Parliament’s Portfolio

Karen Grogan

Karen Grogan

ALPSenator for SAparliaments 46–48
  • 46th–48th · Senator for SA · Labor

Portrait: Wikimedia Commons — David Foote (CC0). Not a Parliament of Australia image.

This page covers the 44th and 45th Parliaments in full. The Registers of Senators’ Interests are tabled as combined Senate volumes, and the volumes covering this senator’s lodgements are ones we have not read into this site yet. An empty register here is our coverage gap — not a record that this senator declared nothing.

30
entries currently declared
0
ASX-listed companies named
1
real-estate declarations
3
liabilities entries
2
gifts and sponsored travel
15 Aug 2025
register last updated

Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.

About these counts

The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.

What is declared, at a glance

Declared categories
30current entries
  • Other interest9
  • Office held8
  • Other assets5
  • Liability3
  • Real estate1
  • Other (4)4
Declared categories
CategoryCount
Other interest9
Office held8
Other assets5
Liability3
Real estate1
Accounts1
Other income1
Gift1
Sponsored travel1
Total30
Who each entry is declared for
30current entries
  • Holder not stated30
Who each entry is declared for
CategoryCount
Holder not stated30
Total30

Entries declared over time

Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.

01020202120222023202420252026
Monthly declaration counts
MonthCount
2021-100
2021-1115
2021-1215
2022-0115
2022-0215
2022-0315
2022-0415
2022-0515
2022-0615
2022-0715
2022-0815
2022-0915
2022-1015
2022-1115
2022-1215
2023-0115
2023-0215
2023-0315
2023-0415
2023-0515
2023-0615
2023-0715
2023-0815
2023-0915
2023-1015
2023-1115
2023-1215
2024-0115
2024-0216
2024-0316
2024-0416
2024-0516
2024-0616
2024-0716
2024-0816
2024-0916
2024-1016
2024-1116
2024-1216
2025-0116
2025-0216
2025-0316
2025-0416
2025-0516
2025-0616
2025-0716
2025-0820
2025-0920
2025-1020
2025-1120
2025-1220
2026-0120
2026-0220
2026-0320
2026-0420
2026-0520
2026-0620
2026-0720
2026-0820
2026-0920

10 entries without a stated date are not plotted.

Declared interests

Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.

Showing 30 of 30 entries.

Declared entries from the Registers of Members’ and Senators’ Interests, in the register’s own words. No column is a quantity or a value; the registers record none.
Source

Real estate (1)

Rosewater SAResidential
Holder not stated
Declared since 8 Nov 2021PDF ↗

Liability (3)

Mortgage on residential property Mortgage on Investment property Mortgage on Investment propertyWestpac Westpac Westpac
Holder not stated
Declared since 15 Aug 2025PDF ↗
Mortgage on investment propertyWestpac Bank
Holder not stated
Declared since 8 Nov 2021PDF ↗
Mortgage on residential propertyWestpac Bank
Holder not stated
Declared since 8 Nov 2021PDF ↗

Accounts (1)

Savings accountWestpac
Holder not stated
Declared since 8 Nov 2021PDF ↗

Other assets (5)

Superannuation - Hostplus Superannuation - Commonwealth Government PSS
Holder not stated
Declared since 15 Aug 2025PDF ↗
Superannuation - Commonwealth Government PSS
Holder not stated
Declared since 8 Nov 2021PDF ↗
Superannuation - Statewide Super
Holder not stated
Declared since 8 Nov 2021PDF ↗
Superannuation - Hostplus
Holder not stated
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗
Superannuation – Commonwealth Government PSS
Holder not stated
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗

Other income (1)

Rental income
Holder not stated
Declared since 8 Nov 2021PDF ↗

Gift (1)

Foxtel connection in Electorate office provided free of charge by Foxtel
Holder not stated
Declared since 8 Nov 2021PDF ↗

Sponsored travel (1)

Qantas Chairman's Lounge Membership
Holder not stated
Declared since 26 Feb 2024PDF ↗

Office held (8)

ALP - member of state executive, member of rules committee, member of finance committee PLUS - Convenor, member of executive committee ALP Donor PLUS Donor
Holder not stated
Declared since 15 Aug 2025PDF ↗
ALP - Member of State Executive, Member of Rules committee, Member of Finance Committee
Holder not stated
Declared since 8 Nov 2021PDF ↗
ALP -Donor
Holder not stated
Declared since 8 Nov 2021PDF ↗
PLUS - Convenor
Holder not stated
Declared since 8 Nov 2021PDF ↗
ALP -member of state executive, member of rules committee, member of finance committee
Holder not stated
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗
ALP Donor
Holder not stated
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗
PLUS Donor
Holder not stated
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗
PLUS – Convenor, member of executive committee
Holder not stated
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗

Other interest (9)

Member - United Workers Union Member - Australian Services Union Member - Emily List Member - Community & Public Sector Union Committee Member - Progressive Labour Education Association
Holder not stated
Declared since 15 Aug 2025PDF ↗
Committee Member - Progressive Labour Education Association
Holder not stated
Declared since 8 Nov 2021PDF ↗
Member - Australian Services Union
Holder not stated
Declared since 8 Nov 2021PDF ↗
Member - Emilys List
Holder not stated
Declared since 8 Nov 2021PDF ↗
Member -United Workers Union
Holder not stated
Declared since 8 Nov 2021PDF ↗
Committee Member – Progressive Labour Education Association
Holder not stated
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗
Member -Emilys List
Holder not stated
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗
Member – Australian Services Union
Holder not stated
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗
Member – United Workers Union
Holder not stated
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗

Register of Members’ Interests / Register of Senators’ Interests, Parliament of Australia — as at 15 August 2025. Report an error

Method & caveats

Australian federal parliamentarians must declare certain interests in the Register of Members’ Interests (House of Representatives) and the Register of Senators’ Interests. For holdings — shares, real estate, trusts, liabilities, assets — the registers record what is held and do not record quantity, value, purchase price or income. Nothing on this page states or implies the size of any holding, any gain or loss, or any trading activity.

Two items are different, because the form itself asks for a value: gifts and sponsored travel. Where a member stated an amount there, it appears as they wrote it. That figure is the declared value of a gift or a trip — never the size of a holding, and never a total.

Dates are the dates a declaration appeared in, or was removed from, the register — not transaction dates. A removal can mean an asset was disposed of, a declaration was corrected, or the member left parliament.

Company names are free text as written by the member. We link a declaration to an ASX listing only on an exact normalised match, a ticker the member stated, or a human-verified alias, so many declarations appear as text only. Real-estate declarations are suburb- or area-level; the registers contain no street addresses, and some declared locations do not map to a single ABS suburb.

Rows are declared as held by the member (“Self”), their spouse or partner, or a dependent child, exactly as the register records them. Members’ seats, parties and chambers change between parliaments.

Extracted from primary PDFs published by the Parliament of Australia; parliamentary material, © Commonwealth of Australia. Corrections are annotated, not silently applied. Not financial advice.