Parliament’s Portfolio

Sarah Hanson-Young

Sarah Hanson-Young

GRNSenator for SAparliaments 44–48
  • 44th–48th · Senator for SA · Greens

Portrait: Wikimedia Commons — Australian Greens (CC BY-SA 2.5 au). Not a Parliament of Australia image.

The Registers of Senators’ Interests are tabled as combined Senate volumes, and the volumes covering this senator’s lodgements are ones we have not read into this site yet. An empty register here is our coverage gap — not a record that this senator declared nothing.

26
entries currently declared
0
ASX-listed companies named
1
real-estate declarations
4
liabilities entries
9
gifts and sponsored travel
22 Aug 2025
register last updated

Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.

About these counts

The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.

What is declared, at a glance

Declared categories
26current entries
  • Gift8
  • Office held5
  • Liability4
  • Other interest3
  • Other assets2
  • Other (4)4
Declared categories
CategoryCount
Gift8
Office held5
Liability4
Other interest3
Other assets2
Real estate1
Accounts1
Other income1
Sponsored travel1
Total26
Who each entry is declared for
26current entries
  • Holder not stated26
Who each entry is declared for
CategoryCount
Holder not stated26
Total26

Entries declared over time

Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.

01326202120222023202420252026
Monthly declaration counts
MonthCount
2021-1011
2021-1111
2021-1211
2022-0111
2022-0211
2022-0311
2022-0411
2022-0511
2022-0611
2022-0711
2022-0818
2022-0919
2022-1019
2022-1119
2022-1219
2023-0119
2023-0219
2023-0319
2023-0419
2023-0519
2023-0619
2023-0719
2023-0819
2023-0919
2023-1019
2023-1119
2023-1219
2024-0119
2024-0219
2024-0321
2024-0421
2024-0522
2024-0622
2024-0722
2024-0822
2024-0922
2024-1022
2024-1122
2024-1222
2025-0122
2025-0222
2025-0322
2025-0422
2025-0522
2025-0622
2025-0722
2025-0826
2025-0926
2025-1026
2025-1126
2025-1226
2026-0126
2026-0226
2026-0326
2026-0426
2026-0526
2026-0626
2026-0726
2026-0826
2026-0926

Declared interests

Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.

Showing 26 of 26 entries.

Declared entries from the Registers of Members’ and Senators’ Interests, in the register’s own words. No column is a quantity or a value; the registers record none.
Source

Real estate (1)

Belair SAResidential
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 July 2019PDF ↗

Liability (4)

Mortgage on residential homePeople’s choice credit union
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 Aug 2025PDF ↗
mortgagePeoples Choice Credit Union
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Add People's Choice Credit Union as creditor for mortgage of residential property.
Holder not stated
Declared since 6 May 2021PDF ↗
Mortgage on residential propertyBank of Queensland
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 July 2019PDF ↗

Accounts (1)

SavingsPeople Choice Credit Union
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 July 2019PDF ↗

Other assets (2)

Superannuation, Ethical Super
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 Aug 2025PDF ↗
Superanuation - Ethical Super
Holder not stated
Declared since 12 Sept 2022PDF ↗

Other income (1)

book / author royalties
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 Aug 2022PDF ↗

Gift (8)

Annual festival tickets, from Womadelaide & SA Tourism Commission Festival Tickets, from BluesFest, NSW Chairman’s lounge membership, from Qantas Beyond membership, from Virgin Australia Foxtel Subscription in Electorate Office, Foxtel Tickets, Cricket Australia
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 Aug 2025PDF ↗
Tickets and hospitality to Matilda's / China match - SA Tourism
Holder not stated
Declared since 31 May 2024PDF ↗
Womadelaide Festival tickets
Holder not stated
Declared since 8 Mar 2024PDF ↗
Womadelaide tickets - Womadelaide and SA tourism commission
Holder not stated
Declared since 8 Mar 2024PDF ↗
Complementary Foxtel subscription in electorate office
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Membership Qantas Chairman's Lounge
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Membership Virgin Beyond Lounge
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Two Face Label (clothing)
Holder not stated
Declared since 27 Aug 2020PDF ↗

Sponsored travel (1)

Membership to Qantas Chairmans Lounge Membership to Virgin Club
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 July 2019PDF ↗

Office held (5)

Annual tithing to and membership of the South Australian Greens, registered political party Annual tithing to the Australian Greens, registered political party
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 Aug 2025PDF ↗
Tithing Australian Greens
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Tithing South Australian Greens
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Donation to Plan International Donation to Working Women's Centre South Australia Donation to Australian Youth Climate Coalition
Holder not stated
Declared since 4 Aug 2021PDF ↗
1% salary tithing to Global Greens 5% salary tithing to Australian Greens 5% salary tithing to Australian Greens (SA)
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 July 2019PDF ↗

Other interest (3)

As part of Senator Sarah Hanson-Young's legal proceedings against former Senator David Leyonhjelm, funds were raised including through a Go Fund Me page to help cover the legal proceedings. These donations include: Contributors above the required disclosure amount ($300): A. Babon; J. Zemiro; J. Gibbons; G. McEncroe; J. Simpson; P. Cranston; A. Oppen; S. Console Battilana Contributors below the required disclosure amount (ie. $5, $20, $50): P. Hoban; S.Biddulph; J.Joy; B. Wadeson; M. Coonan; P.Dulimov; M.Thiele; G.Field; A.Hodgson; W. Cooper; C. Clements; M. Renfrew; S. Lloyd; L. Ellis; E. Barber; R. Giddins; C. McShane; B.Pritchard; C. Franks; J. Giblin; Y.Luong; K.Wormald; K.Rudd; T.Muniratna; F.Baumann; K.McCormack; D.Tang; B.Hein; N.Ellis; M.Anderson; B.Robertson; D.Glenn; C.Houston; D.White; M.McAllister; P.McManus; L.Appiah- Kubi; B.Cockington; W.Cathro; W.Farrell-Whelan; M.McClelland; M.Xavier; O.Kinsey; K.Wood; L.Groos; R.Smith; V.Encel; K.Haye; J.Patava; J.Lyndon; P.Murphy; M.Ballentine; P.Allen; S.Weress; K.Forster ; K.Duncan ; A.Tomaszewska; M.Parker; L.Thomas; G.Carswell; P.O'Donnell; R.Campbell; T.Ryan; V.Monzon; J.Notley ; J.Williams; R.White; M.Mcgrath; H.Bennett; R.Smith; C.Cameron; C.Bennetts; S.Brook; B.Houterman; A.Lloyd; K.Beilby ; S.Chapman; J. Caro; S. Blakemore; D. Anderson; N. Barrett; R. Lea; V. Read; A. Reisner; K. Kelly; A. Babon; B. Thomas; M. Dreux; E. Shaw; S. Bate; A. Kelly; F. Dobrijevich; D. Atkinson; C. Baber; A. Lane; M. Lehmann; C. Gerloff; M. Hobbs; R. Jarvis; C. Bell; E. Clerehan; L. Sullivan; P. Graves; J. Talent; A. Maggs; D. Berry; G. Makrigany; T. Bean; S. Long; R. Jones; D. Jordan; L. Crowley; J. Holmes à Court AC; P. Miscampbell; M. Hobbs; T. Allen; E. Hutton; R. Camel; B. Turner; L. O'Dempsey; R. Hayward; J. Hartman; N. Georgeff; F. Reynolds; R. O'Reilly; P. Severn; S. Whiteman; P. Love; P. Teague; K. Adby; S. Roche; J. Daly; B. Oquist; J. Kuhn; T. Radge; M. Cherry; G. Otting; J. Dal'Bo; B. Churcher; R. Greble; T.King; H. … [entry truncated — the full text is in the source document]
Holder not stated
Declared since 24 Sept 2021PDF ↗
As part of Senator Sarah Hanson-Young's legal proceedings against former Senator David Leyonhjelm, funds were raised including through a Go Fund Me page to help cover the legal proceedings. Individuals who contributed are listed below. Nasser Kat; Wendy Brown; Nic Stronell; Vanessa Williams; Colleen Drew; Marlene Marinkovic; Michael Soo; Janet Thompson; Kaz Matthews; Bill Waterhouse; Berys Dixon; Stephanie Stewart; Jayne-Anne Power; Kira White; Kathleen Robson; Patricia Lyon; Glenda Peters; Andrew Pickles; Lynn Bryant; Helen Deans; David Stonier-Gibson; Hinton John Lowe; Shirley Benlow; Kirsty Mann; Thomas Casson; Michael Ryan; Catherine Pallin; Sophia Tsai; Suzy Cassio; Rodney Sheard; Jeffrey Tapping; Yen Luong; Chad Smith; Julie Morgan; Lenore Smith; Kim Wormald; Amelia Price; Gary Cook; Yann Abraham; Beth Warne; Bronwen Kiely; Kevin Rudd; Ian Robertson; Wendy Brown; Toby Maddern; Kate Croser; Sheridan Roberts; Marg Piggott; Nadine Brew; Jane Oldham; Rod Currie; David Laws; Steve Biddulph; Michael Sammut; Natalie Gusmerini; Brendon Pritchard; Tisara Muniratna; Cesar Moreno; Joan Oliver; Murray Wood; Sassy Park; Julie McGregor; Peter Tisell; Ross Henderson; Ashvin Goorah; Gabby Fennessy; Karen Preston; Jim Campbell; Cedar Newton; Nikki Howe; John August; Ian Edwards; Boyd Craig; Fusun Baumann; Kate McCormack; Sean Bowler; Kala Mulqueeny; Anne Rainbow; Ken Tun; Sally Thompson; Diana Ryall; Leanne Payne; Viveka Bergholtz; Peter Dulimov; Lee Boyett; Lisa Evans; Jason McLaughlin; Ian Campbell; Tim Atkinson; Helen Bieto; Anne Atkinson; Lyndsey Jackson; Sue Wurst; Susan Davies; A Non; Jessica Gonsalvez; Donald Tang; Brian and Maureen Arnott; Rhoda Fowler; Fiona Croaker; Robyn Goldsworthy; Bettina Hein; Linda Clark; Judy Croft; Sid; Janee Taylor; Niki Ellis; Margaret Anderson; Blake Robertson; Yuan Lin; Felicity Davis Rafferty; Helen Round; Michelle Wallace; Michelle Bentley; Christian Kent; Deb Glenn; Lorraine Samara; Keith Reynard; Derek King; B Robnison; Linda Karafili … [entry truncated — the full text is in the source document]
Holder not stated
Declared since 16 Sept 2021PDF ↗
As part of Senator Sarah Hanson-Young's legal proceedings against former Senator David Leyonhjelm, funds were raised including through a Go Fund Me page to help cover the legal proceedings. Individuals who contributed are listed below. Nasser Kat; Wendy Brown; Nic Stronell; Vanessa Williams; Colleen Drew; Marlene Marinkovic; Michael Soo; Janet Thompson; Kaz Matthews; Bill Waterhouse; Berys Dixon; Stephanie Stewart; Jayne-Anne Power; Kira White; Kathleen Robson; Patricia Lyon; Glenda Peters; Andrew Pickles; Lynn Bryant; Helen Deans; David Stonier-Gibson; Hinton John Lowe; Shirley Benlow; Kirsty Mann; Thomas Casson; Michael Ryan; Catherine Pallin; Sophia Tsai; Suzy Cassio; Rodney Sheard; Jeffrey Tapping; Yen Luong; Chad Smith; Julie Morgan; Lenore Smith; Kim Wormald; Amelia Price; Gary Cook; Yann Abraham; Beth Warne; Bronwen Kiely; Kevin Rudd; Ian Robertson; Wendy Brown; Toby Maddern; Kate Croser; Sheridan Roberts; Marg Piggott; Nadine Brew; Jane Oldham; Rod Currie; David Laws; Steve Biddulph; Michael Sammut; Natalie Gusmerini; Brendon Pritchard; Tisara Muniratna; Cesar Moreno; Joan Oliver; Murray Wood; Sassy Park; Julie McGregor; Peter Tisell; Ross Henderson; Ashvin Goorah; Gabby Fennessy; Karen Preston; Jim Campbell; Cedar Newton; Nikki Howe; John August; Ian Edwards; Boyd Craig; Fusun Baumann; Kate McCormack; Sean Bowler; Kala Mulqueeny; Anne Rainbow; Ken Tun; Sally Thompson; Diana Ryall; Leanne Payne; Viveka Bergholtz; Peter Dulimov; Lee Boyett; Lisa Evans; Jason McLaughlin; Ian Campbell; Tim Atkinson; Helen Bieto; Anne Atkinson; Lyndsey Jackson; Sue Wurst; Susan Davies; A Non; Jessica Gonsalvez; Donald Tang; Brian and Maureen Arnott; Rhoda Fowler; Fiona Croaker; Robyn Goldsworthy; Bettina Hein; Linda Clark; Judy Croft; Sid; Janee Taylor; Niki Ellis; Margaret Anderson; Blake Robertson; Yuan Lin; Felicity Davis Rafferty; Helen Round; Michelle Wallace; Michelle Bentley; Christian Kent; Deb Glenn; Lorraine Samara; Keith Reynard; Derek King; B Robnison; Linda Karafili … [entry truncated — the full text is in the source document]
Holder not stated
Declared since 6 May 2021PDF ↗

Register of Members’ Interests / Register of Senators’ Interests, Parliament of Australia — as at 22 August 2025. Report an error

Method & caveats

Australian federal parliamentarians must declare certain interests in the Register of Members’ Interests (House of Representatives) and the Register of Senators’ Interests. For holdings — shares, real estate, trusts, liabilities, assets — the registers record what is held and do not record quantity, value, purchase price or income. Nothing on this page states or implies the size of any holding, any gain or loss, or any trading activity.

Two items are different, because the form itself asks for a value: gifts and sponsored travel. Where a member stated an amount there, it appears as they wrote it. That figure is the declared value of a gift or a trip — never the size of a holding, and never a total.

Dates are the dates a declaration appeared in, or was removed from, the register — not transaction dates. A removal can mean an asset was disposed of, a declaration was corrected, or the member left parliament.

Company names are free text as written by the member. We link a declaration to an ASX listing only on an exact normalised match, a ticker the member stated, or a human-verified alias, so many declarations appear as text only. Real-estate declarations are suburb- or area-level; the registers contain no street addresses, and some declared locations do not map to a single ABS suburb.

Rows are declared as held by the member (“Self”), their spouse or partner, or a dependent child, exactly as the register records them. Members’ seats, parties and chambers change between parliaments.

Extracted from primary PDFs published by the Parliament of Australia; parliamentary material, © Commonwealth of Australia. Corrections are annotated, not silently applied. Not financial advice.