Parliament’s Portfolio

Jess Walsh

Jess Walsh

ALPSenator for VICparliaments 46–48
  • 46th–48th · Senator for VIC · Labor

Portrait: Wikimedia Commons — Rubysaurus (CC0). Not a Parliament of Australia image.

This page covers the 44th and 45th Parliaments in full. The Registers of Senators’ Interests are tabled as combined Senate volumes, and the volumes covering this senator’s lodgements are ones we have not read into this site yet. An empty register here is our coverage gap — not a record that this senator declared nothing.

36
entries currently declared
0
ASX-listed companies named
5
real-estate declarations
4
liabilities entries
10
gifts and sponsored travel
28 Mar 2025
register last updated

Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.

About these counts

The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.

What is declared, at a glance

Declared categories
36current entries
  • Gift8
  • Office held7
  • Real estate5
  • Accounts5
  • Liability4
  • Other (4)7
Declared categories
CategoryCount
Gift8
Office held7
Real estate5
Accounts5
Liability4
Other interest3
Sponsored travel2
Other assets1
Other income1
Total36
Who each entry is declared for
36current entries
  • Holder not stated36
Who each entry is declared for
CategoryCount
Holder not stated36
Total36

Entries declared over time

Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.

01530202120222023202420252026
Monthly declaration counts
MonthCount
2021-1017
2021-1117
2021-1217
2022-0117
2022-0218
2022-0318
2022-0418
2022-0518
2022-0618
2022-0718
2022-0824
2022-0924
2022-1024
2022-1124
2022-1224
2023-0124
2023-0224
2023-0324
2023-0424
2023-0524
2023-0624
2023-0725
2023-0825
2023-0925
2023-1025
2023-1125
2023-1226
2024-0126
2024-0227
2024-0327
2024-0427
2024-0528
2024-0629
2024-0729
2024-0829
2024-0929
2024-1029
2024-1129
2024-1229
2025-0129
2025-0229
2025-0330
2025-0430
2025-0530
2025-0630
2025-0730
2025-0830
2025-0930
2025-1030
2025-1130
2025-1230
2026-0130
2026-0230
2026-0330
2026-0430
2026-0530
2026-0630
2026-0730
2026-0830
2026-0930

6 entries without a stated date are not plotted.

Declared interests

Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.

Showing 37 of 37 entries.

Declared entries from the Registers of Members’ and Senators’ Interests, in the register’s own words. No column is a quantity or a value; the registers record none.
Source

Real estate (5)

SOUTH GIPPSLANDRESIDENTIAL
Holder not stated
Declared since 20 Aug 2022PDF ↗
SOUTH GIPPSLAND VICTORIA -RESIDENTIAL
Holder not stated
Declared since 13 Mar 2020PDF ↗
Byron Bay NSWINVESTMENT
Holder not stated
Declared since 11 July 2019PDF ↗
Melbourne VICRESIDENTIAL
Holder not stated
Declared since 11 July 2019PDF ↗
RESIDENTIAL
Holder not stated
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗

Liability (4)

MORTGAGE - INVESTMENT PROPERTYBENDIGO BANK
Holder not stated
Declared since 20 Aug 2022PDF ↗
MORTGAGE - RESIDENTIAL PROPERTYBENDIGO BANK
Holder not stated
Declared since 20 Aug 2022PDF ↗
MORTGAGE - INVESTMENT PROPERTY - BENDIGO BANK MORTGAGE - RESIDENTIAL PROPERTY - BENDIGO BANK
Holder not stated
Declared since 13 Mar 2020PDF ↗
MORTGAGES (2) ON INVESTMENT PROPERTYMEBANK
Holder not stated
Declared since 11 July 2019PDF ↗

Accounts (5)

TRANSACTIONS - BENDIGO BANK
Holder not stated
Declared since 18 Dec 2023PDF ↗
MORTGAGE OFFSET ACCOUNTS (2)BENDIGO BANK
Holder not stated
Declared since 20 Aug 2022PDF ↗
MORTGAGE OFFSET ACCOUNTS (2) - BENDIGO BANK
Holder not stated
Declared since 13 Mar 2020PDF ↗
SAVINGSMEBANK
Holder not stated
Declared since 11 July 2019PDF ↗
TRANSACTIONSMEBANK
Holder not stated
Declared since 11 July 2019PDF ↗

Other assets (1)

SUPERANNUATION
Holder not stated
Declared since 11 July 2019PDF ↗

Other income (1)

RENT - INVESTMENT PROPERTY
Holder not stated
Declared since 11 July 2019PDF ↗

Gift (8)

National Press Club Address - Guest of Moderna - Treasurer Jim Chalmers, 26 March 2025
Holder not stated
Declared since 28 Mar 2025PDF ↗
National Press Club Address - Treasurer Jim Chalmers - Guest of Westpac - 15 May 2024
Holder not stated
Declared since 12 June 2024PDF ↗
National Press Club Address - Anthony Albanese - Guest of Westpac - 25 January 2024
Holder not stated
Declared since 1 Feb 2024PDF ↗
Airline Lounge Memberships (Qantas, Virgin, Rex)
Holder not stated
Declared since 20 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Australian Open Tennis Men's Final - Victorian State Government
Holder not stated
Declared since 25 Feb 2022PDF ↗
Airline Lounge Membership (Rex)
Holder not stated
Declared since 4 May 2021PDF ↗
285ml glass keep cup - Cost unknown
Holder not stated
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗
The Pharmacy Guild giftbag including a first aid kit, notebook, bag of jelly beans, lip balms, ballpoint pens, a
Holder not stated
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗

Sponsored travel (2)

Participant in the McKinnon Institute for Political Leadership's Advanced Political Leadership 2023 Program, including tuition fees, accommodation, airport transfer and hospitality, Crafers SA, 16 – 21 July 2023, Courtesy McKinnon Institute
Holder not stated
Declared since 31 July 2023PDF ↗
Flights and Accommodation for the Australian Regional Leadership Initiative MP Learning Tour Fiji 18 – 22 July 2022 provided by Save the Children and the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation
Holder not stated
Declared since 20 Aug 2022PDF ↗

Office held (8)

Member - Women in Super
Holder not stated
Declared since 24 May 2024PDF ↗
DONOR - FATHER BOB MAGUIRE FOUNDATION
Holder not stated
Declared since 1 Oct 2020PDF ↗
Member - United Workers Union
Holder not stated
Declared since 28 Feb 2020PDF ↗
Member and Donor - Australian Labor Party
Holder not stated
Declared since 28 Feb 2020PDF ↗
DONOR - ASYLUM SEEKERS RESOURCE CENTRE
Holder not stated
Declared since 11 July 2019PDF ↗
DONOR - LOST DOGS HOME
Holder not stated
Declared since 11 July 2019PDF ↗
MEMBER - EMILYS LIST
Holder not stated
Declared since 11 July 2019PDF ↗
MEMBER - UNITED VOICE
Holder not stated
11 July 2019 – 28 Feb 2020PDF ↗

Other interest (3)

19/8/25
Holder not stated
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗
Parliamentarian
Holder not stated
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗
Signature Date
Holder not stated
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗

Register of Members’ Interests / Register of Senators’ Interests, Parliament of Australia — as at 28 March 2025. Report an error

Method & caveats

Australian federal parliamentarians must declare certain interests in the Register of Members’ Interests (House of Representatives) and the Register of Senators’ Interests. For holdings — shares, real estate, trusts, liabilities, assets — the registers record what is held and do not record quantity, value, purchase price or income. Nothing on this page states or implies the size of any holding, any gain or loss, or any trading activity.

Two items are different, because the form itself asks for a value: gifts and sponsored travel. Where a member stated an amount there, it appears as they wrote it. That figure is the declared value of a gift or a trip — never the size of a holding, and never a total.

Dates are the dates a declaration appeared in, or was removed from, the register — not transaction dates. A removal can mean an asset was disposed of, a declaration was corrected, or the member left parliament.

Company names are free text as written by the member. We link a declaration to an ASX listing only on an exact normalised match, a ticker the member stated, or a human-verified alias, so many declarations appear as text only. Real-estate declarations are suburb- or area-level; the registers contain no street addresses, and some declared locations do not map to a single ABS suburb.

Rows are declared as held by the member (“Self”), their spouse or partner, or a dependent child, exactly as the register records them. Members’ seats, parties and chambers change between parliaments.

Extracted from primary PDFs published by the Parliament of Australia; parliamentary material, © Commonwealth of Australia. Corrections are annotated, not silently applied. Not financial advice.