Parliament’s Portfolio

DS

Dean Smith

LIBSenator for WAparliaments 44–48
  • 44th–48th · Senator for WA · Liberal

The Registers of Senators’ Interests are tabled as combined Senate volumes, and the volumes covering this senator’s lodgements are ones we have not read into this site yet. An empty register here is our coverage gap — not a record that this senator declared nothing.

61
entries currently declared
20
ASX-listed companies named
3
real-estate declarations
4
liabilities entries
12
gifts and sponsored travel
27 Nov 2025
register last updated

Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.

About these counts

The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.

What is declared, at a glance

Declared categories
61current entries
  • Shareholdings24
  • Sponsored travel9
  • Office held6
  • Accounts5
  • Liability4
  • Other (5)13
Declared categories
CategoryCount
Shareholdings24
Sponsored travel9
Office held6
Accounts5
Liability4
Other interest4
Real estate3
Gift3
Other assets2
Bonds1
Total61
Who each entry is declared for
61current entries
  • Holder not stated61
Who each entry is declared for
CategoryCount
Holder not stated61
Total61

Entries declared over time

Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.

03161202120222023202420252026
Monthly declaration counts
MonthCount
2021-1032
2021-1132
2021-1233
2022-0133
2022-0233
2022-0333
2022-0433
2022-0533
2022-0633
2022-0733
2022-0844
2022-0944
2022-1044
2022-1145
2022-1245
2023-0145
2023-0245
2023-0345
2023-0445
2023-0545
2023-0645
2023-0746
2023-0846
2023-0947
2023-1047
2023-1147
2023-1247
2024-0147
2024-0247
2024-0347
2024-0450
2024-0550
2024-0650
2024-0750
2024-0850
2024-0950
2024-1050
2024-1150
2024-1250
2025-0150
2025-0250
2025-0350
2025-0450
2025-0550
2025-0650
2025-0750
2025-0859
2025-0959
2025-1059
2025-1161
2025-1261
2026-0161
2026-0261
2026-0361
2026-0461
2026-0561
2026-0661
2026-0761
2026-0861
2026-0961
Declared companies by industry
Distinct ASX-listed companies declared by this member, grouped by industry. A count of companies, not an amount.
IndustryDistinct companies
Financial Services
3
Materials
3
Media & Entertainment
2
Telecommunication Services
2
Banks
1

Declared interests

Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.

Showing 69 of 69 entries.

Declared entries from the Registers of Members’ and Senators’ Interests, in the register’s own words. No column is a quantity or a value; the registers record none.
Source

Shareholdings (32)

ATG · Articore Group
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Aug 2025PDF ↗
DTL · Data#3
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Aug 2025PDF ↗
SKK · Stakk
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Aug 2025PDF ↗
XYZ · Block, Inc.
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Aug 2025PDF ↗
Block Inc — not matched to an ASX listing
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Aug 2022PDF ↗
DRR · Deterra Royalties
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Aug 2022PDF ↗
KLS · Kelsian Group
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Aug 2022PDF ↗
RBL · Redbubble
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Aug 2022PDF ↗
SQ2 · BLOCK INC.
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Aug 2022PDF ↗
CSL · Csl
Holder not stated
Declared since 9 Aug 2021PDF ↗
Deterra Royal Ties Limited — not matched to an ASX listing
Holder not stated
Declared since 9 Aug 2021PDF ↗
DOU · DOUUGH LIMITED
Holder not stated
Declared since 9 Aug 2021PDF ↗
Red Bubble Limited — not matched to an ASX listing
Holder not stated
Declared since 9 Aug 2021PDF ↗
AFTERPAY TOUCH GROUP LTD — not matched to an ASX listing
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗
CCP · Credit Corp Group
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗
ESH · Esports Mogul
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗
GOR · GOLD ROAD RESOURCES LIMITED
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗
IVC · Invocare
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗
KLL · KALIUM LAKES LIMITED
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗
KSL · Kina Securities
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗
RHC · Ramsay Health Care
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗
REA · Rea Group
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗
SLK · Sealink Travel Grp
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗
SEK · Seek
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗
AMA · Ama Group
Holder not stated
29 July 2019 – 9 Aug 2021PDF ↗
AIA · Auckland International Airport
Holder not stated
29 July 2019 – 9 Aug 2021PDF ↗
AD8 · Audinate Group
Holder not stated
29 July 2019 – 9 Aug 2021PDF ↗
IOOF HOLDINGS LTD — not matched to an ASX listing
Holder not stated
29 July 2019 – 9 Aug 2021PDF ↗
MWR · Mgm Wireless
Holder not stated
29 July 2019 – 9 Aug 2021PDF ↗
S32 · South32
Holder not stated
29 July 2019 – 9 Aug 2021PDF ↗
SYDNEY AIRPORT — not matched to an ASX listing
Holder not stated
29 July 2019 – 9 Aug 2021PDF ↗
ZIPTEL LTD — not matched to an ASX listing
Holder not stated
29 July 2019 – 9 Aug 2021PDF ↗

Real estate (3)

Dianella WA
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Dianella Western Australia (Residential)
Holder not stated
Declared since 9 Aug 2021PDF ↗
Inglewood (WA) WA
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗

Liability (4)

Mortgage on propertyCommonwealth Bank
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Aug 2025PDF ↗
Mortgage on residential and investment propertiesCommonwealth Bank
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Aug 2022PDF ↗
CBA - Mortgage on residential property CBA - Mortgage on investment properties
Holder not stated
Declared since 9 Aug 2021PDF ↗
Mortgage on residential property Mortgage on investment propertyWestpac Westpac
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗

Bonds (1)

Managed funds SuperannuationCPS Capital Equity Trustees
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Aug 2025PDF ↗

Accounts (5)

Savings SavingsMacquarie Bank Westpac Bank
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Aug 2025PDF ↗
Savings accountsMacquarie, ANZ and Westpac Banks
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Aug 2022PDF ↗
CBA - Investments Rabo Direct - Savings
Holder not stated
Declared since 9 Aug 2021PDF ↗
ANZ Bank - Savings Account
Holder not stated
Declared since 4 Mar 2020PDF ↗
Savings Savings Term depositWestpac Macquarie Bank Rabo Direct
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗

Other assets (2)

Superannuation
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Colonial First State Superannuation
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗

Gift (3)

An upgrade from Economy to Business on Drukair (KB153) from Bangkok to Paro, Bhutan on 25 September 2025
Holder not stated
Declared since 27 Nov 2025PDF ↗
2 x Complimentary Associate Member Cards from the WA Cricket Association for the 2019/2020 season.
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 Jan 2020PDF ↗
As previously declared
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗

Sponsored travel (9)

In country accommodation, land transport and meals as guest of Royal Kingdom of Bhutan as a member of the inaugural delegation of the Australian Parliamentary Friendship Group for Bhutan visit to Bhutan - 23 September to 2 October 2025. Economy return flights from Perth to Bhutan and overnight transit accommodation at Bangkok Airport (23 September) were self funded.
Holder not stated
Declared since 27 Nov 2025PDF ↗
Meals, accommodation and international business class flights from Perth to Dubai (UAE) to attend COP28 in UAE hosted by Coalition for Conservation (C4C), 6/12/2023 to 12/12/2023.
Holder not stated
Declared since 4 Apr 2024PDF ↗
Some meals, accommodation, international and internal economy class flights from Perth to Delhi and Dharamshala (India) to meet representatives of the Tibetan Government-in-Exile hosted by the Australian Tibet Council, 8/3/2024 to 17/3/2024.
Holder not stated
Declared since 4 Apr 2024PDF ↗
Accommodation and hospitality at the Coalition for Conservation's International Climate Conference, Taronga Zoo Wildlife Retreat Sydney, 17 - 18 August 2023.
Holder not stated
Declared since 25 Sept 2023PDF ↗
Some meals, accommodation and intra-flight expenses associated with travel to Delhi to understand implications of Burmese refugee crisis in India. The visit was hosted by the Chin Human Rights Organisation (CHRO) between 15 April to 22 April 2023
Holder not stated
Declared since 10 July 2023PDF ↗
Some meals, accommodation and intra-flight expenses associated with travel to India (Delhi and Aizawl) to observe Burmese refugee crisis in north-east India. The visit was hosted by the Chin Human Rights Organisation (CHRO).
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 Nov 2022PDF ↗
Accommodation and meals paid by Australian based 'Coalition for Conservation' to attend the 2022 Conservative Climate Conference in Sydney, June 2022
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Airfares, accommodation, transfers and some meals in the United Kingdom (Edinburgh, Glasgow and Hull) from 6 November to 13 November 2021 hosted by the Australian based Coalition for Conservation to attend COP26, The Global Conservative Climate Summit and The British Conservation Alliance Youth Environment Summit.
Holder not stated
Declared since 7 Dec 2021PDF ↗
Accommodation and hospitality valued at approximately $500 provided by the Chin Human Rights Organisation and the Karen Welfare Association of WA during travel to Chin State from 29 December 2019 to 11 January 2020.
Holder not stated
Declared since 28 Jan 2020PDF ↗

Office held (6)

Patron, Modernist and Art Deco Society, WA Patron, Bayswater Tennis Club, WA Patron, Tuart Place, Fremantle, WA Liberal Party of Australia (WA Division)
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Aug 2025PDF ↗
Patron, Art Deco and Modernist Society of WA
Holder not stated
Declared since 7 Apr 2024PDF ↗
Patron, Bayswater Tennis Club, Perth, WA Patron, Tuart Place, Fremantle, WA
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Aug 2022PDF ↗
The 500 Club Perth Rotary Club University Club of Western Australia
Holder not stated
Declared since 9 Aug 2021PDF ↗
Member of the Friends of UWA, Albany Member of The Commonwealth Club
Holder not stated
Declared since 4 Mar 2020PDF ↗
Liberal Party of Australia (WA Division) Donor - Bobby Goldsmith Foundation Donor - Centre for Independent Studies Donor - Art Gallery of Western Australia Foundation Donor - Foundation for the WA Museum
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗

Other interest (4)

Airline memberships - Qantas, Virgin
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Aug 2025PDF ↗
Patron, Modernist and Art Deco Society of WA Member, Friends of Israel WA Member, Institute of Public Affairs Member, Mt Lawley Historical Society Affiliate Member, RSL WA (Highgate Branch) Member, Australian National Flag Association Affiliate Member, Australian Special Air Service Association (WA Branch) Member, Australians for Constitutional Monarchy Member, Samuel Griffith Society Inaugural Member, Menzies Research Centre
Holder not stated
Declared since 9 Aug 2021PDF ↗
Patron of the Bayswater Tennis Club Ambassador for PFLAG (Perth)
Holder not stated
Declared since 4 Mar 2020PDF ↗
2014 - Appointed member of the Australian Centre on China in the World Advisory Board
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗

Register of Members’ Interests / Register of Senators’ Interests, Parliament of Australia — as at 27 November 2025. Report an error

Method & caveats

Australian federal parliamentarians must declare certain interests in the Register of Members’ Interests (House of Representatives) and the Register of Senators’ Interests. For holdings — shares, real estate, trusts, liabilities, assets — the registers record what is held and do not record quantity, value, purchase price or income. Nothing on this page states or implies the size of any holding, any gain or loss, or any trading activity.

Two items are different, because the form itself asks for a value: gifts and sponsored travel. Where a member stated an amount there, it appears as they wrote it. That figure is the declared value of a gift or a trip — never the size of a holding, and never a total.

Dates are the dates a declaration appeared in, or was removed from, the register — not transaction dates. A removal can mean an asset was disposed of, a declaration was corrected, or the member left parliament.

Company names are free text as written by the member. We link a declaration to an ASX listing only on an exact normalised match, a ticker the member stated, or a human-verified alias, so many declarations appear as text only. Real-estate declarations are suburb- or area-level; the registers contain no street addresses, and some declared locations do not map to a single ABS suburb.

Rows are declared as held by the member (“Self”), their spouse or partner, or a dependent child, exactly as the register records them. Members’ seats, parties and chambers change between parliaments.

Extracted from primary PDFs published by the Parliament of Australia; parliamentary material, © Commonwealth of Australia. Corrections are annotated, not silently applied. Not financial advice.