Parliament’s Portfolio

Janet Rice

Janet Rice

GRNSenator for VICparliaments 44–47
  • 44th–47th · Senator for VIC · Greens

Portrait: Wikimedia Commons — Australian Greens (CC BY-SA 2.5 au). Not a Parliament of Australia image.

We have read only part of the 48th Parliament — this member’s own document may be among those still unread. An empty section below means we have no recorded entry — not that the member declared nothing. The Registers of Senators’ Interests are tabled as combined Senate volumes, and the volumes covering this senator’s lodgements are ones we have not read into this site yet. An empty register here is our coverage gap — not a record that this senator declared nothing.

109
entries currently declared
0
ASX-listed companies named
2
real-estate declarations
0
liabilities entries
12
gifts and sponsored travel
19 Feb 2024
register last updated

Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.

About these counts

The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.

What is declared, at a glance

Declared categories
109current entries
  • Office held77
  • Other assets13
  • Sponsored travel7
  • Gift5
  • Real estate2
  • Other (3)5
Declared categories
CategoryCount
Office held77
Other assets13
Sponsored travel7
Gift5
Real estate2
Accounts2
Other interest2
Other income1
Total109
Who each entry is declared for
109current entries
  • Holder not stated109
Who each entry is declared for
CategoryCount
Holder not stated109
Total109

Entries declared over time

Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.

055109202120222023202420252026
Monthly declaration counts
MonthCount
2021-1061
2021-1161
2021-1261
2022-0161
2022-0261
2022-0361
2022-0461
2022-0562
2022-0663
2022-0764
2022-0891
2022-0993
2022-1093
2022-1193
2022-1293
2023-0193
2023-0293
2023-03104
2023-04104
2023-05104
2023-06104
2023-07106
2023-08106
2023-09107
2023-10108
2023-11108
2023-12108
2024-01108
2024-02109
2024-03109
2024-04109
2024-05109
2024-06109
2024-07109
2024-08109
2024-09109
2024-10109
2024-11109
2024-12109
2025-01109
2025-02109
2025-03109
2025-04109
2025-05109
2025-06109
2025-07109
2025-08109
2025-09109
2025-10109
2025-11109
2025-12109
2026-01109
2026-02109
2026-03109
2026-04109
2026-05109
2026-06109
2026-07109
2026-08109
2026-09109

Declared interests

Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.

Showing 110 of 110 entries.

Declared entries from the Registers of Members’ and Senators’ Interests, in the register’s own words. No column is a quantity or a value; the registers record none.
Source

Real estate (2)

Footscray VICResidential
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 2019PDF ↗
Sisters Beach TAS
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 2019PDF ↗

Accounts (2)

InvestmentBank Australia
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 2019PDF ↗
SavingsCommonwealth Bank
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 2019PDF ↗

Other assets (14)

AUI Property Income Fund
Holder not stated
Declared since 10 Mar 2023PDF ↗
Altius Sustainable Bond Fund (Superannuation)
Holder not stated
Declared since 10 Mar 2023PDF ↗
Andrea Real Outcome Fund (Superannuation)
Holder not stated
Declared since 10 Mar 2023PDF ↗
Australian Ethical Australian Shares Fund (Superannuation)
Holder not stated
Declared since 10 Mar 2023PDF ↗
Betashares Australian Sustainable (Superannuation)
Holder not stated
Declared since 10 Mar 2023PDF ↗
Betashares Global Sustainable Leaders (Superannuation)
Holder not stated
Declared since 10 Mar 2023PDF ↗
Betashares Sustainable Lead Diversified Bond (Superannuation)
Holder not stated
Declared since 10 Mar 2023PDF ↗
Global X Battery Tech & Lithium Exchange Traded Fund (Superannuation)
Holder not stated
Declared since 10 Mar 2023PDF ↗
Pendal Properties Security Fund (Superannuation)
Holder not stated
Declared since 10 Mar 2023PDF ↗
Pendal Short Term Income Securities Fund (Superannuation)
Holder not stated
Declared since 10 Mar 2023PDF ↗
Stewart Investors World Wide Sustainability Fund (Superannuation)
Holder not stated
Declared since 10 Mar 2023PDF ↗
Trillium Global Sustainable Opportunities Fund (Superannuation)
Holder not stated
Declared since 10 Mar 2023PDF ↗
Life Insurance (MLC)
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 2019PDF ↗
Superannuation (Asgard)
Holder not stated
30 July 2019 – 10 Mar 2023PDF ↗

Other income (1)

Spouse Benefit under the Public Sector Superannuation Scheme
Holder not stated
Declared since 9 Sept 2022PDF ↗

Gift (5)

Upgrade to business class provided by Virgin Australia on 19/02/2024
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Feb 2024PDF ↗
Complimentary upgrade to business class provided by Qantas Airlines (20/10/2023)
Holder not stated
Declared since 27 Oct 2023PDF ↗
Complimentary upgrade to business class provided by Qantas Airlines (29/08/2023)
Holder not stated
Declared since 1 Sept 2023PDF ↗
Tickets from Cricket Australia for the Gillette T20 INTL vs Sri Lanka.
Holder not stated
Declared since 24 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Tibetan Information Office Gift in the form of accommodation, flights and meals during a Convention.
Holder not stated
Declared since 20 June 2022PDF ↗

Sponsored travel (7)

Membership Qantas Chairman’s Lounge
Holder not stated
Declared since 24 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Membership Virgin ‘The Club;
Holder not stated
Declared since 24 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Tibetan Information Office Gift in the form of accommodation, flights and meals during a Convention.
Holder not stated
Declared since 24 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Membership REX Lounge
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 Apr 2021PDF ↗
Membership Qantas Chairman's Lounge
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 2019PDF ↗
Membership Virgin 'The Club'
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 2019PDF ↗
Sponsored travel to Myanmar for IWDA's Myanmar Women's Mentoring Program 2019. Flights (economy class on flights SQ213, SQ998, SQ5019 and SQ237), accomodation, travel insurance, Myanmar domestic transfers and some meals were paid for by IWDA.
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 2019PDF ↗

Office held (77)

Dhadjowa Foundation (donor)
Holder not stated
Declared since 14 July 2023PDF ↗
Donor to Asia-Pacific Greens Federation
Holder not stated
Declared since 14 July 2023PDF ↗
Donation Fund set up under the Australian Communities Foundation "Dr Penny Whetton Memorial Fund"
Holder not stated
Declared since 5 Sept 2022PDF ↗
Donor - - Médecins Sans Frontières Australia Ltd
Holder not stated
Declared since 24 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Donor - Bob Brown Foundation
Holder not stated
Declared since 24 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Donor - Brotherhood of St Laurence
Holder not stated
Declared since 24 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Donor - Environment East Gippsland - Donation over $300 - made on 8/05/2022
Holder not stated
Declared since 24 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Donor - Lifestart Foundation
Holder not stated
Declared since 24 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Donor - UNICEF Australia
Holder not stated
Declared since 24 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Donor - Wangan Jagalingou Traditional Owners Aboriginal Corporation
Holder not stated
Declared since 24 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Donor - Women's Environmental Leadership Australia (WELA)
Holder not stated
Declared since 24 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Donor – Asylum Seeker Resource Centre
Holder not stated
Declared since 24 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Donor – Australia Palestine Advocacy Network
Holder not stated
Declared since 24 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Donor – Australian Greens
Holder not stated
Declared since 24 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Donor – Australian Greens Victoria
Holder not stated
Declared since 24 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Donor – Climate for Change
Holder not stated
Declared since 24 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Donor – Friends of the Earth Melbourne
Holder not stated
Declared since 24 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Donor – Human Rights Watch
Holder not stated
Declared since 24 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Donor – Melbourne City Mission
Holder not stated
Declared since 24 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Donor – National Homeless Collective Ltd
Holder not stated
Declared since 24 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Donor – Olive Kids Australia
Holder not stated
Declared since 24 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Donor – Oxfam
Holder not stated
Declared since 24 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Donor – Rise (Refugee Survivors & Exdetainees)
Holder not stated
Declared since 24 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Donor – SupportAct
Holder not stated
Declared since 24 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Donor – The Green Institute
Holder not stated
Declared since 24 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Donor – Womens Housing Ltd
Holder not stated
Declared since 24 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Donation on 13/7/2022 to the Climate Action Network Australia (CANA)
Holder not stated
Declared since 18 July 2022PDF ↗
Environment East Gippsland - Donation over $300 - made on 8/05/2022
Holder not stated
Declared since 13 May 2022PDF ↗
Donor - Mahboba's Promise (An Australian Aid Organisation)
Holder not stated
Declared since 27 Aug 2021PDF ↗
Women's Environmental Leadership Australia (WELA)
Holder not stated
Declared since 21 July 2021PDF ↗
Brotherhood of St Laurence
Holder not stated
Declared since 8 July 2021PDF ↗
Bob Brown Foundation
Holder not stated
Declared since 24 June 2021PDF ↗
Donor - Democracy in Colour
Holder not stated
Declared since 25 Mar 2021PDF ↗
Donor- ICAN
Holder not stated
Declared since 25 Mar 2021PDF ↗
Donor- Original Power
Holder not stated
Declared since 25 Mar 2021PDF ↗
Donor - COVID-19 Victorian First Nations Mutual Aid Fund
Holder not stated
Declared since 13 Aug 2020PDF ↗
Donor - Environmental Justice Australia
Holder not stated
Declared since 13 Aug 2020PDF ↗
Donor - Justice Connect
Holder not stated
Declared since 13 Aug 2020PDF ↗
Donor - Melbourne Bisexual Network
Holder not stated
Declared since 13 Aug 2020PDF ↗
Donor - Minus18
Holder not stated
Declared since 13 Aug 2020PDF ↗
Donor - National Association for the Visual Arts
Holder not stated
Declared since 13 Aug 2020PDF ↗
Donor - National Homeless Collective Ltd
Holder not stated
Declared since 13 Aug 2020PDF ↗
Donor - Reclink Australia
Holder not stated
Declared since 13 Aug 2020PDF ↗
Donor - Rise (Refugee Survivors & Exdetainees)
Holder not stated
Declared since 13 Aug 2020PDF ↗
Donor - Seed Indigenous Youth Climate Network
Holder not stated
Declared since 13 Aug 2020PDF ↗
Donor - Sisters Inside Inc
Holder not stated
Declared since 13 Aug 2020PDF ↗
Donor - Switchboard Victoria
Holder not stated
Declared since 13 Aug 2020PDF ↗
Donor - Victorian Aboriginal Legal Service Co-Operative Ltd
Holder not stated
Declared since 13 Aug 2020PDF ↗
Donor - Friends of the Earth Melbourne
Holder not stated
Declared since 12 Aug 2020PDF ↗
Donor - Human Rights Watch
Holder not stated
Declared since 12 Aug 2020PDF ↗
Donor - Oxfam
Holder not stated
Declared since 12 Aug 2020PDF ↗
Donor - SupportAct
Holder not stated
Declared since 12 Aug 2020PDF ↗
Donor - UNICEF
Holder not stated
Declared since 12 Aug 2020PDF ↗
Asylum Seeker Resource Centre - Donor
Holder not stated
Declared since 14 Apr 2020PDF ↗
UNICEF Australia - Donor
Holder not stated
Declared since 9 Apr 2020PDF ↗
Donor - Support Act
Holder not stated
Declared since 21 Mar 2020PDF ↗
Donor - Melbourne City Mission
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Mar 2020PDF ↗
Lifestart Foundation
Holder not stated
Declared since 4 Feb 2020PDF ↗
Donor - Australian Youth Climate Coalition
Holder not stated
Declared since 10 Jan 2020PDF ↗
Donor - Renew
Holder not stated
Declared since 10 Jan 2020PDF ↗
Donor - The Green Institute
Holder not stated
Declared since 10 Jan 2020PDF ↗
Donor - Asylum Seeker Resource Centre
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 2019PDF ↗
Donor - Asylum Seekers Resource Centre
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 2019PDF ↗
Donor - Australia Palestine Advocacy Network
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 2019PDF ↗
Donor - Australian Greens
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 2019PDF ↗
Donor - Australian Greens Victoria
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 2019PDF ↗
Donor - Bush Heritage Australia
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 2019PDF ↗
Donor - Climate for Change
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 2019PDF ↗
Donor - Environment Victoria
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 2019PDF ↗
Donor - Friends of Leadbeaters Possum
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 2019PDF ↗
Donor - Green Music Australia
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 2019PDF ↗
Donor - Médecins Sans Frontières Australia Ltd
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 2019PDF ↗
Donor - Olive Kids Australia
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 2019PDF ↗
Donor - The Fred Hollows Foundation
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 2019PDF ↗
Donor - Wilderness Society
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 2019PDF ↗
Donor - Womens Housing Ltd
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 2019PDF ↗
Donor- CORENA (Citizens Own Renewable Energy Network Australia Ltd)
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 2019PDF ↗

Other interest (2)

Membership - Australian Greens Victoria
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 2019PDF ↗
Membership - Bicycle Network
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 2019PDF ↗

Funding returns lodged with the AEC

Only returns that name this parliamentarian are shown. Money declared as given to a party, a branch or an associated entity is not shown here and is not attributable to any individual.

Election returns linked to this member

Returns this member is linked to, newest first. Linking is per return and exact — an election that does not appear here has not been shown to lack one.

  • 2013 Federal electionCandidateVictoria, VIC · Australian GreensLodged as “RICE, Janet ElizabethLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗

Annual member and senator returns are lodged by a small number of parliamentarians: the whole corpus holds 52 of them. Returns lodged by senators are linked to their profiles where the name on the lodged return matches the name we hold for them; where it does not, the return stays here unlinked rather than being attached to a guess. The Registers of Senators' Interests have not been read into this site yet, so a senator can appear here with a funding return and no declared interests beside it, which is a gap in our coverage rather than a record of what they declared. A parliamentarian with no return has not been shown to have received nothing — most never lodge one.

Amounts below the disclosure threshold in force for a given year are not published by the AEC and are absent from these figures. A low total means little was disclosed, not that little was received.

Source: AEC Transparency Register, reused under CC BY 4.0. © Commonwealth of Australia. The AEC does not endorse this site or its analysis.

Register of Members’ Interests / Register of Senators’ Interests, Parliament of Australia — as at 19 February 2024. Report an error

Method & caveats

Australian federal parliamentarians must declare certain interests in the Register of Members’ Interests (House of Representatives) and the Register of Senators’ Interests. For holdings — shares, real estate, trusts, liabilities, assets — the registers record what is held and do not record quantity, value, purchase price or income. Nothing on this page states or implies the size of any holding, any gain or loss, or any trading activity.

Two items are different, because the form itself asks for a value: gifts and sponsored travel. Where a member stated an amount there, it appears as they wrote it. That figure is the declared value of a gift or a trip — never the size of a holding, and never a total.

Dates are the dates a declaration appeared in, or was removed from, the register — not transaction dates. A removal can mean an asset was disposed of, a declaration was corrected, or the member left parliament.

Company names are free text as written by the member. We link a declaration to an ASX listing only on an exact normalised match, a ticker the member stated, or a human-verified alias, so many declarations appear as text only. Real-estate declarations are suburb- or area-level; the registers contain no street addresses, and some declared locations do not map to a single ABS suburb.

Rows are declared as held by the member (“Self”), their spouse or partner, or a dependent child, exactly as the register records them. Members’ seats, parties and chambers change between parliaments.

Extracted from primary PDFs published by the Parliament of Australia; parliamentary material, © Commonwealth of Australia. Corrections are annotated, not silently applied. Not financial advice.