Parliament’s Portfolio

MF

Michael Freelander

ALPMember for MacarthurNSWparliaments 46
  • 46th · Member for Macarthur · Party not recorded

This page covers the 44th, 45th and 48th Parliaments in full. We have read only part of the 46th and 47th Parliaments — this member’s own document may be among those still unread. An empty section below means we have no recorded entry — not that the member declared nothing.

31
entries currently declared
3
ASX-listed companies named
2
real-estate declarations
0
liabilities entries
7
gifts and sponsored travel
27 Jan 2022
register last updated

Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.

About these counts

The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.

What is declared, at a glance

Declared categories
31current entries
  • Shareholdings7
  • Gift6
  • Office held3
  • Trusts2
  • Real estate2
  • Other (6)11
Declared categories
CategoryCount
Shareholdings7
Gift6
Office held3
Trusts2
Real estate2
Directorship2
Bonds2
Accounts2
Other assets2
Other income2
Sponsored travel1
Total31
Who each entry is declared for
31current entries
  • Self10
  • Spouse/partner8
  • Dependent child1
  • Holder not stated12
Who each entry is declared for
CategoryCount
Self10
Spouse/partner8
Dependent child1
Holder not stated12
Total31

Entries declared over time

Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.

0612202120222023202420252026
Monthly declaration counts
MonthCount
2021-0911
2021-1011
2021-1111
2021-1211
2022-0112
2022-0212
2022-0312
2022-0412
2022-0512
2022-0612
2022-0712
2022-0812
2022-0912
2022-1012
2022-1112
2022-1212
2023-0112
2023-0212
2023-0312
2023-0412
2023-0512
2023-0612
2023-0712
2023-0812
2023-0912
2023-1012
2023-1112
2023-1212
2024-0112
2024-0212
2024-0312
2024-0412
2024-0512
2024-0612
2024-0712
2024-0812
2024-0912
2024-1012
2024-1112
2024-1212
2025-0112
2025-0212
2025-0312
2025-0412
2025-0512
2025-0612
2025-0712
2025-0812
2025-0912
2025-1012
2025-1112
2025-1212
2026-0112
2026-0212
2026-0312
2026-0412
2026-0512
2026-0612
2026-0712
2026-0812

19 entries without a stated date are not plotted.

Declared companies by industry
Distinct ASX-listed companies declared by this member, grouped by industry. A count of companies, not an amount.
IndustryDistinct companies
Energy
1
Materials
1
Telecommunication Services
1

Declared interests

Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.

Declared for

Showing 31 of 31 entries.

Declared entries from the Registers of Members’ and Senators’ Interests, in the register’s own words. No column is a quantity or a value; the registers record none.
Source

Shareholdings (7)

ALD · Ampol
Holder not stated
Declared since 9 Aug 202146P ↗
-Afterpay — not matched to an ASX listing
Holder not stated
Declared since 9 Aug 202146P ↗
BKW · BRICKWORKS LIMITED
Holder not stated
Declared since 9 Aug 202146P ↗
TLS · Telstra Group
Holder not stated
Declared since 9 Aug 202146P ↗
Purchase of shares in the following companies through super fund: — not matched to an ASX listing
Holder not stated
Declared since 9 Aug 202146P ↗
Pebema P/L
Private company
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Pebema P/L
Private company
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Trusts (2)

Pebema P/L Superannuation FundSuperannuation company fund held with spouse
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Pebema P/L Superannuation FundSuperannuation company fund held with spouse
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Real estate (2)

Wombarra NSW
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Wombarra NSW
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Directorship (2)

Pebema P/L
Private company
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Pebema P/L
Private company
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Bonds (2)

As per superfundSuperannuation
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
As per superfund Share fundSuperannuation In own name
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Accounts (2)

Westpac Bank SavingsWestpac
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Westpac Bank Savings Macquarie Bank savingsWestpac Macquarie Bank
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Other assets (2)

Purchase of 2x Mazda 2 motor vehicles
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Mar 202146P ↗
2x Mercedes Benz motor vehicles 1 x Toyota Hilux utility
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Other income (2)

Pebema P/L Superfund Parliamentary Salary
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Pebema P/L Superfund Salary, Campbelltown City Council
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Gift (6)

1 x bottle of Glenlivet Scotch Whiskey valued at $700.00 from Wynstan
Holder not stated
Declared since 27 Jan 202246P ↗
Gifted Rex Airlines Lounge Membership - valued at $329.00 per annum
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Mar 202146P ↗
1 x yearly subscription to CHOICE magazine (valued at $98.00)
Holder not stated
Declared since 5 Aug 201946P ↗
Qantas Chairman's Lounge Virgin Lounge
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Qantas Chairman's Lounge Virgin Lounge
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
children from family members or personal friends in a purely personal capacity need not be
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Sponsored travel (1)

Site tour of Queensland Mines courtesy of the Minerals Council of Australia. Valued at $5557.26 (covering transportation, accomodation and meals).
Holder not stated
Declared since 6 Nov 201946P ↗

Office held (3)

Appointed an Honorary Member of the Campbelltown Chamber of Commerce
Holder not stated
Declared since 16 Sept 202146P ↗
Honorary Patron of the Macarthur Bulls Football Club
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Mar 202146P ↗
Royal Australasian College of Physicians Australian Labor Party Health Service Union Australian Medical Association
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Funding returns lodged with the AEC

Only returns that name this parliamentarian are shown. Money declared as given to a party, a branch or an associated entity is not shown here and is not attributable to any individual.

Election returns linked to this member

Returns this member is linked to, newest first. Linking is per return and exact — an election that does not appear here has not been shown to lack one.

  • 2019 Federal electionCandidateMacarthur, NSW · Australian Labor Party (N.S.W. Branch)Lodged as “FREELANDER, Michael RandolphLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗

Annual member and senator returns are lodged by a small number of parliamentarians: the whole corpus holds 52 of them. Returns lodged by senators are linked to their profiles where the name on the lodged return matches the name we hold for them; where it does not, the return stays here unlinked rather than being attached to a guess. The Registers of Senators' Interests have not been read into this site yet, so a senator can appear here with a funding return and no declared interests beside it, which is a gap in our coverage rather than a record of what they declared. A parliamentarian with no return has not been shown to have received nothing — most never lodge one.

Amounts below the disclosure threshold in force for a given year are not published by the AEC and are absent from these figures. A low total means little was disclosed, not that little was received.

Source: AEC Transparency Register, reused under CC BY 4.0. © Commonwealth of Australia. The AEC does not endorse this site or its analysis.

Suburbs represented

Suburbs in Macarthur. Representing a suburb has nothing to do with owning anything in it.

33 suburbs

Airds · Ambarvale · Blair Athol (NSW) · Blairmount · Bow Bowing · Bradbury (NSW) · Campbelltown (NSW) · Claymore · Currans Hill · Denham Court · Eagle Vale · Englorie Park · Eschol Park · Gilead · Gledswood Hills · Glen Alpine · Gregory Hills · Holsworthy · Kearns · Kentlyn · Leumeah · Menangle Park · Minto · Minto Heights · Raby · Rosemeadow · Ruse · Smeaton Grange · St Andrews (NSW) · St Helens Park · Varroville · Wedderburn (NSW) · Woodbine (NSW)

Register of Members’ Interests / Register of Senators’ Interests, Parliament of Australia — as at 27 January 2022. Original PDF · Report an error

Method & caveats

Australian federal parliamentarians must declare certain interests in the Register of Members’ Interests (House of Representatives) and the Register of Senators’ Interests. For holdings — shares, real estate, trusts, liabilities, assets — the registers record what is held and do not record quantity, value, purchase price or income. Nothing on this page states or implies the size of any holding, any gain or loss, or any trading activity.

Two items are different, because the form itself asks for a value: gifts and sponsored travel. Where a member stated an amount there, it appears as they wrote it. That figure is the declared value of a gift or a trip — never the size of a holding, and never a total.

Dates are the dates a declaration appeared in, or was removed from, the register — not transaction dates. A removal can mean an asset was disposed of, a declaration was corrected, or the member left parliament.

Company names are free text as written by the member. We link a declaration to an ASX listing only on an exact normalised match, a ticker the member stated, or a human-verified alias, so many declarations appear as text only. Real-estate declarations are suburb- or area-level; the registers contain no street addresses, and some declared locations do not map to a single ABS suburb.

Rows are declared as held by the member (“Self”), their spouse or partner, or a dependent child, exactly as the register records them. Members’ seats, parties and chambers change between parliaments.

Extracted from primary PDFs published by the Parliament of Australia; parliamentary material, © Commonwealth of Australia. Corrections are annotated, not silently applied. Not financial advice.