Parliament’s Portfolio

Matt Burnell

Matt Burnell

ALPMember for SpenceSAparliaments 47–48
  • 47th · Member for Spence · Party not recorded
  • 48th · Member for Spence · Labor

Portrait: Wikimedia Commons — Government of South Australia (Veterans SA) (CC BY 4.0). Not a Parliament of Australia image.

This page covers the 44th, 45th and 48th Parliaments in full. We have read only part of the 46th and 47th Parliaments — this member’s own document may be among those still unread. An empty section below means we have no recorded entry — not that the member declared nothing.

40
entries currently declared
0
ASX-listed companies named
1
real-estate declarations
2
liabilities entries
11
gifts and sponsored travel
11 Apr 2026
register last updated

Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.

About these counts

The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.

What is declared, at a glance

Declared categories
40current entries
  • Office held18
  • Gift10
  • Accounts4
  • Liability2
  • Bonds2
  • Other (3)4
Declared categories
CategoryCount
Office held18
Gift10
Accounts4
Liability2
Bonds2
Other income2
Real estate1
Sponsored travel1
Total40
Who each entry is declared for
40current entries
  • Self16
  • Spouse/partner10
  • Dependent child1
  • Holder not stated13
Who each entry is declared for
CategoryCount
Self16
Spouse/partner10
Dependent child1
Holder not stated13
Total40

Entries declared over time

Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.

01223202120222023202420252026
Monthly declaration counts
MonthCount
2021-090
2021-100
2021-110
2021-120
2022-010
2022-020
2022-030
2022-040
2022-050
2022-060
2022-070
2022-080
2022-090
2022-100
2022-110
2022-120
2023-011
2023-021
2023-031
2023-041
2023-055
2023-065
2023-075
2023-085
2023-095
2023-105
2023-115
2023-125
2024-0111
2024-0211
2024-0311
2024-0413
2024-0513
2024-0613
2024-0713
2024-0813
2024-0913
2024-1013
2024-1113
2024-1213
2025-0113
2025-0213
2025-0313
2025-0413
2025-0513
2025-0613
2025-0713
2025-0813
2025-0913
2025-1015
2025-1115
2025-1216
2026-0116
2026-0220
2026-0321
2026-0423
2026-0523
2026-0623
2026-0723
2026-0823

17 entries without a stated date are not plotted.

Declared interests

Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.

Declared for

Showing 40 of 40 entries.

Declared entries from the Registers of Members’ and Senators’ Interests, in the register’s own words. No column is a quantity or a value; the registers record none.
Source

Real estate (1)

Willaston South Austalia
Self
Declared since 4 Feb 202648P ↗

Liability (2)

Personal Loan (Jointly held with spouse) Unity Bank
Self
Declared since 13 Feb 202648P ↗
Personal LoanANZ Bank
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Bonds (2)

CryptocurrencyPi Network (Pi)
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
CryptocurrencyPi Network (Pi)
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗

Accounts (4)

Mortgage on principal place of residence (Jointly held with spouse) Unity Bank
Self
Declared since 4 Feb 202648P ↗
SavingsANZ Bank
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Savings Account (Held jointly with spouse) Savings Account SuperannuationANZ Bank ANZ Bank Team Super
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Savings Superannuation SuperannuationANZ Bank Commonwealth Superannuation Corporation (Public Sector Superannuation accumulation plan) Super SA (Triple S Scheme)
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗

Other income (2)

Employment - Department of Treasury and Finance, Government of South Australia
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Employment - State Government
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Gift (10)

2 x Tickets to Comwire IT Club hospitality at Adelaide United Football Club v Wellington Phoenix on Friday 6 March 2026. Supplied by: Adelaide United Football Club. Value: Approximately $310 per ticket.
Self
Declared since 31 Mar 202648P ↗
Kangaroo Plaited Stockwhip from R.M. Williams Pty Ltd
Self
Declared since 19 Dec 202548P ↗
5 x Tickets to Australian Diamonds v South African Proteas netball on 12 October 2025 provided by Suncorp Group Ltd. Comparable tickets valued at approximately $60 each. Tickets were received on 30 September 2025. All 5 tickets were donated to the Northern Bombers Netball Club Inc.
Self
Declared since 21 Oct 202548P ↗
Qantas Chairman's Lounge Membership
Holder not stated
Declared since 12 Jan 202447P ↗
Spouse/Partner - Qantas Gold Frequent Flyer Membership
Holder not stated
Declared since 12 Jan 202447P ↗
Beyond Club - Virgin Australia
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Beyond Club - Virgin Australia
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Qantas - Chairman's Lounge Membership Virgin Australia - Beyond Club Membership
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Virgin Australia - Beyond Club Membership
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
children from family members or personal friends in a purely personal capacity need not be
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Sponsored travel (1)

Delegation of Parliamentarians as part of the Australian Regional Leadership Initiative to Kenya. 3 December 2022 - 10 December 2022. Economy Class return flights, local travel and local accommodation were provided by Save the Children Australia with funding received from the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation. The total aggregated value of travel and/or hospitality provided as part of the Delegation is unknown.
Holder not stated
Declared since 9 Jan 202347P ↗

Office held (18)

Patron, Women in Government Relations Australia
Self
Declared since 11 Apr 202648P ↗
Member, Willaston 'Donnybrooks' Football Club
Self
Declared since 8 Apr 202648P ↗
Offset Account (Jointly held with spouse) Unity Bank Member, Playford City Soccer and Community Club Inc (Playford Patriots)
Self
Declared since 4 Feb 202648P ↗
Member, National Press Club of Australia
Self
Declared since 31 Oct 202548P ↗
Salisbury Bowling Club Inc - Patron
Holder not stated
Declared since 18 Apr 202447P ↗
Shop, Distributive & Allied Employees’ Association (SA/NT Branch)
Holder not stated
Declared since 18 Apr 202447P ↗
Australian Labor Party (SA Branch)
Holder not stated
Declared since 12 Jan 202447P ↗
Royal Victorian Regiment Association
Holder not stated
Declared since 12 Jan 202447P ↗
Salisbury North Football Club
Holder not stated
Declared since 12 Jan 202447P ↗
Spouse/Partner - Australian Labor Party (SA Branch)
Holder not stated
Declared since 12 Jan 202447P ↗
Central Districts Football Club - Member
Holder not stated
Declared since 4 May 202347P ↗
Gawler Agricultural, Horticultural & Floricultural Society Inc - Patron
Holder not stated
Declared since 4 May 202347P ↗
Lions Club of Paralowie Inc - Member
Holder not stated
Declared since 4 May 202347P ↗
Returned Services' League (Gawler Sub-Branch) Inc - Member
Holder not stated
Declared since 4 May 202347P ↗
Australian Services Union Membership
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Member, Australian Labor Party (South Australian Branch) Member, Australian Services Union (SA/NT Branch) Member, Returned Services’ League (Gawler Sub Branch) Inc Member, Australian Conservation Foundation Inc
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Member, Australian Labor Party (South Australian Branch) Member, Transport Workers’ Union of Australia (SA/NT Branch) Member, Shop Distributive & Allied Employees Association (SA/NT Branch) Associate Member, Maritime Union of Australia (SA Branch) Member, Labor Unity SA Inc Patron, Gawler Agricultural, Horticultural & Floricultural Society Inc Member, Royal Victoria Regiment Association Patron, Salisbury Bowling Club Inc Member, Central Districts Football Club Inc Member, Air Force Association (South Australia) Inc Member, Returned Services’ League (Gawler Sub Branch) Inc Member, Salisbury North Football Club Inc Member, The Lions Club of Paralowie Inc Member, Gawler Central Football Club Member, Australian Parliament Sports Club Member, Salisbury Business Association Inc
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Transport Workers' Union of Australia SA/NT Branch Membership Maritime Union of Australia Associate Membership
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Suburbs represented

Suburbs in Spence. Representing a suburb has nothing to do with owning anything in it.

63 suburbs

Andrews Farm · Angle Vale · Bibaringa · Blakeview · Bolivar · Brahma Lodge · Buchfelde · Buckland Park · Burton (SA) · Concordia · Craigmore · Davoren Park · Direk · Edinburgh · Edinburgh North · Elizabeth · Elizabeth Downs · Elizabeth East · Elizabeth Grove · Elizabeth North · Elizabeth Park · Elizabeth South · Elizabeth Vale · Evanston · Evanston Gardens · Evanston Park · Evanston South · Eyre · Gawler (SA) · Gawler Belt · Gawler East · Gawler South · Gawler West · Hewett · Hillbank · Hillier · Humbug Scrub · Kalbeeba · Kudla · Macdonald Park · Munno Para · Munno Para Downs · Munno Para West · One Tree Hill · Paralowie · Penfield · Penfield Gardens · Reid (SA) · Salisbury (SA) · Salisbury Downs · Salisbury North · Salisbury Park · Salisbury Plain · Salisbury South · Sampson Flat · Smithfield (SA) · Smithfield Plains · St Kilda (SA) · Uleybury · Virginia (SA) · Waterloo Corner · Willaston · Yattalunga (SA)

Register of Members’ Interests / Register of Senators’ Interests, Parliament of Australia — as at 11 April 2026. Report an error

Method & caveats

Australian federal parliamentarians must declare certain interests in the Register of Members’ Interests (House of Representatives) and the Register of Senators’ Interests. For holdings — shares, real estate, trusts, liabilities, assets — the registers record what is held and do not record quantity, value, purchase price or income. Nothing on this page states or implies the size of any holding, any gain or loss, or any trading activity.

Two items are different, because the form itself asks for a value: gifts and sponsored travel. Where a member stated an amount there, it appears as they wrote it. That figure is the declared value of a gift or a trip — never the size of a holding, and never a total.

Dates are the dates a declaration appeared in, or was removed from, the register — not transaction dates. A removal can mean an asset was disposed of, a declaration was corrected, or the member left parliament.

Company names are free text as written by the member. We link a declaration to an ASX listing only on an exact normalised match, a ticker the member stated, or a human-verified alias, so many declarations appear as text only. Real-estate declarations are suburb- or area-level; the registers contain no street addresses, and some declared locations do not map to a single ABS suburb.

Rows are declared as held by the member (“Self”), their spouse or partner, or a dependent child, exactly as the register records them. Members’ seats, parties and chambers change between parliaments.

Extracted from primary PDFs published by the Parliament of Australia; parliamentary material, © Commonwealth of Australia. Corrections are annotated, not silently applied. Not financial advice.