Parliament’s Portfolio

Carina Garland

Carina Garland

ALPMember for ChisholmVICparliaments 47–48
  • 47th · Member for Chisholm · Party not recorded
  • 48th · Member for Chisholm · Labor

Portrait: Wikimedia Commons — Alison Newman (CC0). Not a Parliament of Australia image.

This page covers the 44th, 45th and 48th Parliaments in full. We have read only part of the 46th and 47th Parliaments — this member’s own document may be among those still unread. An empty section below means we have no recorded entry — not that the member declared nothing.

18
entries currently declared
0
ASX-listed companies named
1
real-estate declarations
3
liabilities entries
6
gifts and sponsored travel
18 Aug 2025
register last updated

Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.

About these counts

The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.

What is declared, at a glance

Declared categories
18current entries
  • Sponsored travel4
  • Office held4
  • Liability3
  • Bonds2
  • Accounts2
  • Other (2)3
Declared categories
CategoryCount
Sponsored travel4
Office held4
Liability3
Bonds2
Accounts2
Gift2
Real estate1
Total18
Who each entry is declared for
18current entries
  • Self11
  • Dependent child1
  • Holder not stated6
Who each entry is declared for
CategoryCount
Self11
Dependent child1
Holder not stated6
Total18

Entries declared over time

Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.

048202120222023202420252026
Monthly declaration counts
MonthCount
2021-090
2021-100
2021-110
2021-120
2022-010
2022-020
2022-030
2022-040
2022-050
2022-060
2022-070
2022-081
2022-093
2022-103
2022-113
2022-123
2023-014
2023-025
2023-035
2023-045
2023-055
2023-065
2023-075
2023-085
2023-095
2023-105
2023-115
2023-126
2024-016
2024-026
2024-036
2024-046
2024-056
2024-066
2024-076
2024-086
2024-096
2024-106
2024-116
2024-126
2025-016
2025-026
2025-036
2025-046
2025-056
2025-066
2025-076
2025-088
2025-098
2025-108
2025-118
2025-128
2026-018
2026-028
2026-038
2026-048
2026-058
2026-068
2026-078
2026-088

10 entries without a stated date are not plotted.

Declared interests

Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.

Declared for

Showing 18 of 18 entries.

Declared entries from the Registers of Members’ and Senators’ Interests, in the register’s own words. No column is a quantity or a value; the registers record none.
Source

Real estate (1)

Clayton VICResidential
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Liability (3)

Credit Card American Express
Self
Declared since 18 Aug 202548P ↗
Credit Card St George
Self
Declared since 18 Aug 202548P ↗
MortgageBank West
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Bonds (2)

SuperannuationAustralian Super
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Superannuation managed fundsAustralian Super
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Accounts (2)

Savings Savings (2) SavingsSt George St George Bendigo Bank
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Savings Savings SavingsSt George St George Bendigo Bank
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗

Gift (2)

Qantas Chairman's Lounge membership
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
children from family members or personal friends in a purely personal capacity need not be
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Sponsored travel (4)

Unrequested business class upgrade on Canberra-Melbourne flight, full flight
Holder not stated
Declared since 11 Dec 202347P ↗
Beyond Membership (Virgin)
Holder not stated
Declared since 20 Jan 202347P ↗
Room hire for event, Deakin University Burwood
Holder not stated
Declared since 16 Sept 202247P ↗
Upgrade: flight to Canberra from Melbourne (business class from economy class booked ticket)
Holder not stated
Declared since 13 Sept 202247P ↗

Office held (4)

Collingwood Football Club
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 Feb 202347P ↗
Australian Labor Party (Victorian branch)
Holder not stated
Declared since 24 Aug 202247P ↗
Member, United Workers Union Member, CPSU Member, Qantas Chairman's Lounge Member, Virgin Beyond
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
United Workers Union CPSU ASU
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Funding returns lodged with the AEC

Only returns that name this parliamentarian are shown. Money declared as given to a party, a branch or an associated entity is not shown here and is not attributable to any individual.

Election returns linked to this member

Returns this member is linked to, newest first. Linking is per return and exact — an election that does not appear here has not been shown to lack one.

  • 2025 Federal ElectionCandidateChisholm, VIC · Australian Labor Party (Victorian Branch)Lodged as “GARLAND, Carina Mary LindsayLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2022 Federal electionCandidateChisholm, VIC · Australian Labor Party (Victorian Branch)Lodged as “GARLAND, Carina Mary LindsayLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗

Annual member and senator returns are lodged by a small number of parliamentarians: the whole corpus holds 52 of them. Returns lodged by senators are linked to their profiles where the name on the lodged return matches the name we hold for them; where it does not, the return stays here unlinked rather than being attached to a guess. The Registers of Senators' Interests have not been read into this site yet, so a senator can appear here with a funding return and no declared interests beside it, which is a gap in our coverage rather than a record of what they declared. A parliamentarian with no return has not been shown to have received nothing — most never lodge one.

Amounts below the disclosure threshold in force for a given year are not published by the AEC and are absent from these figures. A low total means little was disclosed, not that little was received.

Source: AEC Transparency Register, reused under CC BY 4.0. © Commonwealth of Australia. The AEC does not endorse this site or its analysis.

Suburbs represented

Suburbs in Chisholm. Representing a suburb has nothing to do with owning anything in it.

10 suburbs

Ashburton · Ashwood · Burwood (Vic.) · Burwood East · Chadstone · Glen Iris (Vic.) · Glen Waverley · Malvern East · Mount Waverley · Wheelers Hill

Register of Members’ Interests / Register of Senators’ Interests, Parliament of Australia — as at 18 August 2025. Report an error

Method & caveats

Australian federal parliamentarians must declare certain interests in the Register of Members’ Interests (House of Representatives) and the Register of Senators’ Interests. For holdings — shares, real estate, trusts, liabilities, assets — the registers record what is held and do not record quantity, value, purchase price or income. Nothing on this page states or implies the size of any holding, any gain or loss, or any trading activity.

Two items are different, because the form itself asks for a value: gifts and sponsored travel. Where a member stated an amount there, it appears as they wrote it. That figure is the declared value of a gift or a trip — never the size of a holding, and never a total.

Dates are the dates a declaration appeared in, or was removed from, the register — not transaction dates. A removal can mean an asset was disposed of, a declaration was corrected, or the member left parliament.

Company names are free text as written by the member. We link a declaration to an ASX listing only on an exact normalised match, a ticker the member stated, or a human-verified alias, so many declarations appear as text only. Real-estate declarations are suburb- or area-level; the registers contain no street addresses, and some declared locations do not map to a single ABS suburb.

Rows are declared as held by the member (“Self”), their spouse or partner, or a dependent child, exactly as the register records them. Members’ seats, parties and chambers change between parliaments.

Extracted from primary PDFs published by the Parliament of Australia; parliamentary material, © Commonwealth of Australia. Corrections are annotated, not silently applied. Not financial advice.