Parliament’s Portfolio

Clare O'Neil

Clare O'Neil

ALPMember for HothamVICparliaments 44–48
  • 44th–47th · Member for Hotham · Party not recorded
  • 48th · Member for Hotham · Labor

Portrait: Wikimedia Commons — Department of Foreign Affairs (CC BY 4.0). Not a Parliament of Australia image.

This page covers the 44th, 45th and 48th Parliaments in full. We have read only part of the 46th and 47th Parliaments — this member’s own document may be among those still unread. An empty section below means we have no recorded entry — not that the member declared nothing.

73
entries currently declared
0
ASX-listed companies named
11
real-estate declarations
10
liabilities entries
20
gifts and sponsored travel
19 Jan 2026
register last updated

Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.

About these counts

The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.

What is declared, at a glance

Declared categories
73current entries
  • Gift16
  • Real estate11
  • Accounts11
  • Liability10
  • Other assets7
  • Other (4)18
Declared categories
CategoryCount
Gift16
Real estate11
Accounts11
Liability10
Other assets7
Office held7
Sponsored travel4
Other interest4
Other income3
Total73
Who each entry is declared for
73current entries
  • Self47
  • Spouse/partner24
  • Dependent child2
Who each entry is declared for
CategoryCount
Self47
Spouse/partner24
Dependent child2
Total73

Entries declared over time

Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.

01202120222023202420252026
Monthly declaration counts
MonthCount
2021-090
2021-100
2021-110
2021-120
2022-010
2022-020
2022-030
2022-040
2022-050
2022-060
2022-070
2022-080
2022-090
2022-100
2022-110
2022-120
2023-010
2023-020
2023-030
2023-040
2023-050
2023-060
2023-070
2023-080
2023-090
2023-100
2023-110
2023-120
2024-010
2024-020
2024-030
2024-040
2024-050
2024-060
2024-070
2024-080
2024-090
2024-100
2024-110
2024-120
2025-010
2025-020
2025-030
2025-040
2025-050
2025-060
2025-070
2025-080
2025-090
2025-100
2025-110
2025-120
2026-011
2026-021
2026-031
2026-041
2026-051
2026-061
2026-071
2026-081

72 entries without a stated date are not plotted.

Declared interests

Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.

Declared for

Showing 73 of 73 entries.

Declared entries from the Registers of Members’ and Senators’ Interests, in the register’s own words. No column is a quantity or a value; the registers record none.
Source

Real estate (11)

East Melbourne Victoria (shared ownership)Investment
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
East Melbourne Victoria (shared ownership)Investment
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Oakleigh Victoria (shared ownership)Family home
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Oakleigh Victoria (shared ownership)Family home
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Property in East Melbourne (jointly with partner)Family home
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Property in East Melbourne (jointly with partner)Family home
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Property in East Melbourne (jointly with spouse)Family home
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Property in East Melbourne (jointly with spouse)Family home
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Property in East Melbourne - jointly with spouse. Purpose: family home.
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Property in East Melbourne - jointly with spouse. Purpose: investment property.
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Purchase of family home in Oakleigh Victoria.
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Liability (10)

MortgageWestpac
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
MortgageWestpac
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Mortgage - family home and investment property: NAB (self and partner).
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Mortgage on family homeWestpac
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Mortgage on family homeWestpac
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Mortgage on investment propertyWestpac
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Mortgage on investment propertyWestpac
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Mortgage on investment property, Westpac
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Mortgage on investment property, Westpac
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Remove reference to Westpac (self and partner).
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Accounts (11)

Remove reference to Westpac (partner).
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Savings AccountWestpac & ANZ
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Savings AccountANZ & ING
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Savings account Savings account Savings accountWestpac ANZ NAB
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Savings account: NAB (self and partner).
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Savings accountsANZ & ING
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Savings accountsWestpac & ANZ
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
SuperannuationVicSuper
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
SuperannuationHealth Super
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Term Deposit, Westpac
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Term Deposit, Westpac
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Other assets (7)

Car
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Car Part owner of vintage car
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Owner of 1965 MustangShared owner of 2008 Volvo
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Part owner of vintage car
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Shared owner of 2008 Volvo
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Shared owner of 2008 Volvo car
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Shared owner of 2008 Volvo car
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Other income (3)

Income received due to work as a doctor
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Rental income from investment property.
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Salary for work as Doctor at Peninsula Health
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Gift (16)

Received from Premier National and the Australian Hotels Association in the sum of $3,900 on 22nd December 2025 to partially fund expenses associated with an event.
Self
Declared since 19 Jan 202648P ↗
2 tickets to see "Julia" on 29/06/2024, provided by Melbourne Theatre Company.
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
2 x Australian Open Tennis tickets (Friday 26 January, 2024, night session) provided by Tennis Australia
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
2 x Australian Open Tennis tickets (Sunday 28 January, 2024, night session) provided by Telstra
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
2 x corporate suite tickets for the AFL Grand Final on 28/09/2024, provided by Asahi
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
2 x tickets to football and hospitality, provided by CyberCX, on 6/09/2024.
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
2 x tickets to football and hospitality, provided by Hawthorn Hawks, on 18/08/2024.
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
3 x NBL tickets (Thursday March 7th, 2024) provided by Basketball Victoria
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Annual Foxtel Subscription
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Member of The Club Lounge, Virgin Australia
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Membership of The Club Lounge, Virgin Australia
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Provided two tickets to AFL Grand Final by Asahi Beverages.
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Qantas Club Chairman's Lounge Membership
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Qantas Club Chairman's Lounge Membership
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Qantas Club Chairman's Lounge Membership Membership of The Club Lounge, Virgin Australia
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Qantas Club Chairman's Lounge Membership Membership of The Club Lounge, Virgin Australia Annual Foxtel subscription
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗

Sponsored travel (4)

On 7 October and 21 October 2024 I was booked to fly Economy from Melbourne to Canberra on Qantas flights and was upgraded to Business. These upgrades were not requested. They occurred while I was boarding the plane, as on both occasions Economy was overbooked.
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
The Westpac Group - complimentary ticket for the National Press Club (Grace Tame and Brittany Higgins) Lunch on 9 February 2022.
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Two tickets at Australian Open Women's Final, provided by Tennis Australia.
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Two tickets to Australian Open Women's Semi-Final, provided by Victorian Government.
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Office held (7)

Australian Labor Party EMILY's List Australian Workers' Union
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Australian Labor Party EMILY's List Australian Workers' Union United Workers' Union
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Australian Labor Party Subscribes to RRR community radio RANZCP
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Australian Labor Party, Fabian Society of Victoria
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Australian Medical Association, Australia and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Emily's List
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
National Union of WorkersEmily's List
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Other interest (4)

Family membership of Moorabbin Toy Library Members of local libraries Children play in a variety of local sporting clubs within my electorate
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Family membership of Moorabbin Toy Library. Members of local libraries. Children play in a variety of local sporting clubs within my electorate.
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Patron of Oakleigh Krushers
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Patron of the Oakleigh Krushers
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗

Funding returns lodged with the AEC

Only returns that name this parliamentarian are shown. Money declared as given to a party, a branch or an associated entity is not shown here and is not attributable to any individual.

Election returns linked to this member

Returns this member is linked to, newest first. Linking is per return and exact — an election that does not appear here has not been shown to lack one.

  • 2025 Federal ElectionCandidateHotham, VIC · Australian Labor Party (Victorian Branch)Lodged as “O'NEIL, Clare EllenLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2022 Federal electionCandidateHotham, VIC · Australian Labor Party (Victorian Branch)Lodged as “O'NEIL, Clare EllenLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2019 Federal electionCandidateHotham, VIC · Australian Labor Party (Victorian Branch)Lodged as “O'NEIL, Clare EllenLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2016 Federal electionCandidateHotham, VIC · Australian Labor Party (Victorian Branch)Lodged as “O'NEIL, Clare EllenLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2013 Federal electionCandidateHotham, VIC · Australian Labor Party (Victorian Branch)Lodged as “O'NEIL, Clare EllenLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗

Annual member and senator returns are lodged by a small number of parliamentarians: the whole corpus holds 52 of them. Returns lodged by senators are linked to their profiles where the name on the lodged return matches the name we hold for them; where it does not, the return stays here unlinked rather than being attached to a guess. The Registers of Senators' Interests have not been read into this site yet, so a senator can appear here with a funding return and no declared interests beside it, which is a gap in our coverage rather than a record of what they declared. A parliamentarian with no return has not been shown to have received nothing — most never lodge one.

Amounts below the disclosure threshold in force for a given year are not published by the AEC and are absent from these figures. A low total means little was disclosed, not that little was received.

Source: AEC Transparency Register, reused under CC BY 4.0. © Commonwealth of Australia. The AEC does not endorse this site or its analysis.

Suburbs represented

Suburbs in Hotham. Representing a suburb has nothing to do with owning anything in it.

15 suburbs

Bentleigh East · Carnegie · Clarinda · Clayton · Clayton South · Hughesdale · Huntingdale (Vic.) · Mulgrave (Vic.) · Murrumbeena · Noble Park North · Notting Hill · Oakleigh · Oakleigh East · Oakleigh South · Springvale (Vic.)

Register of Members’ Interests / Register of Senators’ Interests, Parliament of Australia — as at 19 January 2026. Report an error

Method & caveats

Australian federal parliamentarians must declare certain interests in the Register of Members’ Interests (House of Representatives) and the Register of Senators’ Interests. For holdings — shares, real estate, trusts, liabilities, assets — the registers record what is held and do not record quantity, value, purchase price or income. Nothing on this page states or implies the size of any holding, any gain or loss, or any trading activity.

Two items are different, because the form itself asks for a value: gifts and sponsored travel. Where a member stated an amount there, it appears as they wrote it. That figure is the declared value of a gift or a trip — never the size of a holding, and never a total.

Dates are the dates a declaration appeared in, or was removed from, the register — not transaction dates. A removal can mean an asset was disposed of, a declaration was corrected, or the member left parliament.

Company names are free text as written by the member. We link a declaration to an ASX listing only on an exact normalised match, a ticker the member stated, or a human-verified alias, so many declarations appear as text only. Real-estate declarations are suburb- or area-level; the registers contain no street addresses, and some declared locations do not map to a single ABS suburb.

Rows are declared as held by the member (“Self”), their spouse or partner, or a dependent child, exactly as the register records them. Members’ seats, parties and chambers change between parliaments.

Extracted from primary PDFs published by the Parliament of Australia; parliamentary material, © Commonwealth of Australia. Corrections are annotated, not silently applied. Not financial advice.