Michael Danby
- 44th–45th · Member for Melbourne Ports · Party not recorded
Portrait: Wikimedia Commons — Mddoff Adam Carr (Public domain). Not a Parliament of Australia image.
This page covers the 44th, 45th and 48th Parliaments in full. We have read only part of the 46th and 47th Parliaments — this member’s own document may be among those still unread. An empty section below means we have no recorded entry — not that the member declared nothing.
Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.
About these counts
The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.
What is declared, at a glance
- Shareholdings8
- Real estate2
- Accounts2
- Other assets2
- Other income2
- Other (2)2
| Category | Count |
|---|---|
| Shareholdings | 8 |
| Real estate | 2 |
| Accounts | 2 |
| Other assets | 2 |
| Other income | 2 |
| Liability | 1 |
| Sponsored travel | 1 |
| Total | 18 |
- Self14
- Spouse/partner3
- Dependent child1
| Category | Count |
|---|---|
| Self | 14 |
| Spouse/partner | 3 |
| Dependent child | 1 |
| Total | 18 |
Entries declared over time
Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.
| Month | Count |
|---|---|
| 2021-09 | 0 |
| 2021-10 | 0 |
| 2021-11 | 0 |
| 2021-12 | 0 |
| 2022-01 | 0 |
| 2022-02 | 0 |
| 2022-03 | 0 |
| 2022-04 | 0 |
| 2022-05 | 0 |
| 2022-06 | 0 |
| 2022-07 | 0 |
| 2022-08 | 0 |
| 2022-09 | 0 |
| 2022-10 | 0 |
| 2022-11 | 0 |
| 2022-12 | 0 |
| 2023-01 | 0 |
| 2023-02 | 0 |
| 2023-03 | 0 |
| 2023-04 | 0 |
| 2023-05 | 0 |
| 2023-06 | 0 |
| 2023-07 | 0 |
| 2023-08 | 0 |
| 2023-09 | 0 |
| 2023-10 | 0 |
| 2023-11 | 0 |
| 2023-12 | 0 |
| 2024-01 | 0 |
| 2024-02 | 0 |
| 2024-03 | 0 |
| 2024-04 | 0 |
| 2024-05 | 0 |
| 2024-06 | 0 |
| 2024-07 | 0 |
| 2024-08 | 0 |
| 2024-09 | 0 |
| 2024-10 | 0 |
| 2024-11 | 0 |
| 2024-12 | 0 |
| 2025-01 | 0 |
| 2025-02 | 0 |
| 2025-03 | 0 |
| 2025-04 | 0 |
| 2025-05 | 0 |
| 2025-06 | 0 |
| 2025-07 | 0 |
| 2025-08 | 0 |
| 2025-09 | 0 |
| 2025-10 | 0 |
| 2025-11 | 0 |
| 2025-12 | 0 |
| 2026-01 | 0 |
| 2026-02 | 0 |
| 2026-03 | 0 |
| 2026-04 | 0 |
| 2026-05 | 0 |
| 2026-06 | 0 |
| 2026-07 | 0 |
| 2026-08 | 0 |
18 entries without a stated date are not plotted.
| Industry | Distinct companies |
|---|---|
| Banks | 2 |
| Materials | 2 |
| Financial Services | 1 |
Declared interests
Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.
Showing 18 of 18 entries.
| Source | |||
|---|---|---|---|
Shareholdings (8) | |||
| ANZ · Anz Group Holdings | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 44P ↗ |
| BHP · Bhp Group | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 44P ↗ |
| MQG · Macquarie Group | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 44P ↗ |
| R.I.O — not matched to an ASX listing | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 44P ↗ |
| RIO · Rio Tinto | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| Slater &Gordon-Share holdings — not matched to an ASX listing | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| WBC · Westpac Banking | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 44P ↗ |
| Woodside — not matched to an ASX listing | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 44P ↗ |
Real estate (2) | |||
| Elwood VICResidence | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 44P ↗ |
| Nth Fitzroy | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
Liability (1) | |||
| MortgageWestpac | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 44P ↗ |
Accounts (2) | |||
| //ANZ | Dependent child | Declared; start date not stated | 44P ↗ |
| Progress SaverANZ | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 44P ↗ |
Other assets (2) | |||
| Animahia Childrens TV Series | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 44P ↗ |
| Animalia Children's TV series | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
Other income (2) | |||
| Barrister Fees | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 45P ↗ |
| Barristers Fees | Spouse/partner | Declared; start date not stated | 44P ↗ |
Sponsored travel (1) | |||
| Return Economy Fare Washington-Melb Sept 2013 (Parliamentary Foundation for Democracy) + 3 nights accomReturn Jetstar Fare Hawaii-Melbourne return + 3 nights accom Australian-American Leadership Dialogue | Self | Declared; start date not stated | 44P ↗ |
Funding returns lodged with the AEC
Only returns that name this parliamentarian are shown. Money declared as given to a party, a branch or an associated entity is not shown here and is not attributable to any individual.
Election returns linked to this member
Returns this member is linked to, newest first. Linking is per return and exact — an election that does not appear here has not been shown to lack one.
- 2016 Federal electionCandidateMelbourne Ports, VIC · Australian Labor Party (Victorian Branch)Lodged as “DANBY, Michael David”Lodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
- 2013 Federal electionCandidateMelbourne Ports, VIC · Australian Labor Party (Victorian Branch)Lodged as “DANBY, Michael David”Lodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
Annual member and senator returns are lodged by a small number of parliamentarians: the whole corpus holds 52 of them. Returns lodged by senators are linked to their profiles where the name on the lodged return matches the name we hold for them; where it does not, the return stays here unlinked rather than being attached to a guess. The Registers of Senators' Interests have not been read into this site yet, so a senator can appear here with a funding return and no declared interests beside it, which is a gap in our coverage rather than a record of what they declared. A parliamentarian with no return has not been shown to have received nothing — most never lodge one.
Amounts below the disclosure threshold in force for a given year are not published by the AEC and are absent from these figures. A low total means little was disclosed, not that little was received.
Source: AEC Transparency Register, reused under CC BY 4.0. © Commonwealth of Australia. The AEC does not endorse this site or its analysis.