Parliament’s Portfolio

Patrick Conaghan

Patrick Conaghan

NPMember for CowperNSWparliaments 46–48
  • 46th–47th · Member for Cowper · Party not recorded
  • 48th · Member for Cowper · Nationals

Portrait: Wikimedia Commons — City of Coffs Harbour (CC BY 3.0). Not a Parliament of Australia image.

This page covers the 44th, 45th and 48th Parliaments in full. We have read only part of the 46th and 47th Parliaments — this member’s own document may be among those still unread. An empty section below means we have no recorded entry — not that the member declared nothing.

30
entries currently declared
1
ASX-listed companies named
2
real-estate declarations
5
liabilities entries
8
gifts and sponsored travel
29 Jan 2026
register last updated

Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.

About these counts

The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.

What is declared, at a glance

Declared categories
30current entries
  • Sponsored travel6
  • Liability5
  • Accounts5
  • Other income3
  • Shareholdings2
  • Other (6)9
Declared categories
CategoryCount
Sponsored travel6
Liability5
Accounts5
Other income3
Shareholdings2
Real estate2
Other assets2
Gift2
Directorship1
Office held1
Other interest1
Total30
Who each entry is declared for
30current entries
  • Self18
  • Spouse/partner8
  • Dependent child2
  • Holder not stated2
Who each entry is declared for
CategoryCount
Self18
Spouse/partner8
Dependent child2
Holder not stated2
Total30

Entries declared over time

Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.

035202120222023202420252026
Monthly declaration counts
MonthCount
2021-090
2021-100
2021-110
2021-120
2022-010
2022-020
2022-030
2022-040
2022-050
2022-060
2022-070
2022-080
2022-090
2022-100
2022-110
2022-120
2023-010
2023-020
2023-030
2023-040
2023-050
2023-060
2023-070
2023-081
2023-091
2023-101
2023-111
2023-121
2024-011
2024-021
2024-032
2024-042
2024-052
2024-062
2024-072
2024-082
2024-092
2024-102
2024-112
2024-122
2025-012
2025-022
2025-032
2025-042
2025-052
2025-062
2025-072
2025-083
2025-093
2025-103
2025-113
2025-124
2026-015
2026-025
2026-035
2026-045
2026-055
2026-065
2026-075
2026-085

25 entries without a stated date are not plotted.

Declared companies by industry
Distinct ASX-listed companies declared by this member, grouped by industry. A count of companies, not an amount.
IndustryDistinct companies
Insurance
1

Declared interests

Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.

Declared for

Showing 30 of 30 entries.

Declared entries from the Registers of Members’ and Senators’ Interests, in the register’s own words. No column is a quantity or a value; the registers record none.
Source

Shareholdings (2)

Conaghan Lawyers Pty Limited
Private company
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
IAG · Insurance Australia Group
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Real estate (2)

Port Macquarie NSW
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Port Macquarie NSW
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Directorship (1)

Conaghan Lawyers Pty Limited
Private company
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Liability (5)

MortgageWestpac
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
MortgageWestpac
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Mortgage - home Mortgage - investment Car lease (amarok) Car Lease (Mercedes Benz ML250) Car lease (C250) Personal loan Credit cardWestpac Westpac VW financial services Mercedes Benz finance BMW finance Commonwealth Bank Commonwealth bank
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Mortgage Personal loanWestpac Commonwealth Bank
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Mortgage Residential Mortgage investment Credit cardWestpac Westpac Westpac
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Accounts (5)

SavingCommonwealth
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
SavingsING
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
SavingsCommonwealth
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
SavingsCommonwealth
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Savings SavingsWestpac ING
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗

Other assets (2)

Vehicle
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Vehicle Amoarok Vehicle Mercedes
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Other income (3)

Income from employment
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Legal services (passive income) Conaghan Lawyers Parliamentary income
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Secretarial services - Conaghan Lawyers Employment - Oz Design Port Macquarie
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Gift (2)

Qantas - Lounge
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
children from family members or personal friends in a purely personal capacity need not be
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Sponsored travel (6)

4 Tickets to Westpac Corporate Box for day two of the Pink Test Ashes Tour, Sydney, 5 Jan 2026.
Self
Declared since 29 Jan 202648P ↗
4 complimentary tickets in general admission at the Perth Ashes cricket test from Cricket Australia on Friday 21 November 2025
Self
Declared since 5 Dec 202548P ↗
Qantas Chairman Lounge
Self
Declared since 6 Aug 202548P ↗
Travel and accommodation to Indonesia with the Save the Children Foundation 16-26 January 2024 as part of joint parliamentary delegation.
Holder not stated
Declared since 18 Mar 202447P ↗
Accomodation and food at RIMPAC parliamentary exchange program 13 July - 23 July 2022 in Hawaii. Flights paid for by myself
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Upgrade from Bronze to Emerald Qantas Club Upgrade to Virgin Business
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Office held (1)

South West Rocks Surf Club - active member
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Other interest (1)

Scholarship from the Mc Kinnon Institute for the Advanced Political Leaders Program 2023 including accommodation, meals and incidentals
Holder not stated
Declared since 2 Aug 202347P ↗

Funding returns lodged with the AEC

Only returns that name this parliamentarian are shown. Money declared as given to a party, a branch or an associated entity is not shown here and is not attributable to any individual.

Election returns linked to this member

Returns this member is linked to, newest first. Linking is per return and exact — an election that does not appear here has not been shown to lack one.

  • 2025 Federal ElectionCandidateCowper, NSW · National Party of Australia - N.S.W.Lodged as “CONAGHAN, Patrick JohnLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2022 Federal electionCandidateCowper, NSW · National Party of Australia - N.S.W.Lodged as “CONAGHAN, Patrick JohnLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2019 Federal electionCandidateCowper, NSW · National Party of Australia - N.S.W.Lodged as “CONAGHAN, Patrick JohnLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗

Annual member and senator returns are lodged by a small number of parliamentarians: the whole corpus holds 52 of them. Returns lodged by senators are linked to their profiles where the name on the lodged return matches the name we hold for them; where it does not, the return stays here unlinked rather than being attached to a guess. The Registers of Senators' Interests have not been read into this site yet, so a senator can appear here with a funding return and no declared interests beside it, which is a gap in our coverage rather than a record of what they declared. A parliamentarian with no return has not been shown to have received nothing — most never lodge one.

Amounts below the disclosure threshold in force for a given year are not published by the AEC and are absent from these figures. A low total means little was disclosed, not that little was received.

Source: AEC Transparency Register, reused under CC BY 4.0. © Commonwealth of Australia. The AEC does not endorse this site or its analysis.

Suburbs represented

Suburbs in Cowper. Representing a suburb has nothing to do with owning anything in it.

138 suburbs

Aldavilla · Allgomera · Arakoon · Argents Hill · Austral Eden · Bakers Creek (Nambucca Valley - NSW) · Barraganyatti · Bellbrook · Bellimbopinni · Bellingen · Belmore River · Bielsdown Hills · Blackmans Point · Boambee · Boambee East · Bonville · Bostobrick · Bowraville · Brierfield · Brinerville · Brooklana · Buckra Bendinni · Bundagen · Burnt Bridge · Burrapine · Cascade (NSW) · Clybucca · Coffs Harbour · Collombatti · Comara · Congarinni · Congarinni North · Cooperabung · Corangula · Crescent Head · Darkwood · Deep Creek (Kempsey - NSW) · Deer Vale · Dondingalong · Dorrigo · Dorrigo Mountain · East Kempsey · Eungai Creek · Eungai Rail · Euroka · Fernbank Creek · Fernbrook · Fernmount · Fishermans Reach · Frederickton · Girralong · Gladstone (NSW) · Gleniffer · Grassy Head · Greenhill (NSW) · Gum Scrub · Gumma · Hacks Ferry · Hampden Hall · Hat Head · Hickeys Creek · Hydes Creek · Hyland Park · Jerseyville · Kalang · Kempsey · Kennaicle Creek · Killiekrankie · Kinchela · Kundabung · Limeburners Creek (Port Macquarie-Hastings - NSW) · Macksville · Megan · Millbank (NSW) · Missabotti · Mooneba · Moparrabah · Mungay Creek · Mylestom · Nambucca Heads · Never Never · Newee Creek · North Boambee Valley · North Dorrigo · North Macksville · North Shore (NSW) · Old Station · Pola Creek · Port Macquarie · Rainbow Reach · Raleigh · Repton · Riverside (NSW) · Sawtell · Seven Oaks · Sherwood (Kempsey - NSW) · Skillion Flat · Smithtown · South Arm (Nambucca Valley - NSW) · South Kempsey · South West Rocks · Spicketts Creek · Stuarts Point · Summer Island · Talarm · Tallowwood Ridge · Tamban · Taylors Arm · Telegraph Point · Temagog · Tewinga · The Hatch · Thora · Thrumster · Thumb Creek · Toormina · Toorooka · Turners Flat · Ulong · Upper Orara · Upper Taylors Arm · Urunga · Utungun · Valery · Valla · Valla Beach · Verges Creek · Warrell Creek · Way Way · West Kempsey · Willawarrin · Willi Willi · Wirrimbi · Wittitrin · Yarrahapinni · Yarranbella · Yarravel · Yessabah

Register of Members’ Interests / Register of Senators’ Interests, Parliament of Australia — as at 29 January 2026. Report an error

Method & caveats

Australian federal parliamentarians must declare certain interests in the Register of Members’ Interests (House of Representatives) and the Register of Senators’ Interests. For holdings — shares, real estate, trusts, liabilities, assets — the registers record what is held and do not record quantity, value, purchase price or income. Nothing on this page states or implies the size of any holding, any gain or loss, or any trading activity.

Two items are different, because the form itself asks for a value: gifts and sponsored travel. Where a member stated an amount there, it appears as they wrote it. That figure is the declared value of a gift or a trip — never the size of a holding, and never a total.

Dates are the dates a declaration appeared in, or was removed from, the register — not transaction dates. A removal can mean an asset was disposed of, a declaration was corrected, or the member left parliament.

Company names are free text as written by the member. We link a declaration to an ASX listing only on an exact normalised match, a ticker the member stated, or a human-verified alias, so many declarations appear as text only. Real-estate declarations are suburb- or area-level; the registers contain no street addresses, and some declared locations do not map to a single ABS suburb.

Rows are declared as held by the member (“Self”), their spouse or partner, or a dependent child, exactly as the register records them. Members’ seats, parties and chambers change between parliaments.

Extracted from primary PDFs published by the Parliament of Australia; parliamentary material, © Commonwealth of Australia. Corrections are annotated, not silently applied. Not financial advice.