Parliament’s Portfolio

Christopher Bowen

Christopher Bowen

ALPMember for McMahonNSWparliaments 46–47
  • 46th–47th · Member for McMahon · Party not recorded

Portrait: Wikimedia Commons — UK Government (CC BY 2.0). Not a Parliament of Australia image.

This page covers the 44th, 45th and 48th Parliaments in full. We have read only part of the 46th and 47th Parliaments — this member’s own document may be among those still unread. An empty section below means we have no recorded entry — not that the member declared nothing.

73
entries currently declared
0
ASX-listed companies named
4
real-estate declarations
5
liabilities entries
40
gifts and sponsored travel
5 Dec 2024
register last updated

Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.

About these counts

The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.

What is declared, at a glance

Declared categories
73current entries
  • Gift34
  • Other interest7
  • Accounts6
  • Sponsored travel6
  • Liability5
  • Other (5)15
Declared categories
CategoryCount
Gift34
Other interest7
Accounts6
Sponsored travel6
Liability5
Other income5
Real estate4
Office held3
Bonds2
Other assets1
Total73
Who each entry is declared for
73current entries
  • Self14
  • Spouse/partner11
  • Dependent child4
  • Holder not stated44
Who each entry is declared for
CategoryCount
Self14
Spouse/partner11
Dependent child4
Holder not stated44
Total73

Entries declared over time

Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.

03161202120222023202420252026
Monthly declaration counts
MonthCount
2021-0925
2021-1025
2021-1125
2021-1225
2022-0125
2022-0226
2022-0327
2022-0427
2022-0527
2022-0627
2022-0727
2022-0827
2022-0928
2022-1028
2022-1128
2022-1228
2023-0128
2023-0228
2023-0328
2023-0428
2023-0528
2023-0634
2023-0734
2023-0844
2023-0944
2023-1044
2023-1145
2023-1247
2024-0147
2024-0247
2024-0347
2024-0447
2024-0547
2024-0647
2024-0747
2024-0855
2024-0956
2024-1057
2024-1157
2024-1261
2025-0161
2025-0261
2025-0361
2025-0461
2025-0561
2025-0661
2025-0761
2025-0861
2025-0961
2025-1061
2025-1161
2025-1261
2026-0161
2026-0261
2026-0361
2026-0461
2026-0561
2026-0661
2026-0761
2026-0861

12 entries without a stated date are not plotted.

Declared interests

Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.

Declared for

Showing 73 of 73 entries.

Declared entries from the Registers of Members’ and Senators’ Interests, in the register’s own words. No column is a quantity or a value; the registers record none.
Source

Real estate (4)

Bawley Point NSW
Self
Declared since 27 June 201946P ↗
Half share in each of the above.
Spouse/partner
Declared since 27 June 201946P ↗
Half Share of AboveHalf Share of Above
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Smithfield (NSW) NSW
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Liability (5)

Joint Car Loan with Spouse (Macquarie Bank Finance)
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 June 202347P ↗
Mortgage Mortgage Visa Card Mastercard Personal LoanSydney Credit Union Sydney Credit Union Sydney Credit Union Mastercard Sydney Credit Union
Self
Declared since 27 June 201946P ↗
Mortgage Mortgage Visa Card Personal LoanSydney Credit Union Sydney Credit Union Sydney Credit Union Sydney Credit Union
Spouse/partner
Declared since 27 June 201946P ↗
Half Share of AboveHalf share of above
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Mortgage on Residential and Holiday properties Visa Card attached to bank account and Mastercard.Australian Mutual Bank
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Bonds (2)

SuperannuationAustralian Super
Self
Declared since 27 June 201946P ↗
SuperannuationSun Super
Spouse/partner
Declared since 27 June 201946P ↗

Accounts (6)

Savings AccountSydney Credit Union
Spouse/partner
Declared since 27 June 201946P ↗
Savings AccountSydney Credit Union
Self
Declared since 27 June 201946P ↗
Savings Account Savings AccountSydney Credit Union Sydney Credit Union
Dependent child
Declared since 27 June 201946P ↗
SavingsAustralian Mutual Bank and Commonwealth Bank
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
SavingsAustralian Mutual Bank
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Savings TransactionAustralian Mutual Bank ANZ
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Other assets (1)

Car
Spouse/partner
Declared since 27 June 201946P ↗

Other income (5)

My wife is an employee of Sydney Water Occassional holiday rental income (Bawley Point)
Spouse/partner
Declared since 27 June 201946P ↗
Occassional holiday rental income (Bawley Point)
Self
Declared since 27 June 201946P ↗
Occassional holiday rentals, Bawley Point
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Part time/casual Salary, Rebel Sport
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Salary, Sydney Water.
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Gift (34)

Bottle of Archie Rose Gin from Veolia
Holder not stated
Declared since 5 Dec 202447P ↗
Ceramic plate and Turkish Tea Set from Murat Kurum , Minister of Environment and Urban Planning of Turkiye.
Holder not stated
Declared since 5 Dec 202447P ↗
Ceramic plate from the Ceramics Museum of Baku Azerbaijan.
Holder not stated
Declared since 5 Dec 202447P ↗
Christmas Pudding from Croplife
Holder not stated
Declared since 5 Dec 202447P ↗
Book "Amazonio" by Sebastian Salgado. Gift given by Marina Silva, Minister for the Environment and Climate Change - Brazil
Holder not stated
Declared since 15 Oct 202447P ↗
Hysata branded black puffer jacket, from Hysata. Approximate value $50
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Aug 202447P ↗
A football jersey from the Greystanes Devils Rugby Club
Holder not stated
Declared since 8 Aug 202447P ↗
A neck tie received as a gift from the Chinese Minister for the Environment
Holder not stated
Declared since 8 Aug 202447P ↗
Pair of Shoes made from recycled wind turbines gifted by Acciona
Holder not stated
Declared since 8 Aug 202447P ↗
Personalised number plate from the Governor of Minnesota, Tim Walz, No $ value
Holder not stated
Declared since 6 Dec 202347P ↗
Tea and medicinal tobacco products from a visiting delegation of Canadian First Nations to the value of approx $50
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 Nov 202347P ↗
Cosmetics - Value $30.00
Holder not stated
Declared since 4 Aug 202347P ↗
Fenny – Goa special alcohol, Made with cashew nuts - Value $5.00
Holder not stated
Declared since 4 Aug 202347P ↗
Goan Painting - Value $18.50 (G20 EEM visit)
Holder not stated
Declared since 4 Aug 202347P ↗
Incense Stick Holder Value $5.00
Holder not stated
Declared since 4 Aug 202347P ↗
Jute Bag - Value $5.00
Holder not stated
Declared since 4 Aug 202347P ↗
Laptop Bag - Value $50.00 (G20 EEM visit)
Holder not stated
Declared since 4 Aug 202347P ↗
Laptop Bag - value $54.00
Holder not stated
Declared since 4 Aug 202347P ↗
Men's Shirt - Value $20.00
Holder not stated
Declared since 4 Aug 202347P ↗
Red Scarf - Value $5.00
Holder not stated
Declared since 4 Aug 202347P ↗
Turkish Coffee sachets - Value $20.00
Holder not stated
Declared since 4 Aug 202347P ↗
1X JDRF Hoodie (Jumper) Approx value $60
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 June 202347P ↗
Book on Māori teachings on the environment $25 - Visit to NZ 8/9 June 2023
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 June 202347P ↗
Māori vase $150 - Visit to NZ 8/9 June 2023
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 June 202347P ↗
sustainable toys and dog treats $45 - Visit to NZ 8/9 June 2023
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 June 202347P ↗
2 x crystal glasses Valued at $350 1 Bottle of Whiskey Valued @approx $389 Given by the Japanese Ambassador
Holder not stated
Declared since 5 June 202347P ↗
2 tickets to the opening night of Hamlet at the Sydney Opera House courtesy of Bell Shakespeare.
Holder not stated
Declared since 18 Mar 202246P ↗
Bottle of champagne from McKell Institute Six pack of Little Creatures Pale Ale from Lion Brewing
Holder not stated
Declared since 4 Feb 202246P ↗
1) A constituent, Mr Adwar Rassam, painted my portrait and presented it to me. 2) Bottle of Johnnie Walker Blue Label Whisky from Diageo Australia marking the 200th anniversary of Johnnie Walker.
Holder not stated
Declared since 13 Nov 202046P ↗
I have received a tie, a pair of whisky glasses and a commemorative book from the University of New England and the Earle Page College.
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 Oct 202046P ↗
I have received two small boxes of Swisse products. Value unknown, but modest.
Holder not stated
Declared since 8 Oct 202046P ↗
I received a bottle of GH Mumm Champagne from the High Commissioner of Bangladesh.
Holder not stated
Declared since 16 Dec 201946P ↗
children from family members or personal friends in a purely personal capacity need not be
Dependent child
Declared since 27 June 201946P ↗
* Bat and Ball Cufflinks, from Pat Cummins * Bottle of Whisky, from Koichi Hagiuda, Minister for Economy, Trade and Industry, Japan.
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Sponsored travel (6)

2 x tickets from the AFL to attend the First Qualifying Final - Sydney Swans v GWS Giants , Sydney Cricket Ground, Saturday 7th September 2024
Holder not stated
Declared since 10 Sept 202447P ↗
Bowen children were guests of Acciona at that Parliamentary Press Gallery Mid Winter Charity Ball 2024.
Holder not stated
Declared since 8 Aug 202447P ↗
Western Sydney Wanderers Football Game Sunday 22nd October 2023, Value $385.00
Holder not stated
Declared since 6 Dec 202347P ↗
Member of the Qantas Chairmans Lounge and Virgin Club *Received pashmina shawl from the Indian Minister for Energy, RK Singh * Received a bag of products from Natio Cosmetics * Received an alumni "Hoodie" from University of Sydney.
Holder not stated
Declared since 14 Sept 202247P ↗
My children and I were guests at the Canberra Symphony Orchestra Shell Proms Concert at Yarralumla, 30 November.
Holder not stated
Declared since 16 Dec 201946P ↗
On 27/06/19 I travelled from Alice Spings to Kintore on charter flight under the entitlements of Hon. Warren Snowdon MP
Self
Declared since 27 June 201946P ↗

Office held (3)

Received courtesy membership of the National Press Club Canberra after provide a televised address.
Holder not stated
Declared since 8 Aug 202447P ↗
Australian Labor Party (NSW Branch) Fairfield RSL Smithfield RSL Marconi Club Cabra-Vale Ex Servicemens Club Ulladulla Ex Servicemans Club Patron, Linwood House Patron, Maltese Community of Australia in NSW
Self
Declared since 27 June 201946P ↗
Member, Australian Labor Party Member, Marconi Club Member, Fairfield RSL Member, Smithfield RSL Member, Cabra-Vale Ex-Services Club Member, Ulladulla Ex-Services Club Member, Fabian Society of Australia Patron, Linwood House Patron, Maltese Community of Australia (NSW Chapter)
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Other interest (7)

My daughter Grace Bowen has commenced part time employment with the Transport Workers Union – NSW Branch
Holder not stated
Declared since 28 Aug 202447P ↗
Appointed Patron of Greystanes FC Soccer Club
Holder not stated
Declared since 8 Aug 202447P ↗
Book contract with Monash University Press.
Holder not stated
Declared since 27 Apr 202146P ↗
* I received 1609 bags of Tim Tams from Arnotts, which i distributed to essential workers in health care in my electorate, with other items. * Book contract, Hachette Australia
Holder not stated
Declared since 18 June 202046P ↗
My 14 year old daughter has started a micro-business in partnership with a friend called “Gracita Soaps” (environmentally sustainable vegan soaps).
Holder not stated
Declared since 16 Dec 201946P ↗
Directorship of the Board of the Whitlam Institute Member, Qantas Chairmans Lounge Member, Virgin Club
Spouse/partner
Declared since 27 June 201946P ↗
Member, Qantas Chairmans Lounge Member, Virgin Club
Self
Declared since 27 June 201946P ↗

Funding returns lodged with the AEC

Only returns that name this parliamentarian are shown. Money declared as given to a party, a branch or an associated entity is not shown here and is not attributable to any individual.

Election returns linked to this member

Returns this member is linked to, newest first. Linking is per return and exact — an election that does not appear here has not been shown to lack one.

  • 2022 Federal electionCandidateMcMahon, NSW · Australian Labor Party (N.S.W. Branch)Lodged as “BOWEN, Christopher Eyles GuyLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2019 Federal electionCandidateMcMahon, NSW · Australian Labor Party (N.S.W. Branch)Lodged as “BOWEN, Christopher Eyles GuyLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗

Annual member and senator returns are lodged by a small number of parliamentarians: the whole corpus holds 52 of them. Returns lodged by senators are linked to their profiles where the name on the lodged return matches the name we hold for them; where it does not, the return stays here unlinked rather than being attached to a guess. The Registers of Senators' Interests have not been read into this site yet, so a senator can appear here with a funding return and no declared interests beside it, which is a gap in our coverage rather than a record of what they declared. A parliamentarian with no return has not been shown to have received nothing — most never lodge one.

Amounts below the disclosure threshold in force for a given year are not published by the AEC and are absent from these figures. A low total means little was disclosed, not that little was received.

Source: AEC Transparency Register, reused under CC BY 4.0. © Commonwealth of Australia. The AEC does not endorse this site or its analysis.

Suburbs represented

Suburbs in McMahon. Representing a suburb has nothing to do with owning anything in it.

20 suburbs

Arndell Park · Blacktown · Bungarribee · Eastern Creek · Erskine Park · Fairfield (NSW) · Fairfield Heights · Fairfield West · Greystanes · Horsley Park · Huntingwood · Kemps Creek · Minchinbury · Mount Vernon · Pemulwuy · Prospect (NSW) · Seven Hills (NSW) · Smithfield (NSW) · St Clair (Penrith - NSW) · Wetherill Park

Register of Members’ Interests / Register of Senators’ Interests, Parliament of Australia — as at 5 December 2024. Report an error

Method & caveats

Australian federal parliamentarians must declare certain interests in the Register of Members’ Interests (House of Representatives) and the Register of Senators’ Interests. For holdings — shares, real estate, trusts, liabilities, assets — the registers record what is held and do not record quantity, value, purchase price or income. Nothing on this page states or implies the size of any holding, any gain or loss, or any trading activity.

Two items are different, because the form itself asks for a value: gifts and sponsored travel. Where a member stated an amount there, it appears as they wrote it. That figure is the declared value of a gift or a trip — never the size of a holding, and never a total.

Dates are the dates a declaration appeared in, or was removed from, the register — not transaction dates. A removal can mean an asset was disposed of, a declaration was corrected, or the member left parliament.

Company names are free text as written by the member. We link a declaration to an ASX listing only on an exact normalised match, a ticker the member stated, or a human-verified alias, so many declarations appear as text only. Real-estate declarations are suburb- or area-level; the registers contain no street addresses, and some declared locations do not map to a single ABS suburb.

Rows are declared as held by the member (“Self”), their spouse or partner, or a dependent child, exactly as the register records them. Members’ seats, parties and chambers change between parliaments.

Extracted from primary PDFs published by the Parliament of Australia; parliamentary material, © Commonwealth of Australia. Corrections are annotated, not silently applied. Not financial advice.