Parliament’s Portfolio

SC

Sharon Claydon

ALPMember for NewcastleNSWparliaments 44–48
  • 44th–47th · Member for Newcastle · Party not recorded
  • 48th · Member for Newcastle · Labor

This page covers the 44th, 45th and 48th Parliaments in full. We have read only part of the 46th and 47th Parliaments — this member’s own document may be among those still unread. An empty section below means we have no recorded entry — not that the member declared nothing.

48
entries currently declared
1
ASX-listed companies named
1
real-estate declarations
4
liabilities entries
23
gifts and sponsored travel
13 Nov 2025
register last updated

Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.

About these counts

The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.

What is declared, at a glance

Declared categories
48current entries
  • Gift13
  • Sponsored travel10
  • Accounts7
  • Shareholdings5
  • Liability4
  • Other (4)9
Declared categories
CategoryCount
Gift13
Sponsored travel10
Accounts7
Shareholdings5
Liability4
Other assets4
Office held3
Real estate1
Directorship1
Total48
Who each entry is declared for
48current entries
  • Self28
  • Dependent child1
  • Holder not stated19
Who each entry is declared for
CategoryCount
Self28
Dependent child1
Holder not stated19
Total48

Entries declared over time

Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.

01326202120222023202420252026
Monthly declaration counts
MonthCount
2021-096
2021-107
2021-117
2021-129
2022-019
2022-029
2022-039
2022-049
2022-059
2022-069
2022-079
2022-089
2022-099
2022-109
2022-119
2022-129
2023-019
2023-029
2023-039
2023-049
2023-0510
2023-0610
2023-0710
2023-0810
2023-0911
2023-1011
2023-1111
2023-1211
2024-0111
2024-0213
2024-0313
2024-0413
2024-0513
2024-0613
2024-0713
2024-0813
2024-0913
2024-1013
2024-1113
2024-1219
2025-0119
2025-0219
2025-0319
2025-0419
2025-0519
2025-0619
2025-0719
2025-0824
2025-0924
2025-1024
2025-1126
2025-1226
2026-0126
2026-0226
2026-0326
2026-0426
2026-0526
2026-0626
2026-0726
2026-0826

22 entries without a stated date are not plotted.

Declared companies by industry
Distinct ASX-listed companies declared by this member, grouped by industry. A count of companies, not an amount.
IndustryDistinct companies
Materials
1

Declared interests

Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.

Declared for

Showing 48 of 48 entries.

Declared entries from the Registers of Members’ and Senators’ Interests, in the register’s own words. No column is a quantity or a value; the registers record none.
Source

Shareholdings (5)

AMP Limited Shares — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
BHP Rifle Club — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
ABC · ADBRI LIMITED
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Telstra TV Box from Netball Australia — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
worth $199 — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Real estate (1)

Newcastle NSWResidence
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Directorship (1)

EMILY'S LIST (AUSTRALIA) INC. — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗

Liability (4)

Home MortgageNewcastle Permanent Building Society
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Home Mortgage x 2NAB
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Home Mortgage x2NAB
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗
Personal Loan - CarSt George Commercial Finance
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Accounts (7)

1 X Complete Access Account with CBA
Holder not stated
Declared since 18 July 201946P ↗
1 x Personal Account/Offset with NAB
Holder not stated
Declared since 18 July 201946P ↗
1 x Cash Management AccountMacquarie Bank
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
4 x Savings AccountsNewcastle Permanent Building Society
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Complete Access Account Offset Account Savings Account x 3 Cash Management AccountCBA NAB Newcastle Permanent Building Society Macquarie Bank
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Complete Access Account Offset Account Savings Account x 4 Cash Management AccountCBA NAB Newcastle Permanent Building Society Macquarie Bank
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Complete Access Account Offset Account Savings Accounts x3CBA NAB Newcastle Permanent Building Society
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗

Other assets (4)

AMP - Whole of Life Plan Australian Super Private Motor Vehicle
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
AMP Whole of Life Plan Australian Super Private Motor Vehicle
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
AMP Whole of life Plan Australian Super
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
PRIVATE MOTOR VEHICLE Amp - Whole of Life Plan Australian Super
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Gift (13)

Framed print of artwork by Indigenous artist Nevada Currie from the High Speed Rail Authority, Newcastle Office on 19/12/2024
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Dec 202447P ↗
Rugby Jersey, Hat and Stubby holder from University of Newcastle Rugby Union club, presented on 18/12/2024
Holder not stated
Declared since 19 Dec 202447P ↗
Complimentary ticket to Twelfth Night: Shakespeare Under the Stars Pacific Park Newcastle, valued at $49
Holder not stated
Declared since 10 Dec 202447P ↗
Silk art from Bhutan Delegation meeting on 30/10/2024, value unknown
Holder not stated
Declared since 10 Dec 202447P ↗
Wedgewood Cup and Saucer presented by shipping Australia for keynote speech given at Shipping Australia Newcastle Luncheon on 17/10/2024, valued at $159
Holder not stated
Declared since 10 Dec 202447P ↗
Bottle of Piper-Heidsieck - $45 from Newcastle Wests Group
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Dec 202146P ↗
Little creatures Pacific Pale Ale from Lion $51.95 for a case of 16 from Lion Brewery
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Dec 202146P ↗
6 bottles of Tamburlaine wine - https://tamburlaine.com.au/products/2020-mark-davidson-shiraz from Family Circle Medical Practice worth $108 all together
Holder not stated
Declared since 11 Oct 202146P ↗
$45 bottle of Piper Champagne as a Christmas gift from Wests Group
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 Dec 202046P ↗
1 x Bollinger La Grande Annee 2012 - $250 from Port of Newcastle as Christmas Gift
Holder not stated
Declared since 21 Dec 202046P ↗
Christmas gift from Mine Super of wine worth $100
Holder not stated
Declared since 18 Dec 201946P ↗
Gift of Brut from Newcastle Wests Group worth $45
Holder not stated
Declared since 18 Dec 201946P ↗
children from family members or personal friends in a purely personal capacity need not be
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Sponsored travel (10)

Accommodation and hospitality in Bhutan from 25 September to 2 October 2025 as guest of Royal
Self
Declared since 13 Nov 202548P ↗
Kingdom of Bhutan. Includes accommodation, food and on-ground transport. Upgrade from Drukair Airline from economy to business on self-funded airfare from Bangkok to Paro on 24 September 2025
Self
Declared since 13 Nov 202548P ↗
NRL
Self
Declared since 19 Aug 202548P ↗
Tickets to NRL Match - Canberra Raiders Tickets to NRLW Magic Round - NRL
Self
Declared since 19 Aug 202548P ↗
Tickets to NRLW State of Origin -
Self
Declared since 19 Aug 202548P ↗
Tickets to Women's Football - Football Australia
Self
Declared since 19 Aug 202548P ↗
Tickets to Women's Rugby - Rugby Australia
Self
Declared since 19 Aug 202548P ↗
Flight to Melbourne and hotel accommodation to deliver key note address at Deakin University's 'Modernising Parliamentary Workplaces workshop', approximately $650, paid for by Deakin University
Holder not stated
Declared since 10 Dec 202447P ↗
1) Participated in a delegation to study the offshore wind industry in Demark beginning 27 August 2023, facilitated by the Danish Embassy Canberra and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Denmark. Travel and hospitality included: one domestic economy flight Copenhagen to Aarhus, a total of six nights’ accommodation in Copenhagen, Aarhus and Esbjerg, including some on-ground transport and meals. 2) Upgrade from Qatar Airways from economy to business on self- funded airfare from Doha to London Heathrow on 20 August 2023. 3) Upgrade from Qatar Airways from economy to business on self- funded airfare from Doha to Sydney on 1 September 2023.
Holder not stated
Declared since 28 Sept 202347P ↗
16 April to 30 April 2023 visit to Dharamshala, India provided by the Tibet Information Office. Includes return air travel to Sydney, six nights accommodation, food and transport. Total $4000.
Holder not stated
Declared since 24 May 202347P ↗

Office held (3)

Qantas Chairman's Lounge Membership
Holder not stated
Declared since 26 Feb 202447P ↗
Virgin Beyond Velocity Membership
Holder not stated
Declared since 26 Feb 202447P ↗
QANTAS Chairman's Lounge Virgin Beyond Membership Australian Labor Party (NSW Branch) Community and Public Sector Union EMILY's List Australia Australian Republican Movement
Self
Declared; start date not stated48P ↗

Funding returns lodged with the AEC

Only returns that name this parliamentarian are shown. Money declared as given to a party, a branch or an associated entity is not shown here and is not attributable to any individual.

Election returns linked to this member

Returns this member is linked to, newest first. Linking is per return and exact — an election that does not appear here has not been shown to lack one.

  • 2025 Federal ElectionCandidateNewcastle, NSW · Australian Labor Party (N.S.W. Branch)Lodged as “CLAYDON, Sharon CatherineLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2022 Federal electionCandidateNewcastle, NSW · Australian Labor Party (N.S.W. Branch)Lodged as “CLAYDON, Sharon CatherineLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2019 Federal electionCandidateNewcastle, NSW · Australian Labor Party (N.S.W. Branch)Lodged as “CLAYDON, Sharon CatherineLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2016 Federal electionCandidateNewcastle, NSW · Australian Labor Party (N.S.W. Branch)Lodged as “CLAYDON, Sharon CatherineLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2013 Federal electionCandidateNewcastle, NSW · Australian Labor Party (N.S.W. Branch)Lodged as “CLAYDON, Sharon CatherineLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗

Annual member and senator returns are lodged by a small number of parliamentarians: the whole corpus holds 52 of them. Returns lodged by senators are linked to their profiles where the name on the lodged return matches the name we hold for them; where it does not, the return stays here unlinked rather than being attached to a guess. The Registers of Senators' Interests have not been read into this site yet, so a senator can appear here with a funding return and no declared interests beside it, which is a gap in our coverage rather than a record of what they declared. A parliamentarian with no return has not been shown to have received nothing — most never lodge one.

Amounts below the disclosure threshold in force for a given year are not published by the AEC and are absent from these figures. A low total means little was disclosed, not that little was received.

Source: AEC Transparency Register, reused under CC BY 4.0. © Commonwealth of Australia. The AEC does not endorse this site or its analysis.

Suburbs represented

Suburbs in Newcastle. Representing a suburb has nothing to do with owning anything in it.

48 suburbs

Adamstown · Adamstown Heights · Bar Beach · Birmingham Gardens · Broadmeadow · Callaghan · Cardiff Heights · Carrington (Newcastle - NSW) · Cooks Hill · Elermore Vale · Fletcher (NSW) · Georgetown (NSW) · Hamilton (NSW) · Hamilton East · Hamilton North · Hamilton South · Hexham (NSW) · Islington · Jesmond · Kooragang · Kotara · Lambton · Maryland (Newcastle - NSW) · Maryville · Mayfield (Newcastle - NSW) · Mayfield East · Mayfield North · Mayfield West · Merewether · Merewether Heights · Minmi · New Lambton · New Lambton Heights · Newcastle · Newcastle East · Newcastle West · North Lambton · Rankin Park · Sandgate (NSW) · Shortland · The Hill · The Junction · Tighes Hill · Wallsend · Warabrook · Waratah (NSW) · Waratah West · Wickham (NSW)

Register of Members’ Interests / Register of Senators’ Interests, Parliament of Australia — as at 13 November 2025. Report an error

Method & caveats

Australian federal parliamentarians must declare certain interests in the Register of Members’ Interests (House of Representatives) and the Register of Senators’ Interests. For holdings — shares, real estate, trusts, liabilities, assets — the registers record what is held and do not record quantity, value, purchase price or income. Nothing on this page states or implies the size of any holding, any gain or loss, or any trading activity.

Two items are different, because the form itself asks for a value: gifts and sponsored travel. Where a member stated an amount there, it appears as they wrote it. That figure is the declared value of a gift or a trip — never the size of a holding, and never a total.

Dates are the dates a declaration appeared in, or was removed from, the register — not transaction dates. A removal can mean an asset was disposed of, a declaration was corrected, or the member left parliament.

Company names are free text as written by the member. We link a declaration to an ASX listing only on an exact normalised match, a ticker the member stated, or a human-verified alias, so many declarations appear as text only. Real-estate declarations are suburb- or area-level; the registers contain no street addresses, and some declared locations do not map to a single ABS suburb.

Rows are declared as held by the member (“Self”), their spouse or partner, or a dependent child, exactly as the register records them. Members’ seats, parties and chambers change between parliaments.

Extracted from primary PDFs published by the Parliament of Australia; parliamentary material, © Commonwealth of Australia. Corrections are annotated, not silently applied. Not financial advice.