Parliament’s Portfolio

Malarndirri McCarthy

Malarndirri McCarthy

ALPSenator for NTparliaments 45–48
  • 45th–48th · Senator for NT · Labor

Portrait: Wikimedia Commons — Australian Government (CC BY 4.0). Not a Parliament of Australia image.

This page covers the 44th Parliament in full. The Registers of Senators’ Interests are tabled as combined Senate volumes, and the volumes covering this senator’s lodgements are ones we have not read into this site yet. An empty register here is our coverage gap — not a record that this senator declared nothing.

25
entries currently declared
0
ASX-listed companies named
4
real-estate declarations
5
liabilities entries
3
gifts and sponsored travel
19 Aug 2025
register last updated

Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.

About these counts

The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.

What is declared, at a glance

Declared categories
25current entries
  • Liability5
  • Accounts5
  • Real estate4
  • Other assets3
  • Office held3
  • Other (3)5
Declared categories
CategoryCount
Liability5
Accounts5
Real estate4
Other assets3
Office held3
Other income2
Gift2
Sponsored travel1
Total25
Who each entry is declared for
25current entries
  • Holder not stated25
Who each entry is declared for
CategoryCount
Holder not stated25
Total25

Entries declared over time

Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.

01325202120222023202420252026
Monthly declaration counts
MonthCount
2021-098
2021-1011
2021-1111
2021-1211
2022-0111
2022-0211
2022-0311
2022-0411
2022-0511
2022-0611
2022-0711
2022-0813
2022-0913
2022-1013
2022-1113
2022-1213
2023-0113
2023-0213
2023-0313
2023-0413
2023-0513
2023-0613
2023-0713
2023-0813
2023-0913
2023-1013
2023-1113
2023-1213
2024-0114
2024-0214
2024-0314
2024-0415
2024-0515
2024-0615
2024-0715
2024-0818
2024-0918
2024-1018
2024-1118
2024-1218
2025-0118
2025-0218
2025-0318
2025-0418
2025-0518
2025-0618
2025-0718
2025-0825
2025-0925
2025-1025
2025-1125
2025-1225
2026-0125
2026-0225
2026-0325
2026-0425
2026-0525
2026-0625
2026-0725
2026-0825

Declared interests

Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.

Showing 27 of 27 entries.

Declared entries from the Registers of Members’ and Senators’ Interests, in the register’s own words. No column is a quantity or a value; the registers record none.
Source

Real estate (5)

Nightcliff NT (Co-owned with spouse)
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Aug 2025PDF ↗
NT Co-owned residence
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Oct 2021PDF ↗
('Borroloola Commons') in the Northern Territory.
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗
The Northern Land Council records the following traditionalTraditional Owner
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗
Northern TerritoryInvestment
Holder not stated
9 Apr 2024 – 14 Oct 2024PDF ↗

Liability (5)

Mortgage on investment property - Larrakeyah, NT (Co-owned with spouse) Mortgage on residence - Nightcliff, NT (Co-owned with spouse) Personal loanCommonwealth Bank Commonwealth Bank Commonwealth Bank
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Aug 2025PDF ↗
Mortgage on co-owned residence, Larrakeyah, Northern Territory - Cth Bank Mortgage on co-owned residence, Nightcliff, Northern Territory - Cth Bank
Holder not stated
Declared since 15 Oct 2024PDF ↗
Personal loan Mortgage on co-owned residence, Larrakeyah, Northern TerritoryCommonwealth Bank Connective Home Loans
Holder not stated
Declared since 17 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Credit Card ANZ
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Oct 2021PDF ↗
Personal loanCBA
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗

Accounts (5)

Savings account Savings account (3)Commonwealth Bank ANZ
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Aug 2025PDF ↗
Savings account Savings accounts x 3Commonwealth Bank ANZ
Holder not stated
Declared since 17 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Savings account ANZ
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Oct 2021PDF ↗
Savings accountCBA
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗
Savings accounts X 2ANZ
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗

Other assets (3)

Club Wyndham South Pacific - vacation credits Superannuation - Public Sector Superannuation Accumulation Plan
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Aug 2025PDF ↗
Club Wyndham South Pacific - vacation credits
Holder not stated
Declared since 2 Jan 2024PDF ↗
Superannuation - Public Sector Superannuation Accumulation Plan
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗

Other income (3)

Rent from investment property (Larrakeyah, NT)
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Aug 2025PDF ↗
Rent from investment property (in Larrakeyah).
Holder not stated
Declared since 14 Oct 2024PDF ↗
Rent from investment property (in Nightcliff).
Holder not stated
12 Aug 2024 – 14 Oct 2024PDF ↗

Gift (2)

McKinnon Institute Leadership course at Adelaide Hills (previously declared)
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Aug 2025PDF ↗
McKinnon Institute Leadership course at Adelaide Hills
Holder not stated
Declared since 12 Aug 2024PDF ↗

Sponsored travel (1)

Qantas Chairman's Lounge membership Virgin Australia's The Club membership
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗

Office held (3)

Australian Labor Party NT Branch Emily's List Australia
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Aug 2025PDF ↗
Australian Labor Party NT Branch
Holder not stated
Declared since 13 Aug 2024PDF ↗
Emily's List
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗

Funding returns lodged with the AEC

Only returns that name this parliamentarian are shown. Money declared as given to a party, a branch or an associated entity is not shown here and is not attributable to any individual.

Election returns linked to this member

Returns this member is linked to, newest first. Linking is per return and exact — an election that does not appear here has not been shown to lack one.

  • 2016 Federal electionCandidateNorthern Territory, NT · Australian Labor Party (Northern Territory) BranchLodged as “McCARTHY, MalarndirriLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗

Annual member and senator returns are lodged by a small number of parliamentarians: the whole corpus holds 52 of them. Returns lodged by senators are linked to their profiles where the name on the lodged return matches the name we hold for them; where it does not, the return stays here unlinked rather than being attached to a guess. The Registers of Senators' Interests have not been read into this site yet, so a senator can appear here with a funding return and no declared interests beside it, which is a gap in our coverage rather than a record of what they declared. A parliamentarian with no return has not been shown to have received nothing — most never lodge one.

Amounts below the disclosure threshold in force for a given year are not published by the AEC and are absent from these figures. A low total means little was disclosed, not that little was received.

Source: AEC Transparency Register, reused under CC BY 4.0. © Commonwealth of Australia. The AEC does not endorse this site or its analysis.

Register of Members’ Interests / Register of Senators’ Interests, Parliament of Australia — as at 19 August 2025. Report an error

Method & caveats

Australian federal parliamentarians must declare certain interests in the Register of Members’ Interests (House of Representatives) and the Register of Senators’ Interests. For holdings — shares, real estate, trusts, liabilities, assets — the registers record what is held and do not record quantity, value, purchase price or income. Nothing on this page states or implies the size of any holding, any gain or loss, or any trading activity.

Two items are different, because the form itself asks for a value: gifts and sponsored travel. Where a member stated an amount there, it appears as they wrote it. That figure is the declared value of a gift or a trip — never the size of a holding, and never a total.

Dates are the dates a declaration appeared in, or was removed from, the register — not transaction dates. A removal can mean an asset was disposed of, a declaration was corrected, or the member left parliament.

Company names are free text as written by the member. We link a declaration to an ASX listing only on an exact normalised match, a ticker the member stated, or a human-verified alias, so many declarations appear as text only. Real-estate declarations are suburb- or area-level; the registers contain no street addresses, and some declared locations do not map to a single ABS suburb.

Rows are declared as held by the member (“Self”), their spouse or partner, or a dependent child, exactly as the register records them. Members’ seats, parties and chambers change between parliaments.

Extracted from primary PDFs published by the Parliament of Australia; parliamentary material, © Commonwealth of Australia. Corrections are annotated, not silently applied. Not financial advice.