Kate Chaney
- 47th · Member for Curtin · Party not recorded
- 48th · Member for Curtin · Independent
Portrait: Wikimedia Commons — Kate Chaney for Curtin (CC BY 3.0). Not a Parliament of Australia image.
This page covers the 44th, 45th and 48th Parliaments in full. We have read only part of the 46th and 47th Parliaments — this member’s own document may be among those still unread. An empty section below means we have no recorded entry — not that the member declared nothing.
Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.
About these counts
The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.
What is declared, at a glance
- Accounts11
- Sponsored travel5
- Liability4
- Other income4
- Office held4
- Other (5)11
| Category | Count |
|---|---|
| Accounts | 11 |
| Sponsored travel | 5 |
| Liability | 4 |
| Other income | 4 |
| Office held | 4 |
| Other assets | 3 |
| Gift | 3 |
| Trusts | 2 |
| Real estate | 2 |
| Directorship | 1 |
| Total | 39 |
- Self12
- Spouse/partner13
- Dependent child5
- Holder not stated9
| Category | Count |
|---|---|
| Self | 12 |
| Spouse/partner | 13 |
| Dependent child | 5 |
| Holder not stated | 9 |
| Total | 39 |
Entries declared over time
Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.
| Month | Count |
|---|---|
| 2021-09 | 0 |
| 2021-10 | 0 |
| 2021-11 | 0 |
| 2021-12 | 0 |
| 2022-01 | 0 |
| 2022-02 | 0 |
| 2022-03 | 0 |
| 2022-04 | 0 |
| 2022-05 | 0 |
| 2022-06 | 0 |
| 2022-07 | 0 |
| 2022-08 | 1 |
| 2022-09 | 3 |
| 2022-10 | 3 |
| 2022-11 | 3 |
| 2022-12 | 3 |
| 2023-01 | 3 |
| 2023-02 | 3 |
| 2023-03 | 3 |
| 2023-04 | 3 |
| 2023-05 | 3 |
| 2023-06 | 5 |
| 2023-07 | 5 |
| 2023-08 | 6 |
| 2023-09 | 6 |
| 2023-10 | 7 |
| 2023-11 | 7 |
| 2023-12 | 7 |
| 2024-01 | 7 |
| 2024-02 | 7 |
| 2024-03 | 7 |
| 2024-04 | 7 |
| 2024-05 | 7 |
| 2024-06 | 7 |
| 2024-07 | 7 |
| 2024-08 | 9 |
| 2024-09 | 9 |
| 2024-10 | 9 |
| 2024-11 | 9 |
| 2024-12 | 9 |
| 2025-01 | 9 |
| 2025-02 | 9 |
| 2025-03 | 9 |
| 2025-04 | 9 |
| 2025-05 | 9 |
| 2025-06 | 9 |
| 2025-07 | 9 |
| 2025-08 | 12 |
| 2025-09 | 12 |
| 2025-10 | 12 |
| 2025-11 | 12 |
| 2025-12 | 12 |
| 2026-01 | 12 |
| 2026-02 | 12 |
| 2026-03 | 12 |
| 2026-04 | 12 |
| 2026-05 | 12 |
| 2026-06 | 12 |
| 2026-07 | 12 |
| 2026-08 | 12 |
27 entries without a stated date are not plotted.
Declared interests
Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.
Showing 39 of 39 entries.
| Source | |||
|---|---|---|---|
Trusts (2) | |||
| Keane Kids TrustFamily trust (dormant) | Dependent child | Declared; start date not stated | 47P ↗ |
| Keane Kids TrustFamily trust (dormant) | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 47P ↗ |
Real estate (2) | |||
| West Leederville WAResidential | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 47P ↗ |
| West Leederville WAResidential | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 47P ↗ |
Directorship (1) | |||
| Curtin Independent Pty Ltd Private company | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 47P ↗ |
Liability (4) | |||
| MortgageCBA | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 47P ↗ |
| MortgageCBA | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 47P ↗ |
| Mortgage on homeCommonwealth Bank | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 48P ↗ |
| Mortgage on homeCommonwealth Bank | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 48P ↗ |
Accounts (11) | |||
| HostPlus superannuation account | Self | Declared since 20 Aug 2025 | 48P ↗ |
| HostPlus superannuation account | Spouse/partner | Declared since 20 Aug 2025 | 48P ↗ |
| Two Commonwealth Bank accounts for work purposes. | Holder not stated | Declared since 2 Aug 2024 | 47P ↗ |
| Hostplus superannuation fund (husband) | Holder not stated | Declared since 1 Sept 2022 | 47P ↗ |
| Hostplus superannuation fund (self) | Holder not stated | Declared since 1 Sept 2022 | 47P ↗ |
| Savings Savings Savings Savings SavingsCBA CBA Spriggy Spriggy Spriggy | Dependent child | Declared; start date not stated | 47P ↗ |
| Savings Savings Savings Savings Transaction BusinessING ING ING ING CBA CBA | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 48P ↗ |
| Savings Savings Savings Savings Transaction Transaction SavingsING ING ING ING CBA CBA CBA | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 48P ↗ |
| Transaction Savings Savings Savings SavingsING Direct ING Direct ING Direct CBA U Bank | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 47P ↗ |
| Transaction Savings Savings Savings Savings TransactionING Direct ING Direct ING Direct CBA U Bank CBA | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 47P ↗ |
| Transaction Transaction Transaction Savings Savings SavingsSpriggy Spriggy Spriggy CBA CBA CBA | Dependent child | Declared; start date not stated | 48P ↗ |
Other assets (3) | |||
| Car | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 47P ↗ |
| Car Bicycle | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 48P ↗ |
| Car Bike | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 47P ↗ |
Other income (4) | |||
| Earnings as barrister Income from facilitating for AICD | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 47P ↗ |
| Income as Barrister Income as AICD facilitator | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 48P ↗ |
| Income as casual child care worker Income as retail assistant | Dependent child | Declared; start date not stated | 48P ↗ |
| MP Salary | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 47P ↗ |
Gift (3) | |||
| I have been loaned artwork for my office from Holmes a Court Gallery. | Holder not stated | Declared since 21 June 2023 | 47P ↗ |
| ASTRA Foxtel subscription | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 47P ↗ |
| children from family members or personal friends in a purely personal capacity need not be | Dependent child | Declared; start date not stated | 47P ↗ |
Sponsored travel (5) | |||
| Garma Festival entry/attendance from Australian Government/Yothu Yindi Foundation | Self | Declared since 14 Aug 2025 | 48P ↗ |
| Upgrade to business class on Qatar flight Athens - Doha | Holder not stated | Declared since 9 Oct 2023 | 47P ↗ |
| Garma Festival entry/attendance from Australian Government/Yothu Yindi Foundation | Holder not stated | Declared since 31 Aug 2023 | 47P ↗ |
| I attended the Budgeting for Womens Success dinner on 10 May as a guest of Grace Papers. I believe tickets were ~$300. | Holder not stated | Declared since 21 June 2023 | 47P ↗ |
| Qantas Chairman's Lounge membership | Holder not stated | Declared since 24 Aug 2022 | 47P ↗ |
Office held (4) | |||
| Western Suburbs Business Association | Holder not stated | Declared since 2 Aug 2024 | 47P ↗ |
| Councillor, Royal Agricultural Society of WA Member, Leederville Sporting Club Member, WA Bar Association Member, Law Society of WA | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 47P ↗ |
| Leederville Sporting Club National Press Club | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 48P ↗ |
| Member, Royal Perth Golf Club Member, Leederville Sporting Club Member, Royal Agricultural Society of WA Member, WA Bar Association Member, Law Society of WA Member, Business Law Section, Law Council of Australia Member, Legal Practice Board | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 48P ↗ |
Funding returns lodged with the AEC
Only returns that name this parliamentarian are shown. Money declared as given to a party, a branch or an associated entity is not shown here and is not attributable to any individual.
Annual returns lodged by this member
- 2024-25 Member of House of Representatives ReturnLodged as “Ms Kate Chaney MP”$1,9015 donorsAEC return ↗
- 2023-24 Member of House of Representatives ReturnLodged as “Ms Kate Chaney MP”$116,05982 donorsAEC return ↗
- 2022-23 Member of House of Representatives ReturnLodged as “Ms Kate Chaney MP”$26,82927 donorsAEC return ↗
The total each return declares receiving in that financial year, and the number of donors it names.
Annual member and senator returns are lodged by a small number of parliamentarians: the whole corpus holds 52 of them. Returns lodged by senators are linked to their profiles where the name on the lodged return matches the name we hold for them; where it does not, the return stays here unlinked rather than being attached to a guess. The Registers of Senators' Interests have not been read into this site yet, so a senator can appear here with a funding return and no declared interests beside it, which is a gap in our coverage rather than a record of what they declared. A parliamentarian with no return has not been shown to have received nothing — most never lodge one.
Amounts below the disclosure threshold in force for a given year are not published by the AEC and are absent from these figures. A low total means little was disclosed, not that little was received.
Source: AEC Transparency Register, reused under CC BY 4.0. © Commonwealth of Australia. The AEC does not endorse this site or its analysis.
Suburbs represented
Suburbs in Curtin. Representing a suburb has nothing to do with owning anything in it.
28 suburbs
Churchlands · City Beach · Claremont (WA) · Cottesloe · Crawley · Daglish · Dalkeith · Doubleview · Floreat · Glendalough · Herdsman · Innaloo · Jolimont · Karrakatta · Mosman Park (WA) · Mount Claremont · Nedlands · Osborne Park · Peppermint Grove · Scarborough (WA) · Shenton Park · Subiaco · Swanbourne · Trigg · Wembley · Wembley Downs · West Leederville · Woodlands (WA)