Parliament’s Portfolio

LM

Louise Markus

ALPMember for MacquarieNSWparliaments 44
  • 44th · Member for Macquarie · Party not recorded

This page covers the 44th, 45th and 48th Parliaments in full. We have read only part of the 46th and 47th Parliaments — this member’s own document may be among those still unread. An empty section below means we have no recorded entry — not that the member declared nothing.

37
entries currently declared
1
ASX-listed companies named
6
real-estate declarations
7
liabilities entries
8
gifts and sponsored travel

Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.

About these counts

The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.

What is declared, at a glance

Declared categories
37current entries
  • Liability7
  • Accounts7
  • Real estate6
  • Other assets5
  • Sponsored travel5
  • Other (3)7
Declared categories
CategoryCount
Liability7
Accounts7
Real estate6
Other assets5
Sponsored travel5
Other income3
Gift3
Shareholdings1
Total37
Who each entry is declared for
37current entries
  • Self20
  • Spouse/partner14
  • Dependent child3
Who each entry is declared for
CategoryCount
Self20
Spouse/partner14
Dependent child3
Total37

Entries declared over time

Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.

0202120222023202420252026
Monthly declaration counts
MonthCount
2021-090
2021-100
2021-110
2021-120
2022-010
2022-020
2022-030
2022-040
2022-050
2022-060
2022-070
2022-080
2022-090
2022-100
2022-110
2022-120
2023-010
2023-020
2023-030
2023-040
2023-050
2023-060
2023-070
2023-080
2023-090
2023-100
2023-110
2023-120
2024-010
2024-020
2024-030
2024-040
2024-050
2024-060
2024-070
2024-080
2024-090
2024-100
2024-110
2024-120
2025-010
2025-020
2025-030
2025-040
2025-050
2025-060
2025-070
2025-080
2025-090
2025-100
2025-110
2025-120
2026-010
2026-020
2026-030
2026-040
2026-050
2026-060
2026-070
2026-080

37 entries without a stated date are not plotted.

Declared companies by industry
Distinct ASX-listed companies declared by this member, grouped by industry. A count of companies, not an amount.
IndustryDistinct companies
Telecommunication Services
1

Declared interests

Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.

Declared for

Showing 37 of 37 entries.

Declared entries from the Registers of Members’ and Senators’ Interests, in the register’s own words. No column is a quantity or a value; the registers record none.
Source

Shareholdings (1)

TLS · Telstra Group
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Real estate (6)

Bligh Park NSWInvestment
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Bligh Park NSWInvestment
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Ripley QLDInvestment
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Ripley QLDInvestment
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Riverstone NSWResidence
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Riverstone NSWResidence
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Liability (7)

Investment Loan (Bligh Park)National Australia Bank
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Investment Loan (Bligh Park)National Australia Bank
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Investment Loan (Ripley)First Macquarie
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Investment Loan (Ripley)First Macquarie
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Mortgage (Riverstone)Mortgage House
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Mortgage (Riverstone)Mortgage House
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Personal LoanSt George Bank
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Accounts (7)

Maxi Saver AccountSt George Bank
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Progress Savings AccountANZ
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Progress Savings AccountANZ
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Savings AccountANZ
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Savings AccountANZ
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Savings Account for each childANZ
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Savings Cheque AccountANZ
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Other assets (5)

J R Markus Super Fund Self-Managed Deed of Trust
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Joshua Markus (son) - REST Superannuation
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Life Insurance - ANZ and MBF
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Superannuation - AGEST Super P/L
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Superannuation - First State
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Other income (3)

Daughter employed at AMCAL Chemist - Rouse Hill
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Rental Income from Investment Properties at Bligh Park & Ripley
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Rental Income from Investment Properties at Bligh Park & Ripley
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Gift (3)

Artwork - Greystanes Disability Services
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Financial Contribution - Helen Pickles
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Financial Contribution - Jock Cameron
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Sponsored travel (5)

Member of Qantas Chairman's Lounge
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Member of The Club - Virgin Australia
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Member of The Club - Virgin Australia
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Member of Velocity Frequent Flyer
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Payment of flights from Sydney to Dallas and return by National Student Leadership Forum for attendance at Washington National Prayer Breakfast January - February, 2015
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Funding returns lodged with the AEC

Only returns that name this parliamentarian are shown. Money declared as given to a party, a branch or an associated entity is not shown here and is not attributable to any individual.

Election returns linked to this member

Returns this member is linked to, newest first. Linking is per return and exact — an election that does not appear here has not been shown to lack one.

  • 2013 Federal electionCandidateMacquarie, NSW · Liberal Party of Australia, NSW DivisionLodged as “MARKUS, Louise ElizabethLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗

Annual member and senator returns are lodged by a small number of parliamentarians: the whole corpus holds 52 of them. Returns lodged by senators are linked to their profiles where the name on the lodged return matches the name we hold for them; where it does not, the return stays here unlinked rather than being attached to a guess. The Registers of Senators' Interests have not been read into this site yet, so a senator can appear here with a funding return and no declared interests beside it, which is a gap in our coverage rather than a record of what they declared. A parliamentarian with no return has not been shown to have received nothing — most never lodge one.

Amounts below the disclosure threshold in force for a given year are not published by the AEC and are absent from these figures. A low total means little was disclosed, not that little was received.

Source: AEC Transparency Register, reused under CC BY 4.0. © Commonwealth of Australia. The AEC does not endorse this site or its analysis.

Suburbs represented

Suburbs in Macquarie. Representing a suburb has nothing to do with owning anything in it.

88 suburbs

Berambing · Bilpin · Blackheath · Blaxland (NSW) · Blaxlands Ridge · Bligh Park · Bowen Mountain · Bullaburra · Central Colo · Central Macdonald · Clarendon (NSW) · Colo (Hawkesbury - NSW) · Colo Heights · Cornwallis · Cumberland Reach · East Kurrajong · Ebenezer (NSW) · Emu Heights (NSW) · Emu Plains · Faulconbridge · Fernances · Freemans Reach · Glenbrook · Glossodia · Grose Vale · Grose Wold · Hawkesbury Heights · Hazelbrook · Higher Macdonald · Hobartville · Katoomba · Kurmond · Kurrajong · Kurrajong Heights · Kurrajong Hills · Lapstone · Lawson (NSW) · Leets Vale · Leonay · Leura · Linden (NSW) · Lower Macdonald · Lower Portland · McGraths Hill · Medlow Bath · Megalong Valley · Mellong · Mogo Creek · Mount Irvine · Mount Riverview · Mount Tomah · Mount Victoria · Mount Wilson · Mountain Lagoon · Mulgrave (NSW) · North Richmond · Oakville · Perrys Crossing · Pitt Town · Pitt Town Bottoms · Richmond (NSW) · Richmond Lowlands · Scheyville · South Windsor · Springwood (NSW) · St Albans (NSW) · Sun Valley (NSW) · Ten Mile Hollow · Tennyson (NSW) · The Devils Wilderness · The Slopes · Upper Colo · Upper Macdonald · Valley Heights · Vineyard · Warrimoo · Webbs Creek · Wentworth Falls · Wheeny Creek · Wilberforce (NSW) · Windsor (NSW) · Windsor Downs · Winmalee · Womerah · Woodford (NSW) · Wrights Creek (NSW) · Yarramundi · Yellow Rock (Blue Mountains - NSW)

Register of Members’ Interests / Register of Senators’ Interests, Parliament of Australia. Original PDF · Report an error

Method & caveats

Australian federal parliamentarians must declare certain interests in the Register of Members’ Interests (House of Representatives) and the Register of Senators’ Interests. For holdings — shares, real estate, trusts, liabilities, assets — the registers record what is held and do not record quantity, value, purchase price or income. Nothing on this page states or implies the size of any holding, any gain or loss, or any trading activity.

Two items are different, because the form itself asks for a value: gifts and sponsored travel. Where a member stated an amount there, it appears as they wrote it. That figure is the declared value of a gift or a trip — never the size of a holding, and never a total.

Dates are the dates a declaration appeared in, or was removed from, the register — not transaction dates. A removal can mean an asset was disposed of, a declaration was corrected, or the member left parliament.

Company names are free text as written by the member. We link a declaration to an ASX listing only on an exact normalised match, a ticker the member stated, or a human-verified alias, so many declarations appear as text only. Real-estate declarations are suburb- or area-level; the registers contain no street addresses, and some declared locations do not map to a single ABS suburb.

Rows are declared as held by the member (“Self”), their spouse or partner, or a dependent child, exactly as the register records them. Members’ seats, parties and chambers change between parliaments.

Extracted from primary PDFs published by the Parliament of Australia; parliamentary material, © Commonwealth of Australia. Corrections are annotated, not silently applied. Not financial advice.