Parliament’s Portfolio

Simon Birmingham

Simon Birmingham

LIBSenator for SAparliaments 44–47
  • 44th–47th · Senator for SA · Liberal

Portrait: Wikimedia Commons — Department of Education and Training (CC BY 3.0 au). Not a Parliament of Australia image.

We have read only part of the 48th Parliament — this member’s own document may be among those still unread. An empty section below means we have no recorded entry — not that the member declared nothing. The Registers of Senators’ Interests are tabled as combined Senate volumes, and the volumes covering this senator’s lodgements are ones we have not read into this site yet. An empty register here is our coverage gap — not a record that this senator declared nothing.

36
entries currently declared
1
ASX-listed companies named
2
real-estate declarations
3
liabilities entries
21
gifts and sponsored travel
5 Dec 2024
register last updated

Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.

About these counts

The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.

What is declared, at a glance

Declared categories
36current entries
  • Gift11
  • Sponsored travel10
  • Other assets5
  • Liability3
  • Real estate2
  • Other (4)5
Declared categories
CategoryCount
Gift11
Sponsored travel10
Other assets5
Liability3
Real estate2
Other income2
Shareholdings1
Accounts1
Other interest1
Total36
Who each entry is declared for
36current entries
  • Holder not stated36
Who each entry is declared for
CategoryCount
Holder not stated36
Total36

Entries declared over time

Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.

01836202120222023202420252026
Monthly declaration counts
MonthCount
2021-1023
2021-1123
2021-1223
2022-0123
2022-0223
2022-0323
2022-0423
2022-0523
2022-0623
2022-0723
2022-0828
2022-0928
2022-1028
2022-1128
2022-1228
2023-0128
2023-0229
2023-0329
2023-0429
2023-0529
2023-0629
2023-0729
2023-0831
2023-0931
2023-1032
2023-1132
2023-1233
2024-0133
2024-0233
2024-0333
2024-0434
2024-0534
2024-0634
2024-0734
2024-0834
2024-0935
2024-1035
2024-1135
2024-1236
2025-0136
2025-0236
2025-0336
2025-0436
2025-0536
2025-0636
2025-0736
2025-0836
2025-0936
2025-1036
2025-1136
2025-1236
2026-0136
2026-0236
2026-0336
2026-0436
2026-0536
2026-0636
2026-0736
2026-0836
2026-0936
Declared companies by industry
Distinct ASX-listed companies declared by this member, grouped by industry. A count of companies, not an amount.
IndustryDistinct companies
Telecommunication Services
1

Declared interests

Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.

Showing 36 of 36 entries.

Declared entries from the Registers of Members’ and Senators’ Interests, in the register’s own words. No column is a quantity or a value; the registers record none.
Source

Shareholdings (1)

TLS · Telstra Group
Holder not stated
Declared since 16 July 2019PDF ↗

Real estate (2)

Eastern AdelaideResidential Joint
Holder not stated
Declared since 16 July 2019PDF ↗
Klemzig SAInvestment
Holder not stated
Declared since 16 July 2019PDF ↗

Liability (3)

Mortgage on Residential Property Mortgage on Investment Property Credit Card Lease on Canberra rentalBankSA - Joint BankSA BankSA - Joint Peter Blackshaw Real Estate
Holder not stated
Declared since 9 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Mortgage on Residential PropertyBankSA (joint)
Holder not stated
Declared since 16 July 2019PDF ↗
Mortgage on investment propertyBank SA
Holder not stated
Declared since 16 July 2019PDF ↗

Accounts (1)

Mortgage Offset AccountBankSA (joint)
Holder not stated
Declared since 16 July 2019PDF ↗

Other assets (5)

Superannuation MLC Superannuation SuperSA Superannuation Host Plus Superannuation PSS
Holder not stated
Declared since 9 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Superannuation Host Plus
Holder not stated
Declared since 16 July 2019PDF ↗
Superannuation MLC
Holder not stated
Declared since 16 July 2019PDF ↗
Superannuation PSS
Holder not stated
Declared since 16 July 2019PDF ↗
Superannuation SuperSA
Holder not stated
Declared since 16 July 2019PDF ↗

Other income (2)

Rental Investment Property
Holder not stated
Declared since 9 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Rental Income from investment property
Holder not stated
Declared since 16 July 2019PDF ↗

Gift (11)

A gift of a Maki-e Ballpoint Pen from His Excellency Mr Hiroshi, Japanese Ambassador to Australia
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 Aug 2023PDF ↗
Qantas Chairman's Lounge Membership The Club Membership - Virgin Foxtel Subscription - Electorate Office
Holder not stated
Declared since 9 Aug 2022PDF ↗
A bottle of Royal Tokai gifted by the Hungarian Minister for Foreign Affairs
Holder not stated
Declared since 7 July 2021PDF ↗
a 20 litre container of olive oil gifted by the Peregrine Corporation
Holder not stated
Declared since 7 July 2021PDF ↗
A gift hamper of products from Maine Beach A bottle of Clonakilla Shiraz Viognier from PricewaterhouseCoopers
Holder not stated
Declared since 26 May 2021PDF ↗
A gift hamper supplied by Navitas
Holder not stated
Declared since 4 Aug 2020PDF ↗
A 15 litre container of olive oil gifted by the Perergrine Corporation
Holder not stated
Declared since 6 May 2020PDF ↗
One bottle of champagne gifted by Qantas Airlines
Holder not stated
Declared since 21 Jan 2020PDF ↗
Foxtel Subscription - Electorate Office
Holder not stated
Declared since 16 July 2019PDF ↗
Qantas Chairman's Lounge Membership
Holder not stated
Declared since 16 July 2019PDF ↗
The Club Membership - Virgin
Holder not stated
Declared since 16 July 2019PDF ↗

Sponsored travel (10)

Four tickets and hospitality to the Port Adelaide v Hawthorn AFL game at Adelaide Oval on 13 September 2024, as a guest of the AFL
Holder not stated
Declared since 17 Sept 2024PDF ↗
Travel & accommodation to Wellington, New Zealand, 3-5 April 2024, provided by the KAS (Konrad Adenauer Stiftung) for the IDU Asia Pacific Forum.
Holder not stated
Declared since 10 Apr 2024PDF ↗
Travel & accommodation for parliamentary delegation to Israel, provided by AIJAC, 10/12/23-15/12/23.
Holder not stated
Declared since 21 Dec 2023PDF ↗
Travel and Accommodation to Brussels & Berlin 7 - 14 October 2023 provided by The KAS (Konrad Adenauer Stiftung) Regional Programme Australia and the Pacific
Holder not stated
Declared since 18 Oct 2023PDF ↗
Tickets and hospitality to the AFL game, Adelaide Crows v Sydney Swans, at Adelaide Oval on 19 August as a guest of Adelaide Football Club
Holder not stated
Declared since 22 Aug 2023PDF ↗
Travel and Accommodation to PNG 16 - 20 January 2023 provided by Pacific Friends of Global Health
Holder not stated
Declared since 1 Feb 2023PDF ↗
as previously declared
Holder not stated
Declared since 9 Aug 2022PDF ↗
Tickets and hospitality to the AFL game, Port Adelaide v Adelaide Crows, at Adelaide Oval on 8 May as a guest of Port Adelaide Football Club
Holder not stated
Declared since 26 May 2021PDF ↗
In capacity as Minister for Trade, Tourism and Investment whilst travelling overseas on official business: Upgrade to accommodation from a standard room to a suite at the Hyatt Hotel, New Delhi, Inmdia on 24 February, 2020 provided by the Haytt Hotel
Holder not stated
Declared since 27 Mar 2020PDF ↗
As previously declared & updated upon receipt.
Holder not stated
Declared since 16 July 2019PDF ↗

Other interest (1)

Employment contract with ANZ, commencing February 2025
Holder not stated
Declared since 5 Dec 2024PDF ↗

Register of Members’ Interests / Register of Senators’ Interests, Parliament of Australia — as at 5 December 2024. Report an error

Method & caveats

Australian federal parliamentarians must declare certain interests in the Register of Members’ Interests (House of Representatives) and the Register of Senators’ Interests. For holdings — shares, real estate, trusts, liabilities, assets — the registers record what is held and do not record quantity, value, purchase price or income. Nothing on this page states or implies the size of any holding, any gain or loss, or any trading activity.

Two items are different, because the form itself asks for a value: gifts and sponsored travel. Where a member stated an amount there, it appears as they wrote it. That figure is the declared value of a gift or a trip — never the size of a holding, and never a total.

Dates are the dates a declaration appeared in, or was removed from, the register — not transaction dates. A removal can mean an asset was disposed of, a declaration was corrected, or the member left parliament.

Company names are free text as written by the member. We link a declaration to an ASX listing only on an exact normalised match, a ticker the member stated, or a human-verified alias, so many declarations appear as text only. Real-estate declarations are suburb- or area-level; the registers contain no street addresses, and some declared locations do not map to a single ABS suburb.

Rows are declared as held by the member (“Self”), their spouse or partner, or a dependent child, exactly as the register records them. Members’ seats, parties and chambers change between parliaments.

Extracted from primary PDFs published by the Parliament of Australia; parliamentary material, © Commonwealth of Australia. Corrections are annotated, not silently applied. Not financial advice.