Parliament’s Portfolio

David Smith

David Smith

ALPMember for BeanACTparliaments 45–48
  • 45th · Senator for ACT · Labor
  • 46th–47th · Member for Bean · Party not recorded
  • 48th · Member for Bean · Labor

Portrait: Wikimedia Commons — UCStudentActivist97 (CC BY-SA 4.0). Not a Parliament of Australia image.

This page covers the 44th and 48th Parliaments in full. We have read only part of the 46th and 47th Parliaments — this member’s own document may be among those still unread. An empty section below means we have no recorded entry — not that the member declared nothing. The Registers of Senators’ Interests are tabled as combined Senate volumes, and the volumes covering this senator’s lodgements are ones we have not read into this site yet. An empty register here is our coverage gap — not a record that this senator declared nothing.

63
entries currently declared
2
ASX-listed companies named
2
real-estate declarations
3
liabilities entries
22
gifts and sponsored travel
11 May 2026
register last updated

Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.

About these counts

The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.

What is declared, at a glance

Declared categories
63current entries
  • Sponsored travel17
  • Trusts16
  • Accounts5
  • Other income5
  • Gift5
  • Other (7)15
Declared categories
CategoryCount
Sponsored travel17
Trusts16
Accounts5
Other income5
Gift5
Shareholdings3
Liability3
Real estate2
Directorship2
Other assets2
Office held2
Other interest1
Total63
Who each entry is declared for
63current entries
  • Self16
  • Spouse/partner28
  • Dependent child10
  • Holder not stated9
Who each entry is declared for
CategoryCount
Self16
Spouse/partner28
Dependent child10
Holder not stated9
Total63

Entries declared over time

Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.

0714202120222023202420252026
Monthly declaration counts
MonthCount
2021-090
2021-100
2021-110
2021-120
2022-010
2022-020
2022-030
2022-040
2022-050
2022-060
2022-070
2022-080
2022-090
2022-100
2022-111
2022-121
2023-011
2023-021
2023-031
2023-041
2023-051
2023-061
2023-073
2023-083
2023-093
2023-104
2023-114
2023-124
2024-014
2024-024
2024-034
2024-045
2024-057
2024-067
2024-077
2024-087
2024-097
2024-107
2024-117
2024-127
2025-018
2025-029
2025-039
2025-049
2025-059
2025-069
2025-079
2025-089
2025-099
2025-1011
2025-1111
2025-1212
2026-0112
2026-0212
2026-0312
2026-0412
2026-0514
2026-0614
2026-0714
2026-0814

49 entries without a stated date are not plotted.

Declared companies by industry
Distinct ASX-listed companies declared by this member, grouped by industry. A count of companies, not an amount.
IndustryDistinct companies
Insurance
2

Declared interests

Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.

Declared for

Showing 63 of 63 entries.

Declared entries from the Registers of Members’ and Senators’ Interests, in the register’s own words. No column is a quantity or a value; the registers record none.
Source

Shareholdings (3)

IAG · Insurance Australia Group
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
NHF · Nib Holdings
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
NRMA — not matched to an ASX listing
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Trusts (16)

The Centenera Family TrustFarming and property investment
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
The Centenera Family TrustFarming and property investment
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
The J. Centenera Family TrustFarming and property investment
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
The J. Centenera Family TrustFarming and property investment
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
The J. Centenera Family Trust The Marcmonella Property Trust The Joliz Trust The Joleta Sanitation TrustFarming and property investment Farming and property investment Farming and property investment Venture capital
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
The J. Centenera Family Trust The Marcmonella Property Trust The Joliz Trust The Joleta Sanitation TrustFarming and property investment Farming and property investment Farming and property investment Venture capital
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
The J. Centenera Trust The Marcmonella Property Trust The Joliz Trust The Joleta Sanitation TrustFarming and property investment Farming and property investment Farming and property investment Venture capital
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
The J.Centenera Family Trust The Marcmonella Property Trust The Joliz Trust The Jolets Sanitation trustFarming and property investment Farming and property investment Farming and property investment Venture capital
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
The Joleta Sanitation TrustVenture Capital
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
The Joleta Sanitation TrustVenture Capital
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
The Joliz TrustFarming and property investment
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
The Joliz TrustFarming and property investment
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
The Marcmonella Property TrustFarming and property investment
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
The Marcmonella Property TrustFarming and property investment
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
The Parilla Manager's TrustFarming and property investment
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
The Parilla Manager's TrustFarming and property investment management
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Real estate (2)

Farrer ACTresidential
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Farrer ACTresidential
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Directorship (2)

Joleta Pty Ltd
Private company
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Joleta Sanitation Pty Ltd
Private company
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Liability (3)

Mortgage on residential propertyWestpac
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Mortgage on residential propertyWestpac
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Personal loanWestpac
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Accounts (5)

SavingsCommonwealth
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
SavingsWestpac
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
SavingsWestpac
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Savings Term DepositCommonwealth Commonwealth
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Term DepositCommonwealth
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Other assets (2)

Car
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Superannuation
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗

Other income (5)

Consultancy fees
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Government Board income
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Superannuation
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Superannuation Board income Consultancy fees
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Superannuation Government Board income Consultancy fees
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Gift (5)

Chairman's Lounge
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Chairman's Lounge Qantas Virgin Beyond
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Chairman's Lounge Qantas Virgin Beyond 4 tickets to Canberra Raiders vs Manly - 9 August 2025
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Virgin Beyond
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
children from family members or personal friends in a purely personal capacity need not be
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Sponsored travel (17)

2 tickets to Brumbies vs Drua at Bruce on 18 April 2026, guest of the Brumbies
Self
Declared since 11 May 202648P ↗
2 tickets to GWS vs North Melbourne on 26 April 2026 at Manuka, guest of University of New South Wales
Self
Declared since 11 May 202648P ↗
4 tickets to Sydney Kings NBL game on 17 December 2025
Self
Declared since 23 Dec 202548P ↗
Accommodation and hospitality in Bhutan 25 September - 2 October as guest of Royal Kingdom of Bhutan
Self
Declared since 17 Oct 202548P ↗
Accommodation and hospitality in Bhutan 25 September - 2 October as guest of Royal Kingdom of Bhutan
Spouse/partner
Declared since 17 Oct 202548P ↗
Upgrade of personal travel from Sydney to Canberra with Qantas from economy to business on 18 January (a consequence of a flight cancellation - no other seats available)
Holder not stated
Declared since 24 Feb 202547P ↗
Ticket to 5th Test in Sydney and associated hospitality on 4 January 2025 as a guest of Cricket Australia
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Jan 202547P ↗
Two tickets to the Brumbies Anzac Round on 27 April 2024 as a guest of the Brumbies
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 May 202447P ↗
Two tickets to the Chefs signature dinner at the Southern Cross Club Woden on 3 May as a guest of Clubs ACT
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 May 202447P ↗
travel and accommodation to India between 8-14 March provided by the Australia Tibet Council
Holder not stated
Declared since 5 Apr 202447P ↗
Trip to Republic of China (Taiwan) provided by the Taiwanese Government - air travel, accommodation, food and city transport – (24th - 29th September 2023).
Holder not stated
Declared since 12 Oct 202347P ↗
2 tickets to the Ashes Test with access to hospitality on 30 June as a guest of Cricket Australia
Holder not stated
Declared since 26 July 202347P ↗
Airfares and accommodation to the Solomon Islands as part of the Australian Regional Leadership Initiative from 15-21 July
Holder not stated
Declared since 26 July 202347P ↗
Guest of Cricket ACT at T20 International on 14 October
Holder not stated
Declared since 2 Nov 202247P ↗
2 tickets to Southern Cross Club 50th anniversary dinner
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Attended T20 International at Manuka Oval as guest of Cricket ACT (15 February)
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Attended Women's Ashes Test at Manuka Oval as guest of Cricket Australia (27 January)
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Office held (2)

Kababaihang ni Rizal
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Kababaihang ni Rizal (Filipino association)
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Other interest (1)

Board Member Catholic Archdiocese of Canberra and Goulburn Education Ltd Chair - Canberra International Music Festival Advisory Committee Member - The Global Centre for Social Justice and Advisory Leadership
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗

Funding returns lodged with the AEC

Only returns that name this parliamentarian are shown. Money declared as given to a party, a branch or an associated entity is not shown here and is not attributable to any individual.

Annual returns lodged by this member

  • 2020-21 Member of House of Representatives ReturnLodged as “Mr David Smith MPLodged a return declaring no donationsAEC return ↗

The total each return declares receiving in that financial year, and the number of donors it names.

Election returns linked to this member

Returns this member is linked to, newest first. Linking is per return and exact — an election that does not appear here has not been shown to lack one.

  • 2025 Federal ElectionCandidateBean, ACT · Australian Labor Party (ACT Branch)Lodged as “SMITH, David Philip Benedict$22,94037 donorsAEC return ↗

    This return does not name its donors individually. Of 2,262 returns lodged for this event, 69 name their donors.

  • 2022 Federal electionCandidateBean, ACT · Australian Labor Party (ACT Branch)Lodged as “SMITH, David Philip BenedictLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2019 Federal electionCandidateBean, ACT · Australian Labor Party (ACT Branch)Lodged as “SMITH, David Philip BenedictLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2016 Federal electionCandidateAustralian Capital Territory, ACT · Australian Labor Party (ACT Branch)Lodged as “SMITH, David Philip BenedictLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗

Annual member and senator returns are lodged by a small number of parliamentarians: the whole corpus holds 52 of them. Returns lodged by senators are linked to their profiles where the name on the lodged return matches the name we hold for them; where it does not, the return stays here unlinked rather than being attached to a guess. The Registers of Senators' Interests have not been read into this site yet, so a senator can appear here with a funding return and no declared interests beside it, which is a gap in our coverage rather than a record of what they declared. A parliamentarian with no return has not been shown to have received nothing — most never lodge one.

Amounts below the disclosure threshold in force for a given year are not published by the AEC and are absent from these figures. A low total means little was disclosed, not that little was received.

Source: AEC Transparency Register, reused under CC BY 4.0. © Commonwealth of Australia. The AEC does not endorse this site or its analysis.

Suburbs represented

Suburbs in Bean. Representing a suburb has nothing to do with owning anything in it.

52 suburbs

ACT Remainder - Booth · ACT Remainder - Coree · ACT Remainder - Cotter River · ACT Remainder - Jerrabomberra · ACT Remainder - Molonglo Valley · ACT Remainder - Paddys River · ACT Remainder - Rendezvous Creek · ACT Remainder - Stromlo · ACT Remainder - Tuggeranong · Banks · Bonython · Calwell · Chapman · Chifley (ACT) · Chisholm (ACT) · Conder · Coombs · Denman Prospect · Duffy · Fadden · Farrer · Fisher (ACT) · Gilmore (ACT) · Gordon (ACT) · Gowrie (ACT) · Greenway · Holder (ACT) · Hume · Isaacs · Isabella Plains · Kambah · Macarthur (ACT) · Mawson · Molonglo · Monash (ACT) · O'Malley · Oxley (ACT) · Pearce · Phillip · Richardson · Rivett · Stirling (ACT) · Symonston · Tharwa · Theodore (ACT) · Torrens · Uriarra Village · Wanniassa · Waramanga · Weston (ACT) · Whitlam · Wright

Register of Members’ Interests / Register of Senators’ Interests, Parliament of Australia — as at 11 May 2026. Report an error

Method & caveats

Australian federal parliamentarians must declare certain interests in the Register of Members’ Interests (House of Representatives) and the Register of Senators’ Interests. For holdings — shares, real estate, trusts, liabilities, assets — the registers record what is held and do not record quantity, value, purchase price or income. Nothing on this page states or implies the size of any holding, any gain or loss, or any trading activity.

Two items are different, because the form itself asks for a value: gifts and sponsored travel. Where a member stated an amount there, it appears as they wrote it. That figure is the declared value of a gift or a trip — never the size of a holding, and never a total.

Dates are the dates a declaration appeared in, or was removed from, the register — not transaction dates. A removal can mean an asset was disposed of, a declaration was corrected, or the member left parliament.

Company names are free text as written by the member. We link a declaration to an ASX listing only on an exact normalised match, a ticker the member stated, or a human-verified alias, so many declarations appear as text only. Real-estate declarations are suburb- or area-level; the registers contain no street addresses, and some declared locations do not map to a single ABS suburb.

Rows are declared as held by the member (“Self”), their spouse or partner, or a dependent child, exactly as the register records them. Members’ seats, parties and chambers change between parliaments.

Extracted from primary PDFs published by the Parliament of Australia; parliamentary material, © Commonwealth of Australia. Corrections are annotated, not silently applied. Not financial advice.