Parliament’s Portfolio

Robert Mitchell

Robert Mitchell

ALPMember for McEwenVICparliaments 46–47
  • 46th–47th · Member for McEwen · Party not recorded

Portrait: Wikimedia Commons — TheScrubby (CC BY-SA 4.0). Not a Parliament of Australia image.

This page covers the 44th, 45th and 48th Parliaments in full. We have read only part of the 46th and 47th Parliaments — this member’s own document may be among those still unread. An empty section below means we have no recorded entry — not that the member declared nothing.

20
entries currently declared
0
ASX-listed companies named
4
real-estate declarations
2
liabilities entries
8
gifts and sponsored travel
5 Feb 2024
register last updated

Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.

About these counts

The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.

What is declared, at a glance

Declared categories
20current entries
  • Sponsored travel5
  • Real estate4
  • Accounts3
  • Gift3
  • Liability2
  • Other (3)3
Declared categories
CategoryCount
Sponsored travel5
Real estate4
Accounts3
Gift3
Liability2
Other income1
Office held1
Other interest1
Total20
Who each entry is declared for
20current entries
  • Self10
  • Spouse/partner6
  • Dependent child1
  • Holder not stated3
Who each entry is declared for
CategoryCount
Self10
Spouse/partner6
Dependent child1
Holder not stated3
Total20

Entries declared over time

Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.

023202120222023202420252026
Monthly declaration counts
MonthCount
2021-090
2021-100
2021-110
2021-120
2022-010
2022-020
2022-030
2022-040
2022-050
2022-060
2022-070
2022-080
2022-090
2022-100
2022-110
2022-120
2023-010
2023-020
2023-030
2023-040
2023-051
2023-061
2023-071
2023-081
2023-092
2023-102
2023-112
2023-122
2024-012
2024-023
2024-033
2024-043
2024-053
2024-063
2024-073
2024-083
2024-093
2024-103
2024-113
2024-123
2025-013
2025-023
2025-033
2025-043
2025-053
2025-063
2025-073
2025-083
2025-093
2025-103
2025-113
2025-123
2026-013
2026-023
2026-033
2026-043
2026-053
2026-063
2026-073
2026-083

17 entries without a stated date are not plotted.

Declared interests

Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.

Declared for

Showing 20 of 20 entries.

Declared entries from the Registers of Members’ and Senators’ Interests, in the register’s own words. No column is a quantity or a value; the registers record none.
Source

Real estate (4)

Half share House Phillip Island jointly mortgaged with spouse
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Whittlesea VICResidence
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Whittlesea VICResidence
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Whittlsea
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Liability (2)

Mortgage on Phillip Island propertyBendigo Bank
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Mortgage on Phillip Island propertyBendigo Bank
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Accounts (3)

Commonwealth Bank accounts
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
SavingsWestpac
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
SavingsBendigo Bank, Westpac and CBA
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Other income (1)

salary
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Gift (3)

Qantas FF Virgin FF Foxtel for EO
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Virgin FF
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
children from family members or personal friends in a purely personal capacity need not be
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Sponsored travel (5)

Guest of Diageo Australia at men's semifinal at Rod Laver Arena on the evening of 26 January 2024.
Holder not stated
Declared since 5 Feb 202447P ↗
Guest of the AFL at Carlton v Sydney match at the MCG Olympic Room on 8 September 2023
Holder not stated
Declared since 13 Sept 202347P ↗
Guest of Linfox at Carlton vs Brisbane Lions match, Marvel Stadium Premier Suites on 5 May 2023
Holder not stated
Declared since 10 May 202347P ↗
Guest of Sports Bet with spouse at Australian Open Men's Semi-final on 28 January 2022
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Two tickets and hospitality at MCG T20 match on 1 November 2019 courtesy of Cricket Australia
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Office held (1)

TWU AWU Lions Australia
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Other interest (1)

Mortgage with Spouse Bendigo Bank
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Funding returns lodged with the AEC

Only returns that name this parliamentarian are shown. Money declared as given to a party, a branch or an associated entity is not shown here and is not attributable to any individual.

Election returns linked to this member

Returns this member is linked to, newest first. Linking is per return and exact — an election that does not appear here has not been shown to lack one.

  • 2022 Federal electionCandidateMcEwen, VIC · Australian Labor Party (Victorian Branch)Lodged as “MITCHELL, Robert GeorgeLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2019 Federal electionCandidateMcEwen, VIC · Australian Labor Party (Victorian Branch)Lodged as “MITCHELL, Robert GeorgeLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗

Annual member and senator returns are lodged by a small number of parliamentarians: the whole corpus holds 52 of them. Returns lodged by senators are linked to their profiles where the name on the lodged return matches the name we hold for them; where it does not, the return stays here unlinked rather than being attached to a guess. The Registers of Senators' Interests have not been read into this site yet, so a senator can appear here with a funding return and no declared interests beside it, which is a gap in our coverage rather than a record of what they declared. A parliamentarian with no return has not been shown to have received nothing — most never lodge one.

Amounts below the disclosure threshold in force for a given year are not published by the AEC and are absent from these figures. A low total means little was disclosed, not that little was received.

Source: AEC Transparency Register, reused under CC BY 4.0. © Commonwealth of Australia. The AEC does not endorse this site or its analysis.

Suburbs represented

Suburbs in McEwen. Representing a suburb has nothing to do with owning anything in it.

54 suburbs

Arthurs Creek · Ashbourne (Vic.) · Beveridge · Bolinda · Bullengarook · Bylands · Cadello · Cherokee · Chintin · Clarkefield · Clonbinane · Cobaw · Cottles Bridge · Darraweit Guim · Diamond Creek · Donnybrook (Vic.) · Doreen · Eden Park · Gisborne · Gisborne South · Goldie · Heathcote Junction · Hesket · Humevale · Hurstbridge · Kalkallo · Kerrie · Lancefield · Macedon · Mernda · Monegeetta · Mount Macedon · New Gisborne · Newham · Nutfield · Plenty (Vic.) · Riddells Creek · Rochford · Romsey · Springfield (Macedon Ranges - Vic.) · St Andrews (Vic.) · Strathewen · Trentham East · Upper Plenty · Wallan · Wandong · Waterford Park · Wattle Glen · Whittlesea · Woodend (Vic.) · Woodend North · Woodstock (Vic.) · Yan Yean · Yarrambat

Register of Members’ Interests / Register of Senators’ Interests, Parliament of Australia — as at 5 February 2024. Report an error

Method & caveats

Australian federal parliamentarians must declare certain interests in the Register of Members’ Interests (House of Representatives) and the Register of Senators’ Interests. For holdings — shares, real estate, trusts, liabilities, assets — the registers record what is held and do not record quantity, value, purchase price or income. Nothing on this page states or implies the size of any holding, any gain or loss, or any trading activity.

Two items are different, because the form itself asks for a value: gifts and sponsored travel. Where a member stated an amount there, it appears as they wrote it. That figure is the declared value of a gift or a trip — never the size of a holding, and never a total.

Dates are the dates a declaration appeared in, or was removed from, the register — not transaction dates. A removal can mean an asset was disposed of, a declaration was corrected, or the member left parliament.

Company names are free text as written by the member. We link a declaration to an ASX listing only on an exact normalised match, a ticker the member stated, or a human-verified alias, so many declarations appear as text only. Real-estate declarations are suburb- or area-level; the registers contain no street addresses, and some declared locations do not map to a single ABS suburb.

Rows are declared as held by the member (“Self”), their spouse or partner, or a dependent child, exactly as the register records them. Members’ seats, parties and chambers change between parliaments.

Extracted from primary PDFs published by the Parliament of Australia; parliamentary material, © Commonwealth of Australia. Corrections are annotated, not silently applied. Not financial advice.