Parliament’s Portfolio

Stephen Bates

Stephen Bates

ALPMember for BrisbaneQLDparliaments 47
  • 47th · Member for Brisbane · Party not recorded

Portrait: Wikimedia Commons — Australian Greens (CC BY-SA 2.5 au). Not a Parliament of Australia image.

This page covers the 44th, 45th and 48th Parliaments in full. We have read only part of the 46th and 47th Parliaments — this member’s own document may be among those still unread. An empty section below means we have no recorded entry — not that the member declared nothing.

9
entries currently declared
0
ASX-listed companies named
0
real-estate declarations
2
liabilities entries
1
gifts and sponsored travel
8 Mar 2023
register last updated

Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.

About these counts

The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.

What is declared, at a glance

Declared categories
9current entries
  • Liability2
  • Accounts2
  • Other assets2
  • Shareholdings1
  • Other income1
  • Gift1
Declared categories
CategoryCount
Liability2
Accounts2
Other assets2
Shareholdings1
Other income1
Gift1
Total9
Who each entry is declared for
9current entries
  • Self5
  • Spouse/partner2
  • Dependent child1
  • Holder not stated1
Who each entry is declared for
CategoryCount
Self5
Spouse/partner2
Dependent child1
Holder not stated1
Total9

Entries declared over time

Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.

023202120222023202420252026
Monthly declaration counts
MonthCount
2021-090
2021-100
2021-110
2021-120
2022-010
2022-020
2022-030
2022-040
2022-050
2022-060
2022-070
2022-081
2022-091
2022-102
2022-112
2022-122
2023-012
2023-022
2023-033
2023-043
2023-053
2023-063
2023-073
2023-083
2023-091
2023-101
2023-111
2023-121
2024-011
2024-021
2024-031
2024-041
2024-051
2024-061
2024-071
2024-081
2024-091
2024-101
2024-111
2024-121
2025-011
2025-021
2025-031
2025-041
2025-051
2025-061
2025-071
2025-081
2025-091
2025-101
2025-111
2025-121
2026-011
2026-021
2026-031
2026-041
2026-051
2026-061
2026-071
2026-081

8 entries without a stated date are not plotted.

Declared interests

Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.

Declared for

Showing 11 of 11 entries.

Declared entries from the Registers of Members’ and Senators’ Interests, in the register’s own words. No column is a quantity or a value; the registers record none.
Source

Shareholdings (1)

Apple Pty Ltd
Private company
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Liability (2)

Car loanMacquarie
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Car loanMacquarie
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Accounts (2)

SavingsNational Australia Bank
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Savings SavingsBank Australia Commonwealth Bank
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Other assets (2)

Superannuation - Australian Retirement Trust
Holder not stated
Declared since 8 Mar 202347P ↗
Car
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Other income (1)

Shareholdings
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Gift (1)

children from family members or personal friends in a purely personal capacity need not be
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Office held (2)

Virgin Lounge Membership
Holder not stated
15 Oct 2022 – 21 Sept 202347P ↗
Qantas Lounge Membership
Holder not stated
1 Aug 2022 – 14 Sept 202347P ↗

Funding returns lodged with the AEC

Only returns that name this parliamentarian are shown. Money declared as given to a party, a branch or an associated entity is not shown here and is not attributable to any individual.

Election returns linked to this member

Returns this member is linked to, newest first. Linking is per return and exact — an election that does not appear here has not been shown to lack one.

  • 2022 Federal electionCandidateBrisbane, QLD · Queensland GreensLodged as “BATES, Stephen JamesLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗

Annual member and senator returns are lodged by a small number of parliamentarians: the whole corpus holds 52 of them. Returns lodged by senators are linked to their profiles where the name on the lodged return matches the name we hold for them; where it does not, the return stays here unlinked rather than being attached to a guess. The Registers of Senators' Interests have not been read into this site yet, so a senator can appear here with a funding return and no declared interests beside it, which is a gap in our coverage rather than a record of what they declared. A parliamentarian with no return has not been shown to have received nothing — most never lodge one.

Amounts below the disclosure threshold in force for a given year are not published by the AEC and are absent from these figures. A low total means little was disclosed, not that little was received.

Source: AEC Transparency Register, reused under CC BY 4.0. © Commonwealth of Australia. The AEC does not endorse this site or its analysis.

Suburbs represented

Suburbs in Brisbane. Representing a suburb has nothing to do with owning anything in it.

29 suburbs

Albion (Brisbane - Qld) · Alderley · Ascot (Brisbane - Qld) · Ashgrove · Bowen Hills · Brisbane City · Clayfield · Fortitude Valley · Gordon Park · Grange (Qld) · Hamilton (Qld) · Hendra · Herston · Kalinga · Kelvin Grove · Lutwyche · Milton (Qld) · New Farm · Newmarket · Newstead (Qld) · Paddington (Qld) · Petrie Terrace · Red Hill (Brisbane - Qld) · Spring Hill (Qld) · Stafford · Teneriffe · Wilston · Windsor (Qld) · Wooloowin

Register of Members’ Interests / Register of Senators’ Interests, Parliament of Australia — as at 8 March 2023. Original PDF · Report an error

Method & caveats

Australian federal parliamentarians must declare certain interests in the Register of Members’ Interests (House of Representatives) and the Register of Senators’ Interests. For holdings — shares, real estate, trusts, liabilities, assets — the registers record what is held and do not record quantity, value, purchase price or income. Nothing on this page states or implies the size of any holding, any gain or loss, or any trading activity.

Two items are different, because the form itself asks for a value: gifts and sponsored travel. Where a member stated an amount there, it appears as they wrote it. That figure is the declared value of a gift or a trip — never the size of a holding, and never a total.

Dates are the dates a declaration appeared in, or was removed from, the register — not transaction dates. A removal can mean an asset was disposed of, a declaration was corrected, or the member left parliament.

Company names are free text as written by the member. We link a declaration to an ASX listing only on an exact normalised match, a ticker the member stated, or a human-verified alias, so many declarations appear as text only. Real-estate declarations are suburb- or area-level; the registers contain no street addresses, and some declared locations do not map to a single ABS suburb.

Rows are declared as held by the member (“Self”), their spouse or partner, or a dependent child, exactly as the register records them. Members’ seats, parties and chambers change between parliaments.

Extracted from primary PDFs published by the Parliament of Australia; parliamentary material, © Commonwealth of Australia. Corrections are annotated, not silently applied. Not financial advice.