Parliament’s Portfolio

Russell Broadbent

Russell Broadbent

LPMember for MonashVICparliaments 44–47
  • 44th–45th · Member for McMillan · Party not recorded
  • 46th–47th · Member for Monash · Party not recorded

Portrait: Wikimedia Commons — William Kulich of The Warragul Citizen (CC BY-SA 3.0). Not a Parliament of Australia image.

This page covers the 44th, 45th and 48th Parliaments in full. We have read only part of the 46th and 47th Parliaments — this member’s own document may be among those still unread. An empty section below means we have no recorded entry — not that the member declared nothing.

36
entries currently declared
0
ASX-listed companies named
8
real-estate declarations
3
liabilities entries
6
gifts and sponsored travel
13 Nov 2023
register last updated

Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.

About these counts

The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.

What is declared, at a glance

Declared categories
36current entries
  • Real estate8
  • Other assets6
  • Directorship5
  • Sponsored travel5
  • Bonds4
  • Other (3)8
Declared categories
CategoryCount
Real estate8
Other assets6
Directorship5
Sponsored travel5
Bonds4
Accounts4
Liability3
Gift1
Total36
Who each entry is declared for
36current entries
  • Self17
  • Spouse/partner16
  • Dependent child1
  • Holder not stated2
Who each entry is declared for
CategoryCount
Self17
Spouse/partner16
Dependent child1
Holder not stated2
Total36

Entries declared over time

Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.

012202120222023202420252026
Monthly declaration counts
MonthCount
2021-090
2021-100
2021-110
2021-120
2022-010
2022-020
2022-030
2022-040
2022-050
2022-060
2022-070
2022-080
2022-090
2022-100
2022-110
2022-120
2023-010
2023-020
2023-030
2023-040
2023-050
2023-061
2023-071
2023-081
2023-091
2023-101
2023-112
2023-122
2024-012
2024-022
2024-032
2024-042
2024-052
2024-062
2024-072
2024-082
2024-092
2024-102
2024-112
2024-122
2025-012
2025-022
2025-032
2025-042
2025-052
2025-062
2025-072
2025-082
2025-092
2025-102
2025-112
2025-122
2026-012
2026-022
2026-032
2026-042
2026-052
2026-062
2026-072
2026-082

34 entries without a stated date are not plotted.

Declared interests

Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.

Declared for

Showing 36 of 36 entries.

Declared entries from the Registers of Members’ and Senators’ Interests, in the register’s own words. No column is a quantity or a value; the registers record none.
Source

Real estate (8)

PAKENHAM VICTRESIDENCE
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
PAKENHAM VICTRESIDENCE
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
PHILLIP ISLAND "HOLIDAY HONE
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
PHILLIP ISLAND VICTINVESTMENT
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Pakenham VICResidence Recreation
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
WARRAGUL VICTINVESTMENT
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
WARRAGUL VICTINVESTMENT
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Warragul VICResidence Investment
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Directorship (5)

BL & BM BROADBENT DRAPERS PTY LTD.
Private company
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
BL & BM BROADBENT DRAPERYS PTY. LTD
Private company
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
BL & BM Broadbent Drapers Pty/Ltd
Private company
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
JOINT DIRECTORS — not matched to an ASX listing
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
See attachment. — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Liability (3)

""
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
MORTGAGECBA.
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
MORTGAGEC B A.
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Bonds (4)

INTERNATIONAL CAPITAL GROWTH SERVICES PTY LTD
Holder not stated
Declared since 13 Nov 202347P ↗
Proof & Company Spirits Pre LTD Singapore
Holder not stated
Declared since 7 June 202347P ↗
SUPERANNUATION FUNDAUSTRALIAN SUPER
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Superannuation FundSelf Managed
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Accounts (4)

Bendigo BankSavings.
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
CHEQUE SAVINGSCBA & ANZ
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
CHEQUE SAVINGSCBA. & ANZ
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
CHEQUE SAVINGS SAVINGSCBA & ANZ. BENDIGO BANK.
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Other assets (6)

BL & BM BROADBENT DRAPERS PTY LTD SUPERANNUATION FUND(See attachment)
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
BL & BM BROADBENT DRAPERS PTY LTD SUPERANNUATION FUND(see attachment)
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
BL & BM BROADBENT DRAPERS PTY LTD SUPERANNUATION FUND.
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
BL & BM Broadbent Drapers Superannuation Fund holding shares in CBA, Telstra Corporation
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
BL & BM Broadbent Drapers Superannuation Fund holding shares in CBA, Telstra Corporation
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
uu
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Gift (1)

children from family members or personal friends in a purely personal capacity need not be
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Sponsored travel (5)

As above.
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
QANTAS Lounge Virgin Airlines Lounge
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
QANTAS Lounge Virgin Airlines Lounge
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Qantas Chairman's Lounge, Virgin Australia lounge.
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Qantas Chairmans LoungeVirgin Airlines Lounge
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Funding returns lodged with the AEC

Only returns that name this parliamentarian are shown. Money declared as given to a party, a branch or an associated entity is not shown here and is not attributable to any individual.

Election returns linked to this member

Returns this member is linked to, newest first. Linking is per return and exact — an election that does not appear here has not been shown to lack one.

  • 2022 Federal electionCandidateMonash, VIC · Liberal Party of Australia (Victorian Division)Lodged as “BROADBENT, Russell EvanLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2019 Federal electionCandidateMonash, VIC · Liberal Party of Australia (Victorian Division)Lodged as “BROADBENT, Russell EvanLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2016 Federal electionCandidateMcMillan, VIC · Liberal Party of Australia (Victorian Division)Lodged as “BROADBENT, Russell EvanLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2013 Federal electionCandidateMcMillan, VIC · Liberal Party of Australia (Victorian Division)Lodged as “BROADBENT, Russell EvanLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗

Annual member and senator returns are lodged by a small number of parliamentarians: the whole corpus holds 52 of them. Returns lodged by senators are linked to their profiles where the name on the lodged return matches the name we hold for them; where it does not, the return stays here unlinked rather than being attached to a guess. The Registers of Senators' Interests have not been read into this site yet, so a senator can appear here with a funding return and no declared interests beside it, which is a gap in our coverage rather than a record of what they declared. A parliamentarian with no return has not been shown to have received nothing — most never lodge one.

Amounts below the disclosure threshold in force for a given year are not published by the AEC and are absent from these figures. A low total means little was disclosed, not that little was received.

Source: AEC Transparency Register, reused under CC BY 4.0. © Commonwealth of Australia. The AEC does not endorse this site or its analysis.

Suburbs represented

Suburbs in Monash. Representing a suburb has nothing to do with owning anything in it.

208 suburbs

Aberfeldy · Ada · Adams Estate · Agnes · Allambee · Allambee Reserve · Allambee South · Almurta · Amor · Anderson · Arawata · Archies Creek · Athlone · Baromi · Bass · Baw Baw (Vic.) · Baw Baw Village · Bena · Bennison · Berrys Creek · Bona Vista · Boola · Boolarong · Boorool · Brandy Creek (Vic.) · Bravington · Buffalo · Buln Buln · Buln Buln East · Cape Paterson · Cape Woolamai · Caringal · Childers (Vic.) · Churchill Island · Cloverlea · Coalville · Corinella (Vic.) · Coronet Bay · Cowes · Crossover · Dalyston · Darlimurla · Darnum · Delburn · Dollar · Drouin · Drouin East · Drouin South · Drouin West · Dumbalk · Dumbalk North · Ellinbank · Erica · Fairbank · Ferndale (Vic.) · Fish Creek · Foster · Foster North · Fumina · Fumina South · Gainsborough · Gentle Annie · Glen Alvie · Glen Forbes · Grantville · Gunyah · Hallora · Hallston · Harmers Haven · Hazel Park · Hill End (Vic.) · Icy Creek · Inverloch · Jacob Creek · Jam Jerrup · Jeetho · Jericho (Vic.) · Jindivick · Jumbunna · Kardella · Kardella South · Kernot · Kilcunda · Kongwak · Koonwarra · Koorooman · Korumburra · Korumburra South · Krowera · Labertouche · Lance Creek · Lardner · Leongatha · Leongatha North · Leongatha South · Lillico (Vic.) · Loch · Loch Valley · Longwarry · Longwarry North · Mardan · Meeniyan · Middle Tarwin · Mirboo · Mirboo North · Modella · Moe · Moe South · Moondarra · Mount Best · Mount Eccles · Mountain View (Vic.) · Narracan · Nayook · Neerim · Neerim East · Neerim Junction · Neerim North · Neerim South · Nerrena · Newborough · Newhaven · Nilma · Nilma North · Noojee · North Wonthaggi · Nyora (Vic.) · Outtrim · Piedmont · Pioneer Bay · Poowong · Poowong East · Poowong North · Port Franklin · Port Welshpool · Pound Creek · Ranceby · Rawson · Rhyll · Ripplebrook · Rokeby (Vic.) · Ruby · Ryanston · San Remo (Vic.) · Sandy Point (Vic.) · Seaview · Shady Creek · Silverleaves · Smiths Beach · South Dudley · St Clair (Vic.) · Stony Creek (South Gippsland - Vic.) · Strzelecki (Vic.) · Summerlands · Sunderland Bay · Sunset Strip (Vic.) · Surf Beach (Vic.) · Tanjil · Tanjil Bren · Tanjil South · Tarwin · Tarwin Lower · Tenby Point · Tetoora Road · The Gurdies · Thomson (Baw Baw - Vic.) · Thorpdale · Thorpdale South · Toombon · Toora (Vic.) · Toora North · Toorongo · Torwood · Trafalgar (Vic.) · Trafalgar East · Trafalgar South · Trida · Turtons Creek · Ventnor (Vic.) · Venus Bay (Vic.) · Vesper · Walhalla · Walkerville (Vic.) · Walkerville North · Walkerville South · Waratah Bay · Warragul · Warragul South · Warragul West · Wattle Bank · Welshpool (Vic.) · West Creek · Westbury (Vic.) · Whitelaw · Wild Dog Valley (Vic.) · Willow Grove · Wilsons Promontory · Wimbledon Heights · Wonga · Wonthaggi · Woodleigh (Vic.) · Woolamai · Woorarra East · Woorarra West · Wooreen · Yanakie · Yarragon · Yarragon South

Register of Members’ Interests / Register of Senators’ Interests, Parliament of Australia — as at 13 November 2023. Report an error

Method & caveats

Australian federal parliamentarians must declare certain interests in the Register of Members’ Interests (House of Representatives) and the Register of Senators’ Interests. For holdings — shares, real estate, trusts, liabilities, assets — the registers record what is held and do not record quantity, value, purchase price or income. Nothing on this page states or implies the size of any holding, any gain or loss, or any trading activity.

Two items are different, because the form itself asks for a value: gifts and sponsored travel. Where a member stated an amount there, it appears as they wrote it. That figure is the declared value of a gift or a trip — never the size of a holding, and never a total.

Dates are the dates a declaration appeared in, or was removed from, the register — not transaction dates. A removal can mean an asset was disposed of, a declaration was corrected, or the member left parliament.

Company names are free text as written by the member. We link a declaration to an ASX listing only on an exact normalised match, a ticker the member stated, or a human-verified alias, so many declarations appear as text only. Real-estate declarations are suburb- or area-level; the registers contain no street addresses, and some declared locations do not map to a single ABS suburb.

Rows are declared as held by the member (“Self”), their spouse or partner, or a dependent child, exactly as the register records them. Members’ seats, parties and chambers change between parliaments.

Extracted from primary PDFs published by the Parliament of Australia; parliamentary material, © Commonwealth of Australia. Corrections are annotated, not silently applied. Not financial advice.