Parliament’s Portfolio

Peta Murphy

Peta Murphy

ALPMember for DunkleyVICparliaments 46–47
  • 46th–47th · Member for Dunkley · Party not recorded

Portrait: Wikimedia Commons — Psperd (CC BY-SA 4.0). Not a Parliament of Australia image.

This page covers the 44th, 45th and 48th Parliaments in full. We have read only part of the 46th and 47th Parliaments — this member’s own document may be among those still unread. An empty section below means we have no recorded entry — not that the member declared nothing.

34
entries currently declared
0
ASX-listed companies named
2
real-estate declarations
4
liabilities entries
11
gifts and sponsored travel
23 Oct 2023
register last updated

Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.

About these counts

The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.

What is declared, at a glance

Declared categories
34current entries
  • Office held8
  • Gift7
  • Liability4
  • Accounts4
  • Sponsored travel4
  • Other (3)7
Declared categories
CategoryCount
Office held8
Gift7
Liability4
Accounts4
Sponsored travel4
Other assets3
Real estate2
Other income2
Total34
Who each entry is declared for
34current entries
  • Self8
  • Spouse/partner11
  • Dependent child1
  • Holder not stated14
Who each entry is declared for
CategoryCount
Self8
Spouse/partner11
Dependent child1
Holder not stated14
Total34

Entries declared over time

Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.

0714202120222023202420252026
Monthly declaration counts
MonthCount
2021-096
2021-107
2021-117
2021-127
2022-017
2022-027
2022-037
2022-047
2022-057
2022-067
2022-079
2022-089
2022-099
2022-109
2022-119
2022-129
2023-0110
2023-0213
2023-0313
2023-0413
2023-0513
2023-0613
2023-0713
2023-0813
2023-0913
2023-1014
2023-1114
2023-1214
2024-0114
2024-0214
2024-0314
2024-0414
2024-0514
2024-0614
2024-0714
2024-0814
2024-0914
2024-1014
2024-1114
2024-1214
2025-0114
2025-0214
2025-0314
2025-0414
2025-0514
2025-0614
2025-0714
2025-0814
2025-0914
2025-1014
2025-1114
2025-1214
2026-0114
2026-0214
2026-0314
2026-0414
2026-0514
2026-0614
2026-0714
2026-0814

20 entries without a stated date are not plotted.

Declared interests

Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.

Declared for

Showing 34 of 34 entries.

Declared entries from the Registers of Members’ and Senators’ Interests, in the register’s own words. No column is a quantity or a value; the registers record none.
Source

Real estate (2)

Frankston VICResidential
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Frankston VICResidential
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Liability (4)

MortgageMortgage Choice
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
MortgageMortgage Choice
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Mortgage on Residential PropertyMortgage Choice
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Mortgage on Residential PropertyMortgage choice
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Accounts (4)

OffsetMortgage Choice
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Offset SavingsMortgage Choice ING
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Offset account Saving Netbank SaverMortgage choice CBA CBA
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Offset account Saving Netbank saverMortgage choice CBA CBA
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Other assets (3)

Lease on Frankston Beach Box (lease acquired as part of residential home purchase)
Holder not stated
Declared since 9 Sept 201946P ↗
Long term lease on beach box
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Long term lease on beach box
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Other income (2)

Income from employment
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
salary
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Gift (7)

Scholarship to McKinnon Institute of Political Leadership Advanced leadership course
Holder not stated
Declared since 28 July 202247P ↗
Extension of Chairman’s lounge membership to November 2023.
Holder not stated
Declared since 7 Oct 202146P ↗
FOXTEL subscription
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 Aug 201946P ↗
membership of the Qantas Chairman's Lounge for self, provided by airline membership of the Virgin Club for self and husband, provided by airline
Holder not stated
Declared since 6 July 201946P ↗
Membership of Virgin Club
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Memership of Qantas Chairman's Lounge Membership of Virgin Club Foxtel Subscription for electorate office
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
children from family members or personal friends in a purely personal capacity need not be
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Sponsored travel (4)

Two tickets and hospitality for day session at the Australian Open, hosted by Anacta Consulting.
Holder not stated
Declared since 14 Feb 202347P ↗
Two tickets and hospitality for evening session at the Australian Open Tennis, hosted by Asahi Beverages.
Holder not stated
Declared since 14 Feb 202347P ↗
2 tickets to the Brooklyn Nets home game, with hospitality, on 1 December 2022.
Holder not stated
Declared since 16 Jan 202347P ↗
Self and Husband guests of Breast Cancer Network for Pink Round at the MCG (dinner and game) Self and Husband guests of Carlton Football club for Respect Round (Presidents Dinner and game)
Holder not stated
Declared since 28 July 202247P ↗

Office held (8)

No. 1 Ticket Holder, Peninsula Waves VNL team.
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Oct 202347P ↗
Member Peninsula Dragonflies Ambassador Women’s Spirit Program
Holder not stated
Declared since 6 Feb 202347P ↗
Patron of Frankston Bowls Club
Holder not stated
Declared since 20 Jan 202146P ↗
Frankston Football Club (Red membership)
Holder not stated
Declared since 21 Feb 202046P ↗
Seaford RSL
Holder not stated
Declared since 21 Feb 202046P ↗
Patron Frankston City Bowls Club Patron Frankston Vietnam Veterans Association member Frankston Football Club Long Island Tennis Club
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Save the Children
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
member Frankston Football Club member Frankston RSL Long Island Tennis club
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Funding returns lodged with the AEC

Only returns that name this parliamentarian are shown. Money declared as given to a party, a branch or an associated entity is not shown here and is not attributable to any individual.

Election returns linked to this member

Returns this member is linked to, newest first. Linking is per return and exact — an election that does not appear here has not been shown to lack one.

  • 2022 Federal electionCandidateDunkley, VIC · Australian Labor Party (Victorian Branch)Lodged as “MURPHY, Peta JanLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2019 Federal electionCandidateDunkley, VIC · Australian Labor Party (Victorian Branch)Lodged as “MURPHY, Peta JanLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗

Annual member and senator returns are lodged by a small number of parliamentarians: the whole corpus holds 52 of them. Returns lodged by senators are linked to their profiles where the name on the lodged return matches the name we hold for them; where it does not, the return stays here unlinked rather than being attached to a guess. The Registers of Senators' Interests have not been read into this site yet, so a senator can appear here with a funding return and no declared interests beside it, which is a gap in our coverage rather than a record of what they declared. A parliamentarian with no return has not been shown to have received nothing — most never lodge one.

Amounts below the disclosure threshold in force for a given year are not published by the AEC and are absent from these figures. A low total means little was disclosed, not that little was received.

Source: AEC Transparency Register, reused under CC BY 4.0. © Commonwealth of Australia. The AEC does not endorse this site or its analysis.

Suburbs represented

Suburbs in Dunkley. Representing a suburb has nothing to do with owning anything in it.

13 suburbs

Bonbeach · Carrum · Carrum Downs · Chelsea · Frankston · Frankston North · Frankston South · Langwarrin · Langwarrin South · Patterson Lakes · Sandhurst · Seaford (Vic.) · Skye (Vic.)

Register of Members’ Interests / Register of Senators’ Interests, Parliament of Australia — as at 23 October 2023. Report an error

Method & caveats

Australian federal parliamentarians must declare certain interests in the Register of Members’ Interests (House of Representatives) and the Register of Senators’ Interests. For holdings — shares, real estate, trusts, liabilities, assets — the registers record what is held and do not record quantity, value, purchase price or income. Nothing on this page states or implies the size of any holding, any gain or loss, or any trading activity.

Two items are different, because the form itself asks for a value: gifts and sponsored travel. Where a member stated an amount there, it appears as they wrote it. That figure is the declared value of a gift or a trip — never the size of a holding, and never a total.

Dates are the dates a declaration appeared in, or was removed from, the register — not transaction dates. A removal can mean an asset was disposed of, a declaration was corrected, or the member left parliament.

Company names are free text as written by the member. We link a declaration to an ASX listing only on an exact normalised match, a ticker the member stated, or a human-verified alias, so many declarations appear as text only. Real-estate declarations are suburb- or area-level; the registers contain no street addresses, and some declared locations do not map to a single ABS suburb.

Rows are declared as held by the member (“Self”), their spouse or partner, or a dependent child, exactly as the register records them. Members’ seats, parties and chambers change between parliaments.

Extracted from primary PDFs published by the Parliament of Australia; parliamentary material, © Commonwealth of Australia. Corrections are annotated, not silently applied. Not financial advice.