Parliament’s Portfolio

Eric Abetz

Eric Abetz

LIBSenator for TASparliaments 44–46
  • 44th–46th · Senator for TAS · Liberal

Portrait: Wikimedia Commons — Hawkesyj (CC BY-SA 3.0). Not a Parliament of Australia image.

We have read only part of the 47th and 48th Parliaments — this member’s own document may be among those still unread. An empty section below means we have no recorded entry — not that the member declared nothing. The Registers of Senators’ Interests are tabled as combined Senate volumes, and the volumes covering this senator’s lodgements are ones we have not read into this site yet. An empty register here is our coverage gap — not a record that this senator declared nothing.

27
entries currently declared
0
ASX-listed companies named
2
real-estate declarations
0
liabilities entries
2
gifts and sponsored travel
23 Dec 2021
register last updated

Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.

About these counts

The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.

What is declared, at a glance

Declared categories
27current entries
  • Office held18
  • Real estate2
  • Accounts2
  • Other assets2
  • Gift1
  • Other (2)2
Declared categories
CategoryCount
Office held18
Real estate2
Accounts2
Other assets2
Gift1
Sponsored travel1
Other interest1
Total27
Who each entry is declared for
27current entries
  • Holder not stated27
Who each entry is declared for
CategoryCount
Holder not stated27
Total27

Entries declared over time

Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.

01427202120222023202420252026
Monthly declaration counts
MonthCount
2021-1026
2021-1126
2021-1227
2022-0127
2022-0227
2022-0327
2022-0427
2022-0527
2022-0627
2022-0727
2022-0827
2022-0927
2022-1027
2022-1127
2022-1227
2023-0127
2023-0227
2023-0327
2023-0427
2023-0527
2023-0627
2023-0727
2023-0827
2023-0927
2023-1027
2023-1127
2023-1227
2024-0127
2024-0227
2024-0327
2024-0427
2024-0527
2024-0627
2024-0727
2024-0827
2024-0927
2024-1027
2024-1127
2024-1227
2025-0127
2025-0227
2025-0327
2025-0427
2025-0527
2025-0627
2025-0727
2025-0827
2025-0927
2025-1027
2025-1127
2025-1227
2026-0127
2026-0227
2026-0327
2026-0427
2026-0527
2026-0627
2026-0727
2026-0827
2026-0927

Declared interests

Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.

Showing 27 of 27 entries.

Declared entries from the Registers of Members’ and Senators’ Interests, in the register’s own words. No column is a quantity or a value; the registers record none.
Source

Real estate (2)

Blackmans Bay TASResidential
Holder not stated
Declared since 26 July 2019PDF ↗
Griffith (ACT) ACTResidential
Holder not stated
Declared since 26 July 2019PDF ↗

Accounts (2)

4 x Savings AccountBank of Us
Holder not stated
Declared since 26 July 2019PDF ↗
Account, with a credit cardANZ
Holder not stated
Declared since 26 July 2019PDF ↗

Other assets (2)

Life Insurance
Holder not stated
Declared since 26 July 2019PDF ↗
Superannuation
Holder not stated
Declared since 26 July 2019PDF ↗

Gift (1)

Foxtel/Austar connection at Electorate Office
Holder not stated
Declared since 26 July 2019PDF ↗

Sponsored travel (1)

All previously declared
Holder not stated
Declared since 26 July 2019PDF ↗

Office held (18)

Donation to Hobart Champions League
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Dec 2021PDF ↗
Jireh House
Holder not stated
Declared since 5 Feb 2021PDF ↗
St Mary's Cathedral Restoration Appeal
Holder not stated
Declared since 5 Feb 2021PDF ↗
Donor - Menzies Research Centre
Holder not stated
Declared since 7 Sept 2020PDF ↗
Donor - Vietnam Veterans' Association
Holder not stated
Declared since 7 Sept 2020PDF ↗
Member - Cricket Tasmania
Holder not stated
Declared since 7 Sept 2020PDF ↗
Donor - Acholi Resilience
Holder not stated
Declared since 26 July 2019PDF ↗
Donor - Auorora Disability Services / The Tasmanian Association of People with Disabilities and Their Advocates Inc.
Holder not stated
Declared since 26 July 2019PDF ↗
Donor - Bible League
Holder not stated
Declared since 26 July 2019PDF ↗
Donor - Bible Society
Holder not stated
Declared since 26 July 2019PDF ↗
Donor - Christian Reformed Church of Kingston
Holder not stated
Declared since 26 July 2019PDF ↗
Donor - Foundation Membership Kingborough Tigers Football Club
Holder not stated
Declared since 26 July 2019PDF ↗
Donor - Leprosy Mission
Holder not stated
Declared since 26 July 2019PDF ↗
Donor - Liberal Party of Australia (Tasmanian Division)
Holder not stated
Declared since 26 July 2019PDF ↗
Donor - Pathways Tasmania
Holder not stated
Declared since 26 July 2019PDF ↗
Donor - Taroona High School
Holder not stated
Declared since 26 July 2019PDF ↗
Donor - Ultra106Five
Holder not stated
Declared since 26 July 2019PDF ↗
Office Holder - Australian Monarchist League
Holder not stated
Declared since 26 July 2019PDF ↗

Other interest (1)

Run "Flavours of Tasmania" Showcase at Parliament House with corporate sponsorship from Woolworths and TG Endeavour
Holder not stated
Declared since 26 July 2019PDF ↗

Register of Members’ Interests / Register of Senators’ Interests, Parliament of Australia — as at 23 December 2021. Report an error

Method & caveats

Australian federal parliamentarians must declare certain interests in the Register of Members’ Interests (House of Representatives) and the Register of Senators’ Interests. For holdings — shares, real estate, trusts, liabilities, assets — the registers record what is held and do not record quantity, value, purchase price or income. Nothing on this page states or implies the size of any holding, any gain or loss, or any trading activity.

Two items are different, because the form itself asks for a value: gifts and sponsored travel. Where a member stated an amount there, it appears as they wrote it. That figure is the declared value of a gift or a trip — never the size of a holding, and never a total.

Dates are the dates a declaration appeared in, or was removed from, the register — not transaction dates. A removal can mean an asset was disposed of, a declaration was corrected, or the member left parliament.

Company names are free text as written by the member. We link a declaration to an ASX listing only on an exact normalised match, a ticker the member stated, or a human-verified alias, so many declarations appear as text only. Real-estate declarations are suburb- or area-level; the registers contain no street addresses, and some declared locations do not map to a single ABS suburb.

Rows are declared as held by the member (“Self”), their spouse or partner, or a dependent child, exactly as the register records them. Members’ seats, parties and chambers change between parliaments.

Extracted from primary PDFs published by the Parliament of Australia; parliamentary material, © Commonwealth of Australia. Corrections are annotated, not silently applied. Not financial advice.