Parliament’s Portfolio

Matt Canavan

Matt Canavan

NPSenator for QLDparliaments 44–48
  • 44th–48th · Senator for QLD · Nationals

Portrait: Wikimedia Commons — Pellowe Talk (CC BY 3.0). Not a Parliament of Australia image.

The Registers of Senators’ Interests are tabled as combined Senate volumes, and the volumes covering this senator’s lodgements are ones we have not read into this site yet. An empty register here is our coverage gap — not a record that this senator declared nothing.

68
entries currently declared
0
ASX-listed companies named
3
real-estate declarations
5
liabilities entries
43
gifts and sponsored travel
22 Dec 2025
register last updated

Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.

About these counts

The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.

What is declared, at a glance

Declared categories
68current entries
  • Sponsored travel25
  • Gift18
  • Other interest6
  • Liability5
  • Other assets5
  • Other (3)9
Declared categories
CategoryCount
Sponsored travel25
Gift18
Other interest6
Liability5
Other assets5
Real estate3
Accounts3
Office held3
Total68
Who each entry is declared for
68current entries
  • Holder not stated68
Who each entry is declared for
CategoryCount
Holder not stated68
Total68

Entries declared over time

Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.

03468202120222023202420252026
Monthly declaration counts
MonthCount
2021-1026
2021-1126
2021-1226
2022-0126
2022-0227
2022-0328
2022-0429
2022-0529
2022-0629
2022-0729
2022-0837
2022-0937
2022-1037
2022-1137
2022-1238
2023-0138
2023-0238
2023-0338
2023-0439
2023-0539
2023-0640
2023-0741
2023-0844
2023-0944
2023-1044
2023-1145
2023-1245
2024-0145
2024-0245
2024-0345
2024-0445
2024-0545
2024-0645
2024-0746
2024-0850
2024-0950
2024-1050
2024-1150
2024-1253
2025-0154
2025-0255
2025-0357
2025-0457
2025-0557
2025-0658
2025-0758
2025-0863
2025-0963
2025-1064
2025-1164
2025-1268
2026-0168
2026-0268
2026-0368
2026-0468
2026-0568
2026-0668
2026-0768
2026-0868
2026-0968

Declared interests

Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.

Showing 70 of 70 entries.

Declared entries from the Registers of Members’ and Senators’ Interests, in the register’s own words. No column is a quantity or a value; the registers record none.
Source

Real estate (3)

Macquarie ACTResidential
Holder not stated
Declared since 18 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Yeppoon QLDPrincipal place of residence
Holder not stated
Declared since 18 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Macquarie ACT - Residence
Holder not stated
Declared since 17 Feb 2020PDF ↗

Liability (5)

Mortgage on principal residenceCommonwealth Bank
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Aug 2025PDF ↗
Mortgage on principal place of residenceCommonwealth Bank
Holder not stated
Declared since 18 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Mortgage on residenceCommonwealth Bank
Holder not stated
Declared since 18 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Mortgage on residence - Commonwealth Bank Mortgage on principal place of residence - Commonwealth Bank
Holder not stated
Declared since 17 Feb 2020PDF ↗
Mortgage on investment propertyCommonwealth Bank
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗

Accounts (3)

Savings SavingsCommonwealth Bank Coin Spot
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Aug 2025PDF ↗
SavingsCommonwealth Bank
Holder not stated
Declared since 18 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Savings Savings SavingsCommonwealth Bank HSBC ING
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗

Other assets (5)

Superannuation - Australian Super; SmartMonday PRIME TESF
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Aug 2025PDF ↗
Superannuation: Australian Super; SmartMonday PRIME TESF; Public Sector Superannuation
Holder not stated
Declared since 18 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Australian Super SmartMonday PRIME TESF
Holder not stated
Declared since 17 Feb 2020PDF ↗
Australian Super
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 2019PDF ↗
Public Sector Superannuation Scheme UniSuper The Executive Superannuation Fund
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗

Other income (1)

Rental income from investment property
Holder not stated
29 July 2019 – 17 Feb 2020PDF ↗

Gift (18)

10 x mounted pieces of coal provided by Bravus Mining and Resources
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 Dec 2025PDF ↗
Two tickets provided by the Menzies Research Centre to attend 'An Evening with Boris Johnson' on 5 December 2024
Holder not stated
Declared since 10 Dec 2024PDF ↗
Venue hire for 10th anniversary event was provided by The Paddock Yeppoon
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 Aug 2024PDF ↗
12 x bottles of wine provided by David Foote and Trevor Lee as a gift for 10th anniversary
Holder not stated
Declared since 9 Aug 2024PDF ↗
1 x bottle of Henschke Mount Edelstone 2016 Shiraz was provided as a gift from the Minerals Council of Australia on the occasion of 10th anniversary
Holder not stated
Declared since 8 Aug 2024PDF ↗
Beer and wine provided by the Retail Guild of Australia for 10th anniversary celebration held on 18 July 2024
Holder not stated
Declared since 8 Aug 2024PDF ↗
3 x tickets for the Australian Freedom Concert featuring Tucker Carlson in Brisbane and 4 x tickets for the Australian Freedom Concert featuring Tucker Carlson in Cairns provided Mineralogy Pty Ltd
Holder not stated
Declared since 25 July 2024PDF ↗
Decorative glass plate and box of green tea received as a gift from Mr Elliott Charng, Taipei Economic and Cultural Office in Australia
Holder not stated
Declared since 5 June 2023PDF ↗
Donation of embroidery on nine (9) shirts valued at $172.50 by Southern Cross Brands
Holder not stated
Declared since 27 Apr 2022PDF ↗
Mr Enoch Ren provided three (3) gifts packs of assorted tea - these packs have been donated to local community organisations to assist with fundraising efforts
Holder not stated
Declared since 28 Mar 2022PDF ↗
Royal Duke Holdings provided two (2) bottles of 2016 Vosne-Romanee Mongeard- mugneret wine - both bottles of wine have been donated to local community organisations to support fundraising efforts
Holder not stated
Declared since 21 Feb 2022PDF ↗
Commemorative plaque - mounted piece of the first coal extracted from Carmichael Mine - presented by Bravus Mining & Resources 100 grams of coal: approximately 1 cent plinth and plaque: $30 Secure livelihoods for 1000's of Aussie coal miners and their families: priceless
Holder not stated
Declared since 24 Sept 2021PDF ↗
Complimentary subscription to Eikon
Holder not stated
Declared since 17 Sept 2021PDF ↗
Donation of embroidery on four (4) shirts valued at $80.90 by Southern Cross Brands
Holder not stated
Declared since 17 May 2021PDF ↗
Donation of embroidery on seven (7) shirts valued at $156.50 by Southern Cross Brands
Holder not stated
Declared since 17 Nov 2020PDF ↗
Hancock Agriculture provided a meat pack valued at $228 which was dontated to St Brendans College for their ''Eddies Van'' - a weekly service providing meals to vulnerable people
Holder not stated
Declared since 21 Apr 2020PDF ↗
Qantas supplied a 750ml bottle of Piper Heidsieck Rare Millesime 2002 Champagne Kansai Power supplied a 720ml bottle of Extra Premium Japanese Rice Wine (Sake)
Holder not stated
Declared since 17 Feb 2020PDF ↗
Gilbert & Tobin Lawyers supplied a 700ml Bottle of Gin
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗

Sponsored travel (26)

One night's accommodation in Dubbo on 29 November 2025 was provided by Jamie Chaffey MP
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 Dec 2025PDF ↗
One night's accommodation in Wauchope on 6 December 2025 was provided by Alison Penfold MP
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 Dec 2025PDF ↗
Two night's accommodation in Adelaide on 15 and 16 December 2025 was provided by the South Australian Liberal Party
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 Dec 2025PDF ↗
Two corporate and two general admission tickets were provided by the Brisbane Broncos to attend the 2025 NRLW and NRL preliminary final at Suncorp Stadium on 28 September 2025
Holder not stated
Declared since 10 Oct 2025PDF ↗
Two corporate box tickets to attend the Rockhampton Rockets Basketball NBL1 game on 30 May 2025 were provided by Bravus.
Holder not stated
Declared since 16 June 2025PDF ↗
Two tickets for The Deck@Thirteen at the Australian Grand Prix on 15 March 2025 provided by Motorsport Australia
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Mar 2025PDF ↗
One night's accommodation and transport in Sydney on 26 February 2025 provided by India Australia Strategic Alliance
Holder not stated
Declared since 4 Mar 2025PDF ↗
The Alliance for Responsible Citizenship provided economy class airfares from Brisbane to London and return, 4 nights accommodation, conference fees, meals (including official dinners) and ground transport from accommodation to London airport, from 16 to 20 February 2025, to support attendance at ARC Conference.
Holder not stated
Declared since 25 Feb 2025PDF ↗
Accommodation and transport from 2 January 2025 to 4 January 2025 in Udaipur provided by Mr Jeyakuma Janakaraj Accommodation, meals and transport from 5 January 2025 to 7 January 2025 in Jodhpur provided by Dr. Lime Accommodation, meals and transport from 8 January 2025 to 11 January 2025 in New Delhi provided by the India-Australia Strategic Alliance
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 Jan 2025PDF ↗
A variety of seafood and alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages supplied for the Nationals Seafood BBQ luncheon held at Parliament House, Canberra on 26 November 2024. Seafood supplied by: Sydney Fish Market, Koorana Crocodile Farm, and Australian Ocean King Prawn Company Beverages supplied by: Retail Guild of Australia Inc
Holder not stated
Declared since 10 Dec 2024PDF ↗
Two nights' accommodation in Mt Lofty; bus travel from accommodation to Adelaide airport and return; air travel from Adelaide to Moomba and return provided by Hancock Prospecting to facilitate attendance at the National Mining and Related Industries Day Gala Dinner on 22 November 2024
Holder not stated
Declared since 10 Dec 2024PDF ↗
The Alliance for Responsible Citizenship provided economy class airfares from Brisbane to London and return, accommodation, conference fees, meals (including official dinners) and ground transport from accommodation to London airport, to support attendance at the ARC Conference between October 30 and November 1 2023.
Holder not stated
Declared since 8 Nov 2023PDF ↗
Virgin Australia has provided membership of its Beyond Lounge
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Aug 2023PDF ↗
Football Australia provided 5 general admission tickets to the Women's World Cup game between England and Haiti in Brisbane on 22 July 2023
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 Aug 2023PDF ↗
Qantas has provided membership of its Chairman's Lounge
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 Aug 2023PDF ↗
Cricket Australia provided three (3) general admission tickets and one (1) ticket to its corporate hospitality suite for Day 3 (Friday, 30 June 2023) of the Men’s Ashes Test Match between Australia and England at Lord’s Cricket Ground.
Holder not stated
Declared since 27 July 2023PDF ↗
Motorsport Australia provided two tickets to the Formula 1 Grand Prix in Melbourne on 2 April 2023
Holder not stated
Declared since 28 Apr 2023PDF ↗
A variety of seafood and alcoholic beverages supplied for the Annual Nationals Seafood BBQ luncheon held at Parliament House, Canberra on 22 November 2022 Seafood supplied by: Sydney Fish Market, Koorana Crocodile Farm, Australian Ocean King Prawn Company, Urangan Fisheries Beverages supplied by Retail Guild of Australia Inc
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Dec 2022PDF ↗
Retail Guild of Australia Inc donated alcohol and softdrinks for the Seafood Night hosted by the Nationals Senate Team in Parliament House on 8/12/2020
Holder not stated
Declared since 12 July 2022PDF ↗
Two tickets for the Rockhampton Rockets/Cyclones vs Gold Coast Basketball match on Saturday 12 June 2021, were provided by Rockhampton Basketball Incorporated for seating in the Bravus Mining and Resources corporate box at the Rockhampton Basketball stadium.
Holder not stated
Declared since 24 June 2021PDF ↗
Complimentary tickets to Beef Week 2021 functions: Monday 3 May 2021 Celebrity Chef Lunch presented by NH Foods Beef, Beer and Bubbles with Telstra BBQ Event hosted by CQ University Rabobank Beef Industry Awards presented by Queensland Country Life Tuesday 4 May 2021 JCU Beef Australia 2021 presented by Australian Rural Leadership Forum Beef Week 2021 Welcome Reception ANZ National Beef Carcase Competition Awards Dinner Wednesday 5 May 2021 McCullough Robertson Beef Week Breakfast Shanahan Swaffield Partners Beef Week Networking Function Qld Beef Corridors Campaign Launch & Formal Dinner hosted by Central Highlands Development Corporation Thursday 6 May 2021 Beef Week Breakfast hosted by Rural Press Club Friday 7 May 2021 Celebrity Chef lunch presented by Signature Beef
Holder not stated
Declared since 20 May 2021PDF ↗
One (1) nights accommodation and meals at Newcastle Waters NT provided by Twelve (12) nights accommodation in Darwin NT provided by Mr Ray Bail
Holder not stated
Declared since 27 Aug 2020PDF ↗
Two tickets (Sponsors Grandstand) to Rocky Rumble 20 on 29.2.2020 were supplied by Hampton Villa Motel.
Holder not stated
Declared since 20 Mar 2020PDF ↗
A variety of seafood and alcohol was supplied by the following companies for the Annual Nationals Seafood BBQ luncheon held at Parliament House, Canberra on 3 December 2019. Seafood supplied by Koorana Crocodile Farm, the Australian Ocean King Prawn Company, Urangan Fisheries, Austral Fisheries, and the Sydney Fish Market. Alcohol supplied by Metcash Ltd.
Holder not stated
Declared since 7 Jan 2020PDF ↗
26 July 2019 - 6.15am to 7.55am QF1562 Canberra to Brisbane flight, Airline Ref: PDSD3B, upgraded from economy to business
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗
Metcash Ltd donated alcohol and softdrinks for the Seafood Night hosted by the Nationals Senate Team in Parliament House on 8/12/2020
Holder not stated
12 Jan 2021 – 12 July 2022PDF ↗

Office held (3)

Private donation - Capricorn Coast Football Club
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Aug 2025PDF ↗
Private donations - Campion College
Holder not stated
Declared since 18 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Parliamentary representative on the Page Research Centre Board, effective 7 May 2020
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 May 2020PDF ↗

Other interest (6)

Member - Liberal National Party (LNP) Queensland Member - Institute of Public Affairs (IPA) Member - Cherish Life QLD Member - Australian Parliament Sports Club Member - Parliamentary Branch, Commonwealth Parliamentary Association Chairman's Lounge membership provided by Qantas Beyond Lounge membership provided by Virgin Australia Complimentary annual subscription provided by Foxtel for Electorate Office
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Aug 2025PDF ↗
Member - Liberal National Party (LNP) Queensland Member - Institute of Public Affairs (IPA) Member - Cherish Life (Qld) Member - Australian Parliament Sports Club Member - Parliamentary Branch, Commonwealth Parliamentary Association
Holder not stated
Declared since 18 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Membership of Cherish Life Queensland renewed for 2021
Holder not stated
Declared since 17 May 2021PDF ↗
Member of the GKI Progress Association
Holder not stated
Declared since 2 Mar 2021PDF ↗
Member of Liberal National Party (LNP) Queensland Member of Institute of Public Affairs (IPA) Member of Cherish Life (Qld)
Holder not stated
Declared since 17 Feb 2020PDF ↗
I have held a ‘Super Star’ supporter membership of the North Queensland Cowboys (rugby league team based in Townsville, Qld) since 2017. This level of membership is applicable for this level of membership as follows: 2017 - $39 2018 - $45 2019 - $49 2020 - $55
Holder not stated
Declared since 6 Feb 2020PDF ↗

Funding returns lodged with the AEC

Only returns that name this parliamentarian are shown. Money declared as given to a party, a branch or an associated entity is not shown here and is not attributable to any individual.

Election returns linked to this member

Returns this member is linked to, newest first. Linking is per return and exact — an election that does not appear here has not been shown to lack one.

  • 2013 Federal electionCandidateQueensland, QLD · Liberal National Party of QueenslandLodged as “CANAVAN, Matthew JamesLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗

Annual member and senator returns are lodged by a small number of parliamentarians: the whole corpus holds 52 of them. Returns lodged by senators are linked to their profiles where the name on the lodged return matches the name we hold for them; where it does not, the return stays here unlinked rather than being attached to a guess. The Registers of Senators' Interests have not been read into this site yet, so a senator can appear here with a funding return and no declared interests beside it, which is a gap in our coverage rather than a record of what they declared. A parliamentarian with no return has not been shown to have received nothing — most never lodge one.

Amounts below the disclosure threshold in force for a given year are not published by the AEC and are absent from these figures. A low total means little was disclosed, not that little was received.

Source: AEC Transparency Register, reused under CC BY 4.0. © Commonwealth of Australia. The AEC does not endorse this site or its analysis.

Register of Members’ Interests / Register of Senators’ Interests, Parliament of Australia — as at 22 December 2025. Report an error

Method & caveats

Australian federal parliamentarians must declare certain interests in the Register of Members’ Interests (House of Representatives) and the Register of Senators’ Interests. For holdings — shares, real estate, trusts, liabilities, assets — the registers record what is held and do not record quantity, value, purchase price or income. Nothing on this page states or implies the size of any holding, any gain or loss, or any trading activity.

Two items are different, because the form itself asks for a value: gifts and sponsored travel. Where a member stated an amount there, it appears as they wrote it. That figure is the declared value of a gift or a trip — never the size of a holding, and never a total.

Dates are the dates a declaration appeared in, or was removed from, the register — not transaction dates. A removal can mean an asset was disposed of, a declaration was corrected, or the member left parliament.

Company names are free text as written by the member. We link a declaration to an ASX listing only on an exact normalised match, a ticker the member stated, or a human-verified alias, so many declarations appear as text only. Real-estate declarations are suburb- or area-level; the registers contain no street addresses, and some declared locations do not map to a single ABS suburb.

Rows are declared as held by the member (“Self”), their spouse or partner, or a dependent child, exactly as the register records them. Members’ seats, parties and chambers change between parliaments.

Extracted from primary PDFs published by the Parliament of Australia; parliamentary material, © Commonwealth of Australia. Corrections are annotated, not silently applied. Not financial advice.