Parliament’s Portfolio

Jenny Macklin

Jenny Macklin

ALPMember for JagajagaVICparliaments 44–45
  • 44th–45th · Member for Jagajaga · Party not recorded

Portrait: Wikimedia Commons — Photo by w:en:User:Adam Carr, August 2005. (Public domain). Not a Parliament of Australia image.

This page covers the 44th, 45th and 48th Parliaments in full. We have read only part of the 46th and 47th Parliaments — this member’s own document may be among those still unread. An empty section below means we have no recorded entry — not that the member declared nothing.

25
entries currently declared
0
ASX-listed companies named
4
real-estate declarations
4
liabilities entries
3
gifts and sponsored travel

Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.

About these counts

The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.

What is declared, at a glance

Declared categories
25current entries
  • Trusts6
  • Real estate4
  • Liability4
  • Accounts2
  • Other assets2
  • Other (4)7
Declared categories
CategoryCount
Trusts6
Real estate4
Liability4
Accounts2
Other assets2
Other income2
Sponsored travel2
Office held2
Gift1
Total25
Who each entry is declared for
25current entries
  • Self18
  • Spouse/partner7
Who each entry is declared for
CategoryCount
Self18
Spouse/partner7
Total25

Entries declared over time

Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.

0202120222023202420252026
Monthly declaration counts
MonthCount
2021-090
2021-100
2021-110
2021-120
2022-010
2022-020
2022-030
2022-040
2022-050
2022-060
2022-070
2022-080
2022-090
2022-100
2022-110
2022-120
2023-010
2023-020
2023-030
2023-040
2023-050
2023-060
2023-070
2023-080
2023-090
2023-100
2023-110
2023-120
2024-010
2024-020
2024-030
2024-040
2024-050
2024-060
2024-070
2024-080
2024-090
2024-100
2024-110
2024-120
2025-010
2025-020
2025-030
2025-040
2025-050
2025-060
2025-070
2025-080
2025-090
2025-100
2025-110
2025-120
2026-010
2026-020
2026-030
2026-040
2026-050
2026-060
2026-070
2026-080

25 entries without a stated date are not plotted.

Declared interests

Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.

Declared for

Showing 25 of 25 entries.

Declared entries from the Registers of Members’ and Senators’ Interests, in the register’s own words. No column is a quantity or a value; the registers record none.
Source

Trusts (6)

2x Midwinter Parliamentary Ball (Fairfax)
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Chairman's Lounge Membership Renewal for Member & spouseGift from Qantas
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Complimentary Foxtel subscription for EOGift from ASTRA.
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Flight upgradeAmerican Airlines upgraded Ms Macklin from economy to first class for the Dallas - Washington leg of her flight on 31 October 2015
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Flight upgrade for travel between Dubai & Melbourne, 2/8/16 (economy to business) for Member & spouseGift from Qantas
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Virgin Australia 'The Club' Membership Renewal for Member & spouseGift from Virgin Australia
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Real estate (4)

Aireys Inlet VICHoliday home
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
As aboveAs above equal shares
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Ivanhoe (Vic.) VICHome
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Ivanhoe Victoria Aireys InletHome Holiday home
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Liability (4)

As aboveAs above
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Mortgage on holiday homeWestpac
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Mortgage on homeWestpac
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Mortgage on home Mortgage on holiday homeWestpac Westpac
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Accounts (2)

MultipurposeMEcu
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
SavingsWestpac
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Other assets (2)

Superannuation with AMP
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Superannuation with Unisuper
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Other income (2)

Employment at Australian Council for Educational Research
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Employment at the Australian Council of Educational Research
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Gift (1)

See attached
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Sponsored travel (2)

Gift of hospitality to the member and her spouse from Geelong Football Club to attend the Geelong v Melbourne match on 30 March 2019, in the President's Club.
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Travel and accommodation from Melbourne to Sydney (return) to speak at the National Apology Breakfast on Friday 8 February. Travel and accommodation paid for Message Stick Group.
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Office held (2)

Community & Public Sector Union
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Community & Public Sector Union, Australian Workers Heritage Centre, Geelong Football Club, National Foundation for Australian Women, Emily's List, Lions, Fabian Society
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Suburbs represented

Suburbs in Jagajaga. Representing a suburb has nothing to do with owning anything in it.

24 suburbs

Bellfield (Banyule - Vic.) · Briar Hill · Bundoora (Vic.) · Eaglemont · Eltham (Vic.) · Eltham North · Greensborough · Heidelberg · Heidelberg Heights · Heidelberg West · Ivanhoe (Vic.) · Ivanhoe East · Kangaroo Ground · Lower Plenty · Macleod (Vic.) · Montmorency · North Warrandyte · Research · Rosanna · St Helena · Viewbank · Watsonia · Watsonia North · Yallambie

Register of Members’ Interests / Register of Senators’ Interests, Parliament of Australia. Report an error

Method & caveats

Australian federal parliamentarians must declare certain interests in the Register of Members’ Interests (House of Representatives) and the Register of Senators’ Interests. For holdings — shares, real estate, trusts, liabilities, assets — the registers record what is held and do not record quantity, value, purchase price or income. Nothing on this page states or implies the size of any holding, any gain or loss, or any trading activity.

Two items are different, because the form itself asks for a value: gifts and sponsored travel. Where a member stated an amount there, it appears as they wrote it. That figure is the declared value of a gift or a trip — never the size of a holding, and never a total.

Dates are the dates a declaration appeared in, or was removed from, the register — not transaction dates. A removal can mean an asset was disposed of, a declaration was corrected, or the member left parliament.

Company names are free text as written by the member. We link a declaration to an ASX listing only on an exact normalised match, a ticker the member stated, or a human-verified alias, so many declarations appear as text only. Real-estate declarations are suburb- or area-level; the registers contain no street addresses, and some declared locations do not map to a single ABS suburb.

Rows are declared as held by the member (“Self”), their spouse or partner, or a dependent child, exactly as the register records them. Members’ seats, parties and chambers change between parliaments.

Extracted from primary PDFs published by the Parliament of Australia; parliamentary material, © Commonwealth of Australia. Corrections are annotated, not silently applied. Not financial advice.