Parliament’s Portfolio

Michael Sukkar

Michael Sukkar

ALPMember for DeakinVICparliaments 44–47
  • 44th–47th · Member for Deakin · Party not recorded

Portrait: Wikimedia Commons — Commonwealth of Australia (CC BY 3.0 au). Not a Parliament of Australia image.

This page covers the 44th, 45th and 48th Parliaments in full. We have read only part of the 46th and 47th Parliaments — this member’s own document may be among those still unread. An empty section below means we have no recorded entry — not that the member declared nothing.

70
entries currently declared
0
ASX-listed companies named
6
real-estate declarations
12
liabilities entries
18
gifts and sponsored travel
22 Jan 2025
register last updated

Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.

About these counts

The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.

What is declared, at a glance

Declared categories
70current entries
  • Liability12
  • Office held12
  • Accounts10
  • Gift10
  • Sponsored travel8
  • Other (4)18
Declared categories
CategoryCount
Liability12
Office held12
Accounts10
Gift10
Sponsored travel8
Real estate6
Other assets6
Other income5
Other interest1
Total70
Who each entry is declared for
70current entries
  • Self43
  • Spouse/partner21
  • Dependent child1
  • Holder not stated5
Who each entry is declared for
CategoryCount
Self43
Spouse/partner21
Dependent child1
Holder not stated5
Total70

Entries declared over time

Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.

035202120222023202420252026
Monthly declaration counts
MonthCount
2021-090
2021-100
2021-110
2021-120
2022-010
2022-020
2022-030
2022-040
2022-050
2022-060
2022-070
2022-080
2022-090
2022-101
2022-111
2022-121
2023-011
2023-022
2023-032
2023-042
2023-052
2023-062
2023-072
2023-082
2023-092
2023-102
2023-112
2023-122
2024-012
2024-022
2024-032
2024-042
2024-052
2024-062
2024-073
2024-084
2024-094
2024-104
2024-114
2024-124
2025-015
2025-025
2025-035
2025-045
2025-055
2025-065
2025-075
2025-085
2025-095
2025-105
2025-115
2025-125
2026-015
2026-025
2026-035
2026-045
2026-055
2026-065
2026-075
2026-085

65 entries without a stated date are not plotted.

Declared interests

Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.

Declared for

Showing 70 of 70 entries.

Declared entries from the Registers of Members’ and Senators’ Interests, in the register’s own words. No column is a quantity or a value; the registers record none.
Source

Real estate (6)

Blackburn VICResidence
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Blackburn VICResidence
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
CANBERRAINVESTMENT
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Fitzroy North VICInvestment
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Fitzroy North VICInvestment
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Location: Ringwood NorthPurpose: Investment
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Liability (12)

INVESTMENT MORTGAGEBANK OF MELBOURNE
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
MortgageNational Australia Bank
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
MortgageNational Australia Bank
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Mortgage on InvestmentBank of Melbourne
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Mortgage on ResidenceBank of Melbourne
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Mortgage on ResidenceBank of Melbourne
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Mortgage on Residence Mortgage on Investment Mortgage on InvestmentMacquarie Bank Macquarie Bank Bank of Melbourne
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Nature of Liability: Mortgage on InvestmentCreditor: Bank of Melbourne
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Nature of Liability: Mortgage on Residence | Creditor: Macquarie BankNature of Liability: Mortgage on Investment | Creditor: Macquarie Bank
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Nature of Liability: Mortgage on Residence | Creditor: Macquarie Bank
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
RESIDENTIAL MORTGAGEBANK OF MELBOURNE
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
RESIDENTIAL MORTGAGEBANK OF MELBOURNE
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Accounts (10)

Offset AccountNational Australia Bank
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Offset AccountNational Australia Bank
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
SAVINGBANK OF MELBOURNE
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
SAVINGBANK OF MELBOURNE
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
SavingsBank of Melbourne
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
SavingsBank of Melbourne
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Savings AccountNational Australia Bank
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Savings AccountNational Australia Bank
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Savings SavingsMacquarie Bank Bank of Melbourne
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Savings SavingsMacquarie Bank Bank of Melbourne
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Other assets (6)

Private Vehicle (Est. value $15,000) | Superannuation – ANZ
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Private Vehicle (Est. value $30,000) | Superannuation – VIC Super
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Private Vehicle Superannuation - ANZ
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Private Vehicle Superannuation - Vic Super
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Superannuation – ANZ Super
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Superannuation – ANZ Super
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Other income (5)

GHD PTY LTD
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Investment Income from property (Refer item 3)
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Investment Income from property (Refer item 3)Salary & wages - GHD Pty Ltd
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Nature of Income: Rental Income
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Rental Income
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Gift (10)

Gift from Croydon Men's Shed, a refurbished garden bench estimated at $325.
Holder not stated
Declared since 9 July 202447P ↗
2018 Kangaroo 25th Anniversary 1oz Silver Coin & 2oz Silver Bar Set – value $325 (inc GST)50th Anniversary of the Moon Landing 2019 Six Coin Proof Year Set – value $100 (inc GST) 2020 Lunar Series Year of the Rat $5 Fine silver proof domed coin – value $125 (inc GST)
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
ASTRA Subscription
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Ceramic Tea Holder, Tapei Economic and Cultural Office, Melbourne, Value unknown
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Chocolate bouquet, Institute of Public Accountants, $300.00
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
FOXTEL PLATINUM PACKAGE, ASTRA, VALUE UNKNOWN.
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Foxtel Platinum Package, ASTRA
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Foxtel Platinum Package, ASTRA, $1608.00 per year
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Original Aboriginal Artwork (circular 25cm diameter) - Value UnknownCentenary of Rotary in Australia Coin - Valued at $105
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
children from family members or personal friends in a purely personal capacity need not be
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Sponsored travel (8)

Complimentary tickets from Tennis Australia to the Australian Open All Abilities Day
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 Jan 202547P ↗
Complimentary tickets from JPG Advisory to the Collingwood v. Carlton AFL match on 3 August 2024.
Holder not stated
Declared since 21 Aug 202447P ↗
24/01/2023 - Ticket to Australian Open Tennis Tournament 2023 from Hancock Prospecting.
Holder not stated
Declared since 17 Feb 202347P ↗
2 complimentary tickets to Geelong vs Collingwood football match courtesy of Tabcorp.
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Oct 202247P ↗
Complimentary Membership of Qantas Chairman's LoungeComplimentary Membership of Virgin 'The Club'
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Complimentary Membership of Qantas Chairman's LoungeComplimentary Membership of Virgin 'The Club'
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Complimentary Membership to Qantas Chairman's Lounge Complimentary Membership to Virgin 'The Club'
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Complimentary tickets to an AFL match on July 16th Complimentary Membership to Qantas Chairman's Lounge Complimentary Membership to Virgin 'The Club'
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Office held (12)

Heart Foundation (Donor)
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
I do not believe that either I, or my wife, belong to any organisation from which a conflict of interest arises. However, for the sake of transparency outlined below are the organisations to which we (respectively) belong: 1. Law Institute of Victoria 2. Tax Institute of Australia 3. Liberal Party of Australia (Victorian Division)
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Liberal Party of Australia (Victorian Division)Rotary Club of Nunawading
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Liberal Party of Australia (Victorian Division)
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Liberal Party of Australia (Victorian Division) Heart Foundation (Donor)
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Liberal Party of Australia (Victorian Division) Rotary Club of Nunawading Lions Club of Vermont South Maroondah Catenians
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Lions Club of Vermont South
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Maroondah Catenians
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Mitcham Football Club; Mitcham Cricket Club; Aquinas Old Collegians Football ClubRingwood RSL
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
National Press Club of Australia
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Norwood Football Club; East Ringwood Football Club; Heathmont Football Club; Croydon Football Club; Croydon Ranges Cricket Club; Ringwood Football Club; Sth Croydon Football Club; Vermont Football Club
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Rotary Club of Nunawading
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Other interest (1)

My father-in-law is General Manager (Australia) and a Director of GHD Pty Ltd. As such, I will excuse myself from any decisions involving GHD Pty Ltd.
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Funding returns lodged with the AEC

Only returns that name this parliamentarian are shown. Money declared as given to a party, a branch or an associated entity is not shown here and is not attributable to any individual.

Election returns linked to this member

Returns this member is linked to, newest first. Linking is per return and exact — an election that does not appear here has not been shown to lack one.

  • 2022 Federal electionCandidateDeakin, VIC · Liberal Party of Australia (Victorian Division)Lodged as “SUKKAR, Michael SvenLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2019 Federal electionCandidateDeakin, VIC · Liberal Party of Australia (Victorian Division)Lodged as “SUKKAR, Michael SvenLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2016 Federal electionCandidateDeakin, VIC · Liberal Party of Australia (Victorian Division)Lodged as “SUKKAR, Michael SvenLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2013 Federal electionCandidateDeakin, VIC · Liberal Party of Australia (Victorian Division)Lodged as “SUKKAR, Michael SvenLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗

Annual member and senator returns are lodged by a small number of parliamentarians: the whole corpus holds 52 of them. Returns lodged by senators are linked to their profiles where the name on the lodged return matches the name we hold for them; where it does not, the return stays here unlinked rather than being attached to a guess. The Registers of Senators' Interests have not been read into this site yet, so a senator can appear here with a funding return and no declared interests beside it, which is a gap in our coverage rather than a record of what they declared. A parliamentarian with no return has not been shown to have received nothing — most never lodge one.

Amounts below the disclosure threshold in force for a given year are not published by the AEC and are absent from these figures. A low total means little was disclosed, not that little was received.

Source: AEC Transparency Register, reused under CC BY 4.0. © Commonwealth of Australia. The AEC does not endorse this site or its analysis.

Suburbs represented

Suburbs in Deakin. Representing a suburb has nothing to do with owning anything in it.

16 suburbs

Bayswater North · Croydon (Vic.) · Croydon Hills · Croydon North · Croydon South · Donvale · Forest Hill (Vic.) · Mitcham (Vic.) · Nunawading · Park Orchards · Ringwood (Vic.) · Ringwood East · Ringwood North · Vermont · Vermont South · Warranwood

Register of Members’ Interests / Register of Senators’ Interests, Parliament of Australia — as at 22 January 2025. Report an error

Method & caveats

Australian federal parliamentarians must declare certain interests in the Register of Members’ Interests (House of Representatives) and the Register of Senators’ Interests. For holdings — shares, real estate, trusts, liabilities, assets — the registers record what is held and do not record quantity, value, purchase price or income. Nothing on this page states or implies the size of any holding, any gain or loss, or any trading activity.

Two items are different, because the form itself asks for a value: gifts and sponsored travel. Where a member stated an amount there, it appears as they wrote it. That figure is the declared value of a gift or a trip — never the size of a holding, and never a total.

Dates are the dates a declaration appeared in, or was removed from, the register — not transaction dates. A removal can mean an asset was disposed of, a declaration was corrected, or the member left parliament.

Company names are free text as written by the member. We link a declaration to an ASX listing only on an exact normalised match, a ticker the member stated, or a human-verified alias, so many declarations appear as text only. Real-estate declarations are suburb- or area-level; the registers contain no street addresses, and some declared locations do not map to a single ABS suburb.

Rows are declared as held by the member (“Self”), their spouse or partner, or a dependent child, exactly as the register records them. Members’ seats, parties and chambers change between parliaments.

Extracted from primary PDFs published by the Parliament of Australia; parliamentary material, © Commonwealth of Australia. Corrections are annotated, not silently applied. Not financial advice.