Parliament’s Portfolio

Jim Molan

Jim Molan

LIBSenator for NSWparliaments 45–47
  • 45th–47th · Senator for NSW · Liberal

Portrait: Wikimedia Commons — Lowy Institute (CC BY 3.0). Not a Parliament of Australia image.

This page covers the 44th Parliament in full. We have read only part of the 48th Parliament — this member’s own document may be among those still unread. An empty section below means we have no recorded entry — not that the member declared nothing. The Registers of Senators’ Interests are tabled as combined Senate volumes, and the volumes covering this senator’s lodgements are ones we have not read into this site yet. An empty register here is our coverage gap — not a record that this senator declared nothing.

17
entries currently declared
0
ASX-listed companies named
1
real-estate declarations
2
liabilities entries
6
gifts and sponsored travel
23 Aug 2022
register last updated

Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.

About these counts

The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.

What is declared, at a glance

Declared categories
17current entries
  • Gift4
  • Accounts3
  • Other income3
  • Liability2
  • Sponsored travel2
  • Other (3)3
Declared categories
CategoryCount
Gift4
Accounts3
Other income3
Liability2
Sponsored travel2
Trusts1
Real estate1
Directorship1
Total17
Who each entry is declared for
17current entries
  • Holder not stated17
Who each entry is declared for
CategoryCount
Holder not stated17
Total17

Entries declared over time

Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.

0917202120222023202420252026
Monthly declaration counts
MonthCount
2021-102
2021-114
2021-124
2022-014
2022-024
2022-035
2022-045
2022-055
2022-065
2022-075
2022-0817
2022-0917
2022-1017
2022-1117
2022-1217
2023-0117
2023-0217
2023-0317
2023-0417
2023-0517
2023-0617
2023-0717
2023-0817
2023-0917
2023-1017
2023-1117
2023-1217
2024-0117
2024-0217
2024-0317
2024-0417
2024-0517
2024-0617
2024-0717
2024-0817
2024-0917
2024-1017
2024-1117
2024-1217
2025-0117
2025-0217
2025-0317
2025-0417
2025-0517
2025-0617
2025-0717
2025-0817
2025-0917
2025-1017
2025-1117
2025-1217
2026-0117
2026-0217
2026-0317
2026-0417
2026-0517
2026-0617
2026-0717
2026-0817
2026-0917

Declared interests

Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.

Showing 17 of 17 entries.

Declared entries from the Registers of Members’ and Senators’ Interests, in the register’s own words. No column is a quantity or a value; the registers record none.
Source

Trusts (1)

Molan Family TrustDormant
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Aug 2022PDF ↗

Real estate (1)

Royalla NSW1 x Residential
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Aug 2022PDF ↗

Directorship (1)

Molan Family Trust
Family trust
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Aug 2022PDF ↗

Liability (2)

Credit Card x 2NAB x 1, ANZ x 1
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Mortgage on Residential PropertyNAB
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Aug 2022PDF ↗

Accounts (3)

Family Trust Acct x 1St George
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Fixed Term Deposits x 3, AJ & AW MolanNAB
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Savings Acct x 1, AJ & AW MolanNAB
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Aug 2022PDF ↗

Other income (3)

DVA Disability Pension
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Defence Force Retirement and Death Benefits Scheme, Pension (Superannuation)
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Royalties/advance payment for book "Danger on our Doorstep" received from Harper Collins Publishers Australia. Note - the contract is available for viewing.
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Nov 2021PDF ↗

Gift (4)

2 x bottles of wine (1 x 2015 Golan Heights Winery Yarden Cabernet Sauvignon AU$53 and 1 x 2019 Golan Heights Winery Yarden Chardonnay AU $24 - value sourced from Wine-Searcher.com on 28 September 2021). The gift is from Mr Ido Spitzer, General Manager, Rafael Australia and was received by mail on 28 September 2021.
Holder not stated
Declared since 16 Mar 2022PDF ↗
1 x bottle of Stump Gully, Sparkling Pinots 20218 750ml. Gift from Go Local First (Small Business Organisations Australia) - Christmas Gift. Gift value is approximately $40 (Peninsula Beverage Co. Website - 26/11/2021).
Holder not stated
Declared since 26 Nov 2021PDF ↗
2 x bottles of wine (1 x 2015 Golan Heights Winery Yarden Cabernet Sauvignon AU$53 and 1 x 2019 Golan Heights Winery Yarden Chardonnay AU $24 - value sourced from Wine-Searcher.com on 28 September 2021.
Holder not stated
Declared since 5 Oct 2021PDF ↗
1 x Hero Quilt - presented to Senator Molan by Aussie Hero Quilts (and Laundry Bags) to honour his military service. Approximate cost is $350.
Holder not stated
Declared since 25 June 2021PDF ↗

Sponsored travel (2)

Member Qantas Chairman's Lounge
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Member Virgin Australia The Club
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Aug 2022PDF ↗

Register of Members’ Interests / Register of Senators’ Interests, Parliament of Australia — as at 23 August 2022. Report an error

Method & caveats

Australian federal parliamentarians must declare certain interests in the Register of Members’ Interests (House of Representatives) and the Register of Senators’ Interests. For holdings — shares, real estate, trusts, liabilities, assets — the registers record what is held and do not record quantity, value, purchase price or income. Nothing on this page states or implies the size of any holding, any gain or loss, or any trading activity.

Two items are different, because the form itself asks for a value: gifts and sponsored travel. Where a member stated an amount there, it appears as they wrote it. That figure is the declared value of a gift or a trip — never the size of a holding, and never a total.

Dates are the dates a declaration appeared in, or was removed from, the register — not transaction dates. A removal can mean an asset was disposed of, a declaration was corrected, or the member left parliament.

Company names are free text as written by the member. We link a declaration to an ASX listing only on an exact normalised match, a ticker the member stated, or a human-verified alias, so many declarations appear as text only. Real-estate declarations are suburb- or area-level; the registers contain no street addresses, and some declared locations do not map to a single ABS suburb.

Rows are declared as held by the member (“Self”), their spouse or partner, or a dependent child, exactly as the register records them. Members’ seats, parties and chambers change between parliaments.

Extracted from primary PDFs published by the Parliament of Australia; parliamentary material, © Commonwealth of Australia. Corrections are annotated, not silently applied. Not financial advice.