Parliament’s Portfolio

Stephen Jones

Stephen Jones

ALPMember for WhitlamNSWparliaments 44–47
  • 44th · Member for Throsby · Party not recorded
  • 45th–47th · Member for Whitlam · Party not recorded

Portrait: Wikimedia Commons — Panthus (CC BY-SA 4.0). Not a Parliament of Australia image.

This page covers the 44th, 45th and 48th Parliaments in full. We have read only part of the 46th and 47th Parliaments — this member’s own document may be among those still unread. An empty section below means we have no recorded entry — not that the member declared nothing.

41
entries currently declared
0
ASX-listed companies named
8
real-estate declarations
5
liabilities entries
6
gifts and sponsored travel
28 May 2024
register last updated

Counts of register entries currently declared — never an amount.

About these counts

The registers record what is held and not quantity or value, so none of these is an amount. One real-estate entry can cover more than one property, so that figure is a floor rather than a count of properties.

What is declared, at a glance

Declared categories
41current entries
  • Real estate8
  • Accounts7
  • Other assets7
  • Gift6
  • Liability5
  • Other (5)8
Declared categories
CategoryCount
Real estate8
Accounts7
Other assets7
Gift6
Liability5
Other income3
Trusts2
Shareholdings1
Bonds1
Office held1
Total41
Who each entry is declared for
41current entries
  • Self16
  • Spouse/partner8
  • Dependent child4
  • Holder not stated13
Who each entry is declared for
CategoryCount
Self16
Spouse/partner8
Dependent child4
Holder not stated13
Total41

Entries declared over time

Monthly count of currently-declared entries whose start date the register records. Entries with no stated date are never given one.

0713202120222023202420252026
Monthly declaration counts
MonthCount
2021-094
2021-104
2021-114
2021-124
2022-014
2022-024
2022-034
2022-044
2022-054
2022-064
2022-074
2022-084
2022-094
2022-104
2022-114
2022-124
2023-014
2023-025
2023-035
2023-045
2023-055
2023-065
2023-075
2023-0810
2023-0910
2023-1010
2023-1110
2023-1210
2024-0110
2024-0210
2024-0310
2024-0410
2024-0513
2024-0613
2024-0713
2024-0813
2024-0913
2024-1013
2024-1113
2024-1213
2025-0113
2025-0213
2025-0313
2025-0413
2025-0513
2025-0613
2025-0713
2025-0813
2025-0913
2025-1013
2025-1113
2025-1213
2026-0113
2026-0213
2026-0313
2026-0413
2026-0513
2026-0613
2026-0713
2026-0813

28 entries without a stated date are not plotted.

Declared interests

Every published entry we hold for this member, in the register’s own categories and its own words. The registers record location at suburb or area level only. Each entry links to the original document it was read from.

Declared for

Showing 41 of 41 entries.

Declared entries from the Registers of Members’ and Senators’ Interests, in the register’s own words. No column is a quantity or a value; the registers record none.
Source

Shareholdings (1)

DVD — not matched to an ASX listing
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Trusts (2)

QUILTER FAMILY TRUSTFAMILY TRUST (SPOUSES FATHER)
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
QUILTER FAMILY TRUSTFAMILY TRUST (SPOUSES FATHER)
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Real estate (8)

Turner ACT -Residential
Holder not stated
Declared since 28 May 202447P ↗
Spouse/Partner: Braddon ACT -Residential
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Aug 202347P ↗
Purchase of House (residence) at Mt Warrigal
Holder not stated
Declared since 10 Sept 201946P ↗
""
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Keiraville NSW
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Mount Warrigal NSW
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
RESIDENTIAL PROPERTY (HOUSE) WOLLONGONGPRINCIPAL RESIDENCE
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
RESIDENTIAL PROPERTY IN WOLLONGONG & CANBERRARESIDENCE
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗

Liability (5)

Mortgage - Westpac (joint with spouse)
Holder not stated
Declared since 28 May 202447P ↗
Spouse/Partner: Mortagage - ME Bank
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Aug 202347P ↗
Mortgage with St George
Holder not stated
Declared since 28 June 202146P ↗
MORTGAGEME BANK
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
MORTGAGEME BANK
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Bonds (1)

Index fund Index fundVanguard Australian Shares ETF Vanguard Active Global Growth Fund
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗

Accounts (7)

Savings - Westpac (spouse)
Holder not stated
Declared since 28 May 202447P ↗
Spouse/Partner: Savings - ME Bank
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Aug 202347P ↗
SAVINGSANZ BANK
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
SAVINGSME BANK
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
SAVINGSANZ BANK
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
Savings AccountANZ Bank
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Savings AccountsANZ Bank
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Other assets (7)

Spouse/Partner: Superannuation
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Aug 202347P ↗
SUPERANNUATION ACCOUNT
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
SUPERANNUATION ACCOUNT - AUST SUPER
Self
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
SUPERANNUATION ACCOUNT - AUSTRALIAN SUPER
Self
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗
SUPPERANNUATION ACCOUNT - FIRST STATE SUPER
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
Superannuation
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
Supperannuation
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Other income (3)

Rental income
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
WAGES
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated45P ↗
WAGES FROM UNI OF WOLLONGONG
Spouse/partner
Declared; start date not stated44P ↗

Gift (6)

Cuff links received as an official gift by the Prime Minister of Vanuatu.
Holder not stated
Declared since 15 Feb 202347P ↗
QANTAS Chairmans Lounge - extension of membership
Holder not stated
Declared since 20 May 202046P ↗
Membership of QANTAS and Virgin Lounges
Holder not stated
Declared since 3 Apr 202046P ↗
Foxtel subscription in my electorate office
Self
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗
Qantas Chairman's Lounge membership Virgin The Club membership Foxtel subscription in Electorate Office from ASTRA.
Self
Declared; start date not stated47P ↗
children from family members or personal friends in a purely personal capacity need not be
Dependent child
Declared; start date not stated46P ↗

Office held (1)

Spouse/Partner: CPSU Official
Holder not stated
Declared since 23 Aug 202347P ↗

Funding returns lodged with the AEC

Only returns that name this parliamentarian are shown. Money declared as given to a party, a branch or an associated entity is not shown here and is not attributable to any individual.

Election returns linked to this member

Returns this member is linked to, newest first. Linking is per return and exact — an election that does not appear here has not been shown to lack one.

  • 2022 Federal electionCandidateWhitlam, NSW · Australian Labor Party (N.S.W. Branch)Lodged as “JONES, Stephen PatrickLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2019 Federal electionCandidateWhitlam, NSW · Australian Labor Party (N.S.W. Branch)Lodged as “JONES, Stephen PatrickLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2016 Federal electionCandidateWhitlam, NSW · Australian Labor Party (N.S.W. Branch)Lodged as “JONES, Stephen PatrickLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗
  • 2013 Federal electionCandidateThrosby, NSW · Australian Labor Party (N.S.W. Branch)Lodged as “JONES, Stephen PatrickLodged a return declaring no giftsAEC return ↗

Annual member and senator returns are lodged by a small number of parliamentarians: the whole corpus holds 52 of them. Returns lodged by senators are linked to their profiles where the name on the lodged return matches the name we hold for them; where it does not, the return stays here unlinked rather than being attached to a guess. The Registers of Senators' Interests have not been read into this site yet, so a senator can appear here with a funding return and no declared interests beside it, which is a gap in our coverage rather than a record of what they declared. A parliamentarian with no return has not been shown to have received nothing — most never lodge one.

Amounts below the disclosure threshold in force for a given year are not published by the AEC and are absent from these figures. A low total means little was disclosed, not that little was received.

Source: AEC Transparency Register, reused under CC BY 4.0. © Commonwealth of Australia. The AEC does not endorse this site or its analysis.

Suburbs represented

Suburbs in Whitlam. Representing a suburb has nothing to do with owning anything in it.

82 suburbs

Albion Park · Albion Park Rail · Alpine · Avoca (NSW) · Avon (NSW) · Avondale (NSW) · Aylmerton · Balaclava (NSW) · Balmoral (Wingecarribee - NSW) · Barrack Heights · Barrack Point · Belanglo · Berrima · Blackbutt (NSW) · Bowral · Braemar · Brownsville · Bullio · Bundanoon (NSW) · Burradoo · Burrawang · Calderwood · Canyonleigh · Cleveland (NSW) · Colo Vale · Croom · Dapto · Dombarton · Dunmore (NSW) · East Kangaloon · Exeter (NSW) · Fitzroy Falls · Flinders (NSW) · Glenquarry · Goodmans Ford · Haywards Bay · High Range · Hill Top (Wingecarribee - NSW) · Horsley · Huntley (Wollongong - NSW) · Joadja · Kanahooka · Kangaloon · Kembla Grange · Koonawarra · Lake Illawarra · Macquarie Pass · Manchester Square · Mandemar · Marshall Mount · Medway · Meryla · Mittagong · Moss Vale · Mount Lindsey · Mount Murray · Mount Warrigal · New Berrima · Oak Flats · Paddys River (Wingecarribee - NSW) · Penrose · Renwick · Robertson (NSW) · Shell Cove · Shellharbour · Shellharbour City Centre · Sutton Forest · Tongarra · Tullimbar · Upper Kangaroo Valley · Warilla · Wattle Ridge (NSW) · Welby · Werai · Wildes Meadow · Willow Vale (Wingecarribee - NSW) · Wingello · Wongawilli · Woodlands (Wingecarribee - NSW) · Yallah · Yellow Rock (Shellharbour - NSW) · Yerrinbool

Register of Members’ Interests / Register of Senators’ Interests, Parliament of Australia — as at 28 May 2024. Report an error

Method & caveats

Australian federal parliamentarians must declare certain interests in the Register of Members’ Interests (House of Representatives) and the Register of Senators’ Interests. For holdings — shares, real estate, trusts, liabilities, assets — the registers record what is held and do not record quantity, value, purchase price or income. Nothing on this page states or implies the size of any holding, any gain or loss, or any trading activity.

Two items are different, because the form itself asks for a value: gifts and sponsored travel. Where a member stated an amount there, it appears as they wrote it. That figure is the declared value of a gift or a trip — never the size of a holding, and never a total.

Dates are the dates a declaration appeared in, or was removed from, the register — not transaction dates. A removal can mean an asset was disposed of, a declaration was corrected, or the member left parliament.

Company names are free text as written by the member. We link a declaration to an ASX listing only on an exact normalised match, a ticker the member stated, or a human-verified alias, so many declarations appear as text only. Real-estate declarations are suburb- or area-level; the registers contain no street addresses, and some declared locations do not map to a single ABS suburb.

Rows are declared as held by the member (“Self”), their spouse or partner, or a dependent child, exactly as the register records them. Members’ seats, parties and chambers change between parliaments.

Extracted from primary PDFs published by the Parliament of Australia; parliamentary material, © Commonwealth of Australia. Corrections are annotated, not silently applied. Not financial advice.