Parliament’s Portfolio

Rex Patrick

Rex Patrick

INDSenator for SAparliaments 45–46
  • 45th · Senator for SA · Party not recorded
  • 46th · Senator for SA · Independent

Portrait: Wikimedia Commons — Consortium News (CC BY 3.0). Not a Parliament of Australia image.

This page covers the 44th Parliament in full. We have read only part of the 47th and 48th Parliaments — this member’s own document may be among those still unread. An empty section below means we have no recorded entry — not that the member declared nothing. The Registers of Senators’ Interests are tabled as combined Senate volumes, and the volumes covering this senator’s lodgements are ones we have not read into this site yet. An empty register here is our coverage gap — not a record that this senator declared nothing.

29
entries currently declared
6
ASX-listed companies named
3
real-estate declarations
2
liabilities entries
7
gifts and sponsored travel
5 Apr 2022
register last updated

Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.

About these counts

The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.

What is declared, at a glance

Declared categories
29current entries
  • Shareholdings8
  • Gift5
  • Real estate3
  • Other assets3
  • Directorship2
  • Other (6)8
Declared categories
CategoryCount
Shareholdings8
Gift5
Real estate3
Other assets3
Directorship2
Liability2
Sponsored travel2
Trusts1
Accounts1
Other income1
Office held1
Total29
Who each entry is declared for
29current entries
  • Holder not stated29
Who each entry is declared for
CategoryCount
Holder not stated29
Total29

Entries declared over time

Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.

01529202120222023202420252026
Monthly declaration counts
MonthCount
2021-1024
2021-1126
2021-1226
2022-0126
2022-0228
2022-0328
2022-0429
2022-0529
2022-0629
2022-0729
2022-0829
2022-0929
2022-1029
2022-1129
2022-1229
2023-0129
2023-0229
2023-0329
2023-0429
2023-0529
2023-0629
2023-0729
2023-0829
2023-0929
2023-1029
2023-1129
2023-1229
2024-0129
2024-0229
2024-0329
2024-0429
2024-0529
2024-0629
2024-0729
2024-0829
2024-0929
2024-1029
2024-1129
2024-1229
2025-0129
2025-0229
2025-0329
2025-0429
2025-0529
2025-0629
2025-0729
2025-0829
2025-0929
2025-1029
2025-1129
2025-1229
2026-0129
2026-0229
2026-0329
2026-0429
2026-0529
2026-0629
2026-0729
2026-0829
2026-0929
Declared companies by industry
Distinct ASX-listed companies declared by this member, grouped by industry. A count of companies, not an amount.
IndustryDistinct companies
Materials
4
Banks
1

Declared interests

Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.

Showing 30 of 30 entries.

Declared entries from the Registers of Members’ and Senators’ Interests, in the register’s own words. No column is a quantity or a value; the registers record none.
Source

Shareholdings (8)

1MC · Morella
Holder not stated
Declared since 5 Apr 2022PDF ↗
FMG · Fortescue
Holder not stated
Declared since 14 Feb 2022PDF ↗
AJM · Altura Mining
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗
BHP · Bhp Group
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗
CBA · Commonwealth Bank Of Australia.
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗
I have traded the following shares indirectly through Acoustic Force Pty Ltd:
Private company
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗
KAI · Kairos Minerals
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗
Pilbara Minerals — not matched to an ASX listing
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗

Trusts (1)

Patrick Discretionary Trust with Acoustic Force as the TrusteeDiscretionary Trust
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗

Real estate (3)

Adelaide CBDResidential
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗
Coolum Beach QLDInvestment
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗
Woolooware NSWInvestment
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗

Directorship (2)

Acoustic Force Pte Ltd — not matched to an ASX listing
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗
Acoustic Force Pty Ltd
Private company
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗

Liability (2)

Mortage on propertiesANZ
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗
Vehicle FinanceVolkswagen Finance
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗

Accounts (1)

Savings AccountCommonwealth Bank
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗

Other assets (3)

Military Superannuation and Benefits Scheme
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗
Motor Vehicle - Volkswagen Toureg (under finance)
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗
Public Service Superannuation Accumulation Plan
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗

Other income (1)

Rental income from Coolum Beach and Woolooware properties
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗

Gift (5)

FOI decision making reasonable time frame pro bono legal work provided by Mr Flavio Verlato, Instructing Solicitor Matilda Legal - $20,000 adverse cost order indemnity for proceedings in Federal Court where I have initiated public interest proceeding against the Information Commissioner for taking an unreasonable time in the conduct of her FOI reviews. • Note that this money will only be paid in the event that I am unsuccessful in the proceedings and a cost order is made against me. In that circumstance the money will be paid to the Commonwealth. Australia Institute - $30,000 adverse cost order indemnity for proceedings in Federal Court where I have initiated public interest proceeding against the Information Comissioner for taking an unreasonable time in the conduct of her FOI reviews. • Note that this money will only be paid in the event that I am unsuccessful in the proceedings and a cost order is made against me. In that circumstance the money will be paid to the Commonwealth. Australia Institute - $1,455 Federal Court Application fee for public interest proceedings I have initiated against the Information Commissioner for taking an unreasonable time in the conduct of her FOI reviews.
Holder not stated
Declared since 14 Feb 2022PDF ↗
FOI decision making reasonable time frame pro bono legal work provided by Ms Tiphanie Acreman, Barrister
Holder not stated
Declared since 8 Nov 2021PDF ↗
Free ticket for two day Virtual Conference : 6th SIA Submarine Science, Technology & Engineering Conference - Submarine Institute of Australia 9th and 10th November 2021 - $610 per day - $1,020 total
Holder not stated
Declared since 8 Nov 2021PDF ↗
National Cabinet FOI Pro bono Legal Work – Geoffrey Watson SC/Diana Tang – ongoing
Holder not stated
Declared since 3 May 2021PDF ↗
Foxtel - Electoral Office Subscription Choice Magazine - 12 month complimentary subscription Save The Children Fund - Participant in delegation to Papual New Guinea 10-16 August 2019
Holder not stated
Declared since 30 Jan 2020PDF ↗

Sponsored travel (2)

Corporate Event Hospitality Ticket for The Bend Motorsport, Tailem Bend, Saturday 8th May 2021 Valued at $650
Holder not stated
Declared since 7 May 2021PDF ↗
Membership of Qantas Chairman's Lounge and Virgin Australia "The Club"
Holder not stated
Declared since 29 July 2019PDF ↗

Office held (2)

Financial contributor to Rex Patrick Team
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Jan 2021PDF ↗
Financial contributor to Centre Alliance
Holder not stated
29 July 2019 – 19 Jan 2021PDF ↗

Register of Members’ Interests / Register of Senators’ Interests, Parliament of Australia — as at 5 April 2022. Report an error

Method & caveats

Australian federal parliamentarians must declare certain interests in the Register of Members’ Interests (House of Representatives) and the Register of Senators’ Interests. For holdings — shares, real estate, trusts, liabilities, assets — the registers record what is held and do not record quantity, value, purchase price or income. Nothing on this page states or implies the size of any holding, any gain or loss, or any trading activity.

Two items are different, because the form itself asks for a value: gifts and sponsored travel. Where a member stated an amount there, it appears as they wrote it. That figure is the declared value of a gift or a trip — never the size of a holding, and never a total.

Dates are the dates a declaration appeared in, or was removed from, the register — not transaction dates. A removal can mean an asset was disposed of, a declaration was corrected, or the member left parliament.

Company names are free text as written by the member. We link a declaration to an ASX listing only on an exact normalised match, a ticker the member stated, or a human-verified alias, so many declarations appear as text only. Real-estate declarations are suburb- or area-level; the registers contain no street addresses, and some declared locations do not map to a single ABS suburb.

Rows are declared as held by the member (“Self”), their spouse or partner, or a dependent child, exactly as the register records them. Members’ seats, parties and chambers change between parliaments.

Extracted from primary PDFs published by the Parliament of Australia; parliamentary material, © Commonwealth of Australia. Corrections are annotated, not silently applied. Not financial advice.