Parliament’s Portfolio

Jim Chalmers

Jim Chalmers

ALPMember for RankinQLDparliaments 44–45
  • 44th–45th · Member for Rankin · Party not recorded

Portrait: Wikimedia Commons — myPolice Logan (CC BY 4.0). Not a Parliament of Australia image.

This page covers the 44th, 45th and 48th Parliaments in full. We have read only part of the 46th and 47th Parliaments — this member’s own document may be among those still unread. An empty section below means we have no recorded entry — not that the member declared nothing.

74
entries currently declared
0
ASX-listed companies named
3
real-estate declarations
6
liabilities entries
43
gifts and sponsored travel

Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.

About these counts

The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.

What is declared, at a glance

Declared categories
74current entries
  • Sponsored travel34
  • Gift9
  • Liability6
  • Accounts5
  • Other assets5
  • Other (5)15
Declared categories
CategoryCount
Sponsored travel34
Gift9
Liability6
Accounts5
Other assets5
Office held5
Other income4
Real estate3
Shareholdings2
Other interest1
Total74
Who each entry is declared for
74current entries
  • Self65
  • Spouse/partner9
Who each entry is declared for
CategoryCount
Self65
Spouse/partner9
Total74

Entries declared over time

Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.

0202120222023202420252026
Monthly declaration counts
MonthCount
2021-090
2021-100
2021-110
2021-120
2022-010
2022-020
2022-030
2022-040
2022-050
2022-060
2022-070
2022-080
2022-090
2022-100
2022-110
2022-120
2023-010
2023-020
2023-030
2023-040
2023-050
2023-060
2023-070
2023-080
2023-090
2023-100
2023-110
2023-120
2024-010
2024-020
2024-030
2024-040
2024-050
2024-060
2024-070
2024-080
2024-090
2024-100
2024-110
2024-120
2025-010
2025-020
2025-030
2025-040
2025-050
2025-060
2025-070
2025-080
2025-090
2025-100
2025-110
2025-120
2026-010
2026-020
2026-030
2026-040
2026-050
2026-060
2026-070
2026-080

74 entries without a stated date are not plotted.

Declared interests

Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.

Declared for

Showing 74 of 74 entries.

Declared entries from the Registers of Members’ and Senators’ Interests, in the register’s own words. No column is a quantity or a value; the registers record none.
Source

Shareholdings (2)

Managed Fund (MLC) for Spouse (Laura Chalmers) — not matched to an ASX listing
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Superannuation (MLC) — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Real estate (3)

DAISY HILL QLD APARTMENT SPRINGWOOD QLD APARTMENT FORRESTPRIMARY RESIDENCE INVESTMENT SECONDARY RESIDENCE
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Daisy Hill (Qld) QLDPrimary Residence
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Forrest (ACT) ACTSecondary Residence
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Liability (6)

1 mortgage (Daisy Hill) (NAB) (retained)1 mortgage (Forrest, ACT) (NAB) (retained)
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
1 mortgages (NAB) (Springwood)
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Credit card (debit & credit)NAB
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Mortgage (Daisy Hill, QLD)NAB
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Mortgage (Forrest, ACT)NAB
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
THREE MORTGAGESNAB
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Accounts (5)

Cheque AccountNAB
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
SAVINGS ACCOUNT CHEQUE ACCOUNT SAVINGS ACCOUNTNAB NAB ING
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
SAVINGS ACCOUNT SAVINGS ACCOUNTCBA CBA
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Savings AccountNAB
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Savings AccountCBA
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Other assets (5)

2003 HOLDEN COMMODORE
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
2003 Holden Commodore (Self)
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
2008 VU GOLF
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
2008 VW Golf
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Spouse Asset (2015 Mazda 5)
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Other income (4)

Journalist Salary – Courier Mail
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
MEDIA CONSULTING - WRITING
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
RENT FROM INVESTMENT PROPERTY
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Rent from Investment Property (Self)
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Gift (9)

2x tickets to The Australian Ballet's production of Alice Adventures in Wonderland for spouse through her workplace (Monday 25 February 2019, Brisbane)
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Australian Institute of Company Director Membership and Joining fee associated with course (valid until December 2017)
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Bundaberg Rum 'Blend your own Rum Experience' including 2 bottles of rum (3 July 2018)
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Fee hire waiver for event at Diggers Services Club Logan (23 January 2018)
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Telstra TV Media box from Netball Australia (31 May 2018)
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Tickets to Jessica Mauboy Concert in Brisbane (x6) for Monday 10 April 2017
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Tickets to Opening Night of Swan Lake from QLD Ballet (x2) (5 May 2017)
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Tickets to the Walkley Awards (29 November 2017) from Lion Nathan (x2)
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Virgin Australia Executive Lounge Membership (myself and spouse) (2 years)
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Sponsored travel (34)

31st Hall of Fame Induction Sport Dinner in Melbourne – Guest of PGA (Wednesday 21 October 2015)
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
5 OCT 13 UPGRADE TO PREMIUM ECONOMY QF107 LA-NY18 OCT 13 UPGRADE TO BUSINESS QF667 BRV-ADEL.
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Appointment Advisory Board Member Centre for Australian, New Zealand and Pacific Studies at Georgetown University, Washington DCcommencing 01/10/2014
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
As per Attachment A
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Author payment from The Monthly Magazine
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Author royalties from book co-authored with Mike Quigley (all donated to local schools)
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Complimentary Virgin Australia Platinum membership for staff member (x1) for 2 years
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Complimentary subscription to Foxtel provided by ASTRA for the Electorate Office (1 July 2017)
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Flight upgrade on QF546 from Sydney to Brisbane for myself, Laura Chalmers and Leo Chalmers on 30 January 2018
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Flight upgrade on VA581 from Canberra to Adelaide for staff member on 14 December 2018
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Flights, accommodation and meals provided by Australia China Business Council and Huawei Technologies for visit to China (5 July- 12 July 2015)
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Gifts from Taiwanese Ministers (x1 bottle of Kavalan single malt whiskey; gift set of two bowls with chopsticks; Taiwanese framed print (11 and 12 June 2018)
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Guest of Cricket Australia for Australia v New Zealand Day 2 (Friday 6 November 2015)
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Hospitality ahead of the Crawford Australian Leadership Forum - dinner at the National Gallery of Australia (18 June 2017)
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Hospitality during a 2 day Seminar @ the ANU (01-02 October 2015) hosted by the ANU/Chifley Research Centre
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
NRL All Stars at Suncorp Stadium on Saturday 13 February 2016 (x2 tickets in NRL Corporate Box)
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
NRL Match (Thursday 24 August 2017) as Guest of Former Origin Greats (FOGS) (x7 tickets)
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
NRL Semi Final Match (Broncos v Cowboys) at Suncorp Stadium on Saturday 12 September 2015 (x2 tickets in NRL Corporate Box)
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
NRL Semi Final Match (Broncos v Roosters) at Suncorp Stadium on Saturday 25 September 2015 (x2 tickets in NRL Corporate Box)
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
National Press Club Address by Hon Chris Bowen MP with Hawker Britton (x1 ticket) (Wednesday 16 May 2018)
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Part travel and accommodation for meetings in San Francisco with shared economy platforms, the Transport Workers Union and ACTU (10- 14 July 2017)
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Press Gallery Mid-Winter Ball tickets courtesy of ABC (x2) (Wednesday 14 June 2017)
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Press Gallery Mid-Winter Ball tickets courtesy of Coca Cola (x2) (Wednesday 12 September 2018)
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Previous entry on 12 October listed wrong day and should read - NRL Semi Final Match (Broncos v Roosters) at Suncorp Stadium on Friday 25 September 2015 (x2 tickets in NRL Corporate Box)
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
QLD Tennis - Brisbane International Men's Semi Final Match on Saturday 9 January 2016 (x2 tickets)
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Sponsored EO Media-ASTA - Foxtel into the Rankin electorate office
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Sponsored Hospitality – Australian American Leadership Dialogue (AALD) (Gold Coast 3-5 August 2017)
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Sponsored accommodation -Chifley Research Centre 29-31 January
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Sponsored hospitality -Chifley Research Centre Chifley Futures Retreat Conference Registration Costs 29-31 January
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Sponsored travel & accommodation -Chifley Research Centre during the Australian American Leadership Dialogue 12-15 January 2015.
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
State of Origin Game 3 Match with Lion (x2 tickets in corporate box) on 11 July 2018 in Brisbane
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Transportation assistance in Taipei by the Taipei Economic and Cultural Office (11 and 12 June 2018)
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Upgrade flight seat27 December 2014 - Member and spouse
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Upgrade flight seat spouse30 August 2014 Brisbane - Adelaide
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Office held (5)

As per Attachment A
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Griffith University - School of Government and International Relations Board
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Membership of Kingston East Neighbourhood Group in the Electorate of Rankin
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
PGA of Australia Honorary Membership 2016 (which has been provided to all members of the Parliamentary Friends of Golf)
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Union Membership (AWU)
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Other interest (1)

Vice Patron for 2017-2018 season – Surf Life Saving Queensland
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Suburbs represented

Suburbs in Rankin. Representing a suburb has nothing to do with owning anything in it.

23 suburbs

Algester · Berrinba · Browns Plains (Qld) · Calamvale · Crestmead · Daisy Hill (Qld) · Drewvale · Heritage Park · Hillcrest (Qld) · Karawatha · Kingston (Qld) · Logan Central · Marsden · Meadowbrook · Parkinson · Priestdale · Regents Park (Qld) · Rochedale South · Slacks Creek · Springwood (Qld) · Stretton · Underwood (Qld) · Woodridge (Qld)

Register of Members’ Interests / Register of Senators’ Interests, Parliament of Australia. Report an error

Method & caveats

Australian federal parliamentarians must declare certain interests in the Register of Members’ Interests (House of Representatives) and the Register of Senators’ Interests. For holdings — shares, real estate, trusts, liabilities, assets — the registers record what is held and do not record quantity, value, purchase price or income. Nothing on this page states or implies the size of any holding, any gain or loss, or any trading activity.

Two items are different, because the form itself asks for a value: gifts and sponsored travel. Where a member stated an amount there, it appears as they wrote it. That figure is the declared value of a gift or a trip — never the size of a holding, and never a total.

Dates are the dates a declaration appeared in, or was removed from, the register — not transaction dates. A removal can mean an asset was disposed of, a declaration was corrected, or the member left parliament.

Company names are free text as written by the member. We link a declaration to an ASX listing only on an exact normalised match, a ticker the member stated, or a human-verified alias, so many declarations appear as text only. Real-estate declarations are suburb- or area-level; the registers contain no street addresses, and some declared locations do not map to a single ABS suburb.

Rows are declared as held by the member (“Self”), their spouse or partner, or a dependent child, exactly as the register records them. Members’ seats, parties and chambers change between parliaments.

Extracted from primary PDFs published by the Parliament of Australia; parliamentary material, © Commonwealth of Australia. Corrections are annotated, not silently applied. Not financial advice.