Parliament’s Portfolio

James Chalmers

James Chalmers

ALPMember for RankinQLDparliaments 46–48
  • 46th–47th · Member for Rankin · Party not recorded
  • 48th · Member for Rankin · Labor

Portrait: Wikimedia Commons — myPolice Logan (CC BY 4.0). Not a Parliament of Australia image.

This page covers the 44th, 45th and 48th Parliaments in full. We have read only part of the 46th and 47th Parliaments — this member’s own document may be among those still unread. An empty section below means we have no recorded entry — not that the member declared nothing.

93
entries currently declared
0
ASX-listed companies named
3
real-estate declarations
5
liabilities entries
53
gifts and sponsored travel
30 Apr 2026
register last updated

Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.

About these counts

The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.

What is declared, at a glance

Declared categories
93current entries
  • Sponsored travel36
  • Gift17
  • Office held17
  • Accounts6
  • Other assets6
  • Other (4)11
Declared categories
CategoryCount
Sponsored travel36
Gift17
Office held17
Accounts6
Other assets6
Liability5
Real estate3
Other income2
Other interest1
Total93
Who each entry is declared for
93current entries
  • Self55
  • Spouse/partner15
  • Dependent child1
  • Holder not stated22
Who each entry is declared for
CategoryCount
Self55
Spouse/partner15
Dependent child1
Holder not stated22
Total93

Entries declared over time

Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.

01428202120222023202420252026
Monthly declaration counts
MonthCount
2021-090
2021-100
2021-110
2021-120
2022-010
2022-020
2022-030
2022-040
2022-050
2022-060
2022-070
2022-086
2022-097
2022-107
2022-117
2022-127
2023-018
2023-0210
2023-0313
2023-0413
2023-0513
2023-0614
2023-0714
2023-0814
2023-0914
2023-1015
2023-1115
2023-1216
2024-0117
2024-0217
2024-0317
2024-0417
2024-0518
2024-0618
2024-0720
2024-0820
2024-0920
2024-1021
2024-1121
2024-1221
2025-0122
2025-0222
2025-0322
2025-0422
2025-0522
2025-0622
2025-0722
2025-0824
2025-0924
2025-1024
2025-1124
2025-1226
2026-0126
2026-0227
2026-0327
2026-0428
2026-0528
2026-0628
2026-0728
2026-0828

65 entries without a stated date are not plotted.

Declared interests

Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.

Declared for

Showing 93 of 93 entries.

Declared entries from the Registers of Members’ and Senators’ Interests, in the register’s own words. No column is a quantity or a value; the registers record none.
Source

Real estate (3)

Daisy Hill (Qld) QLDPrimary Residence
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Forrest (ACT) ACTSecondary Residence
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Springwood (Qld) QLDPrimary Residence Secondary Residence
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Liability (5)

Credit CardCommonwealth Bank
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Credit card (debit and credit)NAB
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Mortgage (Daisy Hill, QLD)NAB
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Mortgage (Forrest, ACT)NAB
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Mortgage (Springwood, QLD) Mortgage (Forrest, ACT) Credit Card (debit and credit)NAB NAB Commonwealth Bank
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Accounts (6)

Cheque AccountNAB
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Managed FundMLC
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Savings AccountCBA
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Savings AccountNAB
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Savings Cheque SavingsNAB NAB ING
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Savings Savings Managed fundCommonwealth Bank Commonwealth Bank MLC
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Other assets (6)

2015 Mazda 5
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Superannuation (Australian Retirement Trust) Superannuation (Australian Super)
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Superannuation (Australian Super)
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Superannuation (MLC)
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Superannuation (Q Super)
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Superannuation (Russell Investments) 2015 Mazda CX5
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Other income (2)

Journalist Salary - Courier Mail
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Journalist Salary - News Corporation
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Gift (17)

Broncos merchandise from Brisbane Broncos
Self
Declared since 19 Dec 202548P ↗
Official Westpac branded NRL match ball, NRL A5 notebook and an Executive Officer, Westpac) and Andrew Abdo (Chief Executive Officer, NRL) on Wednesday 08 March 2023
Holder not stated
Declared since 8 Mar 202347P ↗
QLD Reds and Indigenous all stars jerseys from Westpac and NRL on Wednesday 08 March 2023
Holder not stated
Declared since 8 Mar 202347P ↗
Gift to spouse in her work capacity, attended 'Hamilton - The Musical' at QPAC on Tuesday 31 January 2023
Holder not stated
Declared since 3 Feb 202347P ↗
Bottle of wine (Penfolds Bin 150 Marananga Shiraz), Book (Borne to be Live - 25 ears of SKY news Australia) and SKY notebook on Wednesday 08 June 2022 from SKY News (Paul Whittaker), Christopher Dore (Editor in Chief, The Australian) and John Lehmann (Managing Director, The Australian NSW, ACT & Prestige Titles) for speaking at the SKY News Economic Outlook Lunch on Wednesday 08 June 2022
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Aug 202247P ↗
3 x Queensland State of Origin replica training jerseys, one signed by team. Received from Lion Nathan.
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
3-month membership at F45 Training Logan Central
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Donated tickets received from Telstra for Grinspoon Chemical Hearts Tour to local volunteers at Springwood AFL Club and staff
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
F45 Logan Central Membership
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Framed Queensland jersey received from the Former Origin Greats (worth more than $300.00)
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Gift to spouse in her work capacity, attended "Book of Mormon" at QPAC on 05 January 2020
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Local issues identification and market research - Utting Research
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Provided to spouse in work capacity - Weekend accommodation provided by Destination Gold Coast (13-15 November 2020)
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Provided to spouse in work capacity - two nights accommodation at Greenlee Cottages (Canungra, Scenic Rim) (5-7 June 2020)
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Provided to spouse in work capacity - weekend accommodation provided by Noosa Tourism (04-06 December 2020)
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Tickets for Grinspoon Chemical Hearts Tour from Telstra (x6) on 08 November 2019 (donated to local organisation)
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
children from family members or personal friends in a purely personal capacity need not be
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Sponsored travel (36)

Ticket to the National Press Club Address by the Prime Minister, the Hon Anthony Albanese, hosted by Westpac Bank on 02 April 2026
Self
Declared since 30 Apr 202648P ↗
Five tickets to Brisbane Bullets v New Zealand game, Monday 22 December 2025
Self
Declared since 6 Feb 202648P ↗
Press Gallery Mid-Winter Ball tickets (x2) courtesy of SEVEN Newspapers (Wednesday 27 August 2025)
Self
Declared since 19 Dec 202548P ↗
Ticket to the National Press Club Address by the Prime Minister, the Hon Anthony Albanese, hosted by
Self
Declared since 18 Aug 202548P ↗
Westpac Bank on 30 April 2025 VIP tickets (x5) for the 2 week period of the EKKA from Brendan Christou (Chief Executive Officer, Royal National Agricultural and Industrial Association of Queensland) on 4 August 2025 (not used)
Self
Declared since 18 Aug 202548P ↗
6x tickets from the Brisbane Bullets to the NBL game on 27 December 2024 (Brisbane Bullets v Illawarra Hawks)
Holder not stated
Declared since 9 Jan 202547P ↗
Two tickets from Brisbane Bullets to Basketball Game on Saturday, 5 October 2024 - Brisbane Bullets v Sydney Kings
Holder not stated
Declared since 18 Oct 202447P ↗
NRL State of Origin Game 3 - Hosted by Australian Rugby League Commission and National Rugby League (x1 ticket in Chairman's Room) on Wednesday 17 July 2024
Holder not stated
Declared since 18 July 202447P ↗
Press Gallery Mid-Winter Ball tickets courtesy of Nine Fairfax Media (x2) (Wednesday 3 July 2024)
Holder not stated
Declared since 15 July 202447P ↗
5 x tickets to Brisbane Broncos NRL match on Sunday 26th May 2024
Holder not stated
Declared since 28 May 202447P ↗
4 x tickets to Brisbane International tennis on Saturday 6th January 2024
Holder not stated
Declared since 8 Jan 202447P ↗
6 x tickets to the Brisbane Bullets Basketball game on 27/12/2023
Holder not stated
Declared since 28 Dec 202347P ↗
NRL Match - Brisbane Broncos vs Warrior hosted by Australian Rugby League Commission and National Rugby League (x1 ticket in Hirer's Suite) on Saturday 23 September 2023
Holder not stated
Declared since 20 Oct 202347P ↗
Press Gallery Mid Winter Ball Tickets (x2) courtesy of News Ltd (Wednesday 21 June 2023)
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 June 202347P ↗
NRL Match - Brisbane Broncos vs Cowboys hosted by Brisbane Broncos (x3 tickets in Chairman's Lounge, Suncorp Stadium) on Friday 10 March 2023
Holder not stated
Declared since 14 Mar 202347P ↗
Attended Australian Open Men's Final as a guest of Tennis Australia with spouse (x2 tickets) on Sunday 29 January 2023
Holder not stated
Declared since 3 Feb 202347P ↗
Tickets to the Bullets NBL Game (01 January 2023) (x2) and jerseys (x2)
Holder not stated
Declared since 17 Jan 202347P ↗
Press Gallery Mid Winter Ball tickets (x2) courtesy of NINE Newspapers (Wednesday 07 September 2022)
Holder not stated
Declared since 27 Sept 202247P ↗
Dinner hosted by the Courier Mail @ Black Hide Steakhouse with spouse and tickets (x2) in the Chairman's Lounge, Suncorp Stadium for the NRL Brisbane Broncos vs South Roosters Match on Friday 08 April 2022
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Aug 202247P ↗
Game 1 State of Origin Match (NSW v QLD) at Accor Stadium, Sydney hosted by Peter V'landys AM (Chairman, Australian Rugby League Commission) and Andrew Abdo (CEO, National Rugby League) (x1 ticket) on Wednesday 08 June 2022
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Aug 202247P ↗
NRL Match - Brisbane Broncos vs St George Dragons hosted by Dave Donaghy (Chief Executive Officer, Brisbane Broncos) (x5 tickets in Corporate Box) on Sunday 10 July 2022
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Aug 202247P ↗
Ticket to the National Press Club Address by the then Leader of the Opposition, the Hon Anthony Albanese, hosted by Westpac Bank on 18 May 2022
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Aug 202247P ↗
VIP tickets (x2) for the 2 week period of the EKKA from Brendan Christou (Chief Executive Officer, Royal National Agricultural and Industrial Association of Queensland) on 20 July 2022 (not used)
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Aug 202247P ↗
As above
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Guest of the Brisbane Bullets - 3 tickets plus parking to the Brisbane Bullets versus Melbourne United NBL Game (Wednesday 26 January 2022)
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
NRL Round 1 - 1 ticket to Brisbane Broncos v South Sydney hosted by the Broncos Chairman, 11 March 2022 in Brisbane
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
NRL Round 1 - Brisbane Broncos v South Sydney hosted by the Chairman, Brisbane Broncos (1x ticket in Chairman's Lounge) on 11 March in Brisbane
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Press Gallery Mid-Winter Ball tickets courtesy of LION (x2) (Wednesday 18 September 2019)
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Qantas Chairman's Lounge
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Qantas Chairman's Lounge
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Qantas Chairman's Lounge Virgin Velocity - The Club Membership Qantas Platinum One Status
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Qantas Chairman's Lounge Virgin Velocity - The Club Membership Qantas Platinum One Status
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Qantas Platinum One Status
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Qantas Platinum One Status
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Virgin Velocity - The Club Membership
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Virgin Velocity - The Club Membership
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Office held (17)

4118 Club
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
ALP (Springwood, QLD Branch) AWU QLD Brisbane Broncos National Press Club Kawartha Forest Protection Society Centre for Women and Co (Logan Central) Logan Chamber of Commerce (general membership) Multilink Community Services Kingston East Neighbourhood Group Logan East Community Neighbourhood Centre Surf Life Saving QLd (vice patron role) Rochedale Springwood (QLD) Lions Club YFS
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Advisory Board Member for Centre for Australian,Australian, New Zealand and Pacific Students (Georgetown University, Washington) (since 2014)
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Australian Institute of Company Directors
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Australian Labor Party (ALP)
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Australian Workers Union (AWU)
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Griffith University Logan Campus Development Advisory Group
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Karawatha Forest Protection Society
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Kingston East Neighbourhood Group
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Koongoora Women's Refuge
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Logan Chamber of Commerce (General Membership)
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Multilink Community Services
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
National Seniors
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
PGA of Australia Honorary Membership
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
School of Government and International Relations Advisory Board (Griffith University)
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Surf Life Saving QLD - vice patron role
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Women in Media (QLD) (Deputy Convenor) MEAA Union
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Other interest (1)

Editor @ News Corporation
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Funding returns lodged with the AEC

Only returns that name this parliamentarian are shown. Money declared as given to a party, a branch or an associated entity is not shown here and is not attributable to any individual.

Election returns linked to this member

Returns this member is linked to, newest first. Linking is per return and exact — an election that does not appear here has not been shown to lack one.

  • 2025 Federal ElectionCandidateRankin, QLD · Australian Labor Party (State of Queensland)Lodged as “CHALMERS, James EdwardLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2022 Federal electionCandidateRankin, QLD · Australian Labor Party (State of Queensland)Lodged as “CHALMERS, James EdwardLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2019 Federal electionCandidateRankin, QLD · Australian Labor Party (State of Queensland)Lodged as “CHALMERS, James EdwardLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗

Annual member and senator returns are lodged by a small number of parliamentarians: the whole corpus holds 52 of them. Returns lodged by senators are linked to their profiles where the name on the lodged return matches the name we hold for them; where it does not, the return stays here unlinked rather than being attached to a guess. The Registers of Senators' Interests have not been read into this site yet, so a senator can appear here with a funding return and no declared interests beside it, which is a gap in our coverage rather than a record of what they declared. A parliamentarian with no return has not been shown to have received nothing — most never lodge one.

Amounts below the disclosure threshold in force for a given year are not published by the AEC and are absent from these figures. A low total means little was disclosed, not that little was received.

Source: AEC Transparency Register, reused under CC BY 4.0. © Commonwealth of Australia. The AEC does not endorse this site or its analysis.

Suburbs represented

Suburbs in Rankin. Representing a suburb has nothing to do with owning anything in it.

23 suburbs

Algester · Berrinba · Browns Plains (Qld) · Calamvale · Crestmead · Daisy Hill (Qld) · Drewvale · Heritage Park · Hillcrest (Qld) · Karawatha · Kingston (Qld) · Logan Central · Marsden · Meadowbrook · Parkinson · Priestdale · Regents Park (Qld) · Rochedale South · Slacks Creek · Springwood (Qld) · Stretton · Underwood (Qld) · Woodridge (Qld)

Register of Members’ Interests / Register of Senators’ Interests, Parliament of Australia — as at 30 April 2026. Report an error

Method & caveats

Australian federal parliamentarians must declare certain interests in the Register of Members’ Interests (House of Representatives) and the Register of Senators’ Interests. For holdings — shares, real estate, trusts, liabilities, assets — the registers record what is held and do not record quantity, value, purchase price or income. Nothing on this page states or implies the size of any holding, any gain or loss, or any trading activity.

Two items are different, because the form itself asks for a value: gifts and sponsored travel. Where a member stated an amount there, it appears as they wrote it. That figure is the declared value of a gift or a trip — never the size of a holding, and never a total.

Dates are the dates a declaration appeared in, or was removed from, the register — not transaction dates. A removal can mean an asset was disposed of, a declaration was corrected, or the member left parliament.

Company names are free text as written by the member. We link a declaration to an ASX listing only on an exact normalised match, a ticker the member stated, or a human-verified alias, so many declarations appear as text only. Real-estate declarations are suburb- or area-level; the registers contain no street addresses, and some declared locations do not map to a single ABS suburb.

Rows are declared as held by the member (“Self”), their spouse or partner, or a dependent child, exactly as the register records them. Members’ seats, parties and chambers change between parliaments.

Extracted from primary PDFs published by the Parliament of Australia; parliamentary material, © Commonwealth of Australia. Corrections are annotated, not silently applied. Not financial advice.