Parliament’s Portfolio

Mehreen Faruqi

Mehreen Faruqi

GRNSenator for NSWparliaments 45–48
  • 45th–48th · Senator for NSW · Greens

Portrait: Wikimedia Commons — Kate Ausburn (CC BY 2.0). Not a Parliament of Australia image.

This page covers the 44th Parliament in full. The Registers of Senators’ Interests are tabled as combined Senate volumes, and the volumes covering this senator’s lodgements are ones we have not read into this site yet. An empty register here is our coverage gap — not a record that this senator declared nothing.

44
entries currently declared
0
ASX-listed companies named
3
real-estate declarations
5
liabilities entries
8
gifts and sponsored travel
19 Aug 2025
register last updated

Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.

About these counts

The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.

What is declared, at a glance

Declared categories
44current entries
  • Other income9
  • Office held6
  • Other interest6
  • Liability5
  • Gift5
  • Other (5)13
Declared categories
CategoryCount
Other income9
Office held6
Other interest6
Liability5
Gift5
Accounts4
Real estate3
Sponsored travel3
Other assets2
Directorship1
Total44
Who each entry is declared for
44current entries
  • Holder not stated44
Who each entry is declared for
CategoryCount
Holder not stated44
Total44

Entries declared over time

Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.

02243202120222023202420252026
Monthly declaration counts
MonthCount
2021-1027
2021-1128
2021-1228
2022-0128
2022-0228
2022-0328
2022-0428
2022-0528
2022-0628
2022-0728
2022-0835
2022-0935
2022-1035
2022-1136
2022-1236
2023-0136
2023-0236
2023-0337
2023-0437
2023-0537
2023-0637
2023-0737
2023-0838
2023-0938
2023-1038
2023-1138
2023-1238
2024-0138
2024-0238
2024-0338
2024-0438
2024-0538
2024-0638
2024-0738
2024-0838
2024-0938
2024-1038
2024-1137
2024-1237
2025-0137
2025-0237
2025-0337
2025-0437
2025-0537
2025-0637
2025-0737
2025-0843
2025-0943
2025-1043
2025-1143
2025-1243
2026-0143
2026-0243
2026-0343
2026-0443
2026-0543
2026-0643
2026-0743
2026-0843
2026-0943

1 entry without a stated date is not plotted.

Declared interests

Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.

Showing 45 of 45 entries.

Declared entries from the Registers of Members’ and Senators’ Interests, in the register’s own words. No column is a quantity or a value; the registers record none.
Source

Real estate (3)

500m2 land parcel Lahore PakistanSole owner
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 2019PDF ↗
Beaconsfield (NSW) NSWPlace of residence - joint owned with spouse
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 2019PDF ↗
Port Macquarie NSWInvestment - joint owned with spouse
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 2019PDF ↗

Directorship (1)

Mehreen Faruqi Consulting — not matched to an ASX listing
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 2019PDF ↗

Liability (5)

Mortgage on investment property, Beaconsfield Co-guarantor of overdraft facility for partner's businessCommonwealth Bank (joint with spouse) Commonwealth Bank (joint with spouse)
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Aug 2025PDF ↗
Mortgage on investment property, Beaconsfield Mortgage on investment property, Port Macquarie Co-guarantor of overdraft facility for partner's businessCommonwealth Bank (joint with spouse) Commonwealth Bank (joint with spouse) Commonwealth Bank (joint with spouse)
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Mortgage on investment property, BeaconsfieldCommonwealth Bank (joint with spouse)
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 2019PDF ↗
Mortgage on investment property, Port MacquarieCommonwealth Bank (joint with spouse)
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 2019PDF ↗
Mortgage on place of residence, BeaconsfieldCommonwealth Bank (joint with spouse)
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 2019PDF ↗

Accounts (4)

Savings Account Savings Account Offset AccountCommonwealth Bank (joint with spouse) ANZ (joint with spouse) Commonwealth Bank (joint with spouse)
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Aug 2025PDF ↗
Savings account Savings accountCommonwealth Bank (joint with spouse) ANZ Bank (joint with spouse)
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Saving AccountCommonwealth Bank (joint with spouse)
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 2019PDF ↗
Savings AccountANZ (joint with spouse)
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 2019PDF ↗

Other assets (2)

Unisuper (includes life insurance)
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Uni Super (Includes Life Insurance)
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 2019PDF ↗

Other income (9)

Income from rental property - Beaconsfield NSW
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Aug 2025PDF ↗
Income from rental property: Beaconsfield, NSW Income from rental property: Port Macquarie, NSW Royalties as co-author 'Environmental decision-making- Exploring Complexity and Context', 2009 Royalties as author 'Too migrant, too Muslim, too Loud', 2021
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Advance royalty payment from Allen and Unwin for writing a book
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 Nov 2021PDF ↗
Payment from Audiobrien for book audio recording
Holder not stated
Declared since 7 Sept 2021PDF ↗
Advance payment from Allen and Unwin for writing a book
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 June 2021PDF ↗
Agreement with Allen and Unwin to write a book with advance payment and royalties
Holder not stated
Declared since 4 Mar 2020PDF ↗
Income from rental property: Beaconsfield NSW
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 2019PDF ↗
Income from rental property: Port Macquarie NSW
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 2019PDF ↗
Royalties as co-author of the book 'Environmental Decision-Making - Exploring Complexity and Context'
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 2019PDF ↗

Gift (5)

Chairman's Lounge Membership - QANTAS Beyond Lounge Membership - Virgin
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Aug 2025PDF ↗
Splendour in the Grass - 3 passes to Splendour in the Grass - 21-22 July 2023
Holder not stated
Declared since 25 Aug 2023PDF ↗
Virgin Australia's Beyond Lounge Membership The Australia Institute - 2 tickets to the Climate Integrity Summit - 15 February 2023
Holder not stated
Declared since 8 Mar 2023PDF ↗
Two general admission tickets received from the ICC for the final of the ICC Men's T20 World Cup Australia 2022
Holder not stated
Declared since 16 Nov 2022PDF ↗
Chairmans Lounge Membership Qantas
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 2019PDF ↗

Sponsored travel (3)

Flights, accommodation, transfers and session tickets provided by the Brisbane Writers Festival 7-8 May 2022 for participating in three panel sessions at their invitation Accommodation and session tickets provided by Canberra Writers Festival 12-13 August 2022 for participating in three panels at their invitation
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Hotel accommodation provided by Shakti Australia Inc. & Shakti Community Council in Auckland New Zealand 13-14 June 2019 for participating in ‘Let’s Deal With It! A Trans-Tasman Conference Towards Racial Equity’ at their invitation.
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 2019PDF ↗
Accommodation provided by Oxford Union (UK) to participate in the Oxford Union Debate 4-5 June 2025
Holder not stated
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗

Office held (6)

Deputy Leader of the Australian Greens Monthly tithe from Salary to the NSW Greens Monthly tithe from Salary to Australian Greens Monthly tithe from Salary to Global Greens Donation to Greyhound Rescue
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Aug 2025PDF ↗
Deputy Leader of the Australian Greens Monthly tithe from Salary to the NSW Greens Monthly tithe from Salary to the Australian Greens Monthly tithe from Salary to the Global Greens Donor: Sydney Writers' Festival Support Fund Donor: Brisbane Writers' Festival Support Fund Donor: Greyhound Rescue Donor: Asylum Seekers' Centre, Newtown NSW Donor: Citizen's Own Renewable Energy Network Australia (CORENA)
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Donation to Greyhound Rescue
Holder not stated
Declared since 7 Sept 2021PDF ↗
Donor: South Sydney Greens – Enough is Enough Community Event
Holder not stated
Declared since 20 July 2021PDF ↗
Donor: Sydney Writers’ Festival Support Fund Donor: Women’s Environmental Leadership Australia (WELA) – The Green Institute Donor: Green Agenda - The Green Institute Donor: Citizen’s Own Renewable Energy Network Australia (CORENA) Donor: Asylum Seekers Centre Donor: Addi Road Food Pantry
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 June 2021PDF ↗
Monthly tithe from Salary to the NSW Greens Monthly tithe from Salary to the Australian Greens Monthly tithe from Salary to the Global Greens
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 2019PDF ↗

Other interest (7)

Membership, NSW Greens Membership, Australian Greens Membership, NTEU Member (Fellow), Institution of Engineers Australia
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Aug 2025PDF ↗
Membership, NSW Greens Membership, Australian Greens Membership, NTEU Member (Fellow), Institution of Engineers Australia Membership, Environment Institute of Australia and New Zealand
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Member (Fellow), Institute of Engineers Australia
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 2019PDF ↗
Membership, Australian Greens
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 2019PDF ↗
Membership, NSW Greens
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 2019PDF ↗
Membership, NTEU
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 July 2019PDF ↗
Membership, Environment Institute of Australia and New Zealand
Holder not stated
30 July 2019 – 7 Nov 2024PDF ↗

Register of Members’ Interests / Register of Senators’ Interests, Parliament of Australia — as at 19 August 2025. Report an error

Method & caveats

Australian federal parliamentarians must declare certain interests in the Register of Members’ Interests (House of Representatives) and the Register of Senators’ Interests. For holdings — shares, real estate, trusts, liabilities, assets — the registers record what is held and do not record quantity, value, purchase price or income. Nothing on this page states or implies the size of any holding, any gain or loss, or any trading activity.

Two items are different, because the form itself asks for a value: gifts and sponsored travel. Where a member stated an amount there, it appears as they wrote it. That figure is the declared value of a gift or a trip — never the size of a holding, and never a total.

Dates are the dates a declaration appeared in, or was removed from, the register — not transaction dates. A removal can mean an asset was disposed of, a declaration was corrected, or the member left parliament.

Company names are free text as written by the member. We link a declaration to an ASX listing only on an exact normalised match, a ticker the member stated, or a human-verified alias, so many declarations appear as text only. Real-estate declarations are suburb- or area-level; the registers contain no street addresses, and some declared locations do not map to a single ABS suburb.

Rows are declared as held by the member (“Self”), their spouse or partner, or a dependent child, exactly as the register records them. Members’ seats, parties and chambers change between parliaments.

Extracted from primary PDFs published by the Parliament of Australia; parliamentary material, © Commonwealth of Australia. Corrections are annotated, not silently applied. Not financial advice.