfinal - NRL WA Mid Winter Ball - EBay
Holder not stated
Declared since 21 Oct 201946P ↗
AGI - Disney on Ice Tickets
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 201946P ↗
AGI - Michael McIntyer Tickets
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 201946P ↗
AGI - State of Origin Tickets
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 201946P ↗
Redimed - West Coast Eagles Tickets
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 201946P ↗
AGI - Taylor Swift Concert.
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
AGI - tickets Disney on Ice
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
AGI - tickets, Phil Collins, Mumford and Sons
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
AGI- tickets, Eminem
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
AGI- tickets, Wiggles/ Stevie Nicks/ RLWC-GF
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
AGI/ BGC - tickets, Wildcats
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Guest of the Konrad Adenauer Stiftung Foundation to observe the 2017 German Election.
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Joondalup Health Campus - AFL tickets, Optus Stadium
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
NRL WA - 2018 NRL Grand Final and related hospitality.
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
RediMed - AFL tickets, Optus Stadium
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Seven West Media - Telethon Lexus Ball.
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Virgin Australia - flight upgrades
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
WACA - tickets, Big Bash League
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Office held (3)

AGI - Tickets Hopman Cup Tennis Tournament
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
SOUTH OF PERTH YACHT CLUB
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
SOUTH OF PERTH YACHT CLUB ROTARY CLUB OF MELVILLE BULL CREEK LIONS CLUB ROTARY CLUB OF APPLECROSS (HONORARY) FERNDALE LYNWOOD CRICKET CLUB (PATRON) WILLETTON BASEBALL CLUB (PATRON) ROSTRATA JUNIOR FOOTBALL CLUB (PATRON) MELVILLE CITY HOCKEY CLUB (VICE-PATRON)
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Funding returns lodged with the AEC

Only returns that name this parliamentarian are shown. Money declared as given to a party, a branch or an associated entity is not shown here and is not attributable to any individual.

Election returns linked to this member

Returns this member is linked to, newest first. Linking is per return and exact — an election that does not appear here has not been shown to lack one.

  • 2019 Federal electionCandidateTangney, WA · Liberal Party (W.A. Division) IncLodged as “MORTON, BenLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2016 Federal electionCandidateTangney, WA · Liberal Party (W.A. Division) IncLodged as “MORTON, BenLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗

Annual member and senator returns are lodged by a small number of parliamentarians: the whole corpus holds 52 of them. Returns lodged by senators are linked to their profiles where the name on the lodged return matches the name we hold for them; where it does not, the return stays here unlinked rather than being attached to a guess. The Registers of Senators' Interests have not been read into this site yet, so a senator can appear here with a funding return and no declared interests beside it, which is a gap in our coverage rather than a record of what they declared. A parliamentarian with no return has not been shown to have received nothing — most never lodge one.

Amounts below the disclosure threshold in force for a given year are not published by the AEC and are absent from these figures. A low total means little was disclosed, not that little was received.

Source: AEC Transparency Register, reused under CC BY 4.0. © Commonwealth of Australia. The AEC does not endorse this site or its analysis.

Suburbs represented

Suburbs in Tangney. Representing a suburb has nothing to do with owning anything in it.

24 suburbs

Alfred Cove · Applecross · Ardross · Attadale · Bateman · Bicton · Booragoon · Brentwood (WA) · Bull Creek (WA) · Canning Vale · Kardinya · Leeming · Melville (WA) · Mount Pleasant (WA) · Murdoch · Myaree · Palmyra (WA) · Parkwood (WA) · Riverton (WA) · Rossmoyne · Shelley (WA) · Willagee · Willetton · Winthrop

Register of Members’ Interests / Register of Senators’ Interests, Parliament of Australia — as at 11 October 2021. Report an error

Method & caveats

Australian federal parliamentarians must declare certain interests in the Register of Members’ Interests (House of Representatives) and the Register of Senators’ Interests. For holdings — shares, real estate, trusts, liabilities, assets — the registers record what is held and do not record quantity, value, purchase price or income. Nothing on this page states or implies the size of any holding, any gain or loss, or any trading activity.

Two items are different, because the form itself asks for a value: gifts and sponsored travel. Where a member stated an amount there, it appears as they wrote it. That figure is the declared value of a gift or a trip — never the size of a holding, and never a total.

Dates are the dates a declaration appeared in, or was removed from, the register — not transaction dates. A removal can mean an asset was disposed of, a declaration was corrected, or the member left parliament.

Company names are free text as written by the member. We link a declaration to an ASX listing only on an exact normalised match, a ticker the member stated, or a human-verified alias, so many declarations appear as text only. Real-estate declarations are suburb- or area-level; the registers contain no street addresses, and some declared locations do not map to a single ABS suburb.

Rows are declared as held by the member (“Self”), their spouse or partner, or a dependent child, exactly as the register records them. Members’ seats, parties and chambers change between parliaments.

Extracted from primary PDFs published by the Parliament of Australia; parliamentary material, © Commonwealth of Australia. Corrections are annotated, not silently applied. Not financial advice.