Parliament’s Portfolio

Sarah Witty

Sarah Witty

ALPMember for MelbourneVICparliaments 48
  • 48th · Member for Melbourne · Labor

Portrait: Wikimedia Commons — Alison Newman (CC0). Not a Parliament of Australia image.

This page covers the 44th and 45th Parliaments in full. We have read only part of the 46th, 47th and 48th Parliaments — this member’s own document may be among those still unread. An empty section below means we have no recorded entry — not that the member declared nothing.

50
entries currently declared
11
ASX-listed companies named
2
real-estate declarations
2
liabilities entries
7
gifts and sponsored travel
26 Aug 2026
register last updated

Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.

About these counts

The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.

What is declared, at a glance

Declared categories
50current entries
  • Shareholdings31
  • Sponsored travel5
  • Real estate2
  • Liability2
  • Accounts2
  • Other (4)8
Declared categories
CategoryCount
Shareholdings31
Sponsored travel5
Real estate2
Liability2
Accounts2
Other assets2
Other income2
Gift2
Office held2
Total50
Who each entry is declared for
50current entries
  • Self30
  • Spouse/partner20
Who each entry is declared for
CategoryCount
Self30
Spouse/partner20
Total50

Entries declared over time

Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.

0713202120222023202420252026
Monthly declaration counts
MonthCount
2021-110
2021-120
2022-010
2022-020
2022-030
2022-040
2022-050
2022-060
2022-070
2022-080
2022-090
2022-100
2022-110
2022-120
2023-010
2023-020
2023-030
2023-040
2023-050
2023-060
2023-070
2023-080
2023-090
2023-100
2023-110
2023-120
2024-010
2024-020
2024-030
2024-040
2024-050
2024-060
2024-070
2024-080
2024-090
2024-100
2024-110
2024-120
2025-010
2025-020
2025-030
2025-040
2025-050
2025-060
2025-070
2025-080
2025-090
2025-100
2025-110
2025-120
2026-010
2026-020
2026-030
2026-049
2026-059
2026-069
2026-079
2026-0813
2026-0913
2026-1013

37 entries without a stated date are not plotted.

Declared companies by industry
Distinct ASX-listed companies declared by this member, grouped by industry. A count of companies, not an amount.
IndustryDistinct companies
Equity Real Estate Investment Trusts (REITs)
3
Consumer Discretionary Distribution & Retail
1
Consumer Staples Distribution & Retail
1
Energy
1
Financial Services
1

Declared interests

Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.

Declared for

Showing 50 of 50 entries.

Declared entries from the Registers of Members’ and Senators’ Interests, in the register’s own words. No column is a quantity or a value; the registers record none.
Source

Shareholdings (31)

AGL · Agl Energy Limited.
Self
Declared since 2 Apr 2026PDF ↗
Computershare LTD (joint with — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared since 2 Apr 2026PDF ↗
Medibank Private LTD (joint with — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared since 2 Apr 2026PDF ↗
National Aust Bank (joint with — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared since 2 Apr 2026PDF ↗
QAN · Qantas Airways
Self
Declared since 2 Apr 2026PDF ↗
SPDR DJ GBL Reit (joint with — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared since 2 Apr 2026PDF ↗
STO · Santos
Self
Declared since 2 Apr 2026PDF ↗
AMP · Amp
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗
AMP · Amp
Self
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗
AFI · Australian Foundation Investment Company
Self
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗
AFI · Australian Foundation Investment Company
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗
COF · Centuria Office Reit
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗
COF · Centuria Office Reit
Self
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗
DXI · Dexus Industria Reit.
Self
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗
DXI · Dexus Industria Reit.
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗
HVN · Harvey Norman Holdings
Self
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗
HVN · Harvey Norman Holdings
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗
HPI · HOTEL PROPERTY INVESTMENTS
Self
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗
HPI · HOTEL PROPERTY INVESTMENTS
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗
TLS · Telstra Group
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗
TLS · Telstra Group
Self
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗
Vanguard Australian Government Bond Index ETF (joint with spouse) — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗
Vanguard Australian Government Bond Index ETF (joint with spouse) — not matched to an ASX listing
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗
Vanguard Australian Property Securities Index EFT (joint with spouse) — not matched to an ASX listing
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗
Vanguard Australian Property Securities Index EFT (joint with spouse) — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗
Vanguard Global Aggregate Bond Index (joint with spouse) — not matched to an ASX listing
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗
Vanguard Global Aggregate Bond Index (joint with spouse) — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗
Vanguard MSCI Index International Shares EFT (joint with spouse) — not matched to an ASX listing
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗
Vanguard MSCI Index International Shares EFT (joint with spouse) — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗
WOW · Woolworths Group
Self
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗
WOW · Woolworths Group
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗

Real estate (2)

Point Cook VIC
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗
Point Cook VIC
Self
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗

Liability (2)

Mortgage on Richmond Investment (joint with spouse) Mortgage on Point Cook Investment (joint with spouse) Mortgage on East Brighton (joint with spouse)Macquarie Bank Macquarie Bank Macquarie Bank
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗
Mortgage on Richmond Investment (joint with spouse) Mortgage on Point Cook Investment (joint with spouse) Mortgage on East Brighton (joint with spouse)Macquarie Bank Macquarie Bank Macquarie Bank
Self
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗

Accounts (2)

Savings (joint with spouse) Savings (joint with spouse) Savings (joint with spouse)Macquarie Bank ING NAB
Self
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗
Savings (joint with spouse) Savings (joint with spouse) Savings (joint with spouse)Macquarie Bank NAB ING
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗

Other assets (2)

Superannuation (Hostplus) 2023 MG ZST (joint with spouse)
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗
Superannuation (Hostplus) 2023 MG ZST (joint with spouse)
Self
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗

Other income (2)

Rental Income - Richmond property (joint with spouse) Rental Income - Point Cook property (joint with spouse) Rental Income - East Brighton property (joint with spouse)
Self
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗
Rental Income - Richmond property (joint with spouse) Rental Income - Point Cook property (joint with spouse) Rental Income - East Brighton property (joint with spouse)
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗

Gift (2)

Gift bag worth $1500 from 2026 Myer Precious Metal Gala
Spouse/partner
Declared since 26 Aug 2026PDF ↗
Gift bag worth $1500 from 2026 Myer Precious Metal Gala
Self
Declared since 26 Aug 2026PDF ↗

Sponsored travel (5)

1x Ticket 2026 Myer Precious Metal Gala Friday 14th August
Self
Declared since 26 Aug 2026PDF ↗
1x Ticket 2026 Myer Precious Metal Gala Friday 14th August
Spouse/partner
Declared since 26 Aug 2026PDF ↗
26th March Qantas flight upgrade
Self
Declared since 2 Apr 2026PDF ↗
2x Tickets Cricket Australia Boxing Day Test lunch 26th December 2025
Self
Declared since 2 Apr 2026PDF ↗
2x Tickets Richmond Football Club Presidents lunch Sunday 27th July 2025
Self
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗

Office held (2)

Qantas Chairmans Lounge
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗
Qantas Chairmans Lounge Virgin Club Lounge
Self
Declared; start date not statedPDF ↗

Funding returns lodged with the AEC

Only returns that name this parliamentarian are shown. Money declared as given to a party, a branch or an associated entity is not shown here and is not attributable to any individual.

Election returns linked to this member

Returns this member is linked to, newest first. Linking is per return and exact — an election that does not appear here has not been shown to lack one.

  • 2025 Federal ElectionCandidateMelbourne, VIC · Australian Labor Party (Victorian Branch)Lodged as “WITTY, Sarah Jane”Lodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗

Annual member and senator returns are lodged by a small number of parliamentarians: the whole corpus holds 52 of them. Returns lodged by senators are linked to their profiles where the name on the lodged return matches the name we hold for them; where it does not, the return stays here unlinked rather than being attached to a guess. The Registers of Senators' Interests have not been read into this site yet, so a senator can appear here with a funding return and no declared interests beside it, which is a gap in our coverage rather than a record of what they declared. A parliamentarian with no return has not been shown to have received nothing — most never lodge one.

Amounts below the disclosure threshold in force for a given year are not published by the AEC and are absent from these figures. A low total means little was disclosed, not that little was received.

Source: AEC Transparency Register, reused under CC BY 4.0. © Commonwealth of Australia. The AEC does not endorse this site or its analysis.

Suburbs represented

Suburbs in Melbourne. Representing a suburb has nothing to do with owning anything in it.

14 suburbs

Burnley · Carlton (Vic.) · Collingwood (Vic.) · Cremorne (Vic.) · Docklands · East Melbourne · Fitzroy (Vic.) · Melbourne · North Melbourne · Parkville (Vic.) · Prahran · Richmond (Vic.) · South Yarra · West Melbourne

Register of Members’ Interests / Register of Senators’ Interests, Parliament of Australia — as at 26 August 2026. Original PDF · Report an error

Method & caveats

Australian federal parliamentarians must declare certain interests in the Register of Members’ Interests (House of Representatives) and the Register of Senators’ Interests. For holdings — shares, real estate, trusts, liabilities, assets — the registers record what is held and do not record quantity, value, purchase price or income. Nothing on this page states or implies the size of any holding, any gain or loss, or any trading activity.

Two items are different, because the form itself asks for a value: gifts and sponsored travel. Where a member stated an amount there, it appears as they wrote it. That figure is the declared value of a gift or a trip — never the size of a holding, and never a total.

Dates are the dates a declaration appeared in, or was removed from, the register — not transaction dates. A removal can mean an asset was disposed of, a declaration was corrected, or the member left parliament.

Company names are free text as written by the member. We link a declaration to an ASX listing only on an exact normalised match, a ticker the member stated, or a human-verified alias, so many declarations appear as text only. Real-estate declarations are suburb- or area-level; the registers contain no street addresses, and some declared locations do not map to a single ABS suburb.

Rows are declared as held by the member (“Self”), their spouse or partner, or a dependent child, exactly as the register records them. Members’ seats, parties and chambers change between parliaments.

Extracted from primary PDFs published by the Parliament of Australia; parliamentary material, © Commonwealth of Australia. Corrections are annotated, not silently applied. Not financial advice.