John Alexander
- 44th–46th · Member for Bennelong · Party not recorded
Portrait: Wikimedia Commons — Photographer: Josh Bihary, copyright John Alexander (CC BY-SA 3.0). Not a Parliament of Australia image.
This page covers the 44th, 45th and 48th Parliaments in full. We have read only part of the 46th and 47th Parliaments — this member’s own document may be among those still unread. An empty section below means we have no recorded entry — not that the member declared nothing.
Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.
About these counts
The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.
What is declared, at a glance
- Shareholdings76
- Liability7
- Real estate6
- Accounts4
- Office held4
- Other (6)13
| Category | Count |
|---|---|
| Shareholdings | 76 |
| Liability | 7 |
| Real estate | 6 |
| Accounts | 4 |
| Office held | 4 |
| Trusts | 3 |
| Directorship | 3 |
| Other income | 3 |
| Bonds | 2 |
| Other assets | 1 |
| Gift | 1 |
| Total | 110 |
- Self56
- Spouse/partner44
- Dependent child10
| Category | Count |
|---|---|
| Self | 56 |
| Spouse/partner | 44 |
| Dependent child | 10 |
| Total | 110 |
Entries declared over time
Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.
| Month | Count |
|---|---|
| 2021-09 | 0 |
| 2021-10 | 0 |
| 2021-11 | 0 |
| 2021-12 | 0 |
| 2022-01 | 0 |
| 2022-02 | 0 |
| 2022-03 | 0 |
| 2022-04 | 0 |
| 2022-05 | 0 |
| 2022-06 | 0 |
| 2022-07 | 0 |
| 2022-08 | 0 |
| 2022-09 | 0 |
| 2022-10 | 0 |
| 2022-11 | 0 |
| 2022-12 | 0 |
| 2023-01 | 0 |
| 2023-02 | 0 |
| 2023-03 | 0 |
| 2023-04 | 0 |
| 2023-05 | 0 |
| 2023-06 | 0 |
| 2023-07 | 0 |
| 2023-08 | 0 |
| 2023-09 | 0 |
| 2023-10 | 0 |
| 2023-11 | 0 |
| 2023-12 | 0 |
| 2024-01 | 0 |
| 2024-02 | 0 |
| 2024-03 | 0 |
| 2024-04 | 0 |
| 2024-05 | 0 |
| 2024-06 | 0 |
| 2024-07 | 0 |
| 2024-08 | 0 |
| 2024-09 | 0 |
| 2024-10 | 0 |
| 2024-11 | 0 |
| 2024-12 | 0 |
| 2025-01 | 0 |
| 2025-02 | 0 |
| 2025-03 | 0 |
| 2025-04 | 0 |
| 2025-05 | 0 |
| 2025-06 | 0 |
| 2025-07 | 0 |
| 2025-08 | 0 |
| 2025-09 | 0 |
| 2025-10 | 0 |
| 2025-11 | 0 |
| 2025-12 | 0 |
| 2026-01 | 0 |
| 2026-02 | 0 |
| 2026-03 | 0 |
| 2026-04 | 0 |
| 2026-05 | 0 |
| 2026-06 | 0 |
| 2026-07 | 0 |
| 2026-08 | 0 |
110 entries without a stated date are not plotted.
| Industry | Distinct companies |
|---|---|
| Financial Services | 5 |
| Banks | 4 |
| Materials | 4 |
| Energy | 2 |
| Commercial & Professional Services | 1 |
Declared interests
Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.
Showing 110 of 110 entries.
| Source | |||
|---|---|---|---|
Shareholdings (76) | |||
| ADELAIDE BRIGHTON — not matched to an ASX listing | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| AMC · Amcor | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| AMP · Amp | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 44P ↗ |
| ANZ · Anz Group Holdings | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 44P ↗ |
| ANZ · Anz Group Holdings | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| ARISTOCRAT — not matched to an ASX listing | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| ASX · Asx | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| Alexanders Tennis Professionals — not matched to an ASX listing | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 44P ↗ |
| AGO · Atlas Iron | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| BERKSHIRE HATHAWAY — not matched to an ASX listing | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| BHP · Bhp Group | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 44P ↗ |
| BKL · Blackmores | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| BXB · Brambles | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| BT INVESTMENTS — not matched to an ASX listing | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| BT Investment — not matched to an ASX listing | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| CALTEX AUS — not matched to an ASX listing | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| CBA · Commonwealth Bank Of Australia. | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| CELGENE CORP — not matched to an ASX listing | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| CGF · Challenger | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| COCA-COLA AMATIL — not matched to an ASX listing | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| COH · Cochlear | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| TECH · Gblxglobaltech Etf Units | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| COMET RIDGE — not matched to an ASX listing | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| CCP · Credit Corp Group | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| CWN · Crown Resorts | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| COI · Comet Ridge | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 44P ↗ |
| DIAGEO PLC — not matched to an ASX listing | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| EBAY — not matched to an ASX listing | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| EHE · Estia Health | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| GLENNON SMALL CO — not matched to an ASX listing | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| Gilbert Frank Investments P/L Private company | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 44P ↗ |
| HEALTHSCOPE — not matched to an ASX listing | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| HEINEKEN — not matched to an ASX listing | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| IRI · Integrated Research | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| JANUS HENDERSON — not matched to an ASX listing | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| John Alexander's Clubs P/L Private company | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 44P ↗ |
| LEND LEASE — not matched to an ASX listing | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| LONDON STOCK EXCHANGE — not matched to an ASX listing | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| Lend Lease — not matched to an ASX listing | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| MQG · Macquarie Group | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| MEDIBANK — not matched to an ASX listing | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| MEDTRONIC — not matched to an ASX listing | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| MQG · Macquarie Group | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| NAB · National Australia Bank | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 44P ↗ |
| NAB · National Australia Bank | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| Newcrest — not matched to an ASX listing | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| ORACLE — not matched to an ASX listing | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| PAYPAL — not matched to an ASX listing | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| PERCLLINE — not matched to an ASX listing | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| REA · Rea Group | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| RECKIT BENCKISER — not matched to an ASX listing | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| RIO · Rio Tinto | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 44P ↗ |
| STO · Santos | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| STO · Santos | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| SKY NETWORK TV — not matched to an ASX listing | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| SPARK INFRASTRUCTURE — not matched to an ASX listing | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| STRYKER CORP — not matched to an ASX listing | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| SYDNEY AIRPORT — not matched to an ASX listing | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| Shares: Alchemy — not matched to an ASX listing | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 44P ↗ |
| S32 · South32 | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| TLS · Telstra Group | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| SGR · The Star Entertainment Group | Dependent child | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| TCL · Transurban Group | Dependent child | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| TLS · Telstra Group | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 44P ↗ |
| Trans urban — not matched to an ASX listing | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| TCL · Transurban Group | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 44P ↗ |
| UNILEVER — not matched to an ASX listing | Dependent child | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| VRT · Virtus Health | Dependent child | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| VIVA — not matched to an ASX listing | Dependent child | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| WBC · Westpac Banking | Dependent child | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| WOODSIDE — not matched to an ASX listing | Dependent child | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| WOODSIDE — not matched to an ASX listing | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| WOW · Woolworths Group | Dependent child | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| WBC · Westpac Banking | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 44P ↗ |
| ZOETIS — not matched to an ASX listing | Dependent child | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| Zenith — not matched to an ASX listing | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 44P ↗ |
Trusts (3) | |||
| CHADWICK FAMILY TRUSTINVESTMENT | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| GILBERT FRANK INVESTMENTS P/LINVESTMENT | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| ShareholdingsNewcrest, Atlas Iron | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 44P ↗ |
Real estate (6) | |||
| EASTERN SUBURBS NORTHERN BEACHES | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| Framed map"Railways of Australia 2014" map, gift from Australasian Railways Association | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 44P ↗ |
| Personal VehicleAUDI A6 | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 44P ↗ |
| Putney NSWFamily home | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 44P ↗ |
| SOUTHERN HIGHLANDSBUSINESS | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| ShareholdingsRio, Alchemy, Perpetual | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 44P ↗ |
Directorship (3) | |||
| DEBORAH CHADWICK DESIGNS PTY LTD Private company | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| Gilbert Frank Investments P/L Private company | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 44P ↗ |
| Shareholdings — not matched to an ASX listing | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 44P ↗ |
Liability (7) | |||
| BANK LOAN, CAR LEASEWESTPAC, CAPITAL FINANCE | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| Bank LoanNAB | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| Car hire purchaseAlphera | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 44P ↗ |
| Car lease x2Capital Finance | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| Margin lending for share purchaseBell Potter | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 44P ↗ |
| Mortgage on Property Car leaseWestpac Capital Finance | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 46P ↗ |
| Mortgage on homeNAB | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 44P ↗ |
Bonds (2) | |||
| BONDSCHADWICK SUPER FUND, DEBORAH CHADWICK DESIGN PTY LTD | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| STOCKSSELF, GILBERT FRANK INVESTMENTS P/L, SUPERANNUATION | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
Accounts (4) | |||
| BANK ACCOUNTSWESTPAC, NAB | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| BANK ACCOUNTSMACQUARIE BANK, RABO BANK, WESTPAC, NAB | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| Business AccountsNAB | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 44P ↗ |
| Personal AccountsNAB | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 44P ↗ |
Other assets (1) | |||
| CARS | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
Other income (3) | |||
| INCOME FROM HOLIDAY HOMEAS ABOVE | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| INCOME FROM INVESTMENTSAS ABOVE | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| Income from investments as above | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 46P ↗ |
Gift (1) | |||
| children from family members or personal friends in a purely personal capacity need not be | Dependent child | Declared; start date not stated | 46P ↗ |
Office held (4) | |||
| Australian Open Last 8 Club | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 44P ↗ |
| QANTAS CLUB CHAIRMAN'S LOUNGE, MACQUARIE PARK ROTARY, VIRGIN CLUB LOUNGE, AUSTRALIAN OPEN LAST 8 CLUB | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| Qantas Club Chairman's LoungeVirgin Club Lounge | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 44P ↗ |
| Qantas Club Chairman's Lounge Macquarie Park Rotary Virgin Club Lounge Australian Open Last 8 Club | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 46P ↗ |
Funding returns lodged with the AEC
Only returns that name this parliamentarian are shown. Money declared as given to a party, a branch or an associated entity is not shown here and is not attributable to any individual.
Election returns linked to this member
Returns this member is linked to, newest first. Linking is per return and exact — an election that does not appear here has not been shown to lack one.
- 2019 Federal electionCandidateBennelong, NSW · Liberal Party of Australia, NSW DivisionLodged as “ALEXANDER, John Gilbert”Lodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
- 2016 Federal electionCandidateBennelong, NSW · Liberal Party of Australia, NSW DivisionLodged as “ALEXANDER, John Gilbert”Lodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
- 2013 Federal electionCandidateBennelong, NSW · Liberal Party of Australia, NSW DivisionLodged as “ALEXANDER, John Gilbert”Lodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
Annual member and senator returns are lodged by a small number of parliamentarians: the whole corpus holds 52 of them. Returns lodged by senators are linked to their profiles where the name on the lodged return matches the name we hold for them; where it does not, the return stays here unlinked rather than being attached to a guess. The Registers of Senators' Interests have not been read into this site yet, so a senator can appear here with a funding return and no declared interests beside it, which is a gap in our coverage rather than a record of what they declared. A parliamentarian with no return has not been shown to have received nothing — most never lodge one.
Amounts below the disclosure threshold in force for a given year are not published by the AEC and are absent from these figures. A low total means little was disclosed, not that little was received.
Source: AEC Transparency Register, reused under CC BY 4.0. © Commonwealth of Australia. The AEC does not endorse this site or its analysis.
Suburbs represented
Suburbs in Bennelong. Representing a suburb has nothing to do with owning anything in it.
29 suburbs
Chatswood West · Denistone · Denistone East · Denistone West · East Ryde · Eastwood (NSW) · Gladesville · Greenwich · Henley · Hunters Hill · Huntleys Cove · Huntleys Point · Lane Cove · Lane Cove North · Lane Cove West · Linley Point · Longueville · Macquarie Park · Marsfield · Meadowbank (NSW) · Melrose Park (NSW) · North Ryde · Northwood (NSW) · Putney · Riverview (NSW) · Ryde · Tennyson Point · West Ryde · Woolwich