Parliament’s Portfolio

James Paterson

James Paterson

LIBSenator for VICparliaments 44–48
  • 44th–48th · Senator for VIC · Liberal

Portrait: Wikimedia Commons — Alison Newman (CC BY-SA 4.0). Not a Parliament of Australia image.

The Registers of Senators’ Interests are tabled as combined Senate volumes, and the volumes covering this senator’s lodgements are ones we have not read into this site yet. An empty register here is our coverage gap — not a record that this senator declared nothing.

74
entries currently declared
0
ASX-listed companies named
5
real-estate declarations
6
liabilities entries
39
gifts and sponsored travel
20 Nov 2025
register last updated

Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.

About these counts

The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.

What is declared, at a glance

Declared categories
74current entries
  • Sponsored travel37
  • Other interest16
  • Liability6
  • Real estate5
  • Office held4
  • Other (4)6
Declared categories
CategoryCount
Sponsored travel37
Other interest16
Liability6
Real estate5
Office held4
Accounts2
Gift2
Other assets1
Other income1
Total74
Who each entry is declared for
74current entries
  • Holder not stated74
Who each entry is declared for
CategoryCount
Holder not stated74
Total74

Entries declared over time

Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.

03774202120222023202420252026
Monthly declaration counts
MonthCount
2021-1024
2021-1124
2021-1224
2022-0126
2022-0226
2022-0329
2022-0429
2022-0529
2022-0629
2022-0729
2022-0841
2022-0942
2022-1043
2022-1145
2022-1245
2023-0145
2023-0246
2023-0347
2023-0448
2023-0550
2023-0650
2023-0750
2023-0850
2023-0950
2023-1051
2023-1152
2023-1253
2024-0155
2024-0256
2024-0357
2024-0457
2024-0557
2024-0657
2024-0760
2024-0860
2024-0960
2024-1063
2024-1163
2024-1263
2025-0163
2025-0264
2025-0364
2025-0464
2025-0564
2025-0664
2025-0764
2025-0870
2025-0972
2025-1072
2025-1174
2025-1274
2026-0174
2026-0274
2026-0374
2026-0474
2026-0574
2026-0674
2026-0774
2026-0874
2026-0974

Declared interests

Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.

Showing 75 of 75 entries.

Declared entries from the Registers of Members’ and Senators’ Interests, in the register’s own words. No column is a quantity or a value; the registers record none.
Source

Real estate (5)

Melbourne VIC
Holder not stated
Declared since 6 Aug 2025PDF ↗
CanberraResidential
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Mornington PeninsulaInvestment
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Investment property Mornington Peninsula
Holder not stated
Declared since 25 June 2020PDF ↗
Kingston (ACT) ACTResidential
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 July 2019PDF ↗

Liability (6)

Mastercard Mortgage on investment propertyCommonwealth Bank Advantedge Financial Services, backed by NAB
Holder not stated
Declared since 6 Aug 2025PDF ↗
Credit CardCommonwealth Bank
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Mortgage on investment propertyPLAN Australia
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Credit card, Commonwealth Bank
Holder not stated
Declared since 25 June 2020PDF ↗
Mortgage on investment property, Plan Lend
Holder not stated
Declared since 25 June 2020PDF ↗
Mortage on Canberra residencePLAN Lending
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 July 2019PDF ↗

Accounts (2)

Access accountCommonwealth Bank
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 July 2019PDF ↗
Savings accountING Direct
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 July 2019PDF ↗

Other assets (1)

Superannuation account, Australian Super
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 July 2019PDF ↗

Other income (1)

Rental income, investment property
Holder not stated
Declared since 25 June 2020PDF ↗

Gift (2)

Continuing complementary electorate office Foxtel subscription
Holder not stated
Declared since 6 Aug 2025PDF ↗
Continuing complementary Foxtel subscription, electorate office
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 July 2019PDF ↗

Sponsored travel (37)

Flights, accommodation and hospitality to participate in Centre for Independent Studies Consilium conference, Gold Coast, 23-25 October, courtesy CIS
Holder not stated
Declared since 20 Nov 2025PDF ↗
Upgrade to Business Class, Melbourne to Canberra, 12 November, courtesy Qantas
Holder not stated
Declared since 20 Nov 2025PDF ↗
Two tickets to the Press Gallery Mid-Winter Ball, courtesy of The Australian
Holder not stated
Declared since 15 Sept 2025PDF ↗
Chairman's Lounge membership, Qantas Beyond membership, Virgin Australia
Holder not stated
Declared since 6 Aug 2025PDF ↗
Return flights, accommodation and hospitality to participate in Consilium conference, 24- 27 October, Gold Coast, courtesy Centre for Independent Studies
Holder not stated
Declared since 28 Oct 2024PDF ↗
Return flights, accommodation and transfers to visit Washington D.C., 19-24 September, courtesy Jamestown Foundation, reimbursement received 18 October
Holder not stated
Declared since 18 Oct 2024PDF ↗
Upgrade to business class, Melbourne to Canberra, 8 October, courtesy Qantas
Holder not stated
Declared since 18 Oct 2024PDF ↗
Accommodation in Washington D.C. to participate in the Australian American Leadership Dialogue, 7-13 July, courtesy Michael Tamvakologos
Holder not stated
Declared since 15 July 2024PDF ↗
Return flights to Washington D.C. to participate in the Australian American Leadership Dialogue, 7-13 July, courtesy AALD
Holder not stated
Declared since 15 July 2024PDF ↗
Two tickets to the Press Gallery Mid-Winter Ball, 3 July, courtesy Seven West Media
Holder not stated
Declared since 15 July 2024PDF ↗
Return flights, accommodation and hospitality to visit Israel, 8-13 March, courtesy Australia-Israel Jewish Affairs Council
Holder not stated
Declared since 18 Mar 2024PDF ↗
Grant to fund participation in the Munich Security Conference, including return flights, accommodation and incidentals, 15-18 February, Munich, Germany, courtesy Schmidt Futures
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Feb 2024PDF ↗
One ticket and hospitality to day two of the Boxing Day Test, 27 December 2023, courtesy Cricket Australia
Holder not stated
Declared since 18 Jan 2024PDF ↗
One ticket and hospitality to night four of the Australian Open, 17 January 2024, courtesy Arnold Bloch Leibler
Holder not stated
Declared since 18 Jan 2024PDF ↗
Course fees, accommodation and return flights to participate in the Senior Executives in National and International Security at Harvard Kennedy School, Boston, 3-8 December 2023, courtesy of the McKinnon Institute for Political Leadership
Holder not stated
Declared since 12 Dec 2023PDF ↗
Return flights, accommodation and hospitality to participate in the Alliance for Responsible Citizenship (ARC) conference in London, 29 October - 2 November, courtesy ARC
Holder not stated
Declared since 6 Nov 2023PDF ↗
Flights and accommodation for Munich Leaders Meeting, Tokyo, 13-18 May, courtesy Michael Tamvakologos
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 May 2023PDF ↗
Transfers and hospitality for Munich Leaders Meeting, Tokyo, 13-18 May, courtesy Munich Security Conference
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 May 2023PDF ↗
Flights, accommodation and transfers to participate in a bipartisan AUKUS defence ndustry delegation to Washington D.C. and New York, 28 March to 4 April, courtesy Pyne and Partners
Holder not stated
Declared since 7 Apr 2023PDF ↗
Return flights, transfers, accomodation and hospitality to participate in the International Strategy Forum, California, 12-16 February 2023, courtesy Schmidt Futures
Holder not stated
Declared since 3 Mar 2023PDF ↗
Return flights, accomodation, transfers and hospitality for two people to participate in the SR Nathan Exchange Fellowship to Singapore, 16-21 January, courtesy of Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Singapore
Holder not stated
Declared since 2 Feb 2023PDF ↗
Return flights to Washington D.C. to participate in the Inter-Parliamentary Alliance on China conference and other meetings, September 10-18, courtesy IPAC (reimbursement received 30 November).
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 Nov 2022PDF ↗
Two tickets and hospitality at Stakes Day, 5 November 2022, courtesy Pernod Ricard Australia
Holder not stated
Declared since 14 Nov 2022PDF ↗
Return flight to Honolulu for the Australian American Leadership Dialogue, 11-16 October, courtesy Hawaiian Airlines
Holder not stated
Declared since 26 Oct 2022PDF ↗
Two tickets to the Press Gallery Mid-Winter Ball, Parliament House Canberra, 7 September 2022, courtesy PayPal
Holder not stated
Declared since 26 Sept 2022PDF ↗
Advanced Political Leadership Program Residential Retreat including accommodation and hospitality, Pokolbin NSW, 17- 22 July, Courtesy McKinnon Institute
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Beyond Membership, Virgin
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Chairman's Lounge Membership, Qantas
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Aug 2022PDF ↗
One ticket to Budget night dinner, Parliament House, Canberra, Tuesday 29 March, courtesy of Telstra
Holder not stated
Declared since 31 Mar 2022PDF ↗
One ticket to Menzies Research Centre breakfast with Minister for Defence, The Hon. Peter Dutton MP, National Press Club, Canberra, Tuesday 29 March, courtesy of Raytheon
Holder not stated
Declared since 31 Mar 2022PDF ↗
One ticket to Post Budget Address by the Treasurer, the Hon. Josh Frydenberg MP, Parliament House, Canberra, Wednesday 30 March, courtesy of BAE Systems Australia
Holder not stated
Declared since 31 Mar 2022PDF ↗
Two tickets and hospitality to Boxing Day Test, MCG, 26 December, courtesy Australian British Chamber of Commerce
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 Jan 2022PDF ↗
Two tickets and hospitality to Oaks Day, Victoria Racing Club, 4 November, courtesy of SportsBet
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 Jan 2022PDF ↗
One ticket to the Treasurer's Post-Budget Address to the National Press Club, 12 May 2021, courtesy of Westpac
Holder not stated
Declared since 24 May 2021PDF ↗
Two tickets and hospitality, Australian Open Tennis, 23 January 2020, courtesy Carlton and United Breweries
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 Jan 2020PDF ↗
Membership of Qantas Chairman's Lounge
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 July 2019PDF ↗
Membership of Virgin's The Club
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 July 2019PDF ↗

Office held (4)

Liberal Party of Australia, Victorian Division Member of the advisory Council of the Krach Institute for Tech Diplomacy at Purdue University
Holder not stated
Declared since 6 Aug 2025PDF ↗
Joined the Advisory Council of the Krach Institute for Tech Diplomacy at Purdue University (non-remunerated)
Holder not stated
Declared since 26 Oct 2023PDF ↗
Australian Co-Chair, Inter-Parliamentary Alliance on China
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Liberal Party of Australia, Victorian Division
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 July 2019PDF ↗

Other interest (17)

Ongoing legal assistance, courtesy of Arnold Bloch Leibler
Holder not stated
Declared since 15 Sept 2025PDF ↗
Policy holder, CommInsure Policy holder, HCF Member, Richmond Football Club Member, Institute of Public Affairs Member, Centre for Independent Studies Member, Menzies Institute Member, Athenaeum Club Member, Samuel Griffith Society
Holder not stated
Declared since 6 Aug 2025PDF ↗
Assistance regarding legal matter, courtesy Arnold Bloch Leibler
Holder not stated
Declared since 26 Feb 2025PDF ↗
Member, Athenaeum Club
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Member, Menzies Institute
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Member, Samuel Griffith Society
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Policy Holder, Commonwealth Insurance
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Member, Royal Overseas League (Victorian Branch)
Holder not stated
Declared since 24 May 2021PDF ↗
Policy holder, CommInsure Insurance
Holder not stated
Declared since 25 June 2020PDF ↗
Policy holder, HCF Insurance
Holder not stated
Declared since 25 June 2020PDF ↗
Member, Athenaem Club
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 July 2019PDF ↗
Member, Centre for Independent Studies
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 July 2019PDF ↗
Member, Institute of Public Affairs
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 July 2019PDF ↗
Member, Menzies Research Centre
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 July 2019PDF ↗
Member, Modest Members Society
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 July 2019PDF ↗
Member, Richmond Football Club
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 July 2019PDF ↗
Policy holder, NIB Health Insurance
Holder not stated
22 July 2019 – 25 June 2020PDF ↗

Register of Members’ Interests / Register of Senators’ Interests, Parliament of Australia — as at 20 November 2025. Report an error

Method & caveats

Australian federal parliamentarians must declare certain interests in the Register of Members’ Interests (House of Representatives) and the Register of Senators’ Interests. For holdings — shares, real estate, trusts, liabilities, assets — the registers record what is held and do not record quantity, value, purchase price or income. Nothing on this page states or implies the size of any holding, any gain or loss, or any trading activity.

Two items are different, because the form itself asks for a value: gifts and sponsored travel. Where a member stated an amount there, it appears as they wrote it. That figure is the declared value of a gift or a trip — never the size of a holding, and never a total.

Dates are the dates a declaration appeared in, or was removed from, the register — not transaction dates. A removal can mean an asset was disposed of, a declaration was corrected, or the member left parliament.

Company names are free text as written by the member. We link a declaration to an ASX listing only on an exact normalised match, a ticker the member stated, or a human-verified alias, so many declarations appear as text only. Real-estate declarations are suburb- or area-level; the registers contain no street addresses, and some declared locations do not map to a single ABS suburb.

Rows are declared as held by the member (“Self”), their spouse or partner, or a dependent child, exactly as the register records them. Members’ seats, parties and chambers change between parliaments.

Extracted from primary PDFs published by the Parliament of Australia; parliamentary material, © Commonwealth of Australia. Corrections are annotated, not silently applied. Not financial advice.