Parliament’s Portfolio

JS

James Stevens

ALPMember for SturtSAparliaments 46–47
  • 46th–47th · Member for Sturt · Party not recorded

This page covers the 44th, 45th and 48th Parliaments in full. We have read only part of the 46th and 47th Parliaments — this member’s own document may be among those still unread. An empty section below means we have no recorded entry — not that the member declared nothing.

36
entries currently declared
0
ASX-listed companies named
0
real-estate declarations
2
liabilities entries
13
gifts and sponsored travel
21 Feb 2025
register last updated

Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.

About these counts

The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.

What is declared, at a glance

Declared categories
36current entries
  • Gift8
  • Office held6
  • Other income5
  • Sponsored travel5
  • Directorship3
  • Other (4)9
Declared categories
CategoryCount
Gift8
Office held6
Other income5
Sponsored travel5
Directorship3
Bonds3
Accounts3
Liability2
Other assets1
Total36
Who each entry is declared for
36current entries
  • Self9
  • Spouse/partner8
  • Dependent child1
  • Holder not stated18
Who each entry is declared for
CategoryCount
Self9
Spouse/partner8
Dependent child1
Holder not stated18
Total36

Entries declared over time

Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.

01020202120222023202420252026
Monthly declaration counts
MonthCount
2021-0919
2021-1019
2021-1119
2021-1220
2022-0113
2022-0213
2022-0313
2022-0413
2022-0513
2022-0613
2022-0713
2022-0814
2022-0914
2022-1014
2022-1114
2022-1214
2023-0114
2023-0215
2023-0316
2023-0416
2023-0516
2023-0616
2023-0716
2023-0816
2023-0916
2023-1016
2023-1116
2023-1216
2024-0116
2024-0217
2024-0317
2024-0417
2024-0517
2024-0617
2024-0717
2024-0817
2024-0917
2024-1017
2024-1117
2024-1217
2025-0117
2025-0218
2025-0318
2025-0418
2025-0518
2025-0618
2025-0718
2025-0818
2025-0918
2025-1018
2025-1118
2025-1218
2026-0118
2026-0218
2026-0318
2026-0418
2026-0518
2026-0618
2026-0718
2026-0818

18 entries without a stated date are not plotted.

Declared interests

Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.

Declared for

Showing 45 of 45 entries.

Declared entries from the Registers of Members’ and Senators’ Interests, in the register’s own words. No column is a quantity or a value; the registers record none.
Source

Shareholdings (9)

EDV · Endeavour Group
Holder not stated
8 Dec 2021 – 27 Jan 202246P ↗
BHP · Bhp Group
Holder not stated
5 Mar 2020 – 27 Jan 202246P ↗
MQG · Macquarie Group
Holder not stated
5 Mar 2020 – 27 Jan 202246P ↗
NAB · National Australia Bank
Holder not stated
5 Mar 2020 – 27 Jan 202246P ↗
QAN · Qantas Airways
Holder not stated
5 Mar 2020 – 27 Jan 202246P ↗
STO · Santos
Holder not stated
5 Mar 2020 – 27 Jan 202246P ↗
TLS · Telstra Group
Holder not stated
5 Mar 2020 – 27 Jan 202246P ↗
TWE · Treasury Wine Estates
Holder not stated
5 Mar 2020 – 27 Jan 202246P ↗
WOW · Woolworths Group
Holder not stated
5 Mar 2020 – 27 Jan 202246P ↗

Directorship (3)

French Australia Chamber of Commerce and — not matched to an ASX listing
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Industry — not matched to an ASX listing
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
National Library of Australia — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Liability (2)

Credit CardNAB
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Credit CardNational Australia Bank
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Bonds (3)

SuperannuationMacquarie
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Superannuation Education BondMacquarie Futurity Investment Group
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Superannuation SuperannuationSuper SA Australian Super
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Accounts (3)

SavingsNAB
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Savings Account Transaction Account Cash Management AccountNational Australia Bank National Australia Bank Macquarie
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Savings Account Transaction Account Cash Management AccountNational Australia Bank National Australia Bank Macquarie
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Other assets (1)

Motor vehicle
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Other income (5)

Spouse - Department of Finance
Holder not stated
Declared since 21 Feb 202547P ↗
DPG Advisory (spouse April - July 2022)
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Aug 202247P ↗
Spouse - DPG Advisory Services (salary)
Holder not stated
Declared since 27 Jan 202246P ↗
House of Representatives - salary
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Liberal Party of Australia (SA Division) - salary
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Gift (8)

Helicopter return loop to the Star of the South offshore wind farm site, approximately $300 value
Holder not stated
Declared since 27 Jan 202246P ↗
One ticket to Rugby League State of Origin at Adelaide Oval from SA Government
Holder not stated
Declared since 25 Nov 202046P ↗
Scale model of the Naval Group Shortfin Barracuda submarine from Mr John Davis, CEO, Naval Group Australia
Holder not stated
Declared since 20 May 202046P ↗
Foxtel connection in electorate office provided by the Australian Subscription Television and Radio Association
Holder not stated
Declared since 2 Aug 201946P ↗
Membership of Qantas Chairman's Lounge
Holder not stated
Declared since 4 July 201946P ↗
Membership of Virgin - The Club
Holder not stated
Declared since 4 July 201946P ↗
ASTRA Subscription Qantas Chairmans Lounge Virgin The Club
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
children from family members or personal friends in a purely personal capacity need not be
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Sponsored travel (5)

2 tickets and lunch on Day 3 of the Adelaide Test Match from Cricket Australia
Holder not stated
Declared since 9 Feb 202447P ↗
Save The Children - economy class flights and accommodation in Kenya for Australian Parliamentary Leadership Initiative visit December 2022
Holder not stated
Declared since 1 Feb 202347P ↗
One complimentary ticket to the Gala Dinner for the International Institute for Strategic Leadership Dialogue in Jerusalem, Israel
Holder not stated
Declared since 20 Dec 201946P ↗
Two nights accommodation in Jerusalem, Israel from the International Institute for Strategic Leadership Dialogue
Holder not stated
Declared since 20 Dec 201946P ↗
Upgrade of flight from Premium Economy to Business Class from Adelaide to Hong Kong from Cathay Pacific Airways
Holder not stated
Declared since 20 Dec 201946P ↗

Office held (6)

Marden Senior College - Governing Council
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 Mar 202347P ↗
Honorary Member of the Burnside Rotary Club
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Sept 202146P ↗
North East Community Assistance Project Inc.
Holder not stated
Declared since 4 Aug 202046P ↗
Norwood Football Club
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Feb 202046P ↗
Liberal Party of Australia (SA Division)
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Liberal Party of Australia (SA Division) Norwood Football Club Burnside Rotary Club Campbelltown Rotary Club Payneham RSL North East Community Assistance Project
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Funding returns lodged with the AEC

Only returns that name this parliamentarian are shown. Money declared as given to a party, a branch or an associated entity is not shown here and is not attributable to any individual.

Election returns linked to this member

Returns this member is linked to, newest first. Linking is per return and exact — an election that does not appear here has not been shown to lack one.

  • 2022 Federal electionCandidateSturt, SA · Liberal Party of Australia (S.A. Division)Lodged as “STEVENS, James WilliamLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2019 Federal electionCandidateSturt, SA · Liberal Party of Australia (S.A. Division)Lodged as “STEVENS, James WilliamLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗

Annual member and senator returns are lodged by a small number of parliamentarians: the whole corpus holds 52 of them. Returns lodged by senators are linked to their profiles where the name on the lodged return matches the name we hold for them; where it does not, the return stays here unlinked rather than being attached to a guess. The Registers of Senators' Interests have not been read into this site yet, so a senator can appear here with a funding return and no declared interests beside it, which is a gap in our coverage rather than a record of what they declared. A parliamentarian with no return has not been shown to have received nothing — most never lodge one.

Amounts below the disclosure threshold in force for a given year are not published by the AEC and are absent from these figures. A low total means little was disclosed, not that little was received.

Source: AEC Transparency Register, reused under CC BY 4.0. © Commonwealth of Australia. The AEC does not endorse this site or its analysis.

Suburbs represented

Suburbs in Sturt. Representing a suburb has nothing to do with owning anything in it.

65 suburbs

Athelstone · Auldana · Beaumont (SA) · Beulah Park · Burnside (SA) · Campbelltown (SA) · College Park · Dernancourt · Dulwich · Erindale · Evandale (SA) · Felixstow · Firle · Frewville · Fullarton · Gilles Plains · Glen Osmond · Glenside · Glenunga · Glynde · Hackney · Hazelwood Park · Heathpool · Hectorville · Highbury (SA) · Hillcrest (SA) · Holden Hill · Hope Valley (SA) · Joslin · Kensington (SA) · Kensington Gardens · Kensington Park · Kent Town · Klemzig · Leabrook · Linden Park · Magill · Marden · Marryatville · Maylands (SA) · Mount Osmond · Myrtle Bank (SA) · Newton · Norwood (SA) · Oakden · Paradise (SA) · Payneham · Payneham South · Rose Park · Rosslyn Park · Rostrevor · Royston Park · Skye (SA) · St Georges · St Morris · St Peters (SA) · Stepney · Stonyfell · Toorak Gardens · Tranmere (SA) · Trinity Gardens · Tusmore · Waterfall Gully · Wattle Park · Windsor Gardens

Register of Members’ Interests / Register of Senators’ Interests, Parliament of Australia — as at 21 February 2025. Report an error

Method & caveats

Australian federal parliamentarians must declare certain interests in the Register of Members’ Interests (House of Representatives) and the Register of Senators’ Interests. For holdings — shares, real estate, trusts, liabilities, assets — the registers record what is held and do not record quantity, value, purchase price or income. Nothing on this page states or implies the size of any holding, any gain or loss, or any trading activity.

Two items are different, because the form itself asks for a value: gifts and sponsored travel. Where a member stated an amount there, it appears as they wrote it. That figure is the declared value of a gift or a trip — never the size of a holding, and never a total.

Dates are the dates a declaration appeared in, or was removed from, the register — not transaction dates. A removal can mean an asset was disposed of, a declaration was corrected, or the member left parliament.

Company names are free text as written by the member. We link a declaration to an ASX listing only on an exact normalised match, a ticker the member stated, or a human-verified alias, so many declarations appear as text only. Real-estate declarations are suburb- or area-level; the registers contain no street addresses, and some declared locations do not map to a single ABS suburb.

Rows are declared as held by the member (“Self”), their spouse or partner, or a dependent child, exactly as the register records them. Members’ seats, parties and chambers change between parliaments.

Extracted from primary PDFs published by the Parliament of Australia; parliamentary material, © Commonwealth of Australia. Corrections are annotated, not silently applied. Not financial advice.