Parliament’s Portfolio

Mark Butler

Mark Butler

ALPMember for HindmarshSAparliaments 44–48
  • 44th–45th · Member for Port Adelaide · Party not recorded
  • 46th–47th · Member for Hindmarsh · Party not recorded
  • 48th · Member for Hindmarsh · Labor

Portrait: Wikimedia Commons — Yu Chu Chin (CC BY-SA 4.0). Not a Parliament of Australia image.

This page covers the 44th, 45th and 48th Parliaments in full. We have read only part of the 46th and 47th Parliaments — this member’s own document may be among those still unread. An empty section below means we have no recorded entry — not that the member declared nothing.

108
entries currently declared
0
ASX-listed companies named
10
real-estate declarations
10
liabilities entries
46
gifts and sponsored travel
9 July 2026
register last updated

Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.

About these counts

The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.

What is declared, at a glance

Declared categories
108current entries
  • Gift37
  • Office held11
  • Real estate10
  • Liability10
  • Sponsored travel9
  • Other (5)31
Declared categories
CategoryCount
Gift37
Office held11
Real estate10
Liability10
Sponsored travel9
Accounts8
Other income8
Other interest8
Other assets6
Shareholdings1
Total108
Who each entry is declared for
108current entries
  • Self76
  • Spouse/partner29
  • Dependent child3
Who each entry is declared for
CategoryCount
Self76
Spouse/partner29
Dependent child3
Total108

Entries declared over time

Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.

059202120222023202420252026
Monthly declaration counts
MonthCount
2021-090
2021-100
2021-110
2021-120
2022-010
2022-020
2022-030
2022-040
2022-050
2022-060
2022-070
2022-080
2022-090
2022-100
2022-110
2022-120
2023-010
2023-020
2023-030
2023-040
2023-050
2023-060
2023-070
2023-080
2023-090
2023-100
2023-110
2023-120
2024-010
2024-020
2024-030
2024-040
2024-050
2024-060
2024-070
2024-080
2024-090
2024-100
2024-110
2024-120
2025-010
2025-020
2025-030
2025-040
2025-050
2025-060
2025-070
2025-080
2025-090
2025-100
2025-110
2025-122
2026-015
2026-025
2026-036
2026-046
2026-056
2026-067
2026-079
2026-089

99 entries without a stated date are not plotted.

Declared interests

Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.

Declared for

Showing 108 of 108 entries.

Declared entries from the Registers of Members’ and Senators’ Interests, in the register’s own words. No column is a quantity or a value; the registers record none.
Source

Shareholdings (1)

subscription to Foxtel from ASTRA — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Real estate (10)

- WOODVILLE PARK SA - KINGSTON
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
AS ABOVE -JOINT OWNERSHIP
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
As above, jointly ownedas above
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Grange (SA) SAResidential
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Grange (SA) SAInvestment
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Grange South Australia -investment
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Residential property in Grange - effective 7 March 2025
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Sole interestLocation: Grange SA Purpose: residential
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Woodville Park SAResidential (jointly owned)
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Woodville Park SA (half) Kingston ACT (half)both residential
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Liability (10)

AS ABOVE"
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
MORTGAGE ON RESIDENTIAL PROPERTIESMEMBERS EQUITY
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Mortgage - Westpace
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Mortgage on investment propertyWestpac
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Mortgage on investment propertyWestpac
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Mortgage on residential propertyWestpac
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Mortgage on residential propertyWestpac
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Mortgages on joint residencesMembers Equity
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Mortgages on residential propertiesMembers Equity
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
nature of liabilitymortgage on Grange Creditor: Members Equity
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Accounts (8)

SAVINGS ACCOUNTBANK SA
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
SAVINGS ACCOUNTWESTPAC
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
SavingsBank SA
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Savings (daughter)Bank SA
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Savings accountsNAB, ING and HSBC(UK)
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Savings accountsBank SA
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Savings accountsBank SA
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Savings x 2Westpac
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Other assets (6)

SUPERANNUATION - AUSTRALIAN SUPER
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
SUPERANNUATION - STATEWIDE
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Superannuation - Statewide Super
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Superannuation account with Australian Super
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Superannuation accounts with Australian Super and PSS
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Superannuation accounts with Australian Super, PSS and UK Pension
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Other income (8)

Engagement as a communications consultant with 89 Degrees East and freelance events work.
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Income as freelance media and communications professional
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Rental income and loss of rent insurance payments for Grange property from January 2022 to March 2023
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Salary income from employment with Santos Ltd
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Salary income from employment with Santos Ltd
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Self employed as a communications consultant, events MC.
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Spouse - Freelance events work
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
payment for freelance work in Arts administration
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Gift (37)

Fred Hollows Foundation - Indigenous Art piece
Self
Declared since 9 July 202648P ↗
The Australian - 2 x tickets for the Mid-Winter Ball Canberra
Self
Declared since 9 July 202648P ↗
WOMADelaide - 2 x Guest weekend passes
Self
Declared since 12 Mar 202648P ↗
Cricket Australia - 2 x tickets - Ashes Pink Test Day Three- Australia v
Self
Declared since 13 Jan 202648P ↗
England Virgin Australia - Forever Gold Status membership
Self
Declared since 13 Jan 202648P ↗
FIFA - 2 x tickets Australia v France
Self
Declared since 14 Dec 202548P ↗
2 tickets for Mid-Winter Ball South Australia from Lion
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
2 tickets for School of Rock the Musical
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
2 tickets from the AFL - Port Adelaide v Geelong
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
2 tickets from the AFL - official function and game - Port v GWS
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
2 tickets from the AFL Gather Round - Pt Adelaide v Western Bulldogs
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
2 tickets from the SANFL - official function and game - Port v Adel
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
2 x 4 day passes for WOMAdelaide
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
2 x VIP tickets Australian Open Men's Final - Tennis Australia
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
A bottle of "Rare Millesime 2002" champagne from Qantas
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
AFL - 2 tickets - Pt Adelaide v Geelong Cats; AFL - 2 tickets - Pt Adelaide v Hawthorn; AFL - 2 tickets - Pt Adelaide v Sydney Swans
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
ASTRA - Foxtel yearly subscription
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Adelaide Festival Centre - 2 passes for West Side Story
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Adelaide Showground - 2 passes for the Royal Adelaide Show
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Airport lounge membership from Qantas and Virgin
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Bottle of Francis Coppola Sauvignon Blanc from the US Consulate
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Bottle of Shiraz Gin received from the Hickinbotham Group
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Cricket Australia - 2 x tickets Australia v India - Adelaide Oval
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Cricket Australia - 2 x tickets to Pink Test - Australia v India Sydney 5.1.25
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Financial Review - 2 tickets for Mid-Winter Ball Canberra
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Qantas & Virgin Airport Lounge memberships
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Qantas & Virgin Airport Lounge memberships
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Qantas - Club membership - Ms Ritorto
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
SA Tourist Commission - 1 day pass LIV Golf
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Silver turtle paperweight received from the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Subscription for Foxtel in electorate office Airport lounge memberships from Qantas and Virgin
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Subscription for Foxtel in electorate office from ASTRAAirport loung memberships from Qantas and Virgin
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Subscription for Foxtel in electorate office from ASTRA; Airport lounge memberships from Qantas and Virgin
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
U.S. Consul General - Bottle of Francis Coppola 2017 Claret Sauvignon
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Virgin - Club membership - Ms Ritorto
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
WOMAdelaide - 2 x 4 day passes
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
WOMAdelaide 2 x 4 day passes
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Sponsored travel (9)

Received a Qantas business class upgrade for personal flight 7 June 2026
Self
Declared since 16 June 202648P ↗
McGrath Foundation - 2 x tickets - Jane McGrath High Tea
Self
Declared since 13 Jan 202648P ↗
Lifetime Platinum Status Membership from Qantas
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Luncheon provided by The Advertiser 19 December
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
McGrath Foundation High Tea and VIP Cricket tickets x 2 - 5 December
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Premier of South Australia - Hon Peter Malinauskas MP - 2 x tickets to State Dinner VAILO Adelaide 500
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Qantas - credited 15,000 Qantas points to Frequent Flyer account due to flight disruption delay Alice Springs-Adelaide
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Received from Qantas a business class upgrade for a personal flight on 29 July 2023.
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Renewed Qantas Chairman's Lounge Membership - Mark Butler MP and Daniela Ritorto
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Office held (11)

Australian Labor PartyProgressive Left unions & sub-branches (PLUS)
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Australian Labor Party
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Australian Services UnionRAA
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Friends of SA maritime museumPort Districts Football Club
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Port Adelaide Football Club
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Port Adelaide Football ClubPatron, Eliza districts tennis Assoc.
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Port Dolphin safe Assoc.Aust marine wildlife Rescue org.
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
United VoiceSemaphore mainstreet Association
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
United Voice, Port Adelaide Football Club, Australian Labor Party, Progressive Left Unions - Sub-branches
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
United Voice; Port Adelaide Football Club; RSL (Semaphore and Port Adelaide Sub-branch); Progressive Left Unions and Sub-branches (PLUS); Australian Labor Party
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
United Workers Union; Port Adelaide Football Club; RSL (Semaphore and Port Adelaide Sub- Branch); Progressive Left Unions and Sub-branches (PLUS); Australian Labor Party
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗

Other interest (8)

My partner has been appointed a Board Member of the Adelaide Festival of Arts.
Spouse/partner
Declared since 11 Dec 202548P ↗
Chair, Advisory Committee for Centre for Research Excellence in Trans-disciplinary Frailty Research
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Chair, Advisory Committee for Centre of Research Excellence in Trans-Disciplinary Frailty Research
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Member of a private health insurance fund
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
My partner conducts freelance work as a media and communications professional
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
My partner is employed as Manager - Media and Communications by Santos Ltd
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
My partner is engaged as a communications consultant with 89 Degrees East
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
My partner is self employed as a communications consultant and events MC.
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗

Funding returns lodged with the AEC

Only returns that name this parliamentarian are shown. Money declared as given to a party, a branch or an associated entity is not shown here and is not attributable to any individual.

Election returns linked to this member

Returns this member is linked to, newest first. Linking is per return and exact — an election that does not appear here has not been shown to lack one.

  • 2025 Federal ElectionCandidateHindmarsh, SA · Australian Labor Party (South Australian Branch)Lodged as “BUTLER, Mark ChristopherLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2022 Federal electionCandidateHindmarsh, SA · Australian Labor Party (South Australian Branch)Lodged as “BUTLER, Mark ChristopherLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2019 Federal electionCandidateHindmarsh, SA · Australian Labor Party (South Australian Branch)Lodged as “BUTLER, Mark ChristopherLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2016 Federal electionCandidatePort Adelaide, SA · Australian Labor Party (South Australian Branch)Lodged as “BUTLER, Mark ChristopherLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2013 Federal electionCandidatePort Adelaide, SA · Australian Labor Party (South Australian Branch)Lodged as “BUTLER, Mark ChristopherLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗

Annual member and senator returns are lodged by a small number of parliamentarians: the whole corpus holds 52 of them. Returns lodged by senators are linked to their profiles where the name on the lodged return matches the name we hold for them; where it does not, the return stays here unlinked rather than being attached to a guess. The Registers of Senators' Interests have not been read into this site yet, so a senator can appear here with a funding return and no declared interests beside it, which is a gap in our coverage rather than a record of what they declared. A parliamentarian with no return has not been shown to have received nothing — most never lodge one.

Amounts below the disclosure threshold in force for a given year are not published by the AEC and are absent from these figures. A low total means little was disclosed, not that little was received.

Source: AEC Transparency Register, reused under CC BY 4.0. © Commonwealth of Australia. The AEC does not endorse this site or its analysis.

Suburbs represented

Suburbs in Hindmarsh. Representing a suburb has nothing to do with owning anything in it.

58 suburbs

Adelaide Airport · Albert Park (SA) · Alberton (SA) · Athol Park · Beverley (SA) · Birkenhead · Brooklyn Park · Camden Park (SA) · Cheltenham (SA) · Ethelton · Exeter (SA) · Findon · Flinders Park · Fulham (SA) · Fulham Gardens · Garden Island (SA) · Gillman · Glanville · Grange (SA) · Hendon (SA) · Henley Beach · Henley Beach South · Kidman Park · Largs Bay · Largs North · Lockleys · Netley · New Port · North Haven (SA) · North Plympton · Novar Gardens · Osborne (SA) · Ottoway · Outer Harbor · Pennington · Peterhead · Port Adelaide · Queenstown (SA) · Rosewater · Royal Park · Seaton (SA) · Semaphore · Semaphore Park · Semaphore South · St Clair (SA) · Taperoo · Tennyson (SA) · Torrens Island · West Beach (SA) · West Lakes · West Lakes Shore · West Richmond · Wingfield · Woodville (SA) · Woodville North · Woodville Park · Woodville South · Woodville West

Register of Members’ Interests / Register of Senators’ Interests, Parliament of Australia — as at 9 July 2026. Report an error

Method & caveats

Australian federal parliamentarians must declare certain interests in the Register of Members’ Interests (House of Representatives) and the Register of Senators’ Interests. For holdings — shares, real estate, trusts, liabilities, assets — the registers record what is held and do not record quantity, value, purchase price or income. Nothing on this page states or implies the size of any holding, any gain or loss, or any trading activity.

Two items are different, because the form itself asks for a value: gifts and sponsored travel. Where a member stated an amount there, it appears as they wrote it. That figure is the declared value of a gift or a trip — never the size of a holding, and never a total.

Dates are the dates a declaration appeared in, or was removed from, the register — not transaction dates. A removal can mean an asset was disposed of, a declaration was corrected, or the member left parliament.

Company names are free text as written by the member. We link a declaration to an ASX listing only on an exact normalised match, a ticker the member stated, or a human-verified alias, so many declarations appear as text only. Real-estate declarations are suburb- or area-level; the registers contain no street addresses, and some declared locations do not map to a single ABS suburb.

Rows are declared as held by the member (“Self”), their spouse or partner, or a dependent child, exactly as the register records them. Members’ seats, parties and chambers change between parliaments.

Extracted from primary PDFs published by the Parliament of Australia; parliamentary material, © Commonwealth of Australia. Corrections are annotated, not silently applied. Not financial advice.