Parliament’s Portfolio

David Coleman

David Coleman

ALPMember for BanksNSWparliaments 44–47
  • 44th–47th · Member for Banks · Party not recorded

Portrait: Wikimedia Commons — Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet (CC BY 4.0). Not a Parliament of Australia image.

This page covers the 44th, 45th and 48th Parliaments in full. We have read only part of the 46th and 47th Parliaments — this member’s own document may be among those still unread. An empty section below means we have no recorded entry — not that the member declared nothing.

108
entries currently declared
6
ASX-listed companies named
11
real-estate declarations
6
liabilities entries
13
gifts and sponsored travel
26 July 2024
register last updated

Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.

About these counts

The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.

What is declared, at a glance

Declared categories
108current entries
  • Shareholdings36
  • Office held15
  • Real estate11
  • Other assets8
  • Accounts7
  • Other (6)31
Declared categories
CategoryCount
Shareholdings36
Office held15
Real estate11
Other assets8
Accounts7
Other income7
Sponsored travel7
Liability6
Gift6
Directorship3
Trusts2
Total108
Who each entry is declared for
108current entries
  • Self65
  • Spouse/partner34
  • Dependent child3
  • Holder not stated6
Who each entry is declared for
CategoryCount
Self65
Spouse/partner34
Dependent child3
Holder not stated6
Total108

Entries declared over time

Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.

036202120222023202420252026
Monthly declaration counts
MonthCount
2021-090
2021-100
2021-110
2021-120
2022-010
2022-020
2022-030
2022-040
2022-050
2022-060
2022-070
2022-082
2022-093
2022-103
2022-113
2022-123
2023-013
2023-023
2023-033
2023-043
2023-053
2023-063
2023-075
2023-085
2023-095
2023-105
2023-115
2023-125
2024-015
2024-025
2024-035
2024-045
2024-055
2024-065
2024-076
2024-086
2024-096
2024-106
2024-116
2024-126
2025-016
2025-026
2025-036
2025-046
2025-056
2025-066
2025-076
2025-086
2025-096
2025-106
2025-116
2025-126
2026-016
2026-026
2026-036
2026-046
2026-056
2026-066
2026-076
2026-086

102 entries without a stated date are not plotted.

Declared companies by industry
Distinct ASX-listed companies declared by this member, grouped by industry. A count of companies, not an amount.
IndustryDistinct companies
Materials
3
Banks
1

Declared interests

Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.

Declared for

Showing 108 of 108 entries.

Declared entries from the Registers of Members’ and Senators’ Interests, in the register’s own words. No column is a quantity or a value; the registers record none.
Source

Shareholdings (36)

AGL Ltd — not matched to an ASX listing
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
AGL Ltd — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Banks FEC — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
BSL · Bluescope Steel
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
BSL · Bluescope Steel
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
BLD · BORAL LIMITED.
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
BLD · BORAL LIMITED.
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Budget and Anzac Day Material — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Coca-Cola Amatil Ltd — not matched to an ASX listing
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Coca-Cola Amatil Ltd — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Coca-Cola Amatil Ltd National Australia Bank Ltd — not matched to an ASX listing
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Coca-Cola Amatil Ltd National Australia Bank Ltd — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Contribution to costs of Banks Chinese Community Function — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
February 2016 — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Genbook Inc — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
L21 Consulting Pty Ltd
Private company
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
L21 Pty Ltd
Private company
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
NSW Liberal Party — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
NSW Liberal Party Banks FEC — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
NAB · National Australia Bank
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
NAB · National Australia Bank
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
October 2015 — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Partial sale of shareholding in Genbook Ltd — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Payment for Letterbox Distributions — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Payment of costs for Banks Chinese New Year Function — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Payment of costs for Banks Economic Forum — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
PRY · Primary Health Care
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
PRY · Primary Health Care
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Purchased by Self and Spouse — not matched to an ASX listing
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Purchased by Self and Spouse — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
QBE Ltd — not matched to an ASX listing
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
QBE Ltd — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
RIO · Rio Tinto
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
RIO · Rio Tinto
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Shares — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Shares — not matched to an ASX listing
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Trusts (2)

House, Residential, Self and Spouse, Cronulla NSW
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
House, Residential, Self and Spouse, Cronulla NSW
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Real estate (11)

CornullaInvestment Property
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Cronulla NSWResidential
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Cronulla NSWResidential
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Investment - Cronulla Self and Spouse
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Investment - Cronulla Self and Spouse
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Lugarno NSWHome
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Lugarno NSWHome
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Residential - Cronulla Self and Spouse
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Residential - Cronulla Self and Spouse
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Residential - Lugarno Self and Spouse
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Residential - Lugarno Self and Spouse
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Directorship (3)

L21 Consulting Pty Ltd
Private company
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Ninemsn Pty Ltd
Private company
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
YBR · Yellow Brick Road
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Liability (6)

Home MortgageING Direct
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Home MortgageING Direct
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Investment Property MortgageING Bank
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Investment Property MortgageING Bank
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Residential Property MortgageING Bank
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Residential Property MortgageING Bank
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Accounts (7)

Savings Account, ING Bank
Holder not stated
Declared since 13 Sept 202247P ↗
Cash ManagementMacquarie Bank
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Cash Management Savings SavingsMacquarie St George ANZ
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
SavingsSt George
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
SavingsING Direct
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
SavingsBankWest
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Savings Savings Savings Savings SavingsING Bank ING Bank ING Bank Westpac ANZ
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Other assets (8)

401(k) Plan, FidelitySuperannuation, ONE PATH
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
401(k) plan, Fidelity Superannuation, Australian Super Superannuation, Uni Super
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Life Insurance, AMP
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Life Insurance, Australian Super
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Superannuation, Australian SuperLife Insurance, AMP
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Superannuation, Australian Super Life Insurance, Budget Direct Life Insurance, Australian Super
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Superannuation, Legal Super
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Superannuation, ONE PATH
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Other income (7)

Income from investments set out aboveTutor, University of New South Wales, Faculty of Business
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Income from investments set out above
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Income from investments set out above
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Income from investments set out above, Self and Spouse
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Income from investments set out above, Self and Spouse
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Tutor, UNSW, Faculty of Business Tutor, University of Sydney, Faculty of Law
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Tutor, University of New South Wales, Faculty of Business
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Gift (6)

Midwinter Ball Ticket, 3 July 2024, News Corporation
Holder not stated
Declared since 26 July 202447P ↗
Membership, Virgin Australia Club Membership, Qantas Chairman's Lounge
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Membership, Virgin Australia Club Membership, Qantas Chairman's Lounge
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Membership, Virgin Australia Club, Self and SpouseMembership, Qantas Chairmans Lounge, Self and Spouse
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Membership, Virgin Australia Club, Self and SpouseMembership, Qantas Chairmans Lounge, Self and Spouse
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
children from family members or personal friends in a purely personal capacity need not be
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Sponsored travel (7)

Spouse and two children, flight upgrade, economy - premium economy, Qantas, Los Angeles-Sydney, 13 July 2023
Holder not stated
Declared since 27 July 202347P ↗
Ticket to Midwinter Ball, Foxtel, 21 June 2023
Holder not stated
Declared since 27 July 202347P ↗
Flight upgrade, Los Angeles - Sydney, Qantas, Economy to Premium Economy, 13 July 2022
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 Aug 202247P ↗
Two tickets, Play and Function, Bell Shakespeare Company, Comedy of Errors, 19 August 2022
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 Aug 202247P ↗
Entrance and lunch, Randwick Racecourse, 16 October, provided by Mr Nicholas Gray
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Entry and lunch at Randwick racecourse, self and spouse, 24 April 2021. Provided by Mr Tony Mitevski of Sylvania Waters.
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
NSW Government, Tickets and Hospitality * 3, Mardi Gras, SCG, March 5 2022
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Office held (15)

Bankstown Sports Club - Patron
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Bankstown Touch Association - Patron
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Board Director, Moving Forward
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Co-Chair, Coalition Friends of the Digital Economy
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Co-Chair, Parliamentary Friends of Innovation and Enterprise
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Member, Hurstville Rotary
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
NSW National Servicemen's Association - Patron
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
NSW Veterans Table Tennis - Patron
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Patron, Bankstown District Amateur Football Association
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Patron, Bankstown Sports Club Patron, Bankstown Touch Association Patron, NSW National Servicemen's Association Patron, NSW Veterans' Table Tennis Patron, St George AFL Club Patron, St George District Cricket Club Patron, St George Football Association Patron, St Joseph's Riverwood Sports Club Member, Hurstville Rotary Patron, Trilogy Foundation of Canterbury-Bankstown Patron, Bankstown District Amateur Football Association Patron, Canterbury Bankstown Chamber of Commerce Patron, Recreation, Sports and Aquatics Club Patron, Oatley RSL Youth Club
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Patron, Canterbury Bankstown Chamber of Commerce
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
St George Australian Football Club - Patron
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
St George District Cricket Club - Patron
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
St George Football Association - Patron
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
St Joseph's Riverwood Sports Club - Patron
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Funding returns lodged with the AEC

Only returns that name this parliamentarian are shown. Money declared as given to a party, a branch or an associated entity is not shown here and is not attributable to any individual.

Election returns linked to this member

Returns this member is linked to, newest first. Linking is per return and exact — an election that does not appear here has not been shown to lack one.

  • 2022 Federal electionCandidateBanks, NSW · Liberal Party of Australia, NSW DivisionLodged as “COLEMAN, David BernardLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2019 Federal electionCandidateBanks, NSW · Liberal Party of Australia, NSW DivisionLodged as “COLEMAN, David BernardLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2016 Federal electionCandidateBanks, NSW · Liberal Party of Australia, NSW DivisionLodged as “COLEMAN, David BernardLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2013 Federal electionCandidateBanks, NSW · Liberal Party of Australia, NSW DivisionLodged as “COLEMAN, David BernardLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗

Annual member and senator returns are lodged by a small number of parliamentarians: the whole corpus holds 52 of them. Returns lodged by senators are linked to their profiles where the name on the lodged return matches the name we hold for them; where it does not, the return stays here unlinked rather than being attached to a guess. The Registers of Senators' Interests have not been read into this site yet, so a senator can appear here with a funding return and no declared interests beside it, which is a gap in our coverage rather than a record of what they declared. A parliamentarian with no return has not been shown to have received nothing — most never lodge one.

Amounts below the disclosure threshold in force for a given year are not published by the AEC and are absent from these figures. A low total means little was disclosed, not that little was received.

Source: AEC Transparency Register, reused under CC BY 4.0. © Commonwealth of Australia. The AEC does not endorse this site or its analysis.

Suburbs represented

Suburbs in Banks. Representing a suburb has nothing to do with owning anything in it.

23 suburbs

Beverly Hills · Blakehurst · Carss Park · Connells Point · East Hills · Hurstville Grove · Kyle Bay · Lugarno · Milperra · Mortdale · Narwee · Oatley · Padstow · Padstow Heights · Panania · Peakhurst · Peakhurst Heights · Penshurst (NSW) · Picnic Point · Revesby · Revesby Heights · Riverwood · South Hurstville

Register of Members’ Interests / Register of Senators’ Interests, Parliament of Australia — as at 26 July 2024. Report an error

Method & caveats

Australian federal parliamentarians must declare certain interests in the Register of Members’ Interests (House of Representatives) and the Register of Senators’ Interests. For holdings — shares, real estate, trusts, liabilities, assets — the registers record what is held and do not record quantity, value, purchase price or income. Nothing on this page states or implies the size of any holding, any gain or loss, or any trading activity.

Two items are different, because the form itself asks for a value: gifts and sponsored travel. Where a member stated an amount there, it appears as they wrote it. That figure is the declared value of a gift or a trip — never the size of a holding, and never a total.

Dates are the dates a declaration appeared in, or was removed from, the register — not transaction dates. A removal can mean an asset was disposed of, a declaration was corrected, or the member left parliament.

Company names are free text as written by the member. We link a declaration to an ASX listing only on an exact normalised match, a ticker the member stated, or a human-verified alias, so many declarations appear as text only. Real-estate declarations are suburb- or area-level; the registers contain no street addresses, and some declared locations do not map to a single ABS suburb.

Rows are declared as held by the member (“Self”), their spouse or partner, or a dependent child, exactly as the register records them. Members’ seats, parties and chambers change between parliaments.

Extracted from primary PDFs published by the Parliament of Australia; parliamentary material, © Commonwealth of Australia. Corrections are annotated, not silently applied. Not financial advice.