Parliament’s Portfolio

SB

Sharon Bird

ALPMember for CunninghamNSWparliaments 44–46
  • 44th–46th · Member for Cunningham · Party not recorded

This page covers the 44th, 45th and 48th Parliaments in full. We have read only part of the 46th and 47th Parliaments — this member’s own document may be among those still unread. An empty section below means we have no recorded entry — not that the member declared nothing.

36
entries currently declared
0
ASX-listed companies named
5
real-estate declarations
4
liabilities entries
11
gifts and sponsored travel
23 Dec 2021
register last updated

Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.

About these counts

The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.

What is declared, at a glance

Declared categories
36current entries
  • Gift8
  • Accounts7
  • Real estate5
  • Liability4
  • Office held4
  • Other (3)8
Declared categories
CategoryCount
Gift8
Accounts7
Real estate5
Liability4
Office held4
Other assets3
Sponsored travel3
Other income2
Total36
Who each entry is declared for
36current entries
  • Self13
  • Spouse/partner17
  • Dependent child1
  • Holder not stated5
Who each entry is declared for
CategoryCount
Self13
Spouse/partner17
Dependent child1
Holder not stated5
Total36

Entries declared over time

Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.

035202120222023202420252026
Monthly declaration counts
MonthCount
2021-094
2021-104
2021-114
2021-125
2022-015
2022-025
2022-035
2022-045
2022-055
2022-065
2022-075
2022-085
2022-095
2022-105
2022-115
2022-125
2023-015
2023-025
2023-035
2023-045
2023-055
2023-065
2023-075
2023-085
2023-095
2023-105
2023-115
2023-125
2024-015
2024-025
2024-035
2024-045
2024-055
2024-065
2024-075
2024-085
2024-095
2024-105
2024-115
2024-125
2025-015
2025-025
2025-035
2025-045
2025-055
2025-065
2025-075
2025-085
2025-095
2025-105
2025-115
2025-125
2026-015
2026-025
2026-035
2026-045
2026-055
2026-065
2026-075
2026-085

31 entries without a stated date are not plotted.

Declared interests

Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.

Declared for

Showing 36 of 36 entries.

Declared entries from the Registers of Members’ and Senators’ Interests, in the register’s own words. No column is a quantity or a value; the registers record none.
Source

Real estate (5)

Self Apartment - WollongongResidential
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Oct 202046P ↗
Spouse/Partner Apartment - WollongongResidential
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Oct 202046P ↗
Kanahooka NSWRental property
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Mangerton NSWFamily home
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Wollongong NSWRental property
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Liability (4)

Joint Mortgage on Family Home with Credit Union Australia
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Oct 202046P ↗
MortgagePepper Home Loans
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
MortgageCommonwealth Bank
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Mortgage on family homePepper Money
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Accounts (7)

Savings (fortnightly pay)Commonwealth Bank
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Savings (fortnightly pay) SuperannuationCommonwealth Bank PSS / AGEST
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Savings (fortnighty pay)Commonwealth Bank
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Savings (monthly pay)Australian National Credit Union
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Savings (monthly pay) SuperannuationAustralian National Credit Union Australian Super
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
SuperannuationAustralian Super
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
SuperannuationPSS / AGEST
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Other assets (3)

Holden Captiva
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Mazda CZ 5.
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Personal Car
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Other income (2)

Income from employment
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Rental property.
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Gift (8)

JD Burford ornamental Welsh Miner's Lamp from Wollongong Coal. Value unknown.
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Dec 202146P ↗
May 2021 - Rex model aircraft. Value unkown.
Holder not stated
Declared since 2 June 202146P ↗
As previously supplied
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
As previously supplied
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Membership of Qantas Chairman's Lounge Membership of Virgin's The Club
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Membership of Qantas Chairman's Lounge Membership of Virgin's The Club
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
See page 7.
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
children from family members or personal friends in a purely personal capacity need not be
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Sponsored travel (3)

As previously supplied.
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
As previously supplied.
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Not post 9 May 2016
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Office held (4)

Member - Transport Workers' Union Member - Emily's List
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Member - United Services Union
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Transport Workers Union (NSW)
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Transport Workers Union (NSW)Emily's List APHEDA
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Funding returns lodged with the AEC

Only returns that name this parliamentarian are shown. Money declared as given to a party, a branch or an associated entity is not shown here and is not attributable to any individual.

Election returns linked to this member

Returns this member is linked to, newest first. Linking is per return and exact — an election that does not appear here has not been shown to lack one.

  • 2019 Federal electionCandidateCunningham, NSW · Australian Labor Party (N.S.W. Branch)Lodged as “BIRD, Sharon LeahLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2016 Federal electionCandidateCunningham, NSW · Australian Labor Party (N.S.W. Branch)Lodged as “BIRD, Sharon LeahLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2013 Federal electionCandidateCunningham, NSW · Australian Labor Party (N.S.W. Branch)Lodged as “BIRD, Sharon LeahLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗

Annual member and senator returns are lodged by a small number of parliamentarians: the whole corpus holds 52 of them. Returns lodged by senators are linked to their profiles where the name on the lodged return matches the name we hold for them; where it does not, the return stays here unlinked rather than being attached to a guess. The Registers of Senators' Interests have not been read into this site yet, so a senator can appear here with a funding return and no declared interests beside it, which is a gap in our coverage rather than a record of what they declared. A parliamentarian with no return has not been shown to have received nothing — most never lodge one.

Amounts below the disclosure threshold in force for a given year are not published by the AEC and are absent from these figures. A low total means little was disclosed, not that little was received.

Source: AEC Transparency Register, reused under CC BY 4.0. © Commonwealth of Australia. The AEC does not endorse this site or its analysis.

Suburbs represented

Suburbs in Cunningham. Representing a suburb has nothing to do with owning anything in it.

53 suburbs

Austinmer · Balgownie · Bellambi · Berkeley · Bulli · Cataract · Clifton (NSW) · Coalcliff · Coledale · Coniston · Cordeaux · Cordeaux Heights · Corrimal · Cringila · Darkes Forest · East Corrimal · Fairy Meadow · Farmborough Heights · Fernhill · Figtree · Gwynneville · Helensburgh · Keiraville · Kembla Heights · Lake Heights · Lilyvale (NSW) · Maddens Plains · Mangerton · Mount Keira · Mount Kembla · Mount Ousley · Mount Pleasant (NSW) · Mount Saint Thomas · North Wollongong · Otford · Port Kembla · Primbee · Russell Vale · Scarborough (NSW) · Spring Hill (Wollongong - NSW) · Stanwell Park · Stanwell Tops · Tarrawanna · Thirroul · Towradgi · Unanderra · Warrawong · West Wollongong · Windang · Wollongong · Wombarra · Woonona · Woronora Dam

Register of Members’ Interests / Register of Senators’ Interests, Parliament of Australia — as at 23 December 2021. Report an error

Method & caveats

Australian federal parliamentarians must declare certain interests in the Register of Members’ Interests (House of Representatives) and the Register of Senators’ Interests. For holdings — shares, real estate, trusts, liabilities, assets — the registers record what is held and do not record quantity, value, purchase price or income. Nothing on this page states or implies the size of any holding, any gain or loss, or any trading activity.

Two items are different, because the form itself asks for a value: gifts and sponsored travel. Where a member stated an amount there, it appears as they wrote it. That figure is the declared value of a gift or a trip — never the size of a holding, and never a total.

Dates are the dates a declaration appeared in, or was removed from, the register — not transaction dates. A removal can mean an asset was disposed of, a declaration was corrected, or the member left parliament.

Company names are free text as written by the member. We link a declaration to an ASX listing only on an exact normalised match, a ticker the member stated, or a human-verified alias, so many declarations appear as text only. Real-estate declarations are suburb- or area-level; the registers contain no street addresses, and some declared locations do not map to a single ABS suburb.

Rows are declared as held by the member (“Self”), their spouse or partner, or a dependent child, exactly as the register records them. Members’ seats, parties and chambers change between parliaments.

Extracted from primary PDFs published by the Parliament of Australia; parliamentary material, © Commonwealth of Australia. Corrections are annotated, not silently applied. Not financial advice.