Parliament’s Portfolio

Lisa Chesters

Lisa Chesters

ALPMember for BendigoVICparliaments 44–48
  • 44th–47th · Member for Bendigo · Party not recorded
  • 48th · Member for Bendigo · Labor

Portrait: Wikimedia Commons — Thescrubbythug (CC BY-SA 4.0). Not a Parliament of Australia image.

This page covers the 44th, 45th and 48th Parliaments in full. We have read only part of the 46th and 47th Parliaments — this member’s own document may be among those still unread. An empty section below means we have no recorded entry — not that the member declared nothing.

68
entries currently declared
0
ASX-listed companies named
6
real-estate declarations
6
liabilities entries
10
gifts and sponsored travel
2 Sept 2025
register last updated

Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.

About these counts

The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.

What is declared, at a glance

Declared categories
68current entries
  • Office held25
  • Accounts14
  • Sponsored travel8
  • Real estate6
  • Liability6
  • Other (3)9
Declared categories
CategoryCount
Office held25
Accounts14
Sponsored travel8
Real estate6
Liability6
Other assets5
Gift2
Other interest2
Total68
Who each entry is declared for
68current entries
  • Self41
  • Spouse/partner19
  • Dependent child2
  • Holder not stated6
Who each entry is declared for
CategoryCount
Self41
Spouse/partner19
Dependent child2
Holder not stated6
Total68

Entries declared over time

Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.

047202120222023202420252026
Monthly declaration counts
MonthCount
2021-092
2021-102
2021-112
2021-122
2022-012
2022-022
2022-032
2022-042
2022-052
2022-062
2022-072
2022-082
2022-092
2022-102
2022-112
2022-122
2023-012
2023-022
2023-032
2023-042
2023-052
2023-062
2023-072
2023-085
2023-095
2023-105
2023-116
2023-126
2024-016
2024-026
2024-036
2024-046
2024-056
2024-066
2024-076
2024-086
2024-096
2024-106
2024-116
2024-126
2025-016
2025-026
2025-036
2025-046
2025-056
2025-066
2025-076
2025-086
2025-097
2025-107
2025-117
2025-127
2026-017
2026-027
2026-037
2026-047
2026-057
2026-067
2026-077
2026-087

61 entries without a stated date are not plotted.

Declared interests

Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.

Declared for

Showing 68 of 68 entries.

Declared entries from the Registers of Members’ and Senators’ Interests, in the register’s own words. No column is a quantity or a value; the registers record none.
Source

Real estate (6)

Flora Hill VICLeased to tenants
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Flora Hill 3550Leased to tenant
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Kennington VICResidential Work Related Accommodation
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Kennington 3550Residential Work Related Accommodation
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Reid (ACT) ACTResidential Currently for sale Work related accommodation
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
of land MaldonResidential
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Liability (6)

MortgageMembers Equity Bank
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
MortgageBendigo Bank
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Mortgage X 2Bendigo Bank
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Mortgage on investment propertyBendigo Bank
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Mortgage residential propertiesBendigo Bank
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Personal loanBendigo Bank
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Accounts (14)

Every Day Account (Joint)Bendigo Bank
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Every Day Account (Joint)Bendigo Bank
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Every Day Account x 3Bendigo Bank
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Everyday Account x 2Members Equity
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Everyday Account x 3Members Equity Bank
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Online Saving Account Everyday Account Statement Account x 3 (one joint)Members Equity Bank Members Equity Bank Bendigo Bank
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Online Savings AccountMembers Equity
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Online Savings Account Everyday Account Everyday Account (joint)Members Equity Bank Members Equity Bank Bendigo Bank
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
SavingsBendigo Bank
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Savings (Joint Account) Savings SavingsBendigo Bank Bendigo Bank Bendigo Bank
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Savings SavingsBendigo Bank Bendigo Bank
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Statement Account x 3 (one joint)Bendigo Bank
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Term DepositBendigo Bank
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Term Deposit Everyday Account x 3 Everyday Account (joint)Bendigo Bank Bendigo Bank Bendigo Bank
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Other assets (5)

Superannuation, Australian SuperSuperannuation, Host Plus
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Superannuation, Australian Super Superannuation, Host Plus Superannuation, Care Super
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Superannuation, Care Super
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Superannuation, Host Plus
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Superannuation, Media Super
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Gift (2)

Complimentary membership to Qantas Chairmans Lounge
Holder not stated
Declared since 17 Oct 201946P ↗
children from family members or personal friends in a purely personal capacity need not be
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Sponsored travel (8)

2 x ALF 2023 Grand Final tickets & hospitality
Holder not stated
Declared since 9 Nov 202347P ↗
Qantas Chairman’s Lounge membership
Holder not stated
Declared since 8 Aug 202347P ↗
Virgin Australia Beyond Lounge membership for myself and my partner, Matt Emond
Holder not stated
Declared since 8 Aug 202347P ↗
Hospitality - Accommodation and dinner provided by CFMEU at RACV Resort Torquay.
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Travel - Complimentary membership to Qantas Chairmans Lounge
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Travel - Complimentary membership to Virgin Australia The Club
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Travel - Complimentary membership to Virgin Australia The Club
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Travel - Flights, accommodation and meals provided by Save the Children to Cambodia
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Office held (25)

Qantas Chairman's Lounge
Self
Declared since 2 Sept 202548P ↗
Friends of National Museum of Australia
Holder not stated
Declared since 8 Aug 202347P ↗
Member of APHEDA Member of United Workers Union
Holder not stated
Declared since 5 Mar 202046P ↗
Actors Benevolent Trust Board Member
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Bendigo Art Gallery
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Bendigo Business Council
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Bendigo Chinese Association Board Member
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Bendigo Community Health
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Bendigo Historical SocietyZonta Club of Bendigo
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Bendigo Sustainability Group
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
CWA Castlemaine
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Councillor, City of Greater Bendigo Board Member, Bendigo Art Gallery Board Member, Bendigo Chinese Association Board Member, Actors Benevolent Trust
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Emily's List Australia
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Friends of Bendigo Botanic Gardens
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Friends of Kyneton Community Park
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Friends of the Bendigo Botanic Gardens
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Friends of the Castlemaine State Festival
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Friends of the Kyneton Community Park
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Member, Bendigo Art Gallery (family) Member, Bendigo Discovery Centre (family) Member, Victorian Zoos (family) Member, National Museum of Australia (family) Member, Virgin Australia Beyond
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Member, Virgin Australia Beyond
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Member, Zonta Club Bendigo Member, Bendigo Art Gallery Member, Discovery Centre Bendigo Member, Emily's List Member, United Workers Union
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Member, Zonta Club Bendigo Member, Bendigo Art Gallery Member, Emily's List Australia Member, United Voice Victoria Member, National Union of Workers
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Sandhurst School Education Board Member
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
United Voice Victoria
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Zonta Club of Bendigo
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Other interest (2)

ANU PHD candidate
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
PHD Student at ANU
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗

Funding returns lodged with the AEC

Only returns that name this parliamentarian are shown. Money declared as given to a party, a branch or an associated entity is not shown here and is not attributable to any individual.

Election returns linked to this member

Returns this member is linked to, newest first. Linking is per return and exact — an election that does not appear here has not been shown to lack one.

  • 2025 Federal ElectionCandidateBendigo, VIC · Australian Labor Party (Victorian Branch)Lodged as “CHESTERS, Lisa MarieLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2022 Federal electionCandidateBendigo, VIC · Australian Labor Party (Victorian Branch)Lodged as “CHESTERS, Lisa MarieLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2019 Federal electionCandidateBendigo, VIC · Australian Labor Party (Victorian Branch)Lodged as “CHESTERS, Lisa MarieLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2016 Federal electionCandidateBendigo, VIC · Australian Labor Party (Victorian Branch)Lodged as “CHESTERS, Lisa MarieLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2013 Federal electionCandidateBendigo, VIC · Australian Labor Party (Victorian Branch)Lodged as “CHESTERS, Lisa Marie$3,6061 donorAEC return ↗

    This return does not name its donors individually. Of 1,782 returns lodged for this event, 19 name their donors.

Annual member and senator returns are lodged by a small number of parliamentarians: the whole corpus holds 52 of them. Returns lodged by senators are linked to their profiles where the name on the lodged return matches the name we hold for them; where it does not, the return stays here unlinked rather than being attached to a guess. The Registers of Senators' Interests have not been read into this site yet, so a senator can appear here with a funding return and no declared interests beside it, which is a gap in our coverage rather than a record of what they declared. A parliamentarian with no return has not been shown to have received nothing — most never lodge one.

Amounts below the disclosure threshold in force for a given year are not published by the AEC and are absent from these figures. A low total means little was disclosed, not that little was received.

Source: AEC Transparency Register, reused under CC BY 4.0. © Commonwealth of Australia. The AEC does not endorse this site or its analysis.

Suburbs represented

Suburbs in Bendigo. Representing a suburb has nothing to do with owning anything in it.

144 suburbs

Argyle (Vic.) · Ascot (Greater Bendigo - Vic.) · Avonmore · Axe Creek · Axedale · Bagshot · Bagshot North · Barfold · Baringhup · Baringhup West · Barkers Creek · Barnadown · Baynton (Vic.) · Bendigo · Benloch · Big Hill (Greater Bendigo - Vic.) · Bonn · Bradford · California Gully · Campbells Creek · Carlsruhe · Castlemaine · Chewton · Chewton Bushlands · Costerfield · Derrinal · Diggora · Drummartin · Eaglehawk · Eaglehawk North · East Bendigo · Eddington · Edgecombe · Elmore · Elphinstone (Vic.) · Emu Creek (Vic.) · Eppalock · Epsom (Vic.) · Fairy Dell (Campaspe - Vic.) · Faraday · Flora Hill · Fosterville · Fryerstown · Glenhope · Glenhope East · Glenluce · Golden Gully · Golden Point (Mount Alexander - Vic.) · Golden Square · Goornong · Gower · Green Gully (Vic.) · Greenhill (Vic.) · Harcourt · Harcourt North · Heathcote (Vic.) · Heathcote South · Hunter · Huntly · Huntly North · Irishtown (Vic.) · Ironbark (Vic.) · Jackass Flat · Joyces Creek · Junortoun · Kamarooka · Kangaroo Flat (Vic.) · Kennington · Kimbolton (Vic.) · Knowsley · Kyneton · Kyneton South · Ladys Pass · Lake Eppalock · Langley · Lauriston · Leichardt · Lockwood · Lockwood South · Long Gully · Longlea · Maiden Gully · Maldon (Vic.) · Malmsbury · Mandurang · Mandurang South · Marong · McKenzie Hill · Metcalfe · Metcalfe East · Mia Mia (Vic.) · Milloo · Moonlight Flat (Mount Alexander - Vic.) · Mount Camel · Muckleford · Muckleford South · Myers Flat · Myrtle Creek (Vic.) · Neereman · Neilborough · Newstead (Vic.) · North Bendigo · Nuggetty · Nulla Vale · Pastoria · Pastoria East · Pipers Creek · Pyalong · Quarry Hill · Ravenswood (Vic.) · Ravenswood South · Redesdale · Rochester (Vic.) · Sailors Gully · Sandon (Vic.) · Sebastian · Sedgwick · Shelbourne · Sidonia · Spring Gully (Vic.) · Spring Hill (Vic.) · Strangways · Strathdale · Strathfieldsaye · Strathlea · Sutton Grange · Taradale (Vic.) · Tarilta · Tarrengower · Tennyson (Vic.) · Tooborac · Tylden · Vaughan · Walmer (Vic.) · Wellsford · Welshmans Reef · Werona · West Bendigo · Whipstick · White Hills (Vic.) · Wilsons Hill · Woodvale (Vic.) · Yandoit Hills · Yapeen

Register of Members’ Interests / Register of Senators’ Interests, Parliament of Australia — as at 2 September 2025. Report an error

Method & caveats

Australian federal parliamentarians must declare certain interests in the Register of Members’ Interests (House of Representatives) and the Register of Senators’ Interests. For holdings — shares, real estate, trusts, liabilities, assets — the registers record what is held and do not record quantity, value, purchase price or income. Nothing on this page states or implies the size of any holding, any gain or loss, or any trading activity.

Two items are different, because the form itself asks for a value: gifts and sponsored travel. Where a member stated an amount there, it appears as they wrote it. That figure is the declared value of a gift or a trip — never the size of a holding, and never a total.

Dates are the dates a declaration appeared in, or was removed from, the register — not transaction dates. A removal can mean an asset was disposed of, a declaration was corrected, or the member left parliament.

Company names are free text as written by the member. We link a declaration to an ASX listing only on an exact normalised match, a ticker the member stated, or a human-verified alias, so many declarations appear as text only. Real-estate declarations are suburb- or area-level; the registers contain no street addresses, and some declared locations do not map to a single ABS suburb.

Rows are declared as held by the member (“Self”), their spouse or partner, or a dependent child, exactly as the register records them. Members’ seats, parties and chambers change between parliaments.

Extracted from primary PDFs published by the Parliament of Australia; parliamentary material, © Commonwealth of Australia. Corrections are annotated, not silently applied. Not financial advice.