Parliament’s Portfolio

Matthew Thistlethwaite

Matthew Thistlethwaite

ALPMember for Kingsford SmithNSWparliaments 46–47
  • 46th–47th · Member for Kingsford Smith · Party not recorded

Portrait: Wikimedia Commons — Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (CC BY 4.0). Not a Parliament of Australia image.

This page covers the 44th, 45th and 48th Parliaments in full. We have read only part of the 46th and 47th Parliaments — this member’s own document may be among those still unread. An empty section below means we have no recorded entry — not that the member declared nothing.

66
entries currently declared
0
ASX-listed companies named
2
real-estate declarations
6
liabilities entries
35
gifts and sponsored travel
8 Feb 2022
register last updated

Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.

About these counts

The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.

What is declared, at a glance

Declared categories
66current entries
  • Sponsored travel28
  • Accounts7
  • Gift7
  • Liability6
  • Office held5
  • Other (6)13
Declared categories
CategoryCount
Sponsored travel28
Accounts7
Gift7
Liability6
Office held5
Other assets4
Shareholdings2
Real estate2
Directorship2
Other income2
Other interest1
Total66
Who each entry is declared for
66current entries
  • Self34
  • Spouse/partner15
  • Dependent child3
  • Holder not stated14
Who each entry is declared for
CategoryCount
Self34
Spouse/partner15
Dependent child3
Holder not stated14
Total66

Entries declared over time

Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.

0714202120222023202420252026
Monthly declaration counts
MonthCount
2021-0912
2021-1012
2021-1113
2021-1213
2022-0113
2022-0214
2022-0314
2022-0414
2022-0514
2022-0614
2022-0714
2022-0814
2022-0914
2022-1014
2022-1114
2022-1214
2023-0114
2023-0214
2023-0314
2023-0414
2023-0514
2023-0614
2023-0714
2023-0814
2023-0914
2023-1014
2023-1114
2023-1214
2024-0114
2024-0214
2024-0314
2024-0414
2024-0514
2024-0614
2024-0714
2024-0814
2024-0914
2024-1014
2024-1114
2024-1214
2025-0114
2025-0214
2025-0314
2025-0414
2025-0514
2025-0614
2025-0714
2025-0814
2025-0914
2025-1014
2025-1114
2025-1214
2026-0114
2026-0214
2026-0314
2026-0414
2026-0514
2026-0614
2026-0714
2026-0814

52 entries without a stated date are not plotted.

Declared interests

Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.

Declared for

Showing 66 of 66 entries.

Declared entries from the Registers of Members’ and Senators’ Interests, in the register’s own words. No column is a quantity or a value; the registers record none.
Source

Shareholdings (2)

Venice Ice Pty Limited
Private company
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Venice Ice Pty Limited
Private company
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Real estate (2)

Matraville NSWResidentail
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Matraville NSWResidential
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Directorship (2)

Venice Ice Pty Limited
Private company
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Venice Ice Pty Limited
Private company
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Liability (6)

Credit cardAmerican Express
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Credit cardAmerican Express
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Mortgage on family homeSt George bank
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Mortgage on family homeSt George bank
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Mortgage on family home Credit CardANZ American Express
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Mortgage on family home Credit cardANZ American Express
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Accounts (7)

Qudos Bank savings account
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
SavingsSt George
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
SavingsSt George bank
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
SavingsSt George bank
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Savings Account Savings AccountANZ Qudos Bank
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Savings Account Savings AccountANZ ING
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Savings account with Clovelly Community Bank branch of Bendigo Bank
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Other assets (4)

Family Car Australian Super Superannuation Account
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Family car
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Family car
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Superannuation account with First State Super
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Other income (2)

Income from work as a nurse for NSW Health
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Wages
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Gift (7)

2 tickets to At What Cost? Belvoir St theatre play 02.Feb 2022
Holder not stated
Declared since 8 Feb 202246P ↗
1 Christmas Hamper (from Clubs NSW)
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 Nov 202146P ↗
144 packets of Tim Tams supplied by Campbell Arnotts that were donated to essential workers in our community.
Holder not stated
Declared since 21 May 202046P ↗
Framed Ash Barty tennis racquet provided by Cain Slater on 16 Nov 2023
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Membership of Qantas Chairmans Lounge Membership of Virgin The Club
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Membership of Qantas Chairmans Lounge Membership of Virgin The Club Foxtel subscription for electorate office
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
children from family members or personal friends in a purely personal capacity need not be
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Sponsored travel (28)

Rex Airlines - Annual Lounge Membership
Holder not stated
Declared since 18 June 202146P ↗
2 Tickets - The Chairman's Club Lounge, Royal Randwick Racecourse Melbourne Cup Day 3rd November 2020 provided by the Australian Turf Club
Holder not stated
Declared since 4 Nov 202046P ↗
2 x tickets to the NRL Preliminary Final Rabbitohs V Panthers NRL Corporate Suite ANZ Stadium - 17 October 2020.
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 Oct 202046P ↗
Six general admission tickets to the Rabbitohs v Knights NRL semi final game ANZ Stadium - Sun 4 October 2020 provided by the South Sydney Rabbitohs
Holder not stated
Declared since 9 Oct 202046P ↗
Two tickets to the Rabbitohs corporate suite for the Rabbitohs v Roosters NRL game - 25 September 2020
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 Sept 202046P ↗
1 ticket to the corporate suite at the Rabbitohs v Newcastle NRL game (Sat 18 July 2020) Bankwest Stadium, Parramatta Park. Provided by the South Sydney Rabbitohs
Holder not stated
Declared since 28 July 202046P ↗
CANBERRA to SYDNEY QF1520 - Thu 05 Mar 2020 - 1715 Flight Upgrade from Economy class to Business class - Courtesy Qantas Airways
Holder not stated
Declared since 18 Mar 202046P ↗
2 tickets to Cold Chisel's Blue Moon show Hope Estate, Hunter Valley - 18 January 2020, provided by Chris Bastic
Holder not stated
Declared since 13 Feb 202046P ↗
2 x Members Reserve Tickets Day Two of the Sydney Test Aust v NZ - 4th January 2020, provided by SCG Trust
Holder not stated
Declared since 21 Jan 202046P ↗
2 x Tickets and hospitality to NRL Premilinary Final - Raiders v Rabbitohs 27.09.19
Holder not stated
Declared since 2 Oct 201946P ↗
2 x tickets to the NRL Corporate Suite at the Sydney Cricket Ground for the Rabbitohs v Roosters preliminary final on 13 September 2019 courtesy of the NRL.
Holder not stated
Declared since 17 Sept 201946P ↗
1 ticket - Rabbitohs v Dragons NRL game, access to parking and Chairman's Lounge - Sat 9th April 2022
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
1 ticket to a corporate suite for the Australia v South Africa test match at the SCG on 4 January 2023 provided by Westpac.
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
2 tickets and hospitalitySydney Swans v Collingwood Magpies AFL game, SGC Friday 9th August, 2024 Supplied by Sydney Swans
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
2 tickets to A Leagues Unite Round (Sydney FC v W/Sydney Wanderers) at Alliance StadiumSaturday 23rd November 2024 provided by the A League
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
2 tickets to day 2 of the Australia v India test match in Sydney of 4 January 2025 supplied by Venues NSW.
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
2 tickets to he AFL grand final at the MCG on 28 September 2024 provided by the AFL
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
2 tickets to the NRL finals game between the Rabbitohs & Sharks on 17 September 2022 provided by the NRL
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
2 tickets to the Parliamentary Midwinter ball on 22 June 2023 provided by Qantas
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
2 tickets to the Swans v Port Adelaide preliminary final at the SCG on 20 September 2024 provided by the AFL
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
2 x tickets to the NRL final between the Rabbitohs and Panthers on 24 September 2022 at Accor stadium provided by the NRL
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
AFC Asian Qualifier - Australia v Indonesia, Alliance Stadium 2 x tickets Thursday 20 March, 2025 provided by Football Federation Australia
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Family pass to the Rabbitohs v Roosters NRL game on 11 September 2022 provided by the NRL
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
General admission tickets to the Rabbitohs v Bulldogs game at Accor Stadium on 29 March 2024 provided by the South Sydney Rabbitohs
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Tickets to the Australia v China football game at Accor stadium on 3 June 2024 supplied by Football Federation Australia.
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Upgrade from economy to business class on Qantas flight from Sydney to Canberra on 31 August 2022
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Upgrade provided by Virgin Airlines Flight VA0425 Tue 11 June 24 14:30 Adelaide to Sydney
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Upgrade to business class on Qantas flight from Canberra to Sydney on 8 September 2023.
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Office held (5)

Australian Workers Union Mascot RSL sub branch Maroubra Surf Lifesaving Club South Sydney Rugby League Football Club Randwick Rugby Club Souths Juniors CLub Coogee Legion Club Coogee Diggers Club South Coogee Bowling CLub Maroubra Seals Club Yarra Bay Sailing CLub Matraville RSL Club Malabar RSL Randwick Club
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Coogee Dolphins Hockey Club The Juniors Matraville RSL club
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Maroubra Surf Lifesaving Club South Sydney Rabbitohs The Juniors Matraville RSL Coogee Diggers Mascot RSL sub branch Graphic Arts Club Coogee Legion Club Maroubra Seals Club Yarra Bay Sailing Club South Coogee Bowling Club The Randwick Club Gordons Bay Scuba club
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
NSW Nurses & Midwives Association
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Pagewood Botany Football club
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Other interest (1)

Patron of Maroubra Lions Rugby League Club Patron of SOuth Eastern Rugby League Club Patron of Maccabi Football CLub
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Funding returns lodged with the AEC

Only returns that name this parliamentarian are shown. Money declared as given to a party, a branch or an associated entity is not shown here and is not attributable to any individual.

Election returns linked to this member

Returns this member is linked to, newest first. Linking is per return and exact — an election that does not appear here has not been shown to lack one.

  • 2022 Federal electionCandidateKingsford Smith, NSW · Australian Labor Party (N.S.W. Branch)Lodged as “THISTLETHWAITE, Matthew JamesLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2019 Federal electionCandidateKingsford Smith, NSW · Australian Labor Party (N.S.W. Branch)Lodged as “THISTLETHWAITE, Matthew JamesLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗

Annual member and senator returns are lodged by a small number of parliamentarians: the whole corpus holds 52 of them. Returns lodged by senators are linked to their profiles where the name on the lodged return matches the name we hold for them; where it does not, the return stays here unlinked rather than being attached to a guess. The Registers of Senators' Interests have not been read into this site yet, so a senator can appear here with a funding return and no declared interests beside it, which is a gap in our coverage rather than a record of what they declared. A parliamentarian with no return has not been shown to have received nothing — most never lodge one.

Amounts below the disclosure threshold in force for a given year are not published by the AEC and are absent from these figures. A low total means little was disclosed, not that little was received.

Source: AEC Transparency Register, reused under CC BY 4.0. © Commonwealth of Australia. The AEC does not endorse this site or its analysis.

Suburbs represented

Suburbs in Kingsford Smith. Representing a suburb has nothing to do with owning anything in it.

24 suburbs

Banksmeadow · Botany · Brighton-Le-Sands · Chifley (NSW) · Coogee (NSW) · Daceyville · Eastgardens · Eastlakes · Hillsdale · Kensington (NSW) · Kingsford (NSW) · Kyeemagh · La Perouse · Little Bay · Maroubra · Mascot · Matraville · Monterey · Pagewood · Phillip Bay · Port Botany · Ramsgate Beach · Randwick · South Coogee

Register of Members’ Interests / Register of Senators’ Interests, Parliament of Australia — as at 8 February 2022. Report an error

Method & caveats

Australian federal parliamentarians must declare certain interests in the Register of Members’ Interests (House of Representatives) and the Register of Senators’ Interests. For holdings — shares, real estate, trusts, liabilities, assets — the registers record what is held and do not record quantity, value, purchase price or income. Nothing on this page states or implies the size of any holding, any gain or loss, or any trading activity.

Two items are different, because the form itself asks for a value: gifts and sponsored travel. Where a member stated an amount there, it appears as they wrote it. That figure is the declared value of a gift or a trip — never the size of a holding, and never a total.

Dates are the dates a declaration appeared in, or was removed from, the register — not transaction dates. A removal can mean an asset was disposed of, a declaration was corrected, or the member left parliament.

Company names are free text as written by the member. We link a declaration to an ASX listing only on an exact normalised match, a ticker the member stated, or a human-verified alias, so many declarations appear as text only. Real-estate declarations are suburb- or area-level; the registers contain no street addresses, and some declared locations do not map to a single ABS suburb.

Rows are declared as held by the member (“Self”), their spouse or partner, or a dependent child, exactly as the register records them. Members’ seats, parties and chambers change between parliaments.

Extracted from primary PDFs published by the Parliament of Australia; parliamentary material, © Commonwealth of Australia. Corrections are annotated, not silently applied. Not financial advice.