Parliament’s Portfolio

Sam Birrell

Sam Birrell

NPMember for NichollsVICparliaments 47–48
  • 47th · Member for Nicholls · Party not recorded
  • 48th · Member for Nicholls · Nationals

Portrait: Wikimedia Commons — Molidy15 (CC BY-SA 4.0). Not a Parliament of Australia image.

This page covers the 44th, 45th and 48th Parliaments in full. We have read only part of the 46th and 47th Parliaments — this member’s own document may be among those still unread. An empty section below means we have no recorded entry — not that the member declared nothing.

34
entries currently declared
1
ASX-listed companies named
3
real-estate declarations
4
liabilities entries
11
gifts and sponsored travel
6 Mar 2026
register last updated

Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.

About these counts

The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.

What is declared, at a glance

Declared categories
34current entries
  • Sponsored travel6
  • Accounts5
  • Gift5
  • Office held5
  • Liability4
  • Other (4)9
Declared categories
CategoryCount
Sponsored travel6
Accounts5
Gift5
Office held5
Liability4
Real estate3
Other assets3
Other income2
Shareholdings1
Total34
Who each entry is declared for
34current entries
  • Self15
  • Spouse/partner13
  • Dependent child2
  • Holder not stated4
Who each entry is declared for
CategoryCount
Self15
Spouse/partner13
Dependent child2
Holder not stated4
Total34

Entries declared over time

Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.

0611202120222023202420252026
Monthly declaration counts
MonthCount
2021-090
2021-100
2021-110
2021-120
2022-010
2022-020
2022-030
2022-040
2022-050
2022-060
2022-070
2022-080
2022-090
2022-100
2022-110
2022-120
2023-010
2023-020
2023-030
2023-040
2023-051
2023-062
2023-072
2023-084
2023-094
2023-104
2023-114
2023-124
2024-014
2024-024
2024-034
2024-044
2024-054
2024-064
2024-074
2024-084
2024-094
2024-104
2024-114
2024-124
2025-014
2025-024
2025-034
2025-044
2025-054
2025-064
2025-074
2025-084
2025-097
2025-107
2025-117
2025-127
2026-018
2026-029
2026-0311
2026-0411
2026-0511
2026-0611
2026-0711
2026-0811

23 entries without a stated date are not plotted.

Declared companies by industry
Distinct ASX-listed companies declared by this member, grouped by industry. A count of companies, not an amount.
IndustryDistinct companies
Telecommunication Services
1

Declared interests

Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.

Declared for

Showing 34 of 34 entries.

Declared entries from the Registers of Members’ and Senators’ Interests, in the register’s own words. No column is a quantity or a value; the registers record none.
Source

Shareholdings (1)

TLS · Telstra Group
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Real estate (3)

Part ownership of rural property in
Self
Declared since 6 Mar 202648P ↗
Shepparton VICResidential
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Shepparton VICResidential
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Liability (4)

Mortgage on Residential PropertyBank of Melbourne
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Mortgage on Residential Property Car LoanBank of Melbourne RACV Finance
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Mortgage on Residential Property Home LoanANZ ANZ
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Mortgage on Residential Property Home LoanANZ ANZ
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗

Accounts (5)

Savings accountING
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Savings accountANZ
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Savings accountING
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Savings account Savings accountING ANZ
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Savings account Savings account Investment BondING ANZ Generation Life
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗

Other assets (3)

Car
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Colonial superannuation fund
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Colonial superannuation fund Uni Super superannuation fund
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Other income (2)

Employment - University of Melbourne
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Income from employment
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Gift (5)

Foxtel VIP Program - Annual Value $1680.00
Holder not stated
Declared since 15 Aug 202347P ↗
Lion Brewing. 2 Tickets to the Parliamentary Midwinter Ball
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 June 202347P ↗
Qantas Chairman's Lounge
Holder not stated
Declared since 8 May 202347P ↗
McKinnon Institute for Political Leadership
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
children from family members or personal friends in a purely personal capacity need not be
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Sponsored travel (6)

Trip to Papua New Guinea 14/02/2026 - 21/02/2026 as part of the Australian Regional Leadership Initiative to observe the impact of Australia's overseas development assistance. Travel, accommodation and meals paid for by the Gates Foundation.
Self
Declared since 2 Mar 202648P ↗
Tennis Australia Invitation - Parliamentary Friends of Tennis Royal South Yarra Tennis Club Saturday 31 January 2026 9.30am to 12.30pm 2 Tickets
Self
Declared since 4 Feb 202648P ↗
Tennis Australia - Australian Open 2026 - 2 tickets 25 January 2026 5:00 pm - 11:30 pm Sunday 25 January (Night Session)
Self
Declared since 30 Jan 202648P ↗
Endeavour Group ticket to APH Mid- Winter Ball
Self
Declared since 5 Sept 202548P ↗
Endeavour Group ticket to APH Mid- Winter Ball
Spouse/partner
Declared since 5 Sept 202548P ↗
Coalition for Conservation International Climate Conference 17-18 August 2023. Taronga Zoo Wildlife Retreat Accommodation $355.00 Conference $150.00
Holder not stated
Declared since 28 Aug 202347P ↗

Office held (5)

Qantas Chairman's Lounge membership
Self
Declared since 2 Sept 202548P ↗
Alpine Club of Victoria - member Melbourne Cricket Club - member RACV Club - member
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Melbourne Cricket Club - member
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Melbourne Cricket Club, Member Alpine Club of Victoria, Member RACV Club, Member
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Melbourne Cricket Club, member
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗

Suburbs represented

Suburbs in Nicholls. Representing a suburb has nothing to do with owning anything in it.

195 suburbs

Almonds · Arcadia (Vic.) · Arcadia South · Ardmona · Avenel · Bailieston · Ballendella · Bamawm · Bamawm Extension · Barmah · Bathumi · Bearii · Boomahnoomoonah · Boosey · Boweya North · Broadford · Bunbartha · Bundalong · Bundalong South · Burnewang · Burramboot · Burramine · Burramine South · Byrneside · Caniambo · Carag Carag · Cobram · Cobram East · Colbinabbin · Congupna · Cooma (Vic.) · Coomboona · Cornella · Corop · Cosgrove (Vic.) · Cosgrove South · Creek View · Dhurringile · Dookie · Dookie College · Drumanure · Echuca · Echuca Village · Echuca West · Esmond · Forbes (Vic.) · Gillieston · Girgarre · Girgarre East · Glenaroua · Gobarup · Goulburn Weir · Gowangardie · Grahamvale · Graytown · Gunbower · Harston · High Camp · Hilldene · Invergordon (Vic.) · Kaarimba · Kanyapella · Karramomus · Katamatite · Katamatite East · Katandra · Katandra West · Katunga · Kialla · Kialla East · Kialla West · Kilmore · Kilmore East · Kirwans Bridge · Koonoomoo · Kotta · Kotupna · Koyuga · Kyabram · Kyabram South · Kyvalley · Lake Rowan · Lancaster · Lemnos · Lockington · Locksley (Vic.) · Longwood (Vic.) · Longwood East · Lower Moira · Major Plains · Mangalore (Vic.) · Marionvale · Marungi · Merrigum · Miepoll · Mitchellstown · Moglonemby · Molka · Moora (Vic.) · Moorilim · Moormbool West · Mooroopna · Mooroopna North · Mooroopna North West · Moranding · Mount Major · Muckatah · Mundoona · Murchison (Vic.) · Murchison East · Murchison North · Muskerry · Myola (Vic.) · Mywee · Nagambie · Nalinga · Nanneella · Naring · Nathalia · Northwood (Vic.) · Numurkah · Orrvale · Patho · Peechelba · Pelluebla · Picola · Picola West · Pine Grove (Vic.) · Pine Lodge (Vic.) · Pranjip · Puckapunyal · Redcastle · Reedy Creek (Vic.) · Riggs Creek · Roslynmead · Runnymede (Vic.) · Rushworth · Seymour (Vic.) · Shepparton · Shepparton East · Shepparton North · St Germains · St James (Vic.) · Stanhope (Vic.) · Strathallan · Strathmerton · Sugarloaf Creek · Sunday Creek · Tabilk · Tallarook · Tallygaroopna · Tamleugh · Tamleugh North · Tarcombe · Tatura · Tatura East · Telford · Terrick Terrick East · Timmering · Tongala · Toolamba · Toolamba West · Toolleen · Torrumbarry · Trawool · Tungamah · Tyaak · Ulupna · Undera · Upton Hill · Waaia · Waggarandall · Wahring · Waranga Shores · Wharparilla · Whiteheads Creek · Whroo · Wilby · Willowmavin · Wirrate · Wunghnu · Wyuna (Vic.) · Wyuna East · Yabba North · Yabba South · Yalca · Yambuna · Yarrawonga (Vic.) · Yarrawonga South · Yarroweyah · Yielima · Youanmite · Youarang · Yundool · Zeerust

Register of Members’ Interests / Register of Senators’ Interests, Parliament of Australia — as at 6 March 2026. Report an error

Method & caveats

Australian federal parliamentarians must declare certain interests in the Register of Members’ Interests (House of Representatives) and the Register of Senators’ Interests. For holdings — shares, real estate, trusts, liabilities, assets — the registers record what is held and do not record quantity, value, purchase price or income. Nothing on this page states or implies the size of any holding, any gain or loss, or any trading activity.

Two items are different, because the form itself asks for a value: gifts and sponsored travel. Where a member stated an amount there, it appears as they wrote it. That figure is the declared value of a gift or a trip — never the size of a holding, and never a total.

Dates are the dates a declaration appeared in, or was removed from, the register — not transaction dates. A removal can mean an asset was disposed of, a declaration was corrected, or the member left parliament.

Company names are free text as written by the member. We link a declaration to an ASX listing only on an exact normalised match, a ticker the member stated, or a human-verified alias, so many declarations appear as text only. Real-estate declarations are suburb- or area-level; the registers contain no street addresses, and some declared locations do not map to a single ABS suburb.

Rows are declared as held by the member (“Self”), their spouse or partner, or a dependent child, exactly as the register records them. Members’ seats, parties and chambers change between parliaments.

Extracted from primary PDFs published by the Parliament of Australia; parliamentary material, © Commonwealth of Australia. Corrections are annotated, not silently applied. Not financial advice.