Parliament’s Portfolio

Meryl Swanson

Meryl Swanson

ALPMember for PatersonNSWparliaments 45–48
  • 45th · Member for Paterson · Party not recorded
  • 48th · Member for Paterson · Labor

Portrait: Wikimedia Commons — State of New South Wales (Department of Education) (CC BY 4.0). Not a Parliament of Australia image.

This page covers the 44th, 45th and 48th Parliaments in full. We have read only part of the 46th and 47th Parliaments — this member’s own document may be among those still unread. An empty section below means we have no recorded entry — not that the member declared nothing.

63
entries currently declared
4
ASX-listed companies named
3
real-estate declarations
4
liabilities entries
7
gifts and sponsored travel

Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.

About these counts

The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.

What is declared, at a glance

Declared categories
63current entries
  • Shareholdings23
  • Trusts7
  • Sponsored travel7
  • Directorship6
  • Liability4
  • Other (5)16
Declared categories
CategoryCount
Shareholdings23
Trusts7
Sponsored travel7
Directorship6
Liability4
Accounts4
Other assets4
Other income4
Real estate3
Office held1
Total63
Who each entry is declared for
63current entries
  • Self35
  • Spouse/partner28
Who each entry is declared for
CategoryCount
Self35
Spouse/partner28
Total63

Entries declared over time

Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.

0202120222023202420252026
Monthly declaration counts
MonthCount
2021-090
2021-100
2021-110
2021-120
2022-010
2022-020
2022-030
2022-040
2022-050
2022-060
2022-070
2022-080
2022-090
2022-100
2022-110
2022-120
2023-010
2023-020
2023-030
2023-040
2023-050
2023-060
2023-070
2023-080
2023-090
2023-100
2023-110
2023-120
2024-010
2024-020
2024-030
2024-040
2024-050
2024-060
2024-070
2024-080
2024-090
2024-100
2024-110
2024-120
2025-010
2025-020
2025-030
2025-040
2025-050
2025-060
2025-070
2025-080
2025-090
2025-100
2025-110
2025-120
2026-010
2026-020
2026-030
2026-040
2026-050
2026-060
2026-070
2026-080

63 entries without a stated date are not plotted.

Declared companies by industry
Distinct ASX-listed companies declared by this member, grouped by industry. A count of companies, not an amount.
IndustryDistinct companies
Banks
2
Consumer Discretionary Distribution & Retail
1
Insurance
1

Declared interests

Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.

Declared for

Showing 63 of 63 entries.

Declared entries from the Registers of Members’ and Senators’ Interests, in the register’s own words. No column is a quantity or a value; the registers record none.
Source

Shareholdings (23)

* Maitland Superstore Pty Ltd * N.
Private company
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
CBA · Commonwealth Bank Of Australia.
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
CBA · Commonwealth Bank Of Australia.
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Family Trust
Family trust
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Family Trust
Family trust
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
HVN · Harvey Norman Holdings
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
HVN · Harvey Norman Holdings
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Lynas Corporation Ltd — not matched to an ASX listing
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Lynas Corporation Ltd — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
NHF · Nib Holdings
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
NHF · Nib Holdings
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
NAB · National Australia Bank
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
NAB · National Australia Bank
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Swanridge Investments Pty Ltd
Private company
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Swanridge Investments Pty Ltd
Private company
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Swanridge Investments Pty Ltd Swanridge Group Pty Ltd - investment and trustee of Swanridge
Private company
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Swanridge Investments Pty Ltd Swanridge Group Pty Ltd - investment and trustee of Swanridge
Private company
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Swanridge Super Pty Ltd Swanridge Superannuation Fund (SMSF)
Self-managed super fund
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Swanridge Super Pty Ltd Swanridge Superannuation Fund (SMSF)
Self-managed super fund
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Swanson Nominees Pty Ltd
Private company
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Trip to Israel Sponsored by Australia/Israel & Jewish Affairs Council (AIJAC) — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
held indirectly via SMSF
Self-managed super fund
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
held indirectly via SMSF
Self-managed super fund
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗

Trusts (7)

* Maitland Superstore No.2 Trust * N. Swanson Family TrustOperating Trust Harvey Norman Store Unit Holder of Operating Trust
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
* Swanridge Family TrustInvestment / Operates business selling horse rugs
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
2 tickets to and event on the 8 September sponsored by the Newcastle Knights.
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Qantas Chairmans Lounge membership for two years.
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Swanridge Family TrustInvestment/operates business providing agistment and fencing services. Unit holder of operating trust
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Swanridge Family Trustinvestment/operates business providing agistment and fencing services.
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
The Club at Virgin membership for two years.
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Real estate (3)

* Buchanan NSW (jointly owned with spouse) * Kurri Kurri NSW (jointly owned with spouse)Residence Investment
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Buchanan (NSW) NSW
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Buchanan (NSW) NSW
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗

Directorship (6)

* Maitland Superstore Pty Ltd * N.
Private company
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
* Swanridge Investments Pty Ltd (jointly with spouse)
Private company
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Director of Swanridge Super Pty Ltd.
Private company
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Director of Swanridge Super Pty Ltd.
Private company
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Swanridge Investments — not matched to an ASX listing
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Swanson Nominees Pty Ltd
Private company
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Liability (4)

* Home Loan & Overdraft fac. (jointly with spouse) * Investment Property Loan (jointly with spouse) * Tax debt * Personal loanThe Mutual Commonwealth Bank Australian Taxation Office Latitude Finance
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
* Tax debt * Rental arrangement * Tax debt (via Swanridge Investments P/L)Australian Taxation Office Flexirent Australian Taxation Office
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Home loan (jointly with spouse) Investment property loan (jointly with spouse)The Mutual The Mutual
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Home loan (jointly with spouse) Investment property loan (jointly with spouse)The Mutual The Mutual
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗

Accounts (4)

* Business account (via Swanridge Invest. P/L) * Debt card (via Swanridge Investments P/L)National Australia Bank National Australia Bank
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
* Investment account (via SMSF jointly with spouse) * Savings & Investments accounts (jointly spouse) * Savings account (jointly with spouse) * Cheque account (jointly with spouse)Macquarie Bank Commonwealth Bank Greater Bank National Australia Bank
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Investment account (via SMSF jointly with spouse) Savings account (jointly with spouse) Savings account (jointly with spouse)Macquarie Bank Commonwealth Bank The Mutual
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Investment account (via SMSF jointly with spouse) Savings account (jointly with spouse) Savings account (jointly with spouse) Business Account (via Swanridge Investments Pty Ltd) Credit Card (via Swanridge Investments Pty Ltd)Macquarie Bank Commonwealth Bank The Mutual National Australia Bank National Australia Bank
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗

Other assets (4)

* Life Insurance policy held via SMSF
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
* Perpetual Managed Funds - BT Property Securities, Fidelity Australian Equities, MFS Global Equity, OnePath Diversified Fixed Interest (jointly owned with spouse indirectly via SMSF) * Colonial First State Investments Ltd x 2 (jointly owned with spouse and held in Trust for children) * Life Insurance policy held via SMSF
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Perpetual Managed Funds - By Property Securities, Fidelity Australia Equity, Lazards Global List infrastructure, MFS Global Equity, OnePath Diversified Fixed Interest (via SMSF jointly held with spouse)
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Perpetual Managed Funds - By Property Securities, Fidelity Australia Equity, Lazards Global List infrastructure, MFS Global Equity, OnePath Diversified Fixed Interest (via SMSF jointly held with spouse) Life insurance policy held via SMSF Tractor held in Swanridge Family Trust
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗

Other income (4)

* Income from Operating Trust as set out above * Income from investments as set out above
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
* Income from investments as set out above
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Income from investments as set out above
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Income from investments as set out above Income from operating trust as set out above
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗

Sponsored travel (7)

* Annual invitation to attend Newcastle Races (spouse is also invited)
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
* Qantas Chairmans Lounge membership (membership covers spouse) * Virgin Australia The Club membership (membership covers spouse)
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
2 x Tickets to VIP event for Newcastle SupercarsInvitation from the Lord Mayor of Newcastle to attend the Event on Saturday 24 November 2018 at Fort Scratchley in Newcastle. Arley Black and employee of Ms Swanson Represented the Member.
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Hunter Defence Conference Dinner-30/8/18 sponsored by Hunternet HunterNetCo-Operative LtdComplimentary Ticket
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
QANTAS Chairmans Lounge Membership (covers spouse) Virgin Australia The Club Membership (covers spouse)
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Sponsored study trip to Japan by Coal2129-31 July - Business class return airfares, accommodation, transfers and hospitality to Tokyo, Japan.
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Travel to India 19-25 November 2017Economy return flights, land transfers, accommodation And some meals sponsored by Tibet Information Office.
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Office held (1)

Tomaree Business Chamber Member Cessnock Performing Arts Centre Member Womens Network Hunter Member Richmond Vale Rail Trail Inc Member Kurri Golf Club Member Raymond Terrace & District Historical Society Patron Maitland Repertory Theatre Patron National Service & Combined Forces Association of Australia Inc Maitland Branch - Patron Newcastle Golf Club - Honorary membership Patron of Maitland and District Cricket Umpire' and Scorers' Association Incorporated Member of Maitland Regional Art Gallery Patron - Maitland Musical Society Inc.
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗

Funding returns lodged with the AEC

Only returns that name this parliamentarian are shown. Money declared as given to a party, a branch or an associated entity is not shown here and is not attributable to any individual.

Election returns linked to this member

Returns this member is linked to, newest first. Linking is per return and exact — an election that does not appear here has not been shown to lack one.

  • 2025 Federal ElectionCandidatePaterson, NSW · Australian Labor Party (N.S.W. Branch)Lodged as “SWANSON, Meryl JaneLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2016 Federal electionCandidatePaterson, NSW · Australian Labor Party (N.S.W. Branch)Lodged as “SWANSON, Meryl JaneLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗

Annual member and senator returns are lodged by a small number of parliamentarians: the whole corpus holds 52 of them. Returns lodged by senators are linked to their profiles where the name on the lodged return matches the name we hold for them; where it does not, the return stays here unlinked rather than being attached to a guess. The Registers of Senators' Interests have not been read into this site yet, so a senator can appear here with a funding return and no declared interests beside it, which is a gap in our coverage rather than a record of what they declared. A parliamentarian with no return has not been shown to have received nothing — most never lodge one.

Amounts below the disclosure threshold in force for a given year are not published by the AEC and are absent from these figures. A low total means little was disclosed, not that little was received.

Source: AEC Transparency Register, reused under CC BY 4.0. © Commonwealth of Australia. The AEC does not endorse this site or its analysis.

Suburbs represented

Suburbs in Paterson. Representing a suburb has nothing to do with owning anything in it.

73 suburbs

Aberglasslyn · Anambah · Anna Bay · Ashtonfield · Beresfield · Berry Park · Bishops Bridge · Black Hill (NSW) · Boat Harbour (Port Stephens - NSW) · Bobs Farm · Buchanan (NSW) · Buttai · Campvale · Chisholm (NSW) · Cliftleigh · Corlette · Duckenfield · Eagleton · East Maitland · Farley · Fern Bay · Ferodale · Fingal Bay · Fishermans Bay · Fullerton Cove · Gillieston Heights · Gosforth · Harpers Hill · Heatherbrae · Heddon Greta · Horseshoe Bend · Lemon Tree Passage · Lenaghan · Lochinvar · Louth Park · Loxford · Maitland (NSW) · Mallabula · Medowie · Metford · Millers Forest · Morpeth · Mount Dee · Nelson Bay (NSW) · Oakhampton · Oakhampton Heights · One Mile (NSW) · Oswald · Oyster Cove (NSW) · Pitnacree · Port Stephens · Raworth · Raymond Terrace · Rutherford · Salamander Bay · Salt Ash · Shoal Bay (NSW) · Soldiers Point · South Maitland · Stockrington · Swan Bay (Port Stephens - NSW) · Tanilba Bay · Tarro · Taylors Beach (NSW) · Telarah · Tenambit · Thornton (NSW) · Tilligerry Creek · Tomago · Williamtown · Windella · Windermere (NSW) · Woodberry

Register of Members’ Interests / Register of Senators’ Interests, Parliament of Australia. Report an error

Method & caveats

Australian federal parliamentarians must declare certain interests in the Register of Members’ Interests (House of Representatives) and the Register of Senators’ Interests. For holdings — shares, real estate, trusts, liabilities, assets — the registers record what is held and do not record quantity, value, purchase price or income. Nothing on this page states or implies the size of any holding, any gain or loss, or any trading activity.

Two items are different, because the form itself asks for a value: gifts and sponsored travel. Where a member stated an amount there, it appears as they wrote it. That figure is the declared value of a gift or a trip — never the size of a holding, and never a total.

Dates are the dates a declaration appeared in, or was removed from, the register — not transaction dates. A removal can mean an asset was disposed of, a declaration was corrected, or the member left parliament.

Company names are free text as written by the member. We link a declaration to an ASX listing only on an exact normalised match, a ticker the member stated, or a human-verified alias, so many declarations appear as text only. Real-estate declarations are suburb- or area-level; the registers contain no street addresses, and some declared locations do not map to a single ABS suburb.

Rows are declared as held by the member (“Self”), their spouse or partner, or a dependent child, exactly as the register records them. Members’ seats, parties and chambers change between parliaments.

Extracted from primary PDFs published by the Parliament of Australia; parliamentary material, © Commonwealth of Australia. Corrections are annotated, not silently applied. Not financial advice.